All member reviews for True Life

Common Sense Media says

Gritty -- but provoking -- reality show.

Users say

(out of 13 reviews)
age 12+
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written bysara4ever95 May 2, 2009
Kid, 11 years old August 15, 2009

iffy for my age but hidden good messages

i love this show. it acctually teaches lessons but i wouldnt recomend it for younder kids. i think some are kind of poinless. there were a couple like "I wish my breasts were bigger" and "i wish my breasts for smaller and "im addicted to pornagraphy. i didnt really watch those. and also another pointless on was "im bisexual" those were pretty pointless but other ones have good messages that were hidden. also there is kissing and referenses to sex. there is alot of bleeping and the make subtitles for things that are hard to here you can tell what they're saying. its the first letter then its followed by ****
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written bysilly_samsters February 11, 2009

WOW!

I think that this is a really good show because they have diffrent type of episodes and it has atleast 3 people that have that problem! I learned alot out of this show! I think MTV should keep on making new ones!
Adult Written bymahilana July 28, 2010

Great show for older teens (16+)

I love this show! Sometimes there's situations that aren't the best but it sticks to the title of the show and really shows people what others are going through in their life. I've been inspired by many young teens who were on the show and I've shed many tears while hearing their stories. Absolutely one of my fave shows!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Adult Written byM&M1995 July 27, 2014

Mature topics, real-life drama explored in excellent MTV staple.

Do not let the fact that True Life is an MTV program deter you from watching. This is a fantastically executed series which can be described as a cross between a documentary and a reality show. True Life is one of MTV's earlier shows, and a very successful one at that, spawning hundreds of episodes. Each episode takes a rather voyeuristic look into the lives of two to three individuals, usually in their teens or twenties, as cameras capture their odd habits, life-changing choices, and monumental moments. Many of the episodes focus on serious issues today's youth face and struggle with, such as body image, coming out, various addictions, disorders, and more. There are also light-hearted episodes such as "I'm a Comic Book Junkie" or "I'm Preparing For The End Of The World" where people's often obsessive and extreme interests, beliefs, and quirks are exposed. However, mature content and situations tend to dominate the series. Topics related to sex and sexuality (prostitution, masturbation, porn, virginity, stripping, homosexuality and bisexuality, contraception, threesomes...) are prominent, and of course are discussed openly, frankly, in detail, or at the very least referenced heavily throughout certain episodes. No visible nudity or on-screen sexual situations though. Marriage and relationships form the storyline of a number of episodes. Sensitive topics such as religion are central to some episodes as well. Smoking, drinking, and partying appear in a few of the episodes. Curse words are minor. Expect "stupid," "hell," "damn," and "bitch." Words like "sh*t" and variations of "f*ck" are bleeped. Parents can safely watch this show even with the younger teens to incite thoughtful discussion. I must admit, numerous episodes do contain disturbing content (ex: one about plastic surgery), but a lot of teenagers could enjoy this show, because there is a chance they could relate to it. True Life is filled with positive messages, including those of acceptance, forgiveness, education, importance of family and friends, etc.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byAR16 October 28, 2012

Very educational.

I have been watching this show for years...Probably started watching it when i was in 5th grade. Ever since I've been watching this show I've learn so much valuable lessons about life...aha! thats why its called True Life LOL but seriously. True Life is amazing and has open my mind to what horrible situations the people featured on True Life have been through. Nothing can compare to how much I have learned from this show.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written byImMelloh September 1, 2012

its is a really good show to let you know how good you have it!

good for all ages just some bad things
What other families should know
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bymovieviewer101 May 19, 2012

Always a good episode

This show is interesting and, in my opinion, a must-see for all teens ages 13 and up. Many real life issues are discussed and teens can empathize and/or sympathize with the young adults in every episode. Your kids will benefit a lot from learning about different lifestyles and struggles that people have.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byAl Jackson April 20, 2012

Great drama!

I remember seeing this on MTV years ago.It thought it was EXTREMELY action packed!
Adult Written byPastelito28 July 14, 2011

Great Overall

i think that this show is great to show people that there is people out there in the world with the same problems that other have and they share their story. i think is nice that MTV just shows the location, first name and age of each person. is better like that to protect them.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written bybrandi253 October 13, 2010
this show is awesome.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byPlague January 7, 2010

True Life

A show I would expect from MTV, dealing with todays youth, and the struggle with teen pregnancies, birth defects, drug issues, and more. A good hard look into the eyes of the people presented in the show.
Teen, 15 years old Written byashbooann16 July 21, 2009

Secretly holds good messages

Depending on the show, it depends on what's going on. It teaches teens that everything that you do comes with a consequence, may it be good or bad. For example, I saw one where the girl was an alcoholic. . . The show didn't promote drinking. If anything, it told you not to drink because that might happen. I think it sends out an educational vibe on how to live your life and not make stupid decisions.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models