All member reviews for deviantART

Common Sense Media says

Online art gallery is creative space for older teens.

Users say

(out of 98 reviews)
age 13+
Review this title!
Parent Written byReviews4teens July 1, 2012

Please learn from my mistakes

My 16 yo daughter got involved with this website before I knew much, if anything, about it. I should have trusted my instincts and deleted her account early on. Recently, I held my breath and finally clicked on many of the member's profile pages. Shocked and sickened would describe how I felt knowing that these people were discussing art and their interpretation of life with my daughter. Obscene swearing abounds on some of the profiles and don't even look at their 'favorites'. I clicked on one only to see Sherlock Holmes and Watson doing something that definitely was not in the movie. Yes, that. In addition, there is lots of anger coming from many of the members. Just think about getting tons of confused (and often neglected) teens together and have them all compare notes about all the pain in their lives and on top of that, display all this pain in drawings or paintings or whatever. Well, just enter a search for blood or death and you'll see what I mean. How many ways can one draw pain? There appears to be quite a few. I have to ask some of you out there who say that this site is something that your 6 or 7 year old should view, have you gone there and really dug around the muck? I wish I had done so earlier. I give it 2 stars because the site is set up nicely where one can display his or her work. Some of the art work is beautiful; there are many talented people out there. Otherwise, I would give it a 1 star for low standards. First, for allowing so much profanity and second, for their labeling system. Just labeling something as 'mature doesn't cut it; kids are swearing that they are 18 and clicking on it all; don't assume they are turning a blind eye. And be sure you are monitoring the Notes section. This is where all the fun really happens! Just imagine, talking to someone in another country, and role playing fantastical stories. Just imagine what that can lead to. Believe me, it does lead to some nasty stuff. I have seen it. Deviant Art can be an okay site, but monitor, monitor, monitor.....I cannot stress that enough. Don't be in my position, having to parent reactively. Parent proactively and protect your child.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 16 years old Written byISpeakTheTruth January 2, 2011

Don't even waste you're time.

I have been a memeber of Deviantart for a month and I can tell you that the site is okay in some regards. However, I have many pet peeves with this site in particular because it seems to me that everywhere theirs a noticible over abundance of fanart from over 85% of the "artwork" contributions. This would include many characters that are from popular games, cartoon series and the most widely used one Anime. Because of this, many users on the site, if they were to draw fanart alone and be really good at it, this might cause a lot of popularity for that artist. Now if you're not accostomed to drawing fanart, like myself, but are really good at your work despite that then Deviantart is NOT the place for you. Sure, there would be some people that would like your work, but you wouldn't be have as successful as any of the other users. You either have to be really good at doing fanart or really good at doing art period. Otherwise, you will have a hard time trying to get 'watchers' (people who subscribe to you in order to view your most recent work) on Deviantart. Another issue that I would like to bring up is the fact that their is a significant amount of swearing in the "Complaints" forum, all of which seems to go against the sites ettiquette policy. If that's not stressful enough, the admins on the site when you go to report a legititmate problem then when go to the help desk they seem rather reluctant to listen to your issue and hardly ever do anything about it. There was this one time a couple years back that some users were unfairly banned because they kept pestering them with certain users that were harrassing them. Also, their seems to be a rumor that seems to be most likely true concerning the sites management when it comes to punishments. For starters, it's been noted that users that usually have premium memberships, or have advanced accounts are usually given lighter punishments versus users that have just a standard membership; which in turn are given harsher punishments for some of the most minor offenses. And you know it really seems to get really sad, when some of the news articles on the site even says that "Deviantart sucks" or "Deviantart admins are unfair" and so on. And as for the pornagraphic pictures on the site, their are some labels that artists can put some of the pictures under, like "mature art" or "mature restricted to 18 plus" which for the most part is one of the good aspects of the site. Unfortunately, their seems to be a lot of pictures on the site that aren't put under any of these labels that include young women wearing mature outfits or are either shown completely topless. I've even seen pictures that have a lot of disturbing messages and show a lot of disturbing images that may offend some users. And believe me, their is nothing "artistic" about some of the pictures that include that at all. It's sick really. It's like a form of soft porn fetishes under the fake classification of "artwork". Which is sad, considering that it violates some of the sites policies and yet the administrators on the site do absolutely nothing. I wouldn't dare recommend this site to anyone who wants to show their artistic expression outside of fanart or anybody who wants to have a certain amount of feedback on their work, or to anybody who's 13. Infact don't even waste your time. There are better sites out their than this one. Believe me.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 13 year old Written bybobsax September 16, 2012

Perverts may be lurking

I noticed that somebody had commented on what a pretty girl he thought my 13 yo daughter was. I checked him out and he is at least old enough to drink because he states in his profile that he likes good beer. His gallery was a few photographs of landscapes but his favorites was almost entirely young girls in underwear. Much of it was blocked because my daughter has explicit content blocked. I find this a little disturbing in many ways. One of which is the message that you'll be popular if you take provocative photos of yourself. Some of the girls look pretty young also. Isn't there a law about that? My daughter is a great artist and she gets a lot from the site and has friends of the same age that are on the site. I was not aware of the recommended age of 15 here at CSM.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 14 years old Written byAstardomwen May 11, 2011

Good For Older Kids, but not 12 and under.

I have used DA for about 4 months and so far the problems I have encountered on it are language and pornography. We fellow Deviants work hard to keep DA a safe and clean place, but there still are some people who will try to get by us. Some Deviants like to use words like sh-t and f-k, but most often they are rebuked for it. People who are caught posting porn are deleted off the site
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 16 years old Written byquonginongnong March 3, 2011

Great site, buuuuuut...

Having been a very frequent user of the site for almost two years now, I think deviantART is a great site, and a valuable resource. The site features a vast range of artwork from all skill levels- amateur to professional. I even know of a few animators for Disney/Pixar who post their sketches and personal work on the site. DeviantART has value to just about everyone in one way or another. Kids can look at fanart for their favorite cartoons, or get inspiration from brilliant illustrators specializing in cute fluffy animals. Students can use deviantART to upload work they've done for school projects, or on their own time, and get valuable feedback and critique on it, as well as learning from many tutorials and guides for improving their art or writing, and for accessing a wide variety of stock images to use as references for their own work. The overall atmosphere is constructive, supportive and fun, and the community is quirky and eclectic, promoting diversity and personal growth. This said, deviantART is still not a site for everyone, especially young kids. Though users are generally responsible with what they post, and are careful to place 'mature content' tags on art banning younger users from viewing/reading it, there's no denying that deviantART shows the darker underbelly of art at times. Some art is highly sexual or violent, featuring nude figures (usually women), excessive gore and alcoholism/drug abuse. Heated debates have occurred in the forums discussing whether the admins allow porn on the site, masquerading as art, and admins are sometimes accused of playing favorites among artists & genres. And, as with every unmonitored forum site, there are some badmouthed jerks posting hateful and inappropriate comments, founding crude, tasteless groups and being generally unpleasant. All in all, deviantART is a fun, constructive, helpful site with a few very rotten seeds mixed in the bunch. I highly recommend it, but only for older kids or people who can overlook shock-factor artwork.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 17 years old Written byTheRebel February 24, 2015

DeviantART Sucks

This is a horrible, horrible website. I am a learning artist and I joined this site when my old friend made me an account. It was ok, for a while. Then everything went south very fast, especially when I learned it wasn't just art, it is very much a social website, just like Facebook. I started getting harassed by sexual predators, and men who were more than twice my age. The site contains way too much porn and nudity that is not even appropriate for an 18 year old to see. And it's not just that. Their are tons of art thieves and the site refuses to do anything about it. If you contact the site's management about any problem, they are very unhelpful and basically tell you they can't help you, to "deal with it" and get lost. The WORST part about the whole site is the CYBERBULLYING. Me and my friends were viciously attacked by other users, and some were even adults! They told us to "go die", cussed us, accused us of everything under the sun, and made us feel bad about ourselves. We didn't feel like an artist at all, and we lost our self esteem for a while. Again, the website did not care that we were being harassed like this. (They didn't care probably because the people who harassed us were extremely popular artists who had done this many times before. The site just turns their head, and let's them bully others; many of the victims are not in the wrong.) It was a horrible experience and waste of my time and life. I immediately shut down my account and will NEVER go back. I encourage you not to waste your life there. It is a terrible website. Parents, you should really be careful if your kids are on here, and try to get them to leave. They are in danger.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written byRainbowprincess February 21, 2015

Cyberbullying

I used to be a member of DevaintArt, all I can say it is not appropriate for me or anyone. I had trouble with a couple of cyber bullies and other users on this site. It's name isn't that great either. I mean who wants to go to a site, that is called Deviant? I mean come on. I think this site has very sick humor with the inappropriate art such as porno and nudity. It isn't great for little children under the ages of 13, or anyone older then that. I will not allow any of my children to have a membership ever. It could be dangerous you never know if there are pedophiles on this site. It is kind of dangerous for young children. .
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 17 years old Written byGod'sLittleAngel November 5, 2014

DeviantArt is not a good website- don't be fooled!

For about the first 6 months I was a part of that website, everything was great. People left nice comments on my art, I got along with other users, it was a fun community. Then everything changed. Certain users started stalking me. People started flaming others, cussing out other users, and WW3 started. But that's not all. There are sexual predators lurking on that website, plenty of trolls, and downright disrespectful people who have no life. It was a very negative experience, and you have no privacy on there. Please don't waste your time on DeviantArt. Encourage kids/teens to spend their time elsewhere, in a more positive environment.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 17 years old Written byBlue-Bunny January 29, 2011

Nice website...

DeviantArt is great! You can share art and stories to the community and it's all pretty simple. It can be iffy at times, so children beware. There's plenty of violence, sex, and gore, so be sure to apply the parental block if you're really young or hate to see inappropriate content. Like ISpeakTheTruth said, there's much popularity surrounded by anime, which can be a problem at times. However, that's not always the case. Just make something really good and stunning and you're sure to pull in a few fans. Don't forget to ask your parents before signing up.
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much violence
Too much sex
Adult Written byRagzi September 10, 2010

Artistic nudity may be a problem

I say both appropriate and inappropriate user content because, while there may be great art on dA, they also allow artistic nudity. In my opinion, artistic nudity is fine, but some people on this website can not draw the line between artistic and trashy. The great thing about dA is that you have to be 18 to view these pictures (although there are ways around it).
What other families should know
Educational value
Parent Written byCyM July 17, 2014

Full of hateful comments

Please, do not allow your kids to sign up to this web site. My child was on it for one day and within a few minutes, she started to get all kind of offensive language, threats and ill-animated creatures on her main page. She was traumatized for days with the awful comments some users dare to post. I tried to look around to see what could be the benefit but could not find any at all. The "art" posted by most users is mediocre and lacks any creativity. However, the users seem to like to engage more in attacking others than on the art itself. I believe the web site had the best of intentions, but the users and the lack of monitoring of the parents have made it a trashy place for kids to virtually interact with others. It is so easy to hide behind a keyboard for many so cyber-bullying is present throughout. Again, nothing against the creators of the web page, but the users who are in it are not worth your child's tears and nightmares. Thank you!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written byperimia May 28, 2013
You won't come across porn unless you look for it. There's a lovely thing called a mature filter! :) So unless you have immature kids looking for pictures of naked women, it's really great. I sell my doodles on there and make small money to buy sweets ;)
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 12 years old February 4, 2012

inaproppriate

Too much language, sex, and violent pictures. Unsafe too
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 12 years old June 15, 2011

Give me a break people!!

I say Ages 12 and up should be fine.I am 12 and I got banned from there because one person thought I just wanted to look up 'pornography' But I didn't!!! I just wanted to post my artwork to show other people.I am a lot more mature than most 12 year olds.Everyone I know thinks so.I didn't look at 'nudy' pictures or anything like that,the most I did was read couple stories that had curse words in them. -.- really people. I think this is a great site for kids who are mature enough to handle it.But that's up to the parents to decide.
What other families should know
Great messages
Educator and Parent of a 4 and 9 year old Written byconnielove93 September 18, 2010

Cool site but beware of pop-ups!!!

Devianart.com is where people can post their artwork to share with the world! As positive as this message may seem its users aren't so family-friendly. People can say whatever they want to and the content can have "language". Also some users take "artistic nudity" to a whole other extreme but you can block graphic or obsene content. Also there have been problems with computer viruses so teach younger kids not to click on ads. This site has viruses that can rap users into clicking on them so if you feel trapped in a pop-up, shut down your computer. Mostly this site is great and the positive messages and wondreful artwork outweigh the bad language and content, but be wary because this site can carry viruses!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 14 years old Written bytrophyboy August 2, 2015

It's a great community !!

It's a rather friendly and very diverse place! I've been on for a year and haven't personally run into any problems! But only problems I've seen have to do with the staff and their handle on art theft. It's very hard to spread the word about them let alone address them. But other than that, it's a very nice place to make new friends with the same interests as you!
Parent of a 2 year old Written byScratcher_cat March 2, 2011

Great for artistic kids

From the time the can appreciate art, they will like this site. I'd reccomend browsing with your child from 9-11/12 though. 13 is when it is legal for them to have an account. So it should be okay by then. You could also get your own account and let your kids post their drawings on there, and let them see the feedback.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Adult Written byslayerdragon01 July 31, 2015

I don't recommend it

I don't recommend it due to safety reasons. I have gone to this site and left, a lot of the users are rude. But have great art. I would take strong precaution, because there could be pedophiles posing as an innocent little girl. My mom and dad don't want me on it, due to reports of cyberbullying, identity theft, and credit card stolen numbers.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byTanner28 October 26, 2012

Do not use Deviantart dot com

This is NOT a website that cares about its community or users. They are slow to stop art theives. Slow to remove spammers. They also show little to no care about the regular users of their website, such as making massive changes or submitting its users to tests without prior knowledge. Here is a good example taken from one someone wrote. It's the version change all over again? (As far as I can gather) Simply thrown at the community? Check. (Even though it is this time just a test group) Negative opinions obviously getting ignored? Check. (If they wouldn't be ignored the new submission page would (most probably) at least be already deviantgreen, as that is the most demanded and asked thing even from the people who like the new submission page.) Thus simply forcing it on (not just throwing at) the community? Check. (Everything until now was forced upon the community (excluding Beta-testers and Alpha-testers as they generally give their allowance). We didn't even get the simple option to choose/vote or even get informed somewhere about anything. (Even in the most recent "weekly site update" journal the new submission page is still listed being in "Beta-testing". No word about the normal member group and no word about it being mad because of the new submission page.) So, I guess I get the idea. DeviantART isn't a community(-driven) site, it's obviously your private site that you share with a community. You determine what it looks like and we're sitting here with the decision to stay and ask you to remove bugs from it or to simply leave. (We don't get to vote, nothing) And if everything is right I've stated until now then the sentence "We will be really sad to see you go!" on the Deactivation page must be a blatant lie. (If the decision is really "Deal with it or get out of here") And I also guess it was wrong to show any love or affection for the site. It just makes yourself angry when something is changed so that you dislike it. And someday I guess for pretty much everybody will something be found that they dislike/hate.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byParranormalHour May 18, 2012

This is a tricky one...

Okay this site is tricky... I do like reading the stories there but i will admit they can get... well adult though they are blocked if you are under 18... Again easy fix fake birthday. Anyway for the most part it is innocent unless you search two male names or female names at the same time... Then it gets iffy.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages