All member reviews for GirlZone

Common Sense Media says

Web zine for teen girls could use some updates.
 

Users say

(out of 28 reviews)
age 10+
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written byBenny95346 December 11, 2010
 

Horrible for Everyone

I am speaking for my little sister, as she stopped playing this site the day after she found it and complained "Why are all the girl sites so boring? It's like we're all babies." I watched her play the website and the whole thing is based on girl stereotypes of what girls like.
Teen, 13 years old Written byAnaya Marie April 14, 2011
 

I think it is for tweens and up.

I think that it is a very good website for girls to learn about themselfs and how to look at them selfs.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old April 7, 2011
 

Love isn't a game, Mrs.Advice.

Honestly, I went to this site myself. There are ads, mostly targeting moms. (Periods, etc) The advice is bad. The lady is just saying ''Go ask the boy out, if he says no then leave him'' Love doesn't work like that. Is this site suppose to be for little girls? They have people ask..body questions. It be kind of weird if boys were snooping around this. This site is pretty boring for kids. Just reading the same stuff about boys, and body stuff they wouldn't understand.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byMusic411 April 7, 2011
 

Nice For little kids, but teens and tweens boring...!

I don't really enjoy the website after five minutes I had already gotten bored!
Kid, 12 years old April 1, 2011
 

horrible

horrible
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 12 years old March 4, 2011
 

Perfect For Older Kids 14+ Not Great For Younger That 14

I Dont Like This Site At All. Its Boring, The Pop Ups Make Your Computer Run Slow. The Site Is Ran By A Teenager In High School. She Talks About Stuff That Parents Should Use For Help When You Have "The Talk" With Your Child.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Kid, 12 years old December 4, 2010
 
I just think it is boring I think it is all boring
Teen, 13 years old Written byadriibabe003 November 6, 2010
 
it is really kewl for someone to give you advice
What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 12 years old November 4, 2010
 

good if you wanna learn about the freaky stuff going on with your life :)

it's sort of really intense and straight to the point, so if its your "first time" on puberty talk and growing up, this may not be the most comfortable site for you. they have lots of ads and one of them was sorta sad because when i first went on the website, i'd rather not say what the ad said because it's kinda scary. so be prepared for extreme content
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 9 years old September 12, 2010
 

12 age

If your kid isn't 12 don't let them near it.
Parent of a 13 year old Written byabfritsch September 11, 2010
 

good info - hard to navigate

Annoying pop-ups make it hard to navigate the site.
Kid, 9 years old September 4, 2010
 

good for kids 10 and up and iffy for 9 yr. olds.

love it!!!!
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Teen, 14 years old Written byBookGirl202 July 20, 2010
 

Perfect for older kids, but not for tweens

i love slash hate it.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Parent of a 11 year old Written bySamantha T July 6, 2010
 

Ok site, good for girl tweens.

This website may help girls through puberty. Whoever, there is some discussion of sex.If you trust your girl enough to not look at stuff like that, that this would be fine for her.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 9 years old May 7, 2010
 

boring

boring
Parent of a 11 year old Written bysoccergrl11 May 3, 2010
 

I like it but there is 1 thing

This website is pretty much just about girls and stuff they learn about during puberty. The only thing hat I think is kinda bad for SOME ages is that it talks about sex sometimes.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byMEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE April 24, 2010
 

I'm just saying this...you decide...

QUICK REVIEW It's good enough but nothing great...There are too many ads...Education isn't that great either. REACTION REVIEW When I got on to check it out I was shocked. The whole design of the site is very basic and not at all organized. The content is awesome...if you can find it. Of course there are certain language problems but nothing teenagers haven't heard before. There are too many links to other sites. Occasionally there are good messages for kids too like this Earth Day. ON IFFY OFF REVIEW On for ages: 15,16,17 Iffy for ages: 10,11,12,13,14 Off for ages: 2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9 Parental Supervision required for all the iffys. GOOD VS BAD Good: Appropriate for teens Bad: Advertising too much Good: Good messages Bad: Inappropriate for anyone younger Good: Perfect for girls Bad: Boys can get on Good: - Bad: Can buy stuff online Goods: 3 Bads: 4 5 out of ten + 3 goods - 4 bads = 4 out of 10 rating
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written byKieraHill March 17, 2010
 

How to have common sence

Love it is when you really like it? Hateit is when you just don't like it?
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Parent of a 17 year old Written by17pink February 9, 2010
 
i love it
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 10 years old January 7, 2010
 
i want math books to teach her to make sur she is safe shes 1 half yrs old
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Educational value
Great messages

Pages