All member reviews for Under the Dome

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Sci-fi drama explores the dark side of humans in captivity.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 17 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 15 years old Written byJack Sawyer July 1, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Know your kid

A mostly-appropriate tv drama, under the dome has a few 'naughty' scenes, but is appropriate for the average teen.
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 11 and 13 year old Written bynjackson July 1, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

sex on television

I was mortified to be watching a 9pm show with my 13 year old and see a major network show showing people having sex! So graphic , grossly inappropriate!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent Written byNewYork Pediatrician June 26, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Why you cannot watch television with your kids anymore

any show where they show people naked having sex until orgasm should not be shown to kids. Very upset this is not for television.It is also upsetting that now this is considered "15 year old" kid type show when most kids are not having sex at this age. This is definitely "R" rated material. I would not watch this with my mom.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 17 years old Written bycathycathy September 16, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

No sex

There has been one weak sex scene in the entire series, it is not about sex at all, not sure why the above people are lying about it. The 'sexual terms' are a matter of perception, as I did not pick up or have an issue with this.
Teen, 14 years old Written byijarritos September 25, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

My favorite TV Show

This show is my favorite tv show. It has such a great plot and so much potential. I'm so glad that this show is coming back for a second season!
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byratethis August 30, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

I have seen kids watching worse shows

Like the title says i have seen kids watching worse shows than this, yes, it is violent and can be scary at times, and does contain laungage, but it's alot less harsh than i thought it would be! from the advertisements of it, at first i thought it would be bloody and gory and disturbing like a horror movie/serise, but it's not, in the first episode a cow got cut in half by the dome, but that was the worst of it, nothing that gory has happend since, if your kid/teen is sensitive to violence and drama, then don't let him/her watch it, look at cop shows (csi, cold case, ncis,) this is like those, only i'd say a little LESS violent, and a little more drama, my whole family including my 12 year old younger brother watches this show, give it a chance it is really well written, and surprizenly a little less horific as you might origannly think!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bycrochetmom July 5, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Cussing, sex & lewdness. Not for kids (or even adults)

I was looking forward to this show, but am no longer watching. Besides the sex scene, the amount of cussing is terrible & the reference to sex is just crude. For me, all that made me too uncomfortable to watch. Definitely not for kids!!! I think the plot could have carried the show without all the extras.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byInFRoZ March 2, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

This is a really good show!

I loved under the dome, I am currently waiting for the next season like alot of others! I agree with most, it has its moments with violence and blood and this should be monitored by parents who are a bit strict with this.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byDavidHi August 9, 2013
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Laughably bad at times, but still fun with some content concerns

Once you get past the sex in the first few minutes of the first episode, there aren't too many content concerns. There is relatively frequent mild language and occasional bloody violence but it is rarely over the top. The sex scene does show quite a bit though, even if it is relatively brief. The show really isn't that good though. The acting is lame, the script is even worse. However, the concept is interesting and might be worth a watch if you enjoy mysterious sic-fi stories
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written bystudboy24 July 3, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

under the dome review

I think it is a very good show but may be too violent for kids under 15. It shows scenes with violent seizures and a cow cut in half. Also there is a scence with sex in the pilot lasting 10 seconds
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Adult Written bykayleyc February 10, 2015
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

14 year olds are fine.

no drinking or smoking some bad words, some sex not much.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written byHBayazeed July 29, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

A middle-of-the-road exciter.

Under the Dome is not a perfect television series, nor all the episodes are as exciting. But it is definitely intriguing to see what will happen next to Chester's Mill.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bycait luvs bbc July 8, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Under The Dome has an interesting story but the script makes the actors look fake

The story is interesting, with new problems popping up each show. The characters are interesting, but the script is no good. The script is so plain and boring that it makes the actors seem like they can't act, even though you have seen them in other stuff and know that they can actually act. Overall I only watch it for the story, and seeing what will happen next week, but if they do not get new writers or the script does not improve it at all and it comes back, I will not watch it next year
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old February 21, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Gory...

I only watched the first episode and did not watch it again, there is a herd of cows and all of a sudden a big dome hits them and splits a cow in half!!!which is VERY bloody. I love animals so I was pretty sad when I saw such a graphic image of the inside of a cow. :(
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 14 years old Written bydeadstiel January 31, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

interesting but a little graphic at first

Under the Dome isn't an extraordinarily good show, but it is interesting and I enjoy it. The first episode was honestly the only graphic one and even then, it wasn't that bad. If people think the show is too graphic, they should read the book!
Kid, 10 years old November 16, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

under the dome

I am ten and read the book and watch the show but there is a swear word like every five seconds so I would not recommend it for young children. there is also a group of people that make meth. there are many graphic scenes so I would not recommend it for young children.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byewmany October 6, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

13 and up.

The show is more graphic than i expected. one scene shows a cow getting spit in half, showing blood and its spine. sex is not awful i only saw 1 scene (so far) i think if your teen can handle violence good enough he/she can watch it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking