All member reviews for Facebook

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Teen, 13 years old Written byilenee. February 10, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

not a great idea.

I think that if you let your kids have a facebook, thats great and stuff, but you also have to think about the privacy and how much time they're going to spend on the computer. my friend has a facebook, and its insane how long she spends on there. its like her life is on facebook. i HAD one i DELETED it because i was addicted, and it really wasted my time. i got BULLIED on there, and my account kept getting hacked (i didn't share my password with n e one!) just recently, some kids at my school were bullying my other friend and making rude comments and pages that made her sad.. i don't think any child should go through that. i really think that you should think twice before letting kids on there.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 12 years old March 26, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
I have Facebook - as do a lot of my friends. I understand why they have the set age of 13, but if you're 12 or even 11 for that matter, Facebook is fine! You should know the basics of online safety, though - such as not accepting friend requests from people you do not know. If you know that much, I think you can be on Facebook. But just remember: It's much easier to be mean online than in person. Don't do or say anything online you wouldn't say in person!
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old October 31, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

You need to read this as it involves what you need to know

Safety is and not a problem. You can leash out information but as long as you keep only friends you know outside of the computer and block everyone else, it's fine. It does have an age limit of I think 14 but many people fake their age. Do not be fooled by celebritys, they are normal people pretending to be Miley Cyrus and Nick Jonas. They are posers. It is rarely you will find the real person. I say its safe for 11 and over but their not even meant to have an account so I would leave it until they are old enough to have an account. Once they are older enough to have one, just leave another couple of years until you are sure the responsible enough to have an account. Keep double checking their friends and information though as you never know who they could add. Keep them under your thumbs!
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 15 years old Written byray_scanten82 April 1, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

In social networks, you are responsible.

Like each social networking websites, you are responsible. Facebook's legal policy says that you must to be at least 13 years old to use it, but I disagree. The FTC COPPA law says, that users under 13 must receive a parental consent and have a bit of guidance. But Facebook stripped this and it makes me very annoying. Internet communication must be availiable for all ages, but Facebook disagreed. Everybody under 13 is trying to violate its legal policy. FTC COPPA law I support a bit. Facebook is not a dating website, not a porn website etc, but a bit suggestive content can appear. I know some underage children on Facebook, and they are very kind, yoi to kawaii desu ne....(sorry for Japanese, in english it will be "kind and cute"). They are not violators, not predators, nor bandits nor gangsters nor terrorists.... I better rate it high PG, or 9-10-11+.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written byMz.Zee April 10, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Good for finding old frinds bad for finding newfriends

I've had my facebook account since I was 11 and never had any privacy problems as long as I only add people I know on my friend list
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 10 years old March 17, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Good for mature kids, teens and adults

Well facebook can be good and bad because you can put your settings so no one can see your profile and only your friends can see your profile, info, pics etc etc. I put this 10+ because just like I said they can set there privacy options to only friends and they will be fine. The iffy thing is that some people might swear, but it happens rarely. Kids defenetly should ask there parents before going on Facebook because each person has a different opinion about facebook and other social networking sites.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byreviewgirl13 March 16, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

An iffy site, but can be useful

Facebook is an iffy site. It can be very useful, like meeting old friends and family to reconnect with them. On the other hand, it can be dangerous. Cyber bullying on social networking sites is very common, and it happens on Facebook at times. There can also be hackers. If you let your child on Facebook, be sure to tell them to only add people that they KNOW are their friends; they shouldn't really add someone they don't know. If your child is ever cyber bullied, you can block people and delete them from your child's Facebook page, which is another useful and helpful tool on Facebook. Like I said in the beginning, it can be helpful and useful. You just need to be careful about who your friends and what people are posting on their walls.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 10 years old August 7, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Privacy is a big issue!

You really need to be careful with websites like this, because privacy is a big issue! Cause' whatever you post on there you can take off! Like my friend got her facebook when she was 5! And it seemed like her parents did not really know about it That is why it is still really dangerous! Because what if sometihng happend...???
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 8 year old Written byrlblondes March 11, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

only for kids 13+

I agree with the reviews. My step-son's mother opened an account for him to play Farmville. We did not agree with him having an account since he is only 8 years old. She assured us she had the account private. Sure enough after a week or so one of her friends forgot they had an 8 yr old as a friend and were using inappropriate language which was displayed on his wall. There have been other incidents that showed her lack of monitoring the account so we have closed the account.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 12 years old June 3, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Epic site for staying in touch with your friends is risky!

I thought I was never going to get a Facebook. At first, I thought having a Facebook is a waste of time, but now that I made an account, I loved it! You get to chat with friends and stuff! But beware, Facebook has a lot of bad stuff. Users can chat about sexual, violent or language filled topics. Some drinking and drugs might also appear in comments. But you usually just chat with friends. Unless you make friends with strangers. That would be wrong. There might also be pictures or videos of women in bikinis. Some might even be reveiling, showing their breasts. So if you are mature enough to not look for that sort of stuff, then you can have a facebook. There are games on the facebook website. Um, there are some multiplayer game on facebook. Don't play them unless you want to get stalked. They can see your profile name and other stuff if they search you later. So, yeah.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old February 18, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Just fine

I have a Facebook and i think it its Fine. I abosolutely LOVE it! Of course my Mom monitors it and makes sure im not friends with people i dont know. I think it is very safe since u can just see and talk to people u know in real life
Kid, 12 years old August 4, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Parents: watch out. Kids: FUN FUN FUN

I love facebook but you are technically supposed to be 15 just to join, though i know people as young as the age of 8 who have gotten a facebook account and their parents didnt mind. Parents: be sure to check their walls, everybodys posts, and always monitor chats if you dont feel your child is responsible enough!!!!!
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 12 year old Written byXOXILING April 6, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Not great for any kid

Who doesn't love Facebook. I have it and most of my friends have it; but when m,y daughter wanted it I was quite skeptical. Not that I was worried about inappropriate content, my daughter is good about that stuff. What worried me - and my worries came to fruition, was the CYBERBULLYING. One may laugh at the thought, but honestly, it's happening all over the place. Kids are committing suicide over being bullied, kids can be mean, and the ability to impulsively blurt something out about someone and not have to do it to their face is quite strong. Kids are not required to have fact to face communications anymore - they break up via text, they constantly IM and now...Facebook. I'm not a fan! Not for kids!
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 11 year old Written bytishtay February 16, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
OK, as a geek computer user I'm bringing up a kid that is going to be exposed to computers for the rest of her life. I set up her account (yes you are supposed to be 13)....made sure all the controls I could put were in place and retain the passwords and sign on information. I go in EVERY day to make sure no one is contacting her. We have only family on her facebook and one friend that I have approved, who also has his family watching him just as closely. She plays a few of the games and generally keeps in contact with family in this way. Since we live across country this is one of the few ways they get to "talk". We don't allow her to have any personal pictures except for her dog so that is not an issue. We have gone over the safety basics and have made it very clear that this is a learning experience on how to deal with the internet. I've had less problems with facebook than with some other "kid friendly" sites....I have to say the ONLY way we would have her on facebook is if I am vigilant on looking all the time at what is going on. That being said we've had a lot of fun and good experiences.
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written bymyrab51 January 1, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Good for older teens

Firstly, it is actually against site policy for a child under the age of 13 to even sign-up. If it is discovered that a user is under that age, they will be removed from the site. There is a good deal of sexual content, as well as advertising. Some of this can be filtered out through filters built into the site, as well as ad blocking software. The applications can be even more iffy than the social networking. I found a crass user name on the Naruto game application. I figured seeing it was a kids cartoon I would report it. Unfortunately, the game is not ran by a company that only acquired rights, Crunchyroll. They quoted, "The Naruto game is relatively un-moderated so we don't really change names or anything." This should set off flags to parents. There are also violent apps such as Mafia Wars, in which you obtain bloodied weapons, or take hits out on each other. There are some kid safe apps as well. FarmVille is one of them. If your child is pretty trustworthy, and has a good head on their shoulders, Facebook can be a decent place. It is a great place to talk with your friends, share photos, and play a few games. Just like most of the internet, proceed with a little caution.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written byrebma97 July 21, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Good way to keep up with friends, but it can be dangerous

I use Facebook often. Although it's a good site, you have to be careful on it, especially since they keep changing the privacy settings. I think teens should only friend people they know. If some stranger sends them a friend request, they can simply ignore it. You can make your profile private so no one can see your posts. However, if you want to play games like FarmVille then a page will come up that says something like, "Allow Farmville to acess to your page?" or something. This means that they can see all your post and your friends and stuff, but this is the only way to play those games so safety can be an issue. But there are some good things. For example, if your friend is writing inappropriate comments you can block them or you can delete them as a friend. A good way to moinitor your child is by being friends with them so you can see there post. But I think only teens+ can be on this site (although you can't join if you're under 13, but you can lie about your age). As long as you're safe on Facebook, it can be fun and enjoyable!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 12 years old May 19, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Never.Go.Again.

Heres my story. I registered for it. Played it, and no ads! I went on Youtube, listened to Micheal Jackson. then i played Gaia for a while. went back on Facebook, and there were ads for MJ concert tickets and other virtual worlds. I knew something was fishy. Because Mj is dead and how on earth would they know what i was doing unless they were tracking me! It installs cookies and is NOT safe. I don't want strangers knowing what i'm doing!
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 15 years old Written bymardoggie2013 April 6, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Who doesn't love Facebook?

There comes a point in time where every teen will get a Facebook. It's just inevitable. The question is how early is too early.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 17 years old Written bymaturereviews March 11, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 14 years old Written byZookGuy March 10, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

An entertaining site that can be incredibly useful in moderation

I must say, in my one year on Facebook, I had not seen one of my 200 or so "friends" ("friend" used in the loosest interpretation of the word, more like "positive acquaintances/some friends/people you don't like, but they friended you anyway"): a) Give or receive cyber-bullying b) Get in any kind of danger as result of giving away too much information (at least, to the extent of my knowledge) I have however seen: a) Some rather curse-filled statuses (but seriously, if your kid is old enough to have a Facebook, than he/she should be old enough to know what the f-word is, and using it is not the automatic ticket to coolness) b) Horrible, horrible grammar of the first degree. c) A few statuses of a "questionable" nature (once again, if your kid is old enough to get a Facebook, he/she's old enough to know what those words are), hardly any photos though. Not saying that no bad stuff ever happens on Facebook, but I'm just going by my experiences on the site. I have, however: a) Been able to keep in touch with friends that either go to another high school or even live in another state so much more easily than I ever could with a phone. b) Been able to arrange/schedule "hang-out seshs" (hip terminology there for you grown-ups) mush quicker/easier than I could even dream of with my cell phone. So essentially, I find that the whole Facebook/social media scare is rather pointless and created by people who simply don't understand that something was not made with the intention to make kidnappings easier, but I guess that's how it always is with a new technology. So, yeah, I believe that if your kid seems healthy socially and is 13 at least, he/she should have a Facebook, considering it's probably going to replace the phone as the way most teens communicate, in my view at least. But what do I know? I don't friend the "morally corrupt" kids or the "stupid" kids (for the most part) on Facebook (and your kid probably shouldn't either). Oh, and "Facebook addiction" (we throw around the word "addiction" too much as a society) is much more rarer than it is made out to be. I find that for the most part, for every kid that spends half their non-school waking life on Facebook, there's one kid who checks the site for 30 minutes a day, at the longest, and still retains a pretty good social life outside of their computer screen. So in summary, Facebook is a pretty cool site. Not the best out their, but good when used for it's purpose. Best used in moderation. And it's negative aspects are over-inflated by the media. But once again, what do I know?
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism

Pages