All member reviews for Veronica Mars

Common Sense Media says

Strong female teen private eye digs into serious topics.

Users say

(out of 29 reviews)
age 13+
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old April 7, 2010

I think buffy the vampire slayer meets nacy drew.

Im 12 (almost 13) and i have watching this show with my mom and we are on the last disc of season one and it is so good! The only thing to be concerned about is maybe about some of the cases like some things have things to do with drugs,porn, violence. But its not bad and its not going to scar you for life or anything. I'm only 12 and i can handle it. But wow i love this show and that's to bad it was canceled
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written bysunnysideup7685 July 10, 2012

Sexual Second Season

I was really getting into this show, until they showed an up close shot of Veronica's ex boyfriend having sex with his best friend's mom. The show has been relatively clean, and there has only a little bit of language and references made, but nothing like this. The review for Veronica Mars says frank sexual innuendo and teenagers making out in cars. After only watching the first two episodes of season two and seeing this, makes me wonder whether Common Sense Media is really watching all the tv shows they are reviewing. I think they should be constantly updating what is going on throughout each season. Had I known there would have been more sex than described in the show I wouldn't have watched it. There is a difference between watching people making out (kissing a lot) and having sex with someone's mom. It's inappropiate and not okay to watch.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written bydeschanel April 9, 2008
Educator and Parent of a 8 and 11 year old Written byRebecca Randall April 9, 2008
Adult Written byTxJosh April 9, 2008
Kid, 10 years old June 9, 2014

Kids already know

There is some violence and romance but that is all
Kid, 10 years old June 14, 2010

11-12 iffy 13+ is right on

I like this show I have only watched a little bit but it is pretty good. I am 11 maybe not the perfect age for the show . The show so far isn't to violent but the sex part isn't that good. The flashbacks are basically what you have to watch for because that was when she remember her dead friend (not a good image) and all thoose parties that she had(with alot of drugs and making out) If you are 13 this show is perfect for you. But if you are 11 it might be a little disgusting or scary at parts but wont like scar you just try not to watch it at night
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byangelfire87 January 10, 2011

Awesome Show, But Only For Older Teens

I've watched the entire series a few times and I loved it. It's definitely a very mature show that I would only recommend to ages 15 and up. It deals with adult topics such as date rape, murder, losing a loved one, sex, drugs, and alcohol abuse. Occasionally, sexual encounters are partially shown (especially in 2nd season.) However, the show also has positive qualities. Veronica is a very strong female lead and has a very close relationship with her father.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Great role models
Adult Written bywahoosigma April 9, 2008

Smart and Sassy but filled with moral dilemas

This is a well-written smart show. However, it as a teen drama it highlights all the pitfalls of teenhood -- status issues, drugs, sex and gang issues. These are very adult themes. Several of the characters are wealthy emancipated teens who really lack a moral compass. Veronica is a smart, sassy gal but her own ethics are very situational. Not a bad show, but definitely merits parental involvement and post show discussion.
Adult Written byradicalistic April 9, 2008

This show goes both ways.

I personally love this show. It has great actors and has an intiguing storyline every episode. The downside is, is does give teens some bad examples. Neptune, California is a have vs. have-nots environment. The rich (09'ers) are constantly berating those lesser than them. Inapropriate language is sprinkled throughout the show (1-2 every episode). References to drug use or alchol are relatively common. There is a lot of talk about sex and infedelity because of the Mars's family business (private investigation). Although this show has lightened up in the second season, it still is not appropriate for most teens.
Parent of a 10 and 12 year old Written byPhil91 April 11, 2014
Just watched this my 10 and 12 year old cousins and they absolutely loved it! There is a bit of violence and a fair amount of kissing / sex scene so not for very sensitive viewers.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Teen, 13 years old Written bybubblesrain1211 June 26, 2011

Wonderful show, iffy subject matter

This show has great acting, an engaging storyline, interesting characters, and the leading character is strong. Unfortunatley, it deals with gang violence, sex, drinking and drug abuse, and mild language. Overall, I love this show, and half way through season 3. This show gives parents a lot to talk with their children about.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written bybubblegumblue January 29, 2010

Amazing

It's the most addictive show I've ever watched. I love it!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byneptune09er November 9, 2008

My favorite show!

I can't even describe how much I love this show. It even influenced my screen name (neptune09er). The characters are very refreshing and different than most of the junk on TV now. Too bad it got cancelled :(
Teen, 13 years old Written byHinataLuvsPeterick April 9, 2008

Was My Favorite Show

until it got canceled. T_T I've been watching it since '04. I recommend this show to 15+ year olds.
Teen, 13 years old Written byjess anne September 13, 2015

Great show for teens

I really recommend this show for anyone over the age of 14. It has great mysteries and leaves the watcher guessing what will happen next. There is a lot of violence and sex so it wouldn't be appropriate for younger viewers.
Kid, 12 years old March 2, 2014

BEST SHOW EVER!!!

This is the best show ever!!!! Veronica is smart and funny and one of the best heroines of all time. I've never met anyone who has watched this show and not fallen in love with it. ALL the characters are awesome. There is almost no sex in the first season, but a lot in the second and third. Mild language.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byMackenzie Logan July 6, 2013

There is barely any words to do the TV series justice

I love Veronica Mars! I have re-watched the series at least 15 times, (not exaggerating). I love the mysteries and the characters, especially Veronica Mars, Wallace Fannel and Eli Navarro. There is barely any words to do the TV series justice, it is amazing.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old April 5, 2013

Kickstarter campaign working for this BAMFY series

YAYYYYYYY! Okay, annoying start but awesome sauce news. Veronica Mars is going to be made into a movie. The series is a little cheesy but, ahh Kristen Bell (total girl crush) Okay this review is mostly bout Kristen Bell. LOL. Peace, Phebe
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byzman2016 March 28, 2013

Inappropriate for kids under 13

The show is designed very cleverly although it contains inappropriate elements which may not be suitable for young viewers.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages