Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Find entertainment that fits your kid's interests and your parenting style.

Go to For Your Family

Parent reviews for GaiaOnline

Common Sense says

Iffy content + constant consumerism = caution.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 13+
Based on 139 reviews

Kids say

age 12+
Based on 205 reviews
Adult Written byKuromi Kat January 9, 2011

No Parents!

I hate it. I am a former member. This is a cyber bully site in my opinion. People are rude in the forums, they are rude period. I was told people were nice on the site. So I gave a bit of a bio announcing I was an Occultist, and said that I am Wiccan. I got a person messaging me. These were not nice messages.

"You know that s**t is fake right? There is no such thing as "The Occult" outside of H.P. Lovecraft, and other literature. And vampire s**t (THAT IS HOW IT IS SPELLED! Not Vampyre)... THATS FAN GIRL TWITARD S**T! So I guess your a twitard."

THEN I dont respond and I get many more messages like this, that could be construed as flat out cyber bullying. I mean I am more or less an emotionally strong person, but I worry for the kids.

I also had a similar dilemma as rowan_r. I am a musician and posted some lyrics. I got GREAT reviews from friends, but after sharing some lyrics, I got a lot of bad reviews. As well as some person saying "YOU CALL THIS S**T MUSIC!?" commented.

Let me explain my concerns "Language My Kids Cant Use" The language on this site is pretty bad. Those messages didnt censor as I had. "Messages Aren't Positive" Just as it said. Apparently I am not the only one. I have friends as well who have had mean messages here too. "Safety Is an Issue" I say this because I feel that this was a minor cyber bully attack. And I am SURE there are others who do a lot worse than this person. As I said, my concern is the youngsters on here. I dont want them to go through what I went through or worse...

This title contains:

Language
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byRowan_R October 21, 2010

I Think Not PARENTS BEWARE!

I am an ex-user on this site. I mean I suffered a lot of cyber bullying. They tote that it is a place for creativity, but the users well some, will tear your work down even though you are trying to have fun.

There have been some pretty hurtful things said to me on this site. And I fear for a few children I know who use this site, because they too have suffered a taste of cyber bullying. And it is happening all under the parents' noses. PARENTS BEWARE! This site is a breeding ground for bullies.

My recommendation would be NOT to allow your children the opportunity to even enter this site. I know I never will allow mine to do so.
Adult Written bySleep Isabella February 20, 2010

Perfect for Teens AND YOUNG ADULTS

Towards those who have admitted to being under 13 years of age: Don't be surprised to one day find yourself banned from Gaia. It will remain banned until your 13th birthday rolls by. By rules of Terms of Service(What all who want to try are REQUIRED to read), any persons under the age of 13 are NOT ALLOWED ON GAIA. Not only is it against Gaia's ToS rules, but it is also against AMERICAN LAW. Remember, Gaia HQ is located in Sacramento, California, which is of course in America.

To those underaged users, YOU KNOW YOU'RE NOT ALLOWED TO BE ON GAIA, SO YOU SHOULD NOT BE GIVING ANY SORT OF REVIEW. During registration, if an underaged user gives their real birthdate, they are immediately blocked from joining Gaia. Therefore those kids need to receive a punishment from their parents. And to those parents, the internet is not your babysitter, get of your butts and actually PAY ATTENTION TO WHAT YOUR KIDS ARE DOING ON YOUR COMPUTER.
Adult Written byArthurZ May 3, 2019

Not a family friendly website!

GaiaOnline claims to be a friendly place for kids whom are 14 years or older. The website features a ton of sexually suggestive items among other things. There are people on there who have talked about dating younger people (18+ dating 16 year olds). This website tries to be a cash cow and attempts to squeeze any and all pennies it can out of you. The ToS isn't very clear and after spending a month on the site, it doesn't look like there is anyone who actually moderates the site. There are random pictures of actual naked users on there, there's people who talk about wanting to kill themselves and there's just a ton of horrible people on this site.

This title contains:

Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byDarthgex1989 April 2, 2019

Greedy Gaia online

This website used to be fun and entertaining now this website is nothing but just advertising items for real life money everything is to expensive you literally have to buy Gaia cash which is buying virtual money using real life currency avoid this website its not what it was once use to be
Adult Written byKTSamten February 14, 2019

Spare your children the mental anguish.

This site, above all, is a forum board. You create a personalized avatar and a handle(username) and that is your only identifier. People can be whoever they want on Gaia. I spent countless nights lost in the forums, talking to people I would never actually know. Talking about things that I should not be concerned with in any way. There have been threads about everything. Drugs, sex, suicide, rape, bullying, scamming. Sure, there are some good stories of friendship and creativity, but a good chunk of my life was spent on investing in a community that is doomed to one be turned off. That's the least of my concerns. I have severe social anxiety from my lack of healthy social stimulation as a teenager.

Final thoughts- NOT FOR KIDS.

If these negative reviews don't cast enough doubt, make a throw away account, go to the threads. Look at The Chatterbox, General Discussion, Extended Discussion, and Life Discussion.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byDusty Shidiz June 14, 2018

This website is despicable.

First of all this website has become money based. If don't give them money you can't enjoy their website.
The people who run the website do not care about their users.

The "moderators" on this website are biased they won't ban their friends, but they will ban anyone with a different opinion than their own.
Which is what passes for moderating now, a picture of a naked woman will sit on the front of a forum for hours, but an opinionate post will be deleted for "trolling in 10 seconds."

NOW LET ME TELL YOU ABOUT THIS WEBSITE'S USER BASE!

First of all, the users are referred to as "fags."
The "rallyfags" are users who hang out in the rally section of the website. Usually having roll playing sex with eachother. Then you have "townsfags" who hangout in towns having roll playing sex with eachother! Forum users are newfags, regs, and oldfags.


Then there is the forums, GAIAONLINE'S FORUMS ARE TRULY THR DARKEST THING ON THE ENTIRE INTERNET!
You have Life Discussion forum, this where your child learns about homosexuality. And how to commit suicide. You have the Gaia Community Discussion, this is where your child goes to get ridiculed and humiliated by 30+ year olds who feel superior for using the website since 2004. Then the General Discussion and Chatterbox forum.

NOW THE NASTIEST MOST VILE SECTION OF THE ENTIRE WEBSITE! The Chatterbox the hive of the biggest most disgusting low lives on earth. A user named Jon uses this forum to prey on children for naked pictures. Jixio uses this forum to spew garbage that will warp your child's mind, Atilla is a user who tricks girls into giving him nudes, and makes videos insulting them. Jolly Douchebag is a user who posts pictures of women with random House hold objects in their private areas, fat idiot is a very disturbed man, posing as a young Asian girl. There is also homosexuality rampant in this forum. Women and children who use this forum have their naked pictures they were tricked into giving posted daily, and are ridiculed about them. And everyone here glorifies drug use, and satanism.
All of these users are men in at least their 30s, posing as teenagers. They have all had numerous accounts banned for this behavior, but keep coming back because like I stated, gaia doesn't care. They keep giving gaia money, so gaia keeps letting them return.

Some sort of government agency needs to shut this website down like they shut down backpage, this website may be worse.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written by123Kal May 14, 2016

I quite like Gaia but some things need to improve

So -I really do like Gaia, for the anime style and that it seemed to have been made with a mission to make it a fun space for all. Avatar sites are important to me because I have disability in real life and it allows me expression and community. But there are some real problems on Gaia as well. The issue I’m finding is that on many avatar sites there is group stalking and harassment problems as well. There is hate speech which is defined as ‘speech that attacks, threatens, or insults a person or group on the basis of national origin, ethnicity, color, religion, gender, gender identity, sexual orientation, or disability’ that is common sadly and as a female there does seem to be a lot of predators on the site. When I was on there before I received messages that were inappropriate from strangers. I returned recently after trying other avatar sites and still dealing with harassment and stalking, across several avatar sites. What I do like a lot about Gaia is some measures are taken for safety. I have been told there are moderators, though I am not sure how closely they moderate. There is emphasis in a lot of the forum posts about not accepting harassment or abuse in the forum, which is a very good thing. The anime style is very cute in general, the avatar, clothes options, and the world itself is cute. Its enjoyable to explore the towns and dress up. I would say if young people are on this site, the parent should be with them at the same time, and not leave them alone on this site at all. Teens and older people also need to be careful on the site as well, but those who are teens and older may be better able to navigate the site.
Adult Written byPissedginger April 6, 2016

Been A Gaian since 2009

I've sort of grown up with the site and over the years I can say that for the most part my experiences with Gaia have been positive.
It seemed for a while that Gaia was 'a thing' and there seemed to be people from all over the planet that would sign up and meet there to game talk and share idea's
Unfortunately as with everything there is a downside.
After the site was sold, the current management has shifted to a more aggressive business model with a constant stream of adds all wanting users to buy, buy, buy.
However it is a business at the end of the day and frankly I have seen far worse places on the net as far as I'm convened.
On the whole while Gaia still has a lot to offer, The technology of the site has become dated.
It depends upon an aging framework that frankly has seen better days.
With the loss of the zOMG! mmo a good portion of the 'fun' about logging on has faded away coupled with a horrible inflation of the cost of items in 'gold' which is the local currency.
Most of what is left is a dress up avatar game with a forms tacked on.
In the last few years Gaia has shown signs of some recovery.
With the addition of 'Lake Kindred', a poke'mon style pet battle game that allows users to earn gold and free items.
The forums however are in a word Awful. The moderators are largely incompetent and have the current social justice movement shoved so far up their ass that I would accuse most of the omni-mods of being borderline cyberbullies.
Special snowflakes are allow to push their agenda's and if the sort antics you read about for a site named tumbler turn your stomach well you will be unhappy to note that this is more of the same.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bycelestes October 8, 2015

Steer Clear of This Cash grab

As a user of the site, it has been only recently that the site is nothing but a cash grab. Items not only cost hundreds, if not almost thousands of dollars, the site promotes spending all your money. Ads are everywhere for Cash items, Announcements constantly bomb you with the newest shiny item you can own, but be careful! limited quantity only so buy buy buy! Not only that, but any hope of teaching good spending habits it teaches bad ones, because not only is the real money aspect horrible, but the game currency is also in a state of disrepair, items cost so much in game currency that you WANT to spend real money to get by. Don't even get me started on the forums themselves. Half of them you can't go into without seeing spam, troll threads and other forms of f'ed up stuff that would make you think how these people get away with it. Oh wait, they get away with it because they are so understaffed half the threads that should be deleted don't because no one gives a crap anymore. Any time people ask to stop all the nonsense with gold gens, lqi's and other bizarre practices you get a shrug of the shoulders and "we don't know" or "We're working on it" or "There are people who spend money so we keep it up for those who want to spend the money". Don't bother with this site. I've only been there for as long as I have because I have invested money in it and if I left I would feel like I was cheated in some way.

This title contains:

Consumerism
Parent Written byLaFaust December 12, 2014

This Site Used to be lovely

I joined in 2003. Years have passed and now I'm a mother. I would never let my child join this site, regardless of the "avatar" system added. First, the site isn't safe and has easily been brought down by DDOS attacks multiple times. While I definitely appreciate that everyone is free to express their sexuality on Gaia, it's full of cybering {online sex role-playing}, rude/harsh language, and other things I would not want my 13 year old to have access to. The website has also become more "pay-to-play" than anything and I would be afraid my son would get a virus trying to "earn" cash just to get fancy premium items. I trust that my child would never steal my credit card information, but it's just the same for any other parent. The site also has ToS that states they can leave at any time and shut down the site; any money you have spent goes wherever they go. The staff is too thinned and stretched out to be able to properly moderate the bad apples out of the group. This site used to be wonderful for role-playing, especially for anyone 13 and up, but now I would say at least 16 and up is even appropriate {such a loose term} for access.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 1 year old Written byYeesa November 26, 2014

What the heck "parents"?

So I came on here due to a Gaia thread about the not so recent inflation of the sites in game money. I start reading the comments and really most of you are being really immature about the whole thing (fyi I was reading in the parents section) I have been a member of gaia for years now. I come and go from the site. Personally it is a good pass time and due to recent events (like them removing Zomg! the sites personal made rpg game) it is a bit iffy to be on there. But overall this is a great site for teenagers. Its the internet, there will be bullies and inappropriate things but if it came down to them being on gaia or a porn site i mean really which would you rather? It is just like any site you get on now and days. Its actually better than most sites to be honest.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Consumerism
Adult Written byLeta Darnell October 7, 2014

No money, no problem

Gaia quickly went from a site for all ages where people with and without real money were treated equally, politely, and swiftly. In recent years, that has changed with the arrival of the new CEO.

What has gone from a safe and amusing playground has turned into the virtual version of broken swings, threatening graffiti, and now home to gang members.

There is graphic cybersex in most of the main forums where the younger crowds gather. Swearing is rampant. The site itself puts your account at risk by letting third parties track you and banning you for complaining they aren't doing their job. The report button does nothing and when a moderator that exists can be found, both parties are said to be at fault to quickly silence anyone from those called the N-word to people having their religion called cults or terrorists.

The place is swamped with ads for itself to the point it has several sections that are nothing but graphic versions of infomercials. The site used to play anime, cartoons, and trailers for free, but that was removed and resources were dedicated to making money.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byChrenys August 9, 2014

As a member for eight years...

I joined up to the site in 2006. When I began, the community was pretty good. For the most part, everyone helped one another, talked with one another, and making friends was fairly easy. Granted, I ran into several issues, even then. In Towns (the flash-based community area where you can have your own house and chat in a certain map), there were more than a few times where I would run into a few people attempting to cyber. Some people, as you can expect, were very rude and intolerant... as is the case on any other site in the world, and its commonplace in real life as well.

Over the years, Gaia's fallen apart. It was once my safety but right now, under new management, it's changed. The community is awful and it's hard to find nice people without an event going on, and the market has been inflated so much that it's impossible for any existing users to get anything they want without paying money, so imagine what a new user would need to go through? Each item released, where it would have once been under 15k in my first years, is now in the billions. Let that sink in a moment.

Billions.

They way they handle users complaining is simply to either ignore them or shut them up temporarily. They have done very little with our complaints since the inflation began, and likely before then as well. With the growing difficulty to do much of anything with the market, and in turn avatars, the majority of the market is filled with people who purposely list an item far above what it is worth so they can make a profit.

On the other hand, the positives.

The roleplaying community, while many of the topics are very similar, can be some of the best fun I've ever come across. It's a good place to spend time and practice your writing, as various levels of skill are spread across this forum. It's a good place to make friends and meet people with similar interests. Thankfully, with the market the way it is, the "Quests/Charities" forum is the place to go. I have my own quest thread there, one I share with my friend and my mother, who also has a Gaia account. We have gotten a large amount of donations, and people are very kind and understanding.

Earning gold is hard, but it does teach a good lesson; nothing is ever easy to obtain, but getting what you want is worth it when you work for it.

Overall, it is a fun site when you know your way around it and make some friends to play with. Unfortunately, there is no way to completely filter out any of the bad talk and violence without going on a mass banning, which... would really take out the majority of the community.

Parents, be warned. There is no site out there not specifically made for children that is completely safe and 'clean' for a child. If you want a place for them to learn and not be exposed to this 'bad' behavior, I would suggest keeping them away from schools, radio, tv... anything, really, and most certainly Gaia. Otherwise, have at it. It's a fairly good experience.

This title contains:

Language
Consumerism
Adult Written byashleyo July 25, 2014

StayFarAway

The only thing gaiaonline wants to teach your kids is how to spend more money on Gaiaonline. The COO has been to conferences to describe what he calls "gamification" which compares the average user to a lab rat getting addicting to dopamine.

Gaiaonline's parent site has created a new site call tentacl, which is a 18+ adult only site. Advertisements for tentacl on Gaiaonline are common.

Gaiaonline also has released many many items that are sexualized in nature. Male and Female get pretty equal treatment with the sensual images. Kissing, masturbation, nakedness, groping. All of this and more can be simply and easily done with the items that gaia is releasing. With a little ingenuity you can certainly create an avatar that heavily implies intercourse.

Worse of all, gaia has been extremely greedy. they are constantly having sales on items that you can purchase with real money, and always have a gold generator in their shop to purchase with real money. Gold generators will give a user up to a certain amount of gold, often much less than the advertised "jackpot". Not only does this teach kids that money is what you need, "get more gold! Now with a higher jackpot!! Gold Generators on sale Today!!", but it also is a terrible introduction to gambling. It's easy to get hooked on these "fun" gold generators that will always get you at least something, but what happens when you start gambling in the real world and actually lose money because of it?

Not only that, but gold generators are completely ruining the experience if you want to play on gaiaonline without spending money! Gold generators have put so much gaia gold into their virtual economy that you cannot afford to buy items without first buying some gold.

Terrible terrible terrible. I cannot stress this enough that you should never ever allow your child to go on gaiaonline.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Parent Written byHoney.Sickle May 15, 2014

Stick to your kid's shoulder while they're on this website.

From nudity to sexually explicit avatars, this is not for anyone under 16. Many content in the forums does contain sex or sexual situations.While there is a filter for swearing, it can easily be turned off. There are many items containing smoking, drinking, being drunk, and more. There is an issue where many people try to scam others to take items, passwords, and more. You'll find cyber bullying and harassment to be a normal thing. With this website, it is pay for premium. You have to spend real life money to get any good items in the game, or to use special features. While you can earn 'gaia cash', there are viruses and many more issues regarding the tasks to earning it.

The website has standard laws that you must be over 13 to join, but the content on the other side of the wall is much different from the "Join" page.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byKoda Crest April 21, 2014

A Double Edged Blade

I've been on Gaia Online since soon after it first launched in 2003. I have watched the site develop from a small community driven forum hub, to a bustling crossroads of lifestyles. Gaia Online itself offers an in-depth Terms of Service upon signup, which is, admittedly, not as well upheld as it could be, due to some moderation being user based and bias.

To begin, Gaia is a site for people aged 13 and up. Users who have admitted, or can be proven to be, under the minimum age are immediately banned from the website, and in some reoccurring cases, an IP ban ensues. This makes it impossible for your child to get back on a website they are not of the age to be on. The site runs off of an in-game gold system, where you earn gold by playing games and posting in forums. There are quite a few forums for banding together to help others, having in depth discussions on contemporary world problems, trading artistic talents and even writing stories with others. But in recent history and new ownership of the site it has turned more towards a financial profit point, causing some aspects of the site to grow a tad more adult in content.

I wouldn't warn against giving a child who spends 8+ hours a week money for this site if it were five dollars every two weeks. As it's a fair trade off for the consumer and entertainment provider to make. Your child gets hours of entertainment for very little money on your part.

I would, on the other hand, warn against not moderating their activity and spending. There are a few parts of the site (see: Life Issues and Chatterbox) where your child is vulnerable to a lot of bullying. As is with any forum based site. In fact, many children post for advice in the first mentioned forum, and receive adamant opinions on how to act from outside sources. This can headily affect their decisions, and not always for the best.

There is also a sister site to Gaia Online called Tentacl. This is an 18+ site, with much more adult themes. Please, if your child is on Gaia, look into this other site and make sure you are aware of what it looks like so you can know if your child is in a place they shouldn't be.

This title contains:

Consumerism
Adult Written byklkt1107 March 19, 2014

Site is moving more and more to pay to play

This game site is obviously about to undergo a great change. They are pushing cash items at the rate of 10+ a day. They aren't listening to the players about what they want, like more fish for aquariums. As far as children go, there are too many ways people could speak privately. I would not advise it for children

This title contains:

Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Parent Written byStars_Mars January 29, 2014

Protect your wallet

I've been an active user for 10 years. I started playing it was I was 13. I'm now 23 and still use it.
Now, Gaiaonline's userbase is diverse and is good for kids to learn about culture, advice of life events, grammar, and all that good stuff. You are pretty protected from Trolls (people who are bad and post naughty things) because they get banned right away and the content is pulled. Out of my 10 years, I have only seen 1 troll post nude photos of porn. And it was removed in seconds.
But the main issue about this site is the constant pressure of BUY, BUY , BUY. What happen was that Gaia went under new management and got a new CEO whose only focus was to exploit items for cash. The only way to buy anything for your avatar (it's also a dress up site) on Gaia is with gold. But this new CEO has inflated the market, making gold so hard to obtain, and then selling items in the cash shop for silly prices. 50 dollars is the standard for 1 ITEM. You can buy things with Gaia's fake currency, but it's almost impossible (we have our own marketplace similar to the stock market) so the only option is buy with cash to have anything in this site.
This can be a big problem if your child is a compulsive buyer. If you want to see if Gaia is good for your child, if you give them money and it disappears in 1 day and you ask them what happen, it most likely went into Gaia. And if you have a problem with your kids putting real money in a fake items...then Gaia is not safe for your kids.
This is a great site because of the users. But consumerism is really really bad.

This title contains:

Consumerism
Parent of a 12 and 15 year old Written byJillabean January 20, 2014

No longer the site it once was.

As a 10 year member of Gaia Online and mother of two teenage boys, I once approved of the site for my children, but no longer. Teenage girls sell pictures of themselves for Gaia Gold, the virtual currency, and little moderation takes place within these forums, please look out for your daughters. Consumerism has swept the site in the past months, offering sales every day up to 3 times a day, for virtual items. The items are priced for real world money, in the form of Gaia Cash, upwards of $1000 for one (virtual) item, the average item prices ranging from $50 - $250. This is not an exaggeration. This type of marketing is taking place on a site aimed at 13+ users, for items named with innuendos such as "Flynns Booty", "Flynns Chest", "Santa's Sack" which are nothing more than gambling type items. Furthermore, a large majority of the user base has protested the introduction of these sales and items on a grand scale, only to be continually ignored by the admins. Many valued members of the site are leaving due to the company's behavior and treatment of the site, this includes company staff as well. Several current and former staff members are steadily leaving negative reviews for the company to the public eye. There is clearly something wrong with this once amazing site.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety

Pages