All member reviews for Tom and Jerry

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Cat and mouse face off in classic (but violent) cartoon.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 96 reviews)
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent Written byGlass-Cheshire May 27, 2011
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Lighten up, geez

The more I browse this site, the more I see parents worrying too mcuh. "They solve their problems with violence!" Oh boo hoo. Let your kids have fun. I'm not hitting people with pans for the fun of it, and I loved this show when I was little. And kids are going to try to do it by fighting anyway. You ALSO forget that Tom and Jerry often make up at some point."BUT THEY SMOKE" and they almost always get sick afterwards from taking too much. Your kid is not dumb enough to pick up an actual cigar, light it, and smoke it, unless they see you doing it and learn how. And in such a case, you SHOULD'VE TAUGHT YOUR KID NOT TO DO IT IN THE FIRST PLACE. Make sure your child understands what they do wrong, and make sure they understand it's a cartoon. I really don't think you're giving your kids enough credit. They're not that dumb, and you can't protect them from every little knick and scrape to their body or mind. And from personal experience, the harder you try to do it, the farther your kids get later. I had issues with my grandmother recently because it suddenly dawned on me that she kept me inside my whole life, so I never learned how to play with other kids, I'd never played any games outside, and I'd never played in my own yard without long pants and a sweat shirt on. Whatever happened to kids having fun, anyway? AND WHAT EVER HAPPENED TO THE FUN OF ANIMATION?
Adult Written byrl_ovalle May 30, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Not as bad as people make it out to be

Yes, Tom and Jerry has quite a bit of animated violence. I'm 26 and I grew up on shows like Tom and Jerry and Looney Tunes. Now, I never felt the compulsion to hit my younger brother in the head with a frying pan...mainly because I knew it was wrong and also because I knew I would get in a world of trouble for it. T&J is all animated so the violence isn't "real." Yes, kids are imitators, but as long as parents aren't using the TV to babysit their kids and parents actually discipline kids, then the animated violence shouldn't be a problem. Long story short, teach the kids the difference between real and make believe and everything will be ok.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byDominicboo1 June 30, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Violent But Classic Cartoons

Tom and Jerry cartoons are very funny, but often violent. In almost every cartoon (with very few exceptions) they're fighting. Jerry doesn't try to escape Tom like Tweety tries to escape Slyvester, but tries to hurt the cat for fun. My main choice for giving this 5+ is that the characters smoke occasionaly, but you hopefully taught your kids from the time they understood what smoking was that they should never do it. I suggest if you have not take an example in Texas Tom where Tom smokes and say" We don't smoke like Tom."
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byIGotTheMagic May 5, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

A fun for everyone classic cartoon

Family friendly classic for just about everyone. Cartoon violence could be offensive or frightening to the very young set.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bysmoonchu12 March 6, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

good for ages 4 and up.

funny but they use torchere tools for humor sometimes.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Parent of a 3, 5, 8, 10, and 11 year old Written bysamhighley June 11, 2010
AGE
4
QUALITY
 
good with a 60's twist...
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 13 year old Written byvart96 February 15, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Victor's Reviwe

I think it can be fun but the're are some things parents should be caution I rate this: PG for mild cartoon violence and mild drug reference.
Kid, 8 years old May 28, 2015
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Great but actually has constant extreme brutal violence.

My rating:R for strong gruesome/shocking/graphic violence.
Adult Written byLowe's man February 21, 2015
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

a classic

The constant violence and the repetitiveness of the plot may make this confusing and questionable for preschoolers, but it'll do a number of good things for school-age children. First, it'll introduce them to classical music (beautiful and timely executed, might I add). Second, it'll give them an appreciation for cartoons made at an earlier time. Third, since Tom always provokes the fights, and yet since Jerry usually outsmarts Tom, kids are taught that the one who provokes fights will usually lose. Last, but certainly not least, it's entertaining. School-age children will enjoy this. As for the smoking, parents will want to tell their children that the dangers of smoking weren't known at the time and that smoking was seen by many back then as social.
Teen, 14 years old Written byKmfan97 January 17, 2015
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

words cannot describe how much I love this show.

I'm 14 and I've been a big Tom and Jerry fan since I was real little. Sure it is a violent cartoon but the violence is done in a comedic way nothing like a show like family guy. I also watched the movie in 3rd grade and I thought it was awesome not really as good as the show though. Anyway this show is just absolutely amazing and is suitable for 5 and over.
Parent of a 3 and 8 year old Written byfrank never gives up August 30, 2014
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

3 and up is fine

I think some parents worry a bit too much...don't forget that it's up to us to explain to them that it's just cartoons not reality. .In one ep. U see the cat smoking too much but then he gets sick...that's a clue for u to intervene and x plain the situations. ..even at 3 years old kids r smart enough to know more than we think...my 3 year old loves it and knows not to copy the fighting that it's all just fun and make believe
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old July 30, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Best cartoon to grow up with now.

This show has the best sense of humor! And, its a good way for the kids that want to play blood and gore video games like Mortal Kombat, to be entertained appropriately. I grew up with it, and people always tell me I have a good sense of humor. And better yet, Itchy and Scratchy may scare you about how its like Tom and Jerry, but that's not true!
Teen, 13 years old Written bychocoluv June 19, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Cat vs Mouse in a Cartoon!

Cartoons back in the 1940s used imagination of what it would be like if animals fought each other. Tom and Jerry was one of those cartoons. Cartoons these days don't really do this anymore, but that doesn't make them "terrible". Tom and Jerry is one of the very few 40s cartoons that I'm able to see these days. I think that the older Tom and Jerry cartoons are the best! Who cares if it has too much violence?
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old February 5, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

OK...

Good TV Show but can't that stupid cat get the mouse for once?
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old January 8, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Hilarious!

It's a really good show! They're is some violence, and sometimes Jerry cuts Tom in half,without blood or gore.It's funny though,and makes a great family show!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 2 and 7 year old Written byYvonne M December 13, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Tom & Jerry: an enduring classic that still entertains 70 years later

I watched T&J as a child, and just recently introduced it to my seven-year-old. I have never seen him laugh so hard at anything , ever before! Sure, it has no educational value whatsoever, but for pure, silly entertainment, it's wonderful. The original toons from the 1940s and 50s have gorgeous animation, and the orchestration that accompanies the pieces is amazing. The violence inherent to Tom and Jerry may deter some, but I think it's much easier to separate from real-life when it's a cat and mouse, rather than the creatures or robots you find fighting in today's animated series.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 7 years old August 9, 2013
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

for kids and adults very good

my favorite show when i was 5 but its ok has some violence funny and very good let your kids watch it its not that friendly but appropriate
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written bymusicforver July 25, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Classic Will Entertain Children

OK For 5 and up
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byTheBombFunn July 19, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Love it. Classic, just as good as Looney Tunes

What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byDoritos-6 July 7, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Great Show

On 7-17 Pause 4-6 Off 2-3
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages