All member reviews for DiscoveryGirls

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 13 reviews)
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 16 years old Written byOceila Boudreaux February 25, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Wow !

Wow . I Think This Site Is Great . Some FOUL Language , But Its Teen Girls .. Whattya Expect ?
Kid, 9 years old June 6, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Really Good!

Discovery Girls helps girls deal with growing up.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old May 26, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Amazing!

Discovery girls is an awesome magazine and the website is amazing. The website has discussions where girls can comment their own opinions. There's lots of advice and I think that it's very helpful to tween girls.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 9 years old March 16, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

our best

I THINK THIS THE BEST FOR KIDS
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old November 22, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Babyish Site!

Well, it is very stupid to me. You have to be eight-ten years of age to go on. The highest age is ten, and if you're over that age they tell you that your too old for this site, and to post a comment you have to go through the website handlers to post it! And they take forever! Also I think that it should be for seven year olds and under, though it talks about girl puberty, and boys, because it's babyish. Just don't go to the puberty section.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 10 years old May 20, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Amazing Site, Not so Educational

The site is really good and entertaining. It answers all questions any girl may have about growing up but its so darn fun!!! There is trivia but its not an EDUCATIONAL site. I would tell all tweens to visit Discovery Girls and subscribe to the magazine!
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old April 22, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

DG power

i love DG ALOT!
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old December 4, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

100% perfect in every way!

This is the perfect site for tween girls! It's safe, fun, interesting, and it's totally an anti bullying site! The magazine and website has great advice for girls, and it tells them that they are not alone; other girls are going through the same things. It also has topics for blogging that cover the normal issues tween girls incounter everyday. Girls can also share their opions about topics and give advice to others. This site promotes good self estem, its the best!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old September 23, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Disappointing website. Great magazine.

Discovery Girls website is boring. There are some things about boys, but it's not inapprioriate- anyone over age 8 can be on the site in my opinion. the magazines are great and I wanna subscribe to them though. the website provides blogs and an oppourtunity to write about your opinions on such things on your home city, your friendship problems, your opinions on the Alabama girls, etc.You can read blogs written by the staff and by the cover girls. However, there are no games, there are a few quizzes and embarassing moments, and you can't even write your own blogs unless you get chosen to be on the cover of the magazine. There are a few articles, but they are a little boring. You do get to express yourself a little, but there are no chat boards, or much fun. I suggest you subscribe to the magazine, but the website will bore you! There are a couple articles on the site you can bookmark on your account though.
Kid, 8 years old March 3, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
love it!!
What other families should know
Educational value
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 10 years old January 22, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

This is not for little kids but for Tweens and up! xD

I love this site I have an account for this site! It is so cool! I get to talk t girls from across the world!!! You can talk about anything!! Go to www.Discoverygirl.com I have the magazines to you just have to subscribe
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written bytangled May 29, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Old website was WAY better

I liked the old DG website better. There was more emmbarrassing moments (my favorite part of the magazize XD!) There was also more stuff to do such as quizzes and "Ask Ali" questions.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old December 15, 2009
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

good site

the only reason i say this site is iffy for 6 is because some girls post question about boys and dateing but besides that the site is fun and teaches girls valuable lessons.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Educational value
Great messages