All member reviews for Toddlers & Tiaras

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Child beauty pageant series sends iffy messages.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 71 reviews)
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written bychapirl February 24, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

ridiculous

Most of the mothers here should be charged with child abuse from plucking eyebrows to infant drinking soda and coffee. Just what we need parents making kids look ridiculous. This is about the parents dream not the kids.
Teen, 14 years old Written byPoison Ivey October 7, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

All I can say is wow

yes, wow. Well, it's a terrible show dont EVER watch it. Its just teaching kids they have to look pretty to get somewhere in the world. Even though they dont want the girls looking sexy, it's full of striptease and brattyness. And its the parents who'll be paying, believe me, all you pagaent moms who are out their on common sense reading this review now. You could all you some, right now. I dont know about you, but I wouldn't want my four year old looking older than me.
Kid, 11 years old July 23, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

I hate the whole idea

I just hate the whole idea of the show. They are turning the little girls into something their not. they make them wear makeup, and the outfits are just outrageous for little girls. i saw a comercial trying to get people to watch it and a little girl was being very hateful and rude. its just turning the litle girls into little monsters.
Teen, 15 years old Written byharryandjimmy February 26, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Just....uhg.

Terrible isn't a strong enough word to describe this show.
Educator and Parent of a 4 and 9 year old Written byconnielove93 September 25, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

I like and dislike this show for many reasons!!

I love and hate this show at the same time. I love this show because and inspired my child to compete in pageants!! When I was watching it my child asked me if she could do what they were doing, I was skeptical at first, but she enjoys dressing up and being on stage! But I don't like it because pageant moms have gotten a bad rap because of how the show potrays them on tv. People need to realize that TV is TV and the producers ask the parents to be dramatic for ratings, and most pageants and pageant parents don't behave like that. Also I dont know why they show so much sexy suff on that show most pageant moms don't let their children dance like that. I'm torn between the good and bad aspects of the show because most people don't realize that directors cut out boring material and put in bad/exiting/sexy material in.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byQL11 August 6, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Not good.

I give it 2 stars because if your my age it's fun to watch just for a laugh. However, the idea of this show is terrible. Beauty pageants only do two things for a young girl: they tell her that being beautiful is the only way to feel good about yourself, and if you lose, you aren't beautiful. But I think the show does showcase the craziness, and, sometimes cruelty of the mothers who put their children through this. One quote in an episode I saw was from a mother, saying: "I started putting her in pageants when she was nine months old. She didn't know what was going on, but I liked it, so..." That was an exact quote! So that just shows how revealing yet funny this show can be.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written byXemera July 29, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Entertaining but the whole idea is inappropriate...

Like most reality television, it is entertaining. However, this show really does make me sick. Seeing these parents pushing their children into doing things they don't want to do, all because they are trying to live their own dreams through their child. I don't see any positive messages in this show. The parents are pushy and drive their children to win; while the children are bratty and act like complete diva's; the parents are to blame for this. It really does pain me to think about what these young girls are going to be like when they're older... The clothing is at most times inappropriate and the movements of these young girls' routines have sexual undertones. It disgusts me to think of the amount of pedophiles out there that would be watching these young girls wearing and acting inappropriately. So this is an entertaining show, however when you think about it, the whole idea of it is truely sad.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 5, 8, 10, and 10 year old Written byCSM Screen Name... October 3, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Passion for Pageants

As my children compete in pageants, it's cool to see some of the other little girls out there and use some as examples to show my daughters what NOT to act like. My daughters may be divas, but they're not brats! The only bad part is that they show so many horrid pageant children, people stereotype pageant people like me! The other day when I took my kids grocery shopping and wore my pageant mom shirt, people kept shooting us these really weird looks. I don't see what's wrong with pageants- they teach my kids self confidence and how to take charge of situations!
Teen, 13 years old Written bySouthPark200 August 23, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

egh...

this show... is awful, these mothers force their dreams onto their toddlers and pocket every last dollar they earn in these awful pageants. Those girls are in agony but are told that they love pageants, so they believe that they do.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 8 years old April 2, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

parents are suppose to be good with kids, not bad with them!!!

parents get physical with kids. and everytime twenty year old girls win (as much as i saw it) so whats the point for to be little kids be on this show anyway?! :/ p.s once a girl about 4 year old's mother forced her to put bleach on her teeth to make them look whiter and that is just plain sadness to me
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 16 years old Written byMysterious_ballerina July 21, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

ugh....

This show is disapointing, it makes little 4 and 3 year olds look like 21 year olds, and I have seen 21 year olds dress more modest. It's disgusting what these woman do to there children, forcing them to think that they need to be fake to look good. This does a terrible thing to a child's self esteem and could cause eating problems like anorexia when they are older (trust me I did a 6 page essay on why pageants should be banned). Dressing these kids up also opens them up to all those creeps in the world that want to see little children dress like...well excuse my language, sluts. I just really hate this show...I only watch it to laugh at it. I feel bad for the poor children who have to put up with this, since all of them seem to be complete brats.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 9 year old Written bypurplemoon July 16, 2009
AGE
4
QUALITY
 
Just plain horrible! Look at the message it's sending our little girls!
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Kid, 8 years old April 4, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Worst Show Ever. TLC should take it off.

Ok, this is the worst show I had ever watched. I MEAN... PUTTING MAKE-UP ON KIDS AS YOUNG AS 1?!?!?! And they gossip to much.. And, moms cuss each other out and yell at the poor little girls "If you don't get up there I'll whoop your a**!" OMG... I am a girl, yes, but not really girly. And let me tell you-THIS IS NOT REAL BEAUTY PAEGANTS. I mean, it's just, gross and nasty.. And really? A little girl dancing in a bar? I can see this show as a form of child abuse. I mean, mothers taking thier kids to a bar? And forcing Red Bull and Mountain Dew down BABIES' throats? I feel sorry for the poor little girls on there. I would rate it 0 stars if I could, but my mom actually LIKES this show, But my grandma doesen't. This show is very boring, It makes TLC crappy. I mean, THIS now rules supreme instead of the GOOD show Kate Plus 8/Jon and Kate Plus 8. Please, don't watch this show, I am starting a petition to stop Toddlers and Tiaras. And, Honey Boo Boo is dumb. This is even worse then Chatroullete, Now, after my Grandma turned it off today, My mom said she's not buying me Lion King 2, and I LOVE Lion King. Curse this evil show.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old February 12, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Entertaining show, bad messages.

Although this show is entertaining, I personally do not believe in pageants-that little girls should be "dolled up" (a.k.a. sexualized) with waxed eyebrows, spray tans, and sexy outfits/dances. One pageant director says, "You do NOT want to see a chubby child on stage. She has to have the Barbie [body]." Because of this, some moms force their daughter to diet so they can win Ultimate Grand Supreme-and when they get a smaller title, like Princess, the moms aren't even PROUD of their daughter's accomplishment for working so hard. Many of these moms are TERRIBLE role models for their daughter, but there are some moms who are sweet, kind, and supportive, and are proud of their daughter, no matter what.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent Written byiseezsit55 January 31, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

moms on crack

little girls dressed like porn stars. ridiculouse parent who couldnt make it try to push kids,. I feel sorry for the childredn
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byphantom5495 July 30, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Only ages 18+ should be allowed to do Beauty Pageants! Not little toddlers!

This show in unacceptable! To have parents allow this!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byCaitie11 December 12, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Oh My Goodness...

I feel sorry for these kids. These kids are going to grow up thinking they are the prettiest in the world. I bet they won't have friends when they grow up... There mothers are C.R.A.Z.Y, Crazy! 90% of the time the kids are forced into it. Funny to watch because they have NO lives...
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 14 years old Written bydirectioner23 August 3, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Intresting but practically child abuse!

Kind of sad but very addicting.Its sad how these mothers force their chilren to dress like hookers and dance like them too!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old January 29, 2012
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

What is with these moms?!?!?!?

If it weren't for the entertainment I get from watching the little girls throw tantrums, I would give it one star. Most of these girls (and boys in some episodes, but the boys aren't as victimized) are 5 or 6 and "like" to get tanned, having their eyebrows waxed, wearing fake teeth (flippers), practicing for months to get their 5 second routine right, being criticized by their mothers for not doing it exactly right, putting in a painful hairpiece, being criticized by their mothers AGAIN for saying that it hurts and crying, ordering a $1000 costume to wear for 2 minutes, putting in enhancements (a fake butt and fake breasts for a Dolly Parton costume) and that's just getting ready for the big day! These girls are not dolls, they are girls who deserve a normal life! One of the moms said in her interview that she had spent about 10,000 dollars for her daughter and that she "wouldn't be here doing this interview" if she hadn't done that. Mothers, let your kids be kids! On the bright side, at least its funny to watch the kids throw tantrums.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 11 years old February 21, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Some info:

There was a mother on the show who was accused and guilty of choking a baby and feeding babies hot sauce. The parents are sometimes cruel.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Great messages

Pages