All member reviews for Facebook

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Teen, 13 years old Written byilenee. February 10, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

not a great idea.

I think that if you let your kids have a facebook, thats great and stuff, but you also have to think about the privacy and how much time they're going to spend on the computer. my friend has a facebook, and its insane how long she spends on there. its like her life is on facebook. i HAD one i DELETED it because i was addicted, and it really wasted my time. i got BULLIED on there, and my account kept getting hacked (i didn't share my password with n e one!) just recently, some kids at my school were bullying my other friend and making rude comments and pages that made her sad.. i don't think any child should go through that. i really think that you should think twice before letting kids on there.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 12 years old March 26, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
I have Facebook - as do a lot of my friends. I understand why they have the set age of 13, but if you're 12 or even 11 for that matter, Facebook is fine! You should know the basics of online safety, though - such as not accepting friend requests from people you do not know. If you know that much, I think you can be on Facebook. But just remember: It's much easier to be mean online than in person. Don't do or say anything online you wouldn't say in person!
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old October 31, 2009
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

You need to read this as it involves what you need to know

Safety is and not a problem. You can leash out information but as long as you keep only friends you know outside of the computer and block everyone else, it's fine. It does have an age limit of I think 14 but many people fake their age. Do not be fooled by celebritys, they are normal people pretending to be Miley Cyrus and Nick Jonas. They are posers. It is rarely you will find the real person. I say its safe for 11 and over but their not even meant to have an account so I would leave it until they are old enough to have an account. Once they are older enough to have one, just leave another couple of years until you are sure the responsible enough to have an account. Keep double checking their friends and information though as you never know who they could add. Keep them under your thumbs!
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 12 year old Written byXOXILING April 6, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Not great for any kid

Who doesn't love Facebook. I have it and most of my friends have it; but when m,y daughter wanted it I was quite skeptical. Not that I was worried about inappropriate content, my daughter is good about that stuff. What worried me - and my worries came to fruition, was the CYBERBULLYING. One may laugh at the thought, but honestly, it's happening all over the place. Kids are committing suicide over being bullied, kids can be mean, and the ability to impulsively blurt something out about someone and not have to do it to their face is quite strong. Kids are not required to have fact to face communications anymore - they break up via text, they constantly IM and now...Facebook. I'm not a fan! Not for kids!
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written bychildrenmatter July 26, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Increases your child's risk of viewing pornography

Hacking and phishing is a big concern on Facebook. Who has not seen the "I can't believe her father walked in on this" (or some similar title) video. Phishing is common on Facebook. This simply means they lure your password out of you and then other sites have the ability to post under your screen name. Recently, the photos attached to these type of scams have become more graphic. It's hit or miss. You may or may not stumble across pornography. Unfortunately for the the children of my friends, they were able to view sexually explicit material from the comfort of their own walls when another person was phished. If pornography is a concern, Facebook is not for your children. They are more likely to click on phishing links and even if they do not, chances are, they have friends who will and then will inadvertently post this material for them to view. I do wish there was a family-friend social networking site.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 8, 12, 14, and 16 year old Written bysupa mom June 24, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Great site for teens

This show is great for teens because it is up to them what they do. Tell them not to be friends with anybody they do not know personally. As long as they do that, it could be ages 11+. If they don't though, there could be very bad content and sometimes even stalkers. Just tell them to be very careful and they will be fine.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old May 29, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Facebook's got Issues but it's popular

Facebook is popular to thousands of people so they can connect with friends and family, chat, play on applications, create groups and promote ads. But there are many issues regarding Facebook. Privacy and safety being one of them. Children as young as 8 are joining up to Facebook because it's got fun applications on it and they can chat to family and friends. Well it's not all fun and games. There are sexually intrigued people lurking around on Facebook pretending to be a young child when they could be an middle-aged man/woman. Also, there are sexual media being posted around Facebook contagiously like a virus which is also another problem because there are a lot of viruses on Facebook that may corrupt your computer/laptop. There's also heavy annoying ads that bother you when you don't need to be bothered, a lot of people using bad language such as f**k, s**t, c**t, b***h, b*****d, t**t, t*t, d**k, p*****t, p**** and p********e while there may be young children around, sexual behaviour such as sexual language and putting up sexual media and the main problem... violence. There's so much violence on Facebook it's unreal. People fight on applications, there's so much bullying going on between people's walls (they send nasty messages) and statuses, but most of all people attack where it hurts the most... the victim's inbox. It's like a Facebook war has broke out. But I must admit, I do have a Facebook account but I use it for family and friends communication purposes only along with applications to keep me entertained.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 8 year old Written byrlblondes March 11, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

only for kids 13+

I agree with the reviews. My step-son's mother opened an account for him to play Farmville. We did not agree with him having an account since he is only 8 years old. She assured us she had the account private. Sure enough after a week or so one of her friends forgot they had an 8 yr old as a friend and were using inappropriate language which was displayed on his wall. There have been other incidents that showed her lack of monitoring the account so we have closed the account.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 17 years old Written bymaturereviews March 11, 2011
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Educator and Parent of a 17 and 20 year old Written bybjccot February 4, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
It has become the necessary social connection, and the usual slippery slope down for younger and younger audiences (what is it that slides downhill?). As a tech.coordinator for my small school, I am struggling with how to educate kids, parents, and other teachers about age-appropriate behavior on websites -- what should I do when I hear about a fifth-grade teacher encouraging students to set up a Facebook account? The school has no specific policies in place, so I should start the policy-making process. But to my mind, this case is a pretty straightforward issue: Facebook itself declares a minimum age limit. Adults should NOT ever encourage students to bypass that. In addition to that legal distinction, I believe Facebook is an insecure place with shifting sands of privacy settings hard enough for savvy college students to navigate, let alone immature tweenagers. I would strongly discourage Facebook use before high school.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 10 years old January 27, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

soooooooooo

uhmm im ten and i use it...................
Parent of a 11 and 14 year old Written byFinnella Flanagan October 8, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Remember kids under 13 aren't even supposed to use it!

I really don't like FB but it's become an integral part of teen life. I did something very non-standard when I didn't allow my son to use his actual last name on his account. I wanted him to reserve that for when he was older and might need it for job hunting, etc. It also made me very nervous that so many friends had so much information available to non-friends: RL name, RL picture, school being attended. If I were a sick person, I could have tracked down several of his female friends very easily and without even friending them first. So you need to set up your childrens' privacy controls and then you have to create your own account and friend your children so you can see what they are doing. It's a huge hassle, but you shouldn't let your kid onto FB if you are not willing to do this. Also warn them about all those FB games. They will try to get you to give them information, such as your cell phone number, so they can charge you real money to play. Shun them. And since the under 13 crowd aren't even supposed to be on FB, I wouldn't let my younger son have a page. Lucky for me, he's not interested.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 10 years old August 7, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Privacy is a big issue!

You really need to be careful with websites like this, because privacy is a big issue! Cause' whatever you post on there you can take off! Like my friend got her facebook when she was 5! And it seemed like her parents did not really know about it That is why it is still really dangerous! Because what if sometihng happend...???
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 12 years old August 4, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Parents: watch out. Kids: FUN FUN FUN

I love facebook but you are technically supposed to be 15 just to join, though i know people as young as the age of 8 who have gotten a facebook account and their parents didnt mind. Parents: be sure to check their walls, everybodys posts, and always monitor chats if you dont feel your child is responsible enough!!!!!
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written byrebma97 July 21, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Good way to keep up with friends, but it can be dangerous

I use Facebook often. Although it's a good site, you have to be careful on it, especially since they keep changing the privacy settings. I think teens should only friend people they know. If some stranger sends them a friend request, they can simply ignore it. You can make your profile private so no one can see your posts. However, if you want to play games like FarmVille then a page will come up that says something like, "Allow Farmville to acess to your page?" or something. This means that they can see all your post and your friends and stuff, but this is the only way to play those games so safety can be an issue. But there are some good things. For example, if your friend is writing inappropriate comments you can block them or you can delete them as a friend. A good way to moinitor your child is by being friends with them so you can see there post. But I think only teens+ can be on this site (although you can't join if you're under 13, but you can lie about your age). As long as you're safe on Facebook, it can be fun and enjoyable!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 5, 8, 12, 14, 16, and 17 year old Written byMissBridgette July 3, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

I wouldn't recommend this site

Even though, I myself do own a facebook. I am absolutely against the use of it for my children in my house until age 15, with one rule... You friend me. I know my way around a facebook page, therefore most parents who have their children added do not know, that there are specific settings where children can actually block certain content from just YOUR sight. Suppose one of my kids had pictures up from a recent party, they can go to edit settings on the album they posted it in, and changed it to "friends only" and then there is that "except...." button. There they can type in MY name and click save. DONE. I will never be able to see that album. So I do a 1-2 time a month "check up" where I have my kids log on, skim through everything, and tell them to show me something that I think looks suspicious. I have a 14 year old, who begged me to get a facebook, so I let him, because his grades were marvelous last semester, but... I had him give me his login information, since he is younger, and more naive. I want to keep an eye out on him from the random people who sometimes even add me. There are so many things to watch out for on facebook. I've seen some pages of kids, their statuses are about drinking, smoking, parties, ext. They have crude, sexual pictures, girls making out with out girls, its very hard to keep track of the 400 or so people that your teenagers have added. It's a hard site, but I've allowed it in my house, because I myself use it, keep a close eye on your kids if they are on this site. And make sure you know Facebook better then your teenagers, I recommend every parent of a kid on facebook gets a facebook themselves.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written byKira123 June 1, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Facebook for Teens

well for those who worry about it watch what your kids do. Yea there are certain ages that should not be allowed cause they bring school drama home and then fight over facebook, parents take a active role in your kids life....
What other families should know
Great messages
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 10 year old Written bysaftyj101 May 12, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

teens not kids under 13

NOT FOR KIDS
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old March 17, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Good for mature kids, teens and adults

Well facebook can be good and bad because you can put your settings so no one can see your profile and only your friends can see your profile, info, pics etc etc. I put this 10+ because just like I said they can set there privacy options to only friends and they will be fine. The iffy thing is that some people might swear, but it happens rarely. Kids defenetly should ask there parents before going on Facebook because each person has a different opinion about facebook and other social networking sites.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byreviewgirl13 March 16, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

An iffy site, but can be useful

Facebook is an iffy site. It can be very useful, like meeting old friends and family to reconnect with them. On the other hand, it can be dangerous. Cyber bullying on social networking sites is very common, and it happens on Facebook at times. There can also be hackers. If you let your child on Facebook, be sure to tell them to only add people that they KNOW are their friends; they shouldn't really add someone they don't know. If your child is ever cyber bullied, you can block people and delete them from your child's Facebook page, which is another useful and helpful tool on Facebook. Like I said in the beginning, it can be helpful and useful. You just need to be careful about who your friends and what people are posting on their walls.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns

Pages