All member reviews for Girls' Life

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Mag site smartly tackles teen girls' interests and issues.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 28 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent of a 11 year old Written byConcernedMOMofaTween October 1, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Say NO to Girl's Life Magazine

This is not appropriate for a tween girl! Too many HEAVY subjects. I would not recommend this magazine EVER! I am glad I went to the library and looked it over! In one issue it talked about having "unprotected sex" and in another it spoke about her boyfriend being "handsy". Really???????? This is for a tween - you have got to be kidding. Parents DO NOT FALL FOR IT & DO NOT LET YOUR DAUGHTER READ THIS MAGAZINE!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 17 year old Written by29 May 15, 2011
Kid, 12 years old October 24, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Awesome!! :D

I heart this website!! It's super safe and fun!!! It does have some sex related things though.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old January 27, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

perfect 4 everyone 10+

I love this site it is awesome. It does have some lip locking issues when you come down to it. but you will need to know how to when it comes to a certain age
What other families should know
Too much sex
Educational value
Great messages
Parent of a 14 year old Written bySkyCares March 1, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Opens up discussions.

I think this is spot on for teenagers. Topics are relevant to their concerns. My daughther has opened up conversations after reading articles. I check out the magazine before she reads it so I can be open to discussions should she chose to share. At 14 she doesn't always come to me for advice. At least I know she's getting good input from GL Magazine!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much consumerism
Kid, 11 years old June 27, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

I Love GL!

I pick these magazines at the library and I love looking at the website. Some people say that the guy section is iffy for younger tweens (9 - 10 or 11) but I disagree. Tweens may not deal with boyfriends, but they do deal with crushes and idiot mean boys. There's also fun recipes, workouts, and quizzes to more personal things like puberty. This is a great site for teens and tweens, 10+, and I think mature 9 year olds might have fun on this sight too.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old June 15, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great Resource for Older Tweens and Teens

GL is a great magazine for girls 10-13. I think that it might include a few thinks that aren't appropriate for 10 year olds maybe, but you sort of just have to know your kid. My favorite part is the MODDING. You just type "MOD" at the start of a comment, and you can ask a question that will be answered by responsible older girls who know what they are talking about.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Kid, 11 years old October 28, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

10-15 is a big age range

I've been on this website, and though they claim to be for 10-15 year olds, I don't think that really fits it. A ten year olds biggest social issue is usually something about mean girls or best friends who just abandon them (which is a little hard, you know.)While 15 year olds struggle to be popular (though I have noticed younger girls starting to take notice of popularity). 15 year olds have boy problems. 10 year olds may have crushes. 15 year olds are far into puberty, while 10 year olds are only starting their growth spurts (most of them). 15 year olds have much more body issues. It's a little to big of an age range.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byajgirl13 July 13, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

What kids need to hear

A lot of parent reviews I have seen on this site and other places for this magazine have been very negative. They criticize it for being too graphic for Tweens. However, the content in this magazine is basically a more personalized version of health programs in schools for Tweens today. The issues it addresses are issues teens do worry about, and it answers them in an honest, helpful way that encourages responsibility and for the TEEN TO TALK TO THE PARENT/TEACHER/TRUSTED ADULT.If you believe the issues in this magazine are too graphic, you state that you refuse to believe that your child would discuss them with you, which leaves your child in the dark without reliable information from a trusted source. Wouldn't you rather your child learn about these things from you or a trusted source then the internet or a friend's older sibling the playground? This magazine is educational and a good place for children of today to learn and play in a good environment.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written bykpgl March 5, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Girls' Life is the best for girls!

Girls' life is a great website. The magazine is equally amazing.I love it. Its fun for girls with great advice! It even has a health section where they encourage girls to stay healthy and answers their questions. It is wonderful for 11-15 year old girls.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 10 years old December 8, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Popularity is not important and you dont need a boyfriend

Well many girls love fanshion so i rate for learning good because girls learn about what they want to do in life you know. Before i say anything else my reviews sound like im a teen because im in 4rth grade advanced. Ok, so what i was saying is that positive messages is not to foucused and for a site like this it should be more trying to say " You can be what you want' kinda of message. Its more of a drama house thing and sometimes there is lack of fun and more drama. Girls that are ten focuse on boyfriends and crushes and uasual get turned down. Older kids want popular reviews and friends and try to make drama by making there online boyfriends break up with them so they can sob to there friends and it just gose that way for popularity
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old November 28, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Cool

I love this thing is so good
Teen, 14 years old Written byDMfanCassy October 27, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

I'm not gonna lie, I love it!!!

I've been going on this site for about a year or so, and I still love it! I started highschool this year and though it's not as "cool" to be on a site like this, this site has a lot of advise and answers questions that girls might be too nervous to ask. Plus aside from advice it also has a lot of fun quizes and ideas for when days are boring. It also gives a lot of verified healthy living and eating advice which really does help! This site has something for all girls... from girls who are the queens on the soccer field to the girlies who are dying to be beauty queens! Really good site! :)
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byAngief060 October 4, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

everything for girls

think this is a good site for teenagers, Not little 11 year old children. this is a good site <3
What other families should know
Great messages
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 15 years old Written byMovie Expert September 13, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

I love GL!

Girl's life is a great magazine! I just love it! It has tips about fashion, some cooking recipes, posters and stickers, advice coloums, about friends, sleepover ideas, celebrity gossip, how to put on make-up and to make really cool fashion trends, i could go on and on! There is also some stuff about boys and how to get your first kiss and stuff like that but nothing inappropriate. A couple of ads sometimes at the end of the page. There are also articles about Eco-stuff and health and fitness and lots of quizzes! A must for girls 11-15!!! A definite buy!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Kid, 12 years old May 2, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

blah

I don't like this website. It's best for girls aged 15+ because of the dating and std related questions, such as "I have a bump down there, is it acne or an STD?" or "How do I get the perfect guy?".
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 12 years old December 7, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Girls' Life Website-Broken Down

It's a good website for tweens and teens. There's no bad language or anything, even in the comments because they're moderated. You need to go by sections though. Some sections aren't that great for 10 year olds, but ok for 13 or 14 year olds. Guys: 13-14+, younger kids won't really need to go there, you know? Advice: 12-13+, if anyone younger needs advice they can just comment on a random article with "MOD MOD MOD" at the top and a moderator can answer your questions or give you advice. Fun Stuff: 10+, lots of cool ideas! Style: 10+, but younger kids probably wouldn't care. Health & Fitness: 11-12+ Quizzes:10+, I go there when I get bored Mag: any age, it's just basically if you want to subscribe or know what's in the magazine. Video: I don't know, I've never really visited that part of the website.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much consumerism
Kid, 10 years old July 26, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

GirlsLife is Great

I dont know i like girlslife i go on it and im 10 its not that bad . Some stuff i think kids my age shouldnt click on at girlslife though.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Kid, 11 years old May 8, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

awesome

I really love this magizine. I think it shows that there not alone when it comes to certian things
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byrosalinna April 25, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
it is a perfect site for teenage girls ...........its juzt awsome.....it has every thing in which the tees can get help. i ? it :)
What other families should know
Too much sex
Educational value
Great messages

Pages