All member reviews for deviantART

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Online art gallery is creative space for older teens.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 94 reviews)
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old June 15, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Give me a break people!!

I say Ages 12 and up should be fine.I am 12 and I got banned from there because one person thought I just wanted to look up 'pornography' But I didn't!!! I just wanted to post my artwork to show other people.I am a lot more mature than most 12 year olds.Everyone I know thinks so.I didn't look at 'nudy' pictures or anything like that,the most I did was read couple stories that had curse words in them. -.- really people. I think this is a great site for kids who are mature enough to handle it.But that's up to the parents to decide.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written byISpeakTheTruth January 2, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Don't even waste you're time.

I have been a memeber of Deviantart for a month and I can tell you that the site is okay in some regards. However, I have many pet peeves with this site in particular because it seems to me that everywhere theirs a noticible over abundance of fanart from over 85% of the "artwork" contributions. This would include many characters that are from popular games, cartoon series and the most widely used one Anime. Because of this, many users on the site, if they were to draw fanart alone and be really good at it, this might cause a lot of popularity for that artist. Now if you're not accostomed to drawing fanart, like myself, but are really good at your work despite that then Deviantart is NOT the place for you. Sure, there would be some people that would like your work, but you wouldn't be have as successful as any of the other users. You either have to be really good at doing fanart or really good at doing art period. Otherwise, you will have a hard time trying to get 'watchers' (people who subscribe to you in order to view your most recent work) on Deviantart. Another issue that I would like to bring up is the fact that their is a significant amount of swearing in the "Complaints" forum, all of which seems to go against the sites ettiquette policy. If that's not stressful enough, the admins on the site when you go to report a legititmate problem then when go to the help desk they seem rather reluctant to listen to your issue and hardly ever do anything about it. There was this one time a couple years back that some users were unfairly banned because they kept pestering them with certain users that were harrassing them. Also, their seems to be a rumor that seems to be most likely true concerning the sites management when it comes to punishments. For starters, it's been noted that users that usually have premium memberships, or have advanced accounts are usually given lighter punishments versus users that have just a standard membership; which in turn are given harsher punishments for some of the most minor offenses. And you know it really seems to get really sad, when some of the news articles on the site even says that "Deviantart sucks" or "Deviantart admins are unfair" and so on. And as for the pornagraphic pictures on the site, their are some labels that artists can put some of the pictures under, like "mature art" or "mature restricted to 18 plus" which for the most part is one of the good aspects of the site. Unfortunately, their seems to be a lot of pictures on the site that aren't put under any of these labels that include young women wearing mature outfits or are either shown completely topless. I've even seen pictures that have a lot of disturbing messages and show a lot of disturbing images that may offend some users. And believe me, their is nothing "artistic" about some of the pictures that include that at all. It's sick really. It's like a form of soft porn fetishes under the fake classification of "artwork". Which is sad, considering that it violates some of the sites policies and yet the administrators on the site do absolutely nothing. I wouldn't dare recommend this site to anyone who wants to show their artistic expression outside of fanart or anybody who wants to have a certain amount of feedback on their work, or to anybody who's 13. Infact don't even waste your time. There are better sites out their than this one. Believe me.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 16 years old Written byquonginongnong March 3, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Great site, buuuuuut...

Having been a very frequent user of the site for almost two years now, I think deviantART is a great site, and a valuable resource. The site features a vast range of artwork from all skill levels- amateur to professional. I even know of a few animators for Disney/Pixar who post their sketches and personal work on the site. DeviantART has value to just about everyone in one way or another. Kids can look at fanart for their favorite cartoons, or get inspiration from brilliant illustrators specializing in cute fluffy animals. Students can use deviantART to upload work they've done for school projects, or on their own time, and get valuable feedback and critique on it, as well as learning from many tutorials and guides for improving their art or writing, and for accessing a wide variety of stock images to use as references for their own work. The overall atmosphere is constructive, supportive and fun, and the community is quirky and eclectic, promoting diversity and personal growth. This said, deviantART is still not a site for everyone, especially young kids. Though users are generally responsible with what they post, and are careful to place 'mature content' tags on art banning younger users from viewing/reading it, there's no denying that deviantART shows the darker underbelly of art at times. Some art is highly sexual or violent, featuring nude figures (usually women), excessive gore and alcoholism/drug abuse. Heated debates have occurred in the forums discussing whether the admins allow porn on the site, masquerading as art, and admins are sometimes accused of playing favorites among artists & genres. And, as with every unmonitored forum site, there are some badmouthed jerks posting hateful and inappropriate comments, founding crude, tasteless groups and being generally unpleasant. All in all, deviantART is a fun, constructive, helpful site with a few very rotten seeds mixed in the bunch. I highly recommend it, but only for older kids or people who can overlook shock-factor artwork.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 15 years old Written byFusionElement November 2, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Such great art, surrounded by extremely iffy content.

This website is very interesting, it's also very fun and some of the artwork is beautiful. But sometimes the art can get a little on the inappropriate side. While I love deviant art and would never try to set guidelines on what art is, sometimes it gets a little more than edgy. I am not saying all of the paintings are like this, some of the artwork I have seen on here is incredible and some people are very talented. But I clicked inappropriate and great user content for a reason. Because, like most user-content websites, some stuff is more desirable than others. But one more warning about the artwork. Some artwork can be nightmarish and gory, and can get downright disturbing. But remember these are warnings for the artwork that this website wouldn't approve of. PLEASE remember that this website has incredible art too. I gave it five stars because that is what I think it deserves. Deviant art is a good website for anyone who is an artist or wants to get more involved with the art world.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Educational value
Educator and Parent of a 4 and 9 year old Written byconnielove93 September 18, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Cool site but beware of pop-ups!!!

Devianart.com is where people can post their artwork to share with the world! As positive as this message may seem its users aren't so family-friendly. People can say whatever they want to and the content can have "language". Also some users take "artistic nudity" to a whole other extreme but you can block graphic or obsene content. Also there have been problems with computer viruses so teach younger kids not to click on ads. This site has viruses that can rap users into clicking on them so if you feel trapped in a pop-up, shut down your computer. Mostly this site is great and the positive messages and wondreful artwork outweigh the bad language and content, but be wary because this site can carry viruses!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 12 years old March 7, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

great for an artist!

This site is great if you know what your doing. I have an account on there and have pictures posted because i love to draw. But i have seen people post immature and inappropriate drawings. If you want your kid to have an account, make sure to put parental settings on it.
Parent of a 2 year old Written byScratcher_cat March 2, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Great for artistic kids

From the time the can appreciate art, they will like this site. I'd reccomend browsing with your child from 9-11/12 though. 13 is when it is legal for them to have an account. So it should be okay by then. You could also get your own account and let your kids post their drawings on there, and let them see the feedback.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old November 26, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Realy its not off on 9 and up mainly 9 and below . My & year old sister goes on this website www.dressupgames.com now I found it out but the past year I have been keeping my tab and she clicks on it and it goes on this one. Today she landed on this one o checked out . Horible . It was super duper sexual and I bet it was barely anything compared to the others.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 17 years old Written byBlue-Bunny January 29, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Nice website...

DeviantArt is great! You can share art and stories to the community and it's all pretty simple. It can be iffy at times, so children beware. There's plenty of violence, sex, and gore, so be sure to apply the parental block if you're really young or hate to see inappropriate content. Like ISpeakTheTruth said, there's much popularity surrounded by anime, which can be a problem at times. However, that's not always the case. Just make something really good and stunning and you're sure to pull in a few fans. Don't forget to ask your parents before signing up.
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much violence
Too much sex
Parent Written bythemegaton October 25, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

GREAT!

Mostly good, the occassional porno art, but only if you SEARCH for it.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byShadowClan4ever May 14, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
I love to go on the website and show off my fan-art to my friends. But many people show some major and minor violence, some art titles and some art have cuss words in them (sometimes abbreviated), and some pictures show sexual content. But even though, most pictures like that are censored, showing something that says this picture contains whatever the issue is and then shows a button you can click that says 'show this picture anyway'. So it kinda gives younger users a warning.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byAwesome_O October 11, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Content can vary.

This is a great site, but parents need to know some of the art contains nudity or coarse language, and kids can easily skip over the warnings. It's best supervised for tweens, but teens are mature enough to browse alone.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old November 14, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

AWESOME!

On the website if art is to "mature" they have a window that says "Warning: May Contain Mature Content!" I have an account and there are many groups that post "nice" art!
Teen, 14 years old Written byNoseStuckInABook September 18, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
I love Deviantart, but it is definitely not for younger kids. While searching for a Disney princess, you might find a picture of her naked. Lots of nudity and sexual themes, but most of the time, it is blocked. Same with things that are too violent. There is pretty much no rules on language. On the bright side, many of the dA users are very talented, and it is a fun site to look at. I've often found that some of the artists take my breath away every time I look at some of their art.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old April 28, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Sexual stuff

great site-only problem is that there are pics of naked women ect....also comments can be mean
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 16 years old Written byTeenworld_11 May 16, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

perfect for all ages,it has a mature art block,jeez

it's telling people to be creative,i have one.LOVE IT!!!!!!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byAstardomwen May 11, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Good For Older Kids, but not 12 and under.

I have used DA for about 4 months and so far the problems I have encountered on it are language and pornography. We fellow Deviants work hard to keep DA a safe and clean place, but there still are some people who will try to get by us. Some Deviants like to use words like sh-t and f-k, but most often they are rebuked for it. People who are caught posting porn are deleted off the site
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written byRagzi September 10, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Artistic nudity may be a problem

I say both appropriate and inappropriate user content because, while there may be great art on dA, they also allow artistic nudity. In my opinion, artistic nudity is fine, but some people on this website can not draw the line between artistic and trashy. The great thing about dA is that you have to be 18 to view these pictures (although there are ways around it).
What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 12 years old December 1, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great, if you're ready for it.

I am a very regular user of this site (my account is Apoloto) and I have made many great friends and experiences. HOWEVER, you have to make sure you're mature enough to go on this site. I'm very mature for my age, and most would guess that I was in college! But, drama is fairly likely to happen throughout the site, and there are some provocative images. Still, you shouldn't be finding any of that stuff if you don't want to- unless you look up My Little Pony -.- So, if you have a great artistic ability and you're mature enough, then this website is definitely for you.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byHotaru Chan October 26, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Perfect for artists of any kind

Deviantart is a great and fun website for teens and older. Yes, there are some inappropriate things, such as curse words and certain pictures, but most of them cannot be viewed by younger users. As long as you can take some swearing and sexual pictures, I would recommend this 13 and up.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing

Pages