All member reviews for WordGirl

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 32 reviews)
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 9 years old July 10, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Second best show on PBS Kids!

This is a great show! It combines education with entertainment! It may be a bit scary for kids in pre-school, but my 5 year old brother loves it! This show is the best show on PBS Kids, barely behind Fetch! as my choice!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old July 3, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Good show

I really don't have much to say, but I like the show. Huggyface is funny. Also, I remember when I first started watching it, I thought Becky Botzford was Becky Oxford (like the dictionary). LOL But, for younger kids there is some minor violence, no guns or anything though. :)
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written byBornAgainINChrist January 3, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Great show for ages 5 and up

I am a teen and live in a big family and every school day my family and I all gather into our living room to watch the show WordGirl. It is an AMAZING show and I have watched it since I was 9 years old and still love it. It has great educational value and it stirs some great family laughs for kids and adults. It gives a appropriate girl superhero for young girls to admire and gives the boys some action to enjoy. It is realistic to everyday elementary life and gives the kids something to relate too. It helps imagination soar and sparks vocabulary. I love WordGirl and I think it is a great little show.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old December 17, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Cuteness

I like how a villian is smitten by Wordgirl. He does it for her attention. This show is a funny and cute show for babies:D
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 4 years old September 21, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Very educational, action against the bad guys while keeping the fights clean and non-violent

Very educational and rather exciting for kids; My 4 year old son loves the Word Girl. There are some battles against the robots, the evil sandwich guy and the bad butcher, but there is no hitting or physical violence against them. For example, they throw tofu at the bad butcher that loses his magical power with tofu, or they trick the bad guy and disable evil machines that lead to the arrest of the bad guy. The little action keeps the five year old still interested.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old August 24, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Disturbing And Annoying Show

It is a pretty good show, but I feel that the vocabulary Word Girl uses is slightly annoying: she will sometimes use words everybody knows, and sometimes she will use words even I don't know as a 10 year old. It is also very disturbing to me that the parents act so dumb, showing little kids that your parents should be like that. This is why if you do watch this show, you should be at least 7 or older, and one more thing. Becky (Word Girl) has a crush on a school boy named Scoops Ming, which I also think little kids should be watching.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great role models
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old January 31, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

Helps with vocabulary

This show is O.K. but it has a lot of violence and scary things, like fighting. But it helps with vocabulary.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Teen, 13 years old Written byleftbehindcrazed8 December 4, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

awesome show!!!!

OMG! This show is great for pre-school and lower elementary kids. Great show, which is funny and educational! My 6 year old sister LOVES this show, she looks forward to the 4:30 showing of it.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Great role models
Kid, 12 years old June 26, 2009
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
very educational, but the theme is pretty dark. In one episode this boy keeps whining... like "It's so LAME, like meat butcher's meat." I'd say, the only thing that is concerned is some mild fantasy violence and dark theme.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Educational value
Kid, 12 years old May 31, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

love it

i consider myself a word girl due to the fact i watch it everyday and I'm pretty good in my vocabulary.
Kid, 6 years old April 9, 2008
AGENot rated for age
QUALITY
 

....................

i don't catch it but i saw some of the marthon

Pages