Common Sense Media says

Virtual pet site almost worthless without paid membership.

Users say

(out of 245 reviews)
age 11+
Review this title!
Parent of a 14 year old Written bybewareparents November 24, 2010

Foopets borders on fraud and breaks children's hearts.

Anyone who lets their kids play on this site is a fool. You now have to pay money to play on here and their terms of service say that they can delete any content at any time. So basically, your kids pay for pets and items that can be deleted tomorrow. .............It is supposed to be for 13 and older only....but anyone who plays on this site is only getting ripped off...... The biggest problem is that they sell you pets and items for your pets that have a price. Then they have a marketplace where kids can trade things. That would be a great teaching tool if Foo didn't constantly change the rules. One day my child bought a pet that cost 15.00 dollars (once converted to real money) and the next day foo changed the price of that pet to 5 dollars. My child was crying her eyes out. Then they had a way for you to "earn" foogems so you can buy pets with them....after months of earning these gems foo suddenly and without any notice stopped the practice and now all her hard work was for nothing. She cannot get the pet she worked for because they yanked it from her. Further, customer service on this site is downright abusive. They attack parents who complain and tell them repeatedly either to keep paying or shut up. And if you really complain loudly, they delete your account and keep all your child's pets and delete them all. This site is a rip off. Don't believe me? Here is a quote from their terms of service: "FooMojo has the right to change, edit, modify, delete or discontinue (a) any feature, function, description, process, art, images, and / or format on FooPets (b) any part of all of FooPets website and/or applications, (c) restrict access to parts of all of FooPets at any time without notice. Simply put, we may change this site or delete content or features or any services provided in any way or any time and for any reason or no reason." You would have to be a fool to give money to a site that claims they can keep your money and give you nothing in return any time they please. Can anyone tell me if this is even legal? Keep people away from this site!
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 15 years old Written byFeathersong February 19, 2012

The truth; from a non-biased POV.

FooPets is a great site with cute virtual pets and a friendly community. I've made some great friends on there in the almost 2 years I've been on there, and I've even grown quite attached to a few of my kittens! The fact that this site is now pay-to-play triggers some negative comments from those who weren't willing to pay, and from those who are because they actually enjoy the site enough to pay to want to stay on it. A lot of people did stay, which says a lot about how much they like it. As for the complaints about language and security: The Foo-Admin are active on the forums all the time, and if not reported, inappropriate behaviour is quickly spotted and stopped. This kind of behaviour is very rare, and is punishable by suspension from the site, so people who do certainly get the message not to. Security-wise, FooPets is pretty safe. The only times that security becomes an issue is when someone gives away their personal details, such as email, FaceBook information, etc, or by not having a secure enough password. If you have a password that doesn't contain any information that anyone else might know, and you don't use a 'Foo email' for your login, then you're fine! I have only seen this happen a few times, and it has never happened to me. I'm not sure if FooPets is of much educational benefit, but it certainly is fun! The community is great, people are friendly, and the pets are realistic and cute. There are some rare pets to 'buy', which can be obtained by purchase with 'FooDollars' or by filling out applications. In a way, this can teach people about budgeting and can encourage them to think about what they're writing. It seriously is a good site, and is very much suitable for children from ages 10 and above.
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 10 year old Written bydewl April 9, 2011
Foo Pet executives have again joined the ranks of corporate mentality. We are back to the "have" and the "have nots". After permitting children and youths to perhaps enjoy "playing" and "feeding" their "virtual" pets without paying any money these corporate bullies are taking away these kids "pets" because they do not have money as of April 26th 2011. Foo Pets always had "pay" things for those that had the money but now if you don't have any money you cannot have your pet anymore that you have diligently fed, watered, walked and played with for years. Shame on the Foo Pet money hungry corporation bullies.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Parent Written byFictionalWriter October 5, 2011

What a way to go downhill, FooMojo...

*FYI, not a parent, just an over-seventeen year old who used to be on the site* I used to play FooPets back before it became required to "pay to play." Before that, it was fun. At first it had been addicting. The game can teach you how to be responsible with things like trading, selling/buying, making new friends, and handling "money" if you are smart enough to learn. If you were under the age of thirteen you had to have a parent help you sign up and pay for ClubFoo membership to show that they approve of you being on that website. Otherwise they weren't allowed on the forums. A few lied about their age, but not much that I saw. After awhile it started changing for the worse: people weren't allowed to post any pictures or outside links (links leading anywhere but a page connected to FooPets or FooMojo, the company behind FooPets) on the forum. This was due to complaints from parents and various members saying that some pictures were too inappropriate, which some of them were but not ALL of them. Then they took away a couple of the forums - one of them being the Roleplay forum, which was big with a majority of the members. It started going more downhill as they placed more restrictions on the Litter License (the item needed to breed your pet) and other things; after awhile Dr. Ron left and Dr. Jane came in. Other things that went downhill: not able to submit items for the marketplace (many members did this, and were angry when this happened); only allowed to sell items back to the marketplace/couldn't sell your items to others - this got rid of trading amongst players; only allowed to sell pets to the pound (some found a way around this but they were sold for a higher price than what they were sold back for). MANY great players left, including some mods the admins had "hired" to help maintain the website and its players. And by great, I mean great - mature people who were often older than eighteen years old, were creative, smart, dedicated, and despised the constant changes that occurred in just a few months. When the notice came that those not signed up for ClubFoo or ClubFoo Plus were going to be banned after April 26th many either quit early or stayed until the last minute. Before then the forums went crazy with spam and more inappropriate posts in the Chat forum - some people were talking about leading a type of revolt, or signing a petition to get FooMojo to stop. You can't even go and check on your pets now without signing up for the membership first. Just a note from an old player, who loved the old FooPets very dearly: DON'T. PLAY.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 15 years old Written byWafflesAndIceCream October 31, 2015

Cute and educational!

I joined FooPets yesterday and I've already fallen in love with my new virtual puppy! This game is now free to play, although players can still purchase a membership so they get more perks, such as adopting more dogs and cats. FooPets look super cute and realistic, and much like real animals, they require a good amount of work (obviously not as much as real puppies and kittens, but still something). Puppies and dogs must be fed, given water, and walked at least every 24 hours. This is educational in the sense that it teaches kids responsibility, and when they take care of their pet they get points. It has more substance than a game like Webkinz, for example. This game is not just for children, but also for teens and adults. Players can upload photos and type on their profile, but there are moderators on the site.
Teen, 13 years old Written bymegan levi scarlet August 16, 2013

ADULTS ~!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

that thing wel website should be checked out byadult too show that it is suiteble for kids
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent Written byhsparent June 18, 2013

Warning - content not suitable for children under 17

My daughter loved FooPets.... until she inadvertently ran across highly inappropriate content for a child. If you are going to let children under 17 play, I suggest you are very careful that you set the parent dashboard to seriously restrict their ability to interact with any other players.
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 17 year old Written bytylerkeller May 2, 2010
i love this game!but i dont know how to get the foopets in the same room? if you know please tell me! thank you!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent of a 13 year old Written byTwilighterGurl13 December 9, 2010

Foo Pets Is NOT Safe!

My child who's 13 years old got a few pets and she came across a few people who were using bad language to her.They kept sending her rude messages for no reason.Some people were even cursing to her.I do NOT reccomend this website to children under 13 because there are some cursing rude comments.I also don't think this website is safe because I searched Dr. Ron online and he used to dress up like a women and steal money from people.It said that he had spent a few years in jail and he probably made that ClubFoo Memebership to just get money from people.So, I suggest not to waste your money or your time on Foo Pets because it's no fun at all and it's not very appropriate for children under the age of 13. Parents should monitor theur child's activity on Foo Pets because there are alot of people asking for personal information which is NOT safe (for children under the age of 13).Some children even give away personal information.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old October 16, 2010

Iffy. Pay to play. Unsafe sometimes.

Parents should have concern about child play on this site. Not all sites tell the truth when they say "Safety is our top priority!." In fact, many kids on Foopets each day get yelled at, join by begging their hard-working parents to "buy a registration and unlock a great world" for $4.99 a month without letting you even try the site with a free trial. Yes, there are moderator's and admin's but, when chatting on meebo you dont know who might be on there asking for information about your children. Educational value- hardly any. In my opinion its rotting half the human mind.
Kid, 9 years old November 27, 2011

A pure scam

It's not good for anyone! It's a pure scam. Foopets does the following: .Steal your credit card info .Bans you permanantly just for being mean when having bad day .Forces you to pay to play .Has cameras all over the internet .Dr. Ron has gone to jail before for blackmailing So do not even think about going to this site!!!
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Adult Written byworrywart29 November 28, 2010

Foopets or FooPests?

Have been member of the website for over a year. As an adult member,my maid issue is lack of customer service. Seems like whole staff skipped that course. Site that used to be for 13+ but now allows kids under 13 on the site too ( true with limited benefits, unless they dish out crazy amount of money aka 80 bucks a year), is not safe for those kids and never will be. When I started out, website was nice,pleasurable place to get away from everyday mess. After many changes that were supposed to improve the site but in fact made it unusable for many members, I am left with frustration, every time I log in. People with slower computers/internet connection were literally told that if your machine can't handle the site, rack off. If you don't like the changes, rack off. Despite of all our efforts of trying to compromise with the company, our pleas and suggestions fell on deaf ears. After that more changes were implemented and now even faster PCs have trouble loading the pet. They have removed every way of earing FooDollars by making up ridiculous excuses- And when we want explanations they send us to TOS section which claims that Foopets is not forced to give any explanations about anything they do. It's a shame really.Site had so much potential and now I have developed just hazardous curiosity of how fast can this site go down. Some of the most idiotic shoot-ourselves-in-the-foot business decisions are made on that side every day. In fact it should be textbook example for young business men/women of what not to do when userbase is the blood in your company's veins. I'm telling you,having a real pet is less high maintenance and less stressful than having a foopet and you can invest that 80 bucks a year into vet bills or training. Either way,your money will be well spent. And your kid doesn't have to cry his/hers eyes out if one day Dr.Ron decides to shut the site down. And as far as I see it, that day is not very far away.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 8 and 10 year old Written byconcernedincali November 27, 2010

Foo should be shut down.

Im sorry but NEVER let your children on this site. Really you shouldnt even be on it. I used to be one of the adult users. The admin harass and abuse members as well as let other users do so as well. They do not protect your children's safety (I have since taken my children as well as myself off). There were various instances or porn pictures posted, violent messages on forums and user walls, not always by users. And I have seen more then a few death threats get nothing more then a warning over and over again. The children are at a HUGE risk of harm. And the adults will be dumbfounded and filled with frustration over their treatment as well. AVOID THIS SITE AT ALL COSTS. And if you decide to join, PLEASE keep your children away. For their sake.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 14 years old Written byVespera October 1, 2010
This site is not worth paying for. Many features of the site are not working, or are being removed from the site. Constant new rules and restrictions make it even more difficult to enkoy the site. Final word: Not worth joining, and most certainly not worth paying for.
Kid, 9 years old April 9, 2014

LOVE at first site

this is a game were you pick a cat or dog and care for it it really i promise as no sex you can breed but when they are born they just pop up and no mating happens i'm only 9 so if my parents let me play its fine you do have to pay for it but its no big deal 9.00 or 4.99 dollars a month 9 for club foo ( membership more opportunities more animals ) or regular game play ( less stuff and opportunities ) adopting a pet could not be more fun
Kid, 11 years old March 6, 2014

The changes suck. Lets start a riot!

I joined this site when I was 6, and my parents were only able to subscribe 3 of my accounts. They just want money. I want FooKarma back. I want pokey breeding back. I want FooFashion shows back. Lets start a riot to make FooPets free again.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much consumerism
Kid, 10 years old September 9, 2013

Good but misunderstood

It's a wonderful game! But the sad part is it is always misunderstood. Many of the bad critiques are coming from children whom fake their age and don't get the "No money no game" Concept (If they do not get enough money the game will be shut down) I've been playing this for a long time, it's wonderful. The reason I stopped playing is because I forgot my password, and nothing helped me to remember it. It shows you how to treat your pet well. I'd highly reccomend it if you're rich! But if you're poor, don't worry; there are a handful of people who still pay and play FooPets. Possibly in a few years or maybe just 4 months after 9/9/2013 It will be free once the company gets enough funds to make the game free and there are plenty of games JUST like foopets, but most are cheap because they're not 3D and only plane pictures and no animation. If you REALLY want foopets but you're poor, keep waiting - The wait WILL be over soon! Though it takes in a lot of money it's worth it to teach your child how to properly take care of your pet. ~Alex19009
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much consumerism
Teen, 15 years old Written byp-y-the-girl May 28, 2011

Con artists and thieves

A little more than a year ago, I was looking for virtual pets to play with online. So I googled "free online virtual pets". One of the worst mistakes I have ever made. The people who run Foopets are only out to get your money. I shouldn't have to explain more.Members are rude, curse, and post sexual content. You don't "breed" your pets, you run your own puppy (or kitty) mills. FooMojo/Rivet Games doesn't listen to any of its customers unless you're ClubFoo, and even then they are rude. Even though it appears to be free, it isn't- they kicked me off the site because I couldn't afford to pay over 100 dollars a year for virtual pets. And if you try to make an account now, they don't mention the fact that you need a paid membership halfway through the adoption process; after you've chose your pet, named it, and said things like, "Your pet (pets name here) loves you! Take him home!" Now, if I log into my account, they simply tell me, "Your pets (pets names here) are waiting for you!" and proceed to show me the list if Clubfoo memberships. They're thriving on blackmail, aren't they? This is the most disgusting website I've ever encountered. They've created an app on facebook called Pet Tales. Let's see how that turns out... One of the worst parts is, if you search free online virtual pets on Google, Foopets.com is the third link on the list.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written bySayNO2Foo April 7, 2011

Nobody should go on this website, ever. It's a "money" site.

FooPets is the worst website you'll ever see. As of April 26th, 2011, you may not log on until you subscribe for ClubFoo, the membership of FooPets. This includes us loyal members who have been a part of this website for 1, 2, or even 3 years. FooPets is a suckish site, NOBODY should go on it. Don't let your kids on it either, the changers have gotten SO bad that everyone curses and talks sexually. Don't even TYPE FooPets for the sake of your own self. All they care about is MONEY.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 14 years old Written byLucky1999 March 20, 2013

Foopets Vs. Webkinz Webkinz Wins

Webkinz is way, why pay for foopets when you can get your kid a stuffed animal even dragons and so on And a game? Webkinz is Free i buy my niece a webkinz whenever we can :)
What other families should know
Too much consumerism

Pages