All member reviews for Tom and Jerry

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 79 reviews)
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written byDominicboo1 June 30, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Violent But Classic Cartoons

Tom and Jerry cartoons are very funny, but often violent. In almost every cartoon (with very few exceptions) they're fighting. Jerry doesn't try to escape Tom like Tweety tries to escape Slyvester, but tries to hurt the cat for fun. My main choice for giving this 5+ is that the characters smoke occasionaly, but you hopefully taught your kids from the time they understood what smoking was that they should never do it. I suggest if you have not take an example in Texas Tom where Tom smokes and say" We don't smoke like Tom."
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byIGotTheMagic May 5, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

A fun for everyone classic cartoon

Family friendly classic for just about everyone. Cartoon violence could be offensive or frightening to the very young set.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written bysmoonchu12 March 6, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

good for ages 4 and up.

funny but they use torchere tools for humor sometimes.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 8 years old May 28, 2015
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Great but actually has constant extreme brutal violence.

My rating:R for strong gruesome/shocking/graphic violence.
Teen, 14 years old Written byKmfan97 January 17, 2015
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

words cannot describe how much I love this show.

I'm 14 and I've been a big Tom and Jerry fan since I was real little. Sure it is a violent cartoon but the violence is done in a comedic way nothing like a show like family guy. I also watched the movie in 3rd grade and I thought it was awesome not really as good as the show though. Anyway this show is just absolutely amazing and is suitable for 5 and over.
Kid, 11 years old July 30, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Best cartoon to grow up with now.

This show has the best sense of humor! And, its a good way for the kids that want to play blood and gore video games like Mortal Kombat, to be entertained appropriately. I grew up with it, and people always tell me I have a good sense of humor. And better yet, Itchy and Scratchy may scare you about how its like Tom and Jerry, but that's not true!
Teen, 13 years old Written bychocoluv June 19, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Cat vs Mouse in a Cartoon!

Cartoons back in the 1940s used imagination of what it would be like if animals fought each other. Tom and Jerry was one of those cartoons. Cartoons these days don't really do this anymore, but that doesn't make them "terrible". Tom and Jerry is one of the very few 40s cartoons that I'm able to see these days. I think that the older Tom and Jerry cartoons are the best! Who cares if it has too much violence?
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old February 5, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

OK...

Good TV Show but can't that stupid cat get the mouse for once?
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old January 8, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Hilarious!

It's a really good show! They're is some violence, and sometimes Jerry cuts Tom in half,without blood or gore.It's funny though,and makes a great family show!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 7 years old August 9, 2013
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

for kids and adults very good

my favorite show when i was 5 but its ok has some violence funny and very good let your kids watch it its not that friendly but appropriate
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written bymusicforver July 25, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Classic Will Entertain Children

OK For 5 and up
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byTheBombFunn July 19, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Love it. Classic, just as good as Looney Tunes

What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byDoritos-6 July 7, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Great Show

On 7-17 Pause 4-6 Off 2-3
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byTheTrillonaire July 4, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Iffy for 6+

Funny classic but violent show.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old June 25, 2013
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

good show

it is a good show. (p.s I am looking at it now.)
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old June 16, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

best cartoon

best cartoon old cartoons were the best love it good violence best cartoon
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 9 years old June 13, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

So much VIOLENCE

so much violence it's mainly about a cat murdering a mouse. There are guns, knives, TNT and saws.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 17 years old Written byg1a2b3e4 January 1, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Tom and Jerry

under age 2-6 on age 7 over age 8-18
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old December 27, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

its just a cigar!

Even though there is smoking in some parts its still a hilarious cartoon that will make any one laugh. I don't like tom and Jerry tales because it isn't as near funny as the old series.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written by64 September 30, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Tom and Jerry

Best for 2nd graters because it has shooting, they think the jack a word, There are some sexy cats and mice, They drink wine and whiskey, and they smoke cigars. But its a good show. My rating: TV-G
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages