All member reviews for GoAnimate

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Fun, do-it-yourself cartoons for budding teen animators.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 31 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byTheBombFunn July 11, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Good website!

GoAnimate is a useful website for creating cartoons. You don't need to draw the characters out, they're already there. I think my favorite section is "Comedy World" because its fun to make grounded vidros. However, it does suck how you have to pay to get a goplus account to get all the cool characters and voices. Pretty good website.
Teen, 13 years old Written byTearBear October 9, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Ummm.... No

It is very hard to use. I DON'T LIKE IT AT ALL!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Written byAnonymous September 14, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Good website!

This movie maker isn't quite bad as other users on here said it was. It's pretty good. But here is my problem with it. People use it to make grounded videos which I sort of lost interest in. They also use baby shows like The Wiggles in it. And the site steals text-to-speech voices like MS Sam. Also the animation looks like something you'd see off of Family Guy, American Dad and The Cleveland Show. So I like this but there are A LOT of flaws!
Kid, 11 years old February 22, 2015
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

I cannot believe how bad this is.

Skip this. This won't teach anyone anything. All you do is drag and drop things. In ACTUAL animation, you can drag and drop things, but you must draw them beforehand. Go use flash or something. Also, it costs money.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Kid, 8 years old February 20, 2015
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Yeah. I am making Joey's grounded series on this site.

I am making videos of "Joey gets grounded" now.
Kid, 11 years old November 1, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Nice gimmick with some downsides

I rewrote this review because of GoAnimate's sudden "we-need-money" agenda, almost like that of ROBLOX. There used to be another website powered by GoAnimate that now redirects to GoAnimate for Schools. And what's this? Free plans are being eradicated? If you're going to be involved with GoAnimate at all, you should have at least $75 handy. However, they luckily left GoPlus up. (goanimate.com/plussignup)
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Kid, 9 years old October 31, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Language.

Most animations use swearing, sex, drinking/drugs/smoking and more, plus you have to create a profile picture.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written bynoahz September 9, 2014
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Goanimate is Educational

It Is Recommended For Kids Ages 6+
What other families should know
Great messages
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 15 years old Written byJames V. Taylor June 22, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

A fine animating website to make teenagers and older kids creative.

I am a professional animator since I logged into that website, and I make animations that compile to animating bets. I occasionally use PowerPoint to make animations. I am stuck in the Free Plan, and I should buy either GoPublish or GoPremium (check the Consumerism symbol), and I used to have a souvenir account but I can't log into it (Check Privacy and Safety), but the GoBucks thing is removed since the website's renovation last year, and existing GoUsers can make characters for free. Good learning approach, teaches kids creativity, and is really good for wannabe animators.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written byDarky'sReviews June 19, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

This Is Insulting To All Animators Out There

Whenever I hear or see somebody watching animations that were created from this program, I cover my ears and run as fast as possible away from it. This program is so dodgy, it's unbearably irritating; limited to only stuff like obnoxious talking robot voices and the membership doesn't do anything more resourceful. Heck, you don't even get an opportunity to animate your own characters, instead you're stuck with ones that look like they came straight out of Family Guy. From what I've seen from other users, there isn't anything that is too scandalous but it's just way too unbelievably stupid for you to let your child be stuck with. I refuse to recommend this to not only young kids but to anyone.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Kid, 10 years old February 24, 2014
AGE
15
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Extremely innapropraite stuff!

Most people post videos following the story of Eric getting grounded. However, most of these, and even the original videos, are extremely innapropriate.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old January 13, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Meh.

Positive Messages:I didn't see any. Violence:Characters can use weapons, and people can create violent scenes. Sex:People can include cleavage, and also nudity. Language:You can put swears in videos. Consumerism:You just pay for a membership to export videos to YouTube and other websites. Alcohol:Alcohol objects exist. Privacy:It is a website, so people may give out personal info. My review:It's pretty good for people who don't prefer drawing or is inspired by Family Guy. A lot of people make grounded videos, which, in my opinion, get annoying. Overall, if you don't want to draw characters, this is the animating website for you. You can also put images in there from your computer files. If you prefer drawing characters, making your own frames, or adding your own sounds (though GoAnimate allows that as well.), get Flash instead.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns

Pages