All member reviews for Vikings

Common Sense Media says

Violent, mature drama has amiable, legendary hero.

Users say

(out of 20 reviews)
age 15+
Review this title!
Adult Written byluvbunni86 March 14, 2013

More sexual scenes then told.

To add to all the other sexual situations, a viking rapes a woman ( though no skin is shown its implied that isnt what the woman wants. Many scenes are shown with a man and woman physically abusing each other in between there make out moments. I thought this would be an educational show to watch considering its the history channel, but there are many things that I dont need or want children to be educated about. ( take the sex out ) and it would be a lot better.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byHeq073198 March 31, 2013

I love it

I really really like this show. And honestly, it's a show about the Vikings, who are notorious for being gruesome. I am not a squeamish person, at all, so honestly I haven't even cringed at the blood. Did you honestly think this was going to be a family show? The "disrespect" towards other cultures is an accurate depiction of Vikings' relationships with other civilizations. There are constant hints at the imminent conversion to Christianity this culture faced. The monk was interrogated by a Viking priest, where he is asked three times to deny his faith. Now even the least educated in the Christian faith will understand the symbolism there. I think the amount of sex and violence is accurate to what the Viking society was actually like, and being historically accurate is the point of this show isn't it?
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written bySquatch April 2, 2013

"Vikings" IS BAD

This Common Sense Media review doesn't accurately review the show because it is only based on the 1st episode. The review doesn't add the fact that their are multiple scenes of rape (some attempted and some successful). The main character can be a postive influence but he like many other characters in the show disrespect the culture of other lands, like Christianity in England. This is likely due to the creator's desire to accurately display the vikings. Few scenes with some sort of strong drink. Lots of violence in this show during fight scenes. It's a good show for adults, but it's not for kids due to sexual content and violence.
What other families should know
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator and Parent Written byteachyoung April 14, 2013

Parental Guidance Suggested and permission given to keep teacher out of trouble. 16 and up.

I don't have kids but I do teach. For better or worse most of today's kid are sexaully aware more so than what we would have could we control it. My feelings are that this show is probably okay for your average high school history class maybe at about junior year or possibly sophmore year depending on the kids and depending on how conservative the area and the district. Biggest challenge with history is bringing it to life and much more so with today's generation who think the world was made the day they were born and it chiefly consists of their facebook page. Now when you want to teach the. That there was a world before they were born and outside of facebook the Vikings does it. I had a 6 th grader ask me one day "Why didn't the Indians grab some AKs" when the conquitadores were being cruel to to them. I had a high schooler ask me if I was in WW II when I was 38 back in 98. You need every tool and every trick you can get to bring this generation out of its shell. Yes ideally a lot of the intimate scenes could be taken out but the only solution I could think of now is to send permission slips home and let the parents decide. Also I wouldn't show it to any kid below sophmore or maybe junior year. The biggest issue I have with the show is that it gives a sympathetic view toppeople that were Invaders, commiting rape, plunder, and pillage when they could balance it out by making a show about Alfred the Great who sucessfully fought them off or even something along the lines of King Arthur when he was fighting Saxon invaders who later become tame and themselves face the Vikings. Anytime you tell the story from the point of view of the aggessor or the conqueor something is missing from your telling.Look at the story of the US and its own conquests and colonizing.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent Written byconcernedparent111 April 21, 2014

Miss the story in Vikings

The series seems to have gotten bloodier and bloodier. Where is the story of the laudable actions Ragnar takes? The crucifixion was bad enough, but I left the room before the scene during the last episode of a blood eagle torture performed on a living man. That was the end for this family. Ironically I've now had an epic battle with my 15 year old about watching this series further. I say we have and see enough violence in America without watching it for entertainment. My son, with his hormones raging, doesn't need it either. Ironic that through curtailing his view of it, violent feelings come unbidden to my home anyway,as he stormed out for a walk. This is not a series for anyone anymore because no behavior worth modeling is being learned about human history.
Teen, 16 years old Written byRustyShackleford February 18, 2014

Not as good as Rome but still really entertaining

Anyone complaining about sexual content is a hypocrite. If you are fine with the violence because of it being historically accurate then you should feel the same way about the sexual content. People have always had sex and the sex in Vikings is not gratuitous or really that graphic. If you want to see a show with unneeded sex and nudity watch Game of thrones and see if you feel the same way about Vikings. The show itself is an entertaining adventure with the legendary Ragnar Lodbrok at the helm and is full of action and intrigue that most teenagers will be able to enjoy. It's not as good as The borgias or Rome but the show is still worth a watch if you like historical fiction
What other families should know
Great role models
Parent Written byAnon235 March 22, 2016

Good show but not for the faint hearted

The first three seasons are mild in some ways compared to season 4 so far. It is a really good show but there is a lot of violence which I personally don't watch (make hubby tell me when gone!) The violence is graphic in many many places. I liked the story though so just didn't Watch those bits. However the sex scenes are getting worse as the seasons go on. There is a scene I found especially uncomfortable to watch with my 18 year old son in episode 5 of season 4, and while do not see much, it lasts a while and you are left in no doubt what is happening in a five minute foreplay scene. Why do all shows need to do this. We are surrounded, well more like bombarded by sex and sexual images at every single turn and I liked that vikings had, (within reason compared to some , say game of thrones,) kept it relatively low until now. I personally thought the story line and the series was above and better than just filling it up gratuitous sex to gain more viewers. It had no plot reference and the relationship between people could be shown without a five minute scene like that. Not everyone wants to see that. All these programmes think we are all sex obsessed. If we were to walk into a room where that was going on and we watched we would be called perverts. Why is it then ok just because it's on tele. Can't they just make good programmes that focus on content and story . Now another thing I can't watch with my child. Definitely not for under 18 in my opinion and I personally feel totally uncomfortable watching it with my kids.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written bygarthinacowboyhat April 27, 2014

Great Story

I LOVE THIS SHOW! I have watched it ever since I was 13. It does have some-moments.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written bySadman February 3, 2016

Different versions of episodes - be careful

Depending where you are or how you watch this show, you may see a different version of the episodes. Some versions, including those on DVD, have more sex and nudity than the broadcast versions. If that concerns you - especially as some of the sex involves rape - I strongly advise pre-viewing the episodes if you have any inkling of showing it to kids (though I wouldn't recommend that). One thing that's concerning is this show doesn't air on something like HBO. In Canada it airs on History, a channel that primarily airs family-friendly documentaries and the like. So tread carefully.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byvanesa01 April 25, 2015

It's really great !!!

I have watched all the 3 seasons and i think those are GREAT, i can't for the next one. It's true , there are some sex scenes , but those do not influence the child so much. The age doesn't show who you are , you should look at the maturity. Those scenes are not "showing everything" and i think that kids should know about those things. This serial have really learned me a lot. I love history and especially i am a fan of vikings .I've always wanted to know more about their life and never knew they belived in Gods. There is violence , but i think that is more scary to see a chirurgical operation then a bleeded ax in a chest. I recommend it.
What other families should know
Great role models
Adult Written bydarthsitkur March 13, 2014

Super Addicting Guy's Show

imagine if game of thrones had a sibling that was just as aggressive and blood thirsty, that sibling show's name would be Vikings, a kickass, bloody, and gruesome action packed thrill ride, and trust me, the fights and battle scenes are hardcore and they REALLY get your adrenaline going lol. there's also several chilling and intense moments as well, such as the drawn out blood eagle scene, and it even has elements of the godfather too surprisingly. anyway, I'd describe Vikings as Valhalla Rising: The TV Series, that was a great movie and this is a great show so that's a win win, I highly recommend Vikings to fans of Valhalla rising, they won't be disappointed
Parent Written byJasonMR February 15, 2016

Definitely 16+

Excellent show, probably the best History Channel original ever, but this is not for anyone under 16
Teen, 16 years old Written byJflores14 December 6, 2015

Gory and sex filled tv series t

This series is incredibly good, but it contains rated r level violence and gore. CONTENT: Violence- decpaitation, dismemberment, children are killed, women are raped, blood is shown splattering, massive war with many many deaths. Very gory and lots of details shown. SEX- one scene shows a married couple asking a preist to have a threesome with them, a woman is raped, a woman is shown with a bare back as she thrusts into a man(only back shown and sex noises heard) LANGAUGE- one use of piss and one use of bastard RATING: PG-13/ for graphic and grisly images, prolonged war violence, sexuality, and some nudity
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written bydainkonon April 6, 2015

good work

Fantastic show. It is good because it has not have much sex, drinking. I love this show because of violance and interesting history lesson I recomend this show for teens 14 years of age and above and for adults ( If they love history )
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Adult Written bynathanaelthe1stw July 15, 2016

not for kids of any age and not realistic to that time of age

The tv show is not ok for kids of any age reasons why, most of the tv show is over sex or violence. True I get that most of violence is true for that time of age, but there are moments where it is not one pit realistic to that time, like is a witch doctor that does evil thing like killing animal to give to the gods, wtf. but better yet in payment he, has sex with young woman, wtf more. I have been to Norway and this tv show looks nothing like Norway or Sweden. I am 16 and even I know that this is not ok for kids. I don't know who wrote this review for this tv show but they were not in their right mind. please spair your kid the time to find out that this is not a history tv show, this is a what to be of GAME OF THRONES.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Teen, 16 years old Written byHephaestusFi June 25, 2016

From an average kid

Let's be honest, the show is amazing. It's historically accurate and though it is semi-gruesome if your kid wants to watch it and they don't get squirmish then does it really matter? It's pretty much an extremely entertaining history lesson. Also if you're worried about sex scences and your child wants to watch this, they're already watching porn so a bit of real historical nudity in one or two scenes isn't going to turn your little angel into anything else. Overall let your kid decide if they want to watch it if they can comprehend the themes
Teen, 15 years old Written byDimWitKnowsAll June 19, 2016

Intense Show, full of violent raids, battles, and executions. Has a few sexual scenes throughout the series.

Vikings is great. I love it. I think the violence isn't as bad as most people say. Language is almost nonexistent. Drug usage is almost nonexistent. Sexual Content is a common theme, but never goes beyond what you would see in a movie like Iron Man. Usually it's just a man and a woman under sheets, with some noises, and a tiny bit of movement. I recall 2 nude scenes in the American Version. One is a woman from far off, with no clothes on, but she is sideways. All you see is the shape of her body for about 3 seconds. The other nude scene is in a bath with 2 men and 2 women. As a man gets out, you can see his whole butt-crack, and as he steps out, you can partially see his... (balls)... through his legs. Other than those scenes there isn't anything to worry about. Also, a few beheadings and heads on a spike. Blood often splatters across the screen in battles.
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byMaster Reviewer June 14, 2016

Great historically accurate film but might not be ok for all kids

Of course its about vikings so expect violence, sex and torture. If you can manage all this then I highly recommend this show to you. Very interesting plot, amazing plot and the music in the background is key.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Adult Written bysorryfornotsorry February 28, 2016

its good show i like it

i like watching vikings .There are almost no sex scene . i think its okay for teens
What other families should know
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Adult Written bynancysansom@com... March 28, 2015

The Priest and his inner struggle between believing in GOD or ODON

Season Three - 2015, What a wonderful , inspiring and marvelous historical production this 3rd season and every other season, has been. How did this TV script, directors, actors and actresses and all others involved in this production come together so perfectly? Because I am an avid historical buff, especially of the Viking period, this is one of be best TV programs, on this topic that I have ever seen. The customs, boats and buildings, language, and the authentic looking dress design is out of this world, One can imagine ourselves, living in that society and in that time period. It is like being in a time machine, living in the 800's AD! Especially touching and soul felt, was the tension that the Priest bravely and humbly endures through all his suffering, between his Christian vows and the Viking Gods. These same challenge seems to flow down through the ages to the 21st century. Whether to follow God, if any, or other ways. Though there was plenty of visual war scenes, beyond that, the human tendency for following riches, greed, power, envy, and even murder for self interests follows us to this day. The Priest struggling to decide which path he will follow, and how all the other players evolve and change is a challenge that we all face. Thank you again for this wonderful Viking Series on History Channel and hope that it will continue to be produced for many more seasons to come.. N. Sansom, Ph.D., OTR