All member reviews for Toddlers & Tiaras

Common Sense Media says

Child beauty pageant series sends iffy messages.
 

Users say

(out of 73 reviews)
age 10+
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 4 year old Written byChilds Grace May 17, 2011
age 3+
 

perfect for anyone who has children and devotes time for them first in life

we have 10 children and a grandson. we have and still do pageants when spare money allows, they are expensive and yes there is alot of work that goes into making sure everything is just right but you sports/hunting folks do the same you are sure to have the tickets, the beer or meeting at bars and clothing and then there is the cost of weapon of choice which changes yearly along with the ammo and after all that you want to stuff it and stick it on a wall.Point is everyone has a hobby and if we dont like someones hobby we dont have to be a part of it, you dont like the tv show about pageants and kids dont watch it, i dont like the show Cops or Hunting channel so i dont watch it problem solved. I think that America has got alot of folks with nothing better to do than complain on their hands since we started losing jobs and homes here. Let people just be themselves and mind your own business,be wise when complaining and dont tell everything you know said a wise 86 yr old christian woman who raised 13 children on her own shortly before she passed. ~~
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 15 years old Written byphantom5495 July 30, 2010
age 12+
 

Only ages 18+ should be allowed to do Beauty Pageants! Not little toddlers!

This show in unacceptable! To have parents allow this!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written byParranormalHour October 3, 2013
age 10+
 

4 years old and working it like a 20 year old stripper

This show exposes what pageants life is like and what it takes. Sounds innocent right? When watching just the first season these young girls are sexualized and taught how to and I quote, 'work it'. Several of the girls are quoted saying that they like money so they can buy things. Then others have moves called, 'hey judges come here baby' and so on. What? When did that become okay? Then the girls are spray tanned, waxed, usually forced to wear make-up, hair pieces and fake teeth. They look like 20 year olds in a child's body. Nothing about that is okay. Now I am not saying that the show is bad. I am saying the content shows how abuse can come in many forms. All in all it is a very thought provoking show and I believe there is a lot that can be learned from this show.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of an infant, 2, 3, 5, 6, and 11 year old Written byResponsibleParentOf9 December 30, 2012
age 18+
 

Portays moms as evil

This show portrays moms as evil and child abusers! Don't spend your time on this! Why, TLC, why?
Teen, 13 years old Written byHeq073198 February 1, 2012
age 10+
 

Hate the parents, but entertaining all the same

I hate how much I love this show. I wish I could turn it off, but it's rare when I do! Most of these parents are living through their children, but I think if the little girl genuinely wants to do it, then let her. She'll grow up and she'll be shown by others how being conceited is not respected. If you want to raise your kid to be a brat, I can't stop you. I think there's a metaphorical "age limit" for pageants. I don't think little kids should be in fake hair, fake teeth, tans, fake, fake, fake. Once they hit the age where they qualify for Miss Teen (insert state here), then I think it's appropriate. My cousin when was in one when she was about 16 or 17, and I honestly couldn't tell the difference from her stage makeup and her regular makeup. Her hair was done up really fancy, but that's all that was different. She wore conservative clothes throughout. Natural beauty IS respected. I think if these little girls were just in plain little sundresses with a bow in her hair, nothing fake, no makeup, then it would be a lot less despicable. I still don't think itty-bitty girls should be in it though.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent Written byiseezsit55 January 31, 2012
age 13+
 

moms on crack

little girls dressed like porn stars. ridiculouse parent who couldnt make it try to push kids,. I feel sorry for the childredn
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 10 years old January 30, 2012
age 5+
 

Good Show

I think that it is a good show. I dont know why everyone says its child abuse the kids chose to do it so let them do it!
Teen, 13 years old Written bydancingtunnell January 2, 2012
age 7+
 

Funny!

I think it is a great series, but the parents allow their kids to be so rude. I watch it because I think is is funny!
Kid, 11 years old December 29, 2011
age 14+
 

Embarassing to toddlers and kids every where

Oh, give me a break! Why would anyone want to do pagents anyway! it is just completely ridiculus! in my oppinion it is also child abuse becuase what parent would pluck a kids eyebrows when their only 3 to 6?! And just what chapirl said 19 views before me, it the kids choice, not the parent. and look at that picture of that cute little girl next to the tital, she looks completely unhappy and looks about ready to scream in frusteration. oh, i hate seeing little kids sad :(. thanks for giving me a chance to tell you my oppinion!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written bySouthPark200 August 23, 2011
age 18+
 

egh...

this show... is awful, these mothers force their dreams onto their toddlers and pocket every last dollar they earn in these awful pageants. Those girls are in agony but are told that they love pageants, so they believe that they do.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 9 years old August 1, 2011
age 8+
 

God! I hate these 'I want the 10,000 dollar cash prize Mothers!'

Good show, but they are FORCED to wear Makeup. And I think getting a 'Mani-Petti' too! Like this clip from YouTube that the mother was making her daughter getting her EYEBROWS waxed! And she said the 'reward' was a bag full of candy! Well this may effect little girls saying things like. 'I want to look like that!'
Teen, 16 years old Written byXemera July 29, 2011
age 10+
 

Entertaining but the whole idea is inappropriate...

Like most reality television, it is entertaining. However, this show really does make me sick. Seeing these parents pushing their children into doing things they don't want to do, all because they are trying to live their own dreams through their child. I don't see any positive messages in this show. The parents are pushy and drive their children to win; while the children are bratty and act like complete diva's; the parents are to blame for this. It really does pain me to think about what these young girls are going to be like when they're older... The clothing is at most times inappropriate and the movements of these young girls' routines have sexual undertones. It disgusts me to think of the amount of pedophiles out there that would be watching these young girls wearing and acting inappropriately. So this is an entertaining show, however when you think about it, the whole idea of it is truely sad.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Teen, 16 years old Written byMysterious_ballerina July 21, 2011
age 11+
 

ugh....

This show is disapointing, it makes little 4 and 3 year olds look like 21 year olds, and I have seen 21 year olds dress more modest. It's disgusting what these woman do to there children, forcing them to think that they need to be fake to look good. This does a terrible thing to a child's self esteem and could cause eating problems like anorexia when they are older (trust me I did a 6 page essay on why pageants should be banned). Dressing these kids up also opens them up to all those creeps in the world that want to see little children dress like...well excuse my language, sluts. I just really hate this show...I only watch it to laugh at it. I feel bad for the poor children who have to put up with this, since all of them seem to be complete brats.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byiamjustinbieber... February 26, 2011
age 10+
 

great show! Very entertaining but.....

I love this show. I literally watch it EVERYDAY on TLC and ON DEMAND. It's vey entertaining watching little girl get on stage and perform and get crowned. It's also pritty entertaining when the girls (especially some of the older ones) Throw hissy fits :). But ig to to say sometimes i feel for these girls. Because a lot of the girls who do pageants are forced to by there parents for whatever reason. I also don't feel it's right for kids that are less than a year old to be competing in beauty pageants with all the glame dresses and makeup. I also think sometimes the little girls can get to sexualized and it sets a bad example for younger kids (just girls) who watch the show. I thik beauty pageants are one of the reasons 6 year old Jonbenet Ramsey was brutually murdered 14 years ago. It's because she was so sexulized she obiously attratcted a petophile. So i like the show but putting kids that young in beauty pageants with all the make, Glame, dresses, and two piece swimsuits is a definet DON'T
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byharryandjimmy February 26, 2011
age 9+
 

Just....uhg.

Terrible isn't a strong enough word to describe this show.
Teen, 13 years old Written byQL11 August 6, 2010
age 13+
 

Not good.

I give it 2 stars because if your my age it's fun to watch just for a laugh. However, the idea of this show is terrible. Beauty pageants only do two things for a young girl: they tell her that being beautiful is the only way to feel good about yourself, and if you lose, you aren't beautiful. But I think the show does showcase the craziness, and, sometimes cruelty of the mothers who put their children through this. One quote in an episode I saw was from a mother, saying: "I started putting her in pageants when she was nine months old. She didn't know what was going on, but I liked it, so..." That was an exact quote! So that just shows how revealing yet funny this show can be.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent of a 14 and 17 year old Written byHaley Wright March 29, 2015
Parent of a 4, 10, 12, and 15 year old Written byIDontLikeAnything March 25, 2015
age 18+
 

ABUSE ABUSE ABUSE ABUSE ABUSE ABUSE ABUSE ABUSE ABUSE ABUSE ABUSE ABUSE ABUSE ABUSE

I hate this shoe
Adult Written byClear sky December 10, 2014
age 8+
 

Total Miss

This may seem like an innocent show, but it's filled with overly sexualized children, and out of control parents. The content isn't entertaining, it seems like child abuse!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byHainesama123 September 11, 2014
age 17+
 

Oh my goodness!

Why are kids being dressed like teenagers and Miss Americas in this show? Kids should stay kids, not act like they are grown ups. There is a problem in this society with sexualized stuff aimed at kids these days, and the moms aren't making things better. Dressing kids up in sexualized outfits? Come on, who does that with their 5 or 6 year old? If I were a parent, I wouldn't allow my kids to dress up like teenagers or even watch this show.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism

Pages