All member reviews for FooPets

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Virtual pet site almost worthless without paid membership.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 241 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 14 year old Written bybewareparents November 24, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Foopets borders on fraud and breaks children's hearts.

Anyone who lets their kids play on this site is a fool. You now have to pay money to play on here and their terms of service say that they can delete any content at any time. So basically, your kids pay for pets and items that can be deleted tomorrow. .............It is supposed to be for 13 and older only....but anyone who plays on this site is only getting ripped off...... The biggest problem is that they sell you pets and items for your pets that have a price. Then they have a marketplace where kids can trade things. That would be a great teaching tool if Foo didn't constantly change the rules. One day my child bought a pet that cost 15.00 dollars (once converted to real money) and the next day foo changed the price of that pet to 5 dollars. My child was crying her eyes out. Then they had a way for you to "earn" foogems so you can buy pets with them....after months of earning these gems foo suddenly and without any notice stopped the practice and now all her hard work was for nothing. She cannot get the pet she worked for because they yanked it from her. Further, customer service on this site is downright abusive. They attack parents who complain and tell them repeatedly either to keep paying or shut up. And if you really complain loudly, they delete your account and keep all your child's pets and delete them all. This site is a rip off. Don't believe me? Here is a quote from their terms of service: "FooMojo has the right to change, edit, modify, delete or discontinue (a) any feature, function, description, process, art, images, and / or format on FooPets (b) any part of all of FooPets website and/or applications, (c) restrict access to parts of all of FooPets at any time without notice. Simply put, we may change this site or delete content or features or any services provided in any way or any time and for any reason or no reason." You would have to be a fool to give money to a site that claims they can keep your money and give you nothing in return any time they please. Can anyone tell me if this is even legal? Keep people away from this site!
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 10 year old Written bydewl April 9, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
Foo Pet executives have again joined the ranks of corporate mentality. We are back to the "have" and the "have nots". After permitting children and youths to perhaps enjoy "playing" and "feeding" their "virtual" pets without paying any money these corporate bullies are taking away these kids "pets" because they do not have money as of April 26th 2011. Foo Pets always had "pay" things for those that had the money but now if you don't have any money you cannot have your pet anymore that you have diligently fed, watered, walked and played with for years. Shame on the Foo Pet money hungry corporation bullies.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Kid, 9 years old November 27, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

A pure scam

It's not good for anyone! It's a pure scam. Foopets does the following: .Steal your credit card info .Bans you permanantly just for being mean when having bad day .Forces you to pay to play .Has cameras all over the internet .Dr. Ron has gone to jail before for blackmailing So do not even think about going to this site!!!
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written bySayNO2Foo April 7, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Nobody should go on this website, ever. It's a "money" site.

FooPets is the worst website you'll ever see. As of April 26th, 2011, you may not log on until you subscribe for ClubFoo, the membership of FooPets. This includes us loyal members who have been a part of this website for 1, 2, or even 3 years. FooPets is a suckish site, NOBODY should go on it. Don't let your kids on it either, the changers have gotten SO bad that everyone curses and talks sexually. Don't even TYPE FooPets for the sake of your own self. All they care about is MONEY.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 13 year old Written byTwilighterGurl13 December 9, 2010
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Foo Pets Is NOT Safe!

My child who's 13 years old got a few pets and she came across a few people who were using bad language to her.They kept sending her rude messages for no reason.Some people were even cursing to her.I do NOT reccomend this website to children under 13 because there are some cursing rude comments.I also don't think this website is safe because I searched Dr. Ron online and he used to dress up like a women and steal money from people.It said that he had spent a few years in jail and he probably made that ClubFoo Memebership to just get money from people.So, I suggest not to waste your money or your time on Foo Pets because it's no fun at all and it's not very appropriate for children under the age of 13. Parents should monitor theur child's activity on Foo Pets because there are alot of people asking for personal information which is NOT safe (for children under the age of 13).Some children even give away personal information.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 15 years old Written byFeathersong February 19, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

The truth; from a non-biased POV.

FooPets is a great site with cute virtual pets and a friendly community. I've made some great friends on there in the almost 2 years I've been on there, and I've even grown quite attached to a few of my kittens! The fact that this site is now pay-to-play triggers some negative comments from those who weren't willing to pay, and from those who are because they actually enjoy the site enough to pay to want to stay on it. A lot of people did stay, which says a lot about how much they like it. As for the complaints about language and security: The Foo-Admin are active on the forums all the time, and if not reported, inappropriate behaviour is quickly spotted and stopped. This kind of behaviour is very rare, and is punishable by suspension from the site, so people who do certainly get the message not to. Security-wise, FooPets is pretty safe. The only times that security becomes an issue is when someone gives away their personal details, such as email, FaceBook information, etc, or by not having a secure enough password. If you have a password that doesn't contain any information that anyone else might know, and you don't use a 'Foo email' for your login, then you're fine! I have only seen this happen a few times, and it has never happened to me. I'm not sure if FooPets is of much educational benefit, but it certainly is fun! The community is great, people are friendly, and the pets are realistic and cute. There are some rare pets to 'buy', which can be obtained by purchase with 'FooDollars' or by filling out applications. In a way, this can teach people about budgeting and can encourage them to think about what they're writing. It seriously is a good site, and is very much suitable for children from ages 10 and above.
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent Written byFictionalWriter October 5, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

What a way to go downhill, FooMojo...

*FYI, not a parent, just an over-seventeen year old who used to be on the site* I used to play FooPets back before it became required to "pay to play." Before that, it was fun. At first it had been addicting. The game can teach you how to be responsible with things like trading, selling/buying, making new friends, and handling "money" if you are smart enough to learn. If you were under the age of thirteen you had to have a parent help you sign up and pay for ClubFoo membership to show that they approve of you being on that website. Otherwise they weren't allowed on the forums. A few lied about their age, but not much that I saw. After awhile it started changing for the worse: people weren't allowed to post any pictures or outside links (links leading anywhere but a page connected to FooPets or FooMojo, the company behind FooPets) on the forum. This was due to complaints from parents and various members saying that some pictures were too inappropriate, which some of them were but not ALL of them. Then they took away a couple of the forums - one of them being the Roleplay forum, which was big with a majority of the members. It started going more downhill as they placed more restrictions on the Litter License (the item needed to breed your pet) and other things; after awhile Dr. Ron left and Dr. Jane came in. Other things that went downhill: not able to submit items for the marketplace (many members did this, and were angry when this happened); only allowed to sell items back to the marketplace/couldn't sell your items to others - this got rid of trading amongst players; only allowed to sell pets to the pound (some found a way around this but they were sold for a higher price than what they were sold back for). MANY great players left, including some mods the admins had "hired" to help maintain the website and its players. And by great, I mean great - mature people who were often older than eighteen years old, were creative, smart, dedicated, and despised the constant changes that occurred in just a few months. When the notice came that those not signed up for ClubFoo or ClubFoo Plus were going to be banned after April 26th many either quit early or stayed until the last minute. Before then the forums went crazy with spam and more inappropriate posts in the Chat forum - some people were talking about leading a type of revolt, or signing a petition to get FooMojo to stop. You can't even go and check on your pets now without signing up for the membership first. Just a note from an old player, who loved the old FooPets very dearly: DON'T. PLAY.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 15 years old Written byp-y-the-girl May 28, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Con artists and thieves

A little more than a year ago, I was looking for virtual pets to play with online. So I googled "free online virtual pets". One of the worst mistakes I have ever made. The people who run Foopets are only out to get your money. I shouldn't have to explain more.Members are rude, curse, and post sexual content. You don't "breed" your pets, you run your own puppy (or kitty) mills. FooMojo/Rivet Games doesn't listen to any of its customers unless you're ClubFoo, and even then they are rude. Even though it appears to be free, it isn't- they kicked me off the site because I couldn't afford to pay over 100 dollars a year for virtual pets. And if you try to make an account now, they don't mention the fact that you need a paid membership halfway through the adoption process; after you've chose your pet, named it, and said things like, "Your pet (pets name here) loves you! Take him home!" Now, if I log into my account, they simply tell me, "Your pets (pets names here) are waiting for you!" and proceed to show me the list if Clubfoo memberships. They're thriving on blackmail, aren't they? This is the most disgusting website I've ever encountered. They've created an app on facebook called Pet Tales. Let's see how that turns out... One of the worst parts is, if you search free online virtual pets on Google, Foopets.com is the third link on the list.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Parent Written byDaeDreamer April 19, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Run For The Hills!

They are positively abhorrent at customer service, completely ignoring their members' concerns. They are soon to become a pay to play only site, but they have consistently charged more money for features and items while consistently taking more and more features and items away. Granted, their pixel pets are as realistic as they get. Awesome, in fact. So much so, that people become emotionally attached to them. A phenomenon covered by FooMojo's ToS. And frankly, they use those pets as a means of emotional blackmail. Further, their forum moderators are not nice people and are extremely rude and condescending. Adults are treated like children and children are treated like refuse. Trust me, EVERY negative comment here is spot on. As of the 26th of April (2011), when the site becomes strictly pay to play, I predict an epic exodus from the site. Their numbers are already dropping. Many predict that the site is going to go down and no one from the company has bothered to effectively dispel that rumor. Moreover, except for their announcement of becoming pay to play only, they keep their members in the dark about every change and they change the site compulsively. Again, those changes almost always include revocations of features and items and an increase in what they charge for everything. Additionally, the site is completely unstable. Consistently glitches, "whites out," doesn't load, search features have not worked the entire two years I've been a member and way too much more to mention. I won't even go into the HORRIBLE lessons this site "teaches" children. Bah! Harsh words? You bet. But very, very true. And if you were to visit the FooPets forums right now, you would run for the hills. Honestly, do your research, you'll find that I am not exaggerating one little bit. Stay away, for your own personal health and well being and especially, the health and well being of your children.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 10 year old Written bylaurenhannahsmom December 19, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

This site is an outrage. Bullied my child.

I would not let my child go near this site! My daughter, who is 10 was on foo pets for quite awhile & loved it! She apparently hit a button and received more foo dollars than she was supposed to - as there was a glitch on their site. She's 10 - she didn't know. She got more money the more she pushed it, so of course she pushed it! When she tried to log in a few days later her account was suspended. She was devastated. She emailed them and said she was so confused & she was crying and worried about her pets and what could do to get her account back. They responded and told her she was a cheater, she was deceptive and they were disappointed in her and that she'd never get her account back!! I was horrified. I emailed them on that direct post and now see that the 'Foo Administrator' has closed the chat w.out responding. Apparently they can bully a child but don't want to deal w/ the parents. I would not go on this site no matter what age you are. Now that I see all the other posts I see I'm not alone in this. This site is an outrage.
Parent of a 13 year old Written byFuming Parent December 14, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
I am a parent and I am appalled by this site. It is DANGEROUS for children and nothing but a rip off for adults. Recently the site had tripled the cost of membership...non refundable membership..and now gives you less and less for your money. If you are fool enough to take advantage of longer and cheaper options, you end up losing it all......................I have seen the adults tell children they are immoral and should not be allowed to roam society (and this by the employees on the site). Shocking! ..................There is rampant cursing on this site that easily gets around the computer sensors by using a space here and there. Employees are there when it is time to bash the children but strangely absent when it is time to protect them...............I read the terms of service to complain and discovered to my horror that it says they will give you nothing and keep your money if they want at any time. You have no right to complain about anything and you have no recourse. ..............................I feel like the world's largest fool for skipping that part when I signed on. Who would agree to just hand over money for a promise of nothing in return? Please don't fall into the trap I did. .................Did I mention that my 13 year old daughter cried her eyes out after one of the employees called her a thief? If I had the time to sue them for slander I would. It is not my daughter's fault if they don't know how to program their own site!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 8 and 10 year old Written byconcernedincali November 27, 2010
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Foo should be shut down.

Im sorry but NEVER let your children on this site. Really you shouldnt even be on it. I used to be one of the adult users. The admin harass and abuse members as well as let other users do so as well. They do not protect your children's safety (I have since taken my children as well as myself off). There were various instances or porn pictures posted, violent messages on forums and user walls, not always by users. And I have seen more then a few death threats get nothing more then a warning over and over again. The children are at a HUGE risk of harm. And the adults will be dumbfounded and filled with frustration over their treatment as well. AVOID THIS SITE AT ALL COSTS. And if you decide to join, PLEASE keep your children away. For their sake.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old October 16, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Iffy. Pay to play. Unsafe sometimes.

Parents should have concern about child play on this site. Not all sites tell the truth when they say "Safety is our top priority!." In fact, many kids on Foopets each day get yelled at, join by begging their hard-working parents to "buy a registration and unlock a great world" for $4.99 a month without letting you even try the site with a free trial. Yes, there are moderator's and admin's but, when chatting on meebo you dont know who might be on there asking for information about your children. Educational value- hardly any. In my opinion its rotting half the human mind.
Adult Written bycalichic89 October 1, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Just another greedy business that chose money over the customers who have to pay it

This site used to be fun. At first this company cared about their clients. Now it's just become like every other company, one who only cares about money. This game has virtual money called foodollars and without them, the game is next to pointless. There used to be easier ways to earn virtual money in this game. Fashion shows were one of them and they were my favorite feature about this site. You dressed up your pet and entered them and if they placed you won money. It was like that since they introduced it. Now you no longer win money but you still have to pay money for the clothes. That doesn't make any sense because fashion shows are the only thing clothes are good for. The shows were my only source of making money. This site just keeps getting worse. The users have multiple complaints and they don't care. They no longer listen. It used to be free to join and now you have to pay to join and you don't get your money's worth. Your paying more for a lot less. This site is full of restrictions so it's no longer fun to play the game. Parents, unless you want your kids to keep running back to you asking for your credit card don't waste your money on this game. Some kids have even taken their parents credit card without permission, but you can't really blame them. This site has taken away every source of making a decent amount of the virtual money in the game so the only option is to pay. Those kids wouldn't be reaching for their parents' wallets if this site didn't take away the ability for them to earn money in the game. Instead of learning how to earn money, kids are learning to keep asking mommy and daddy for their money, and when that doesn't work, they often try to scam people on the site in order to get it. That's not something I would want my kids to learn about and yet the site is making it so. We shouldn't have to CONSTANTLY pay more money to have fun we should be able to earn it. It used to be that you wouldn't need to invest more than $10 or $15 in this game. Now I wouldn't be surprised if some people have payed $60 or more on a dog or a cat that doesn't even exist.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Teen, 14 years old Written byVespera October 1, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
This site is not worth paying for. Many features of the site are not working, or are being removed from the site. Constant new rules and restrictions make it even more difficult to enkoy the site. Final word: Not worth joining, and most certainly not worth paying for.
Teen, 13 years old Written byNoseStuckInABook April 14, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

For pet lovers of every age!

Foopets is probably my favorite site. The pets are quite, incredibly realistic. There are lots of ads to buy foodollars though, but I haven't spent a cent on it and still have a great time. The forums are well moderated. Under thirteens can't post or breed. Parents may not like that their are adults their age or older on the forums. Being an active member in the foocommunity, I can tell you that they mean no harm. They usually stay in their own thread, but they seem nice if you talk to them.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Kid, 8 years old March 7, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

A bit iffy

It's a good website, but there are some worries I have. People can ask for personal info, but on person got scared on FooPets due to the "bad" person who asked for her phone number. I've seen a 7 year old say her first and last name including her age. People on foopets do constant dating. There is a loaner on FooPets called Kwedit that gives you 50 foodollars, but you have to pay 5 real dollars to get another 50 foodollars. So children who are mature (Like me) and 13 year old and older people should join.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written bykat belle March 28, 2015
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

not a good environment

Foo Pets is not a good environment for any kids. The admins argue with children . they want to be paid for membership and they don't have any real games that challenge children. older kids on here have inappropriate user names such as bisexual or sexy b----!!! be careful of their site, membership can and will be will be canceled after you have paid them. with no refund. I would not recommend this site to any one because it is more aggravation than its worth.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written byAndrea99 November 25, 2014
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Stay away

This site should not be trusted. The owner claims he is about to shut the place down yet is advertising year memberships. You cannot really play for free, it is a scam designed to get your kids to buy those memberships. They are supposed to teach good pet care yet the way you get ahead in the game is to breed hundreds of litters and dump them in the pound. If you care about animals, don't let your children on this site.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byabbyt1 November 17, 2014
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Foopets is finally turning around

The description of FooPets is outdated. It is free again and the problems with it were solved.
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns

Pages