All member reviews for Grooveshark

Common Sense Media says

User-sourced music-sharing site is fun, fast, and free.
 

Users say

(out of 19 reviews)
age 11+
 
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old January 9, 2010
age 10+
 

best for preteens and up

The songs are great all the circles are there because it depends on what you're listening to.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Kid, 9 years old December 18, 2014
age 9+
 

Kinda bad for a 9 year old

When I went on Grooveshark, I saw ads that was offering Vodka and Wine. I tried to report the wine ad and it didn't work. Trust me. It's not for children.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old March 11, 2015
age 9+
 

Listen to it all the time

Just fine but it has ads
Written byAnonymous April 30, 2011
age 13+
 

Grooveshark. Stream music for free without adverts. Bliss!

I absolutely love Grooveshark, and kicks Spotify Free out of the water. Search for music by any artist you wish, and 9 out of 10 times, you will find it. The quality is very good however since the users upload the content, some can be of poor quality or mislabeled. You do not have to sign up and there are no adverts like Spotify either so since your song finishes, it will either play the next in line, or find a new song and play it. There is an optional mothly fee without any adverts, but these are only visual and can quite happily live with them. It is waste of money, but for $5 a month, if it bothers you it will be worth the cash. Overall, its a good alternative to Spotify who have lost their way, the quality is good and there is a good selection, and there are no adverts! What are you waiting for? Go to Grooveshark and play to your hearts content!
Teen, 16 years old Written byPrincessCharmed797 October 17, 2012
age 16+
 

Grooveshark

I love grooveshark.
Teen, 14 years old Written byyung.ty October 20, 2011
age 14+
 

bye

it nice
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old June 28, 2011
age 12+
 

Just be wary of what you listen to.

I love this website!!! BUT, sometimes you have to watch what you listen to. COMPLETLY agree with review below mine.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 14 years old Written bybrandonh1996 February 20, 2011
age 13+
 

Just make sure listening to Appropriate Music

Very Safe, Appropriate.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written bykellipetrelli November 15, 2010
age 6+
 

Nice!!!!

I love this site. I think its awesome and fun for when im writing or stuff.
Teen, 14 years old Written byZarah November 13, 2010
age 13+
 

Great website but depends on what you're listening to.

It's a great website but there are many types of music on it. Some songs may have language or sexual content but if you already know what you want to listen to you can look up those songs and make them into a playlist with no other songs on it but the ones you want. I love getting on it to listen to my favorite songs!
Parent of a 11 and 14 year old Written byrmp November 5, 2010
age 16+
 

Inappropriate product placement and suggestive advertisting

First log-in - Huge Victoria's Secret Underwear ad - this is not what I was expecting and is not a positive message to teens.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written bymanay_4511 October 26, 2010
age 2+
 
This depends on how good and bad, how the songs are. It has all of your favorite songs to listen to online. Sounds like a good idea though.
Teen, 13 years old Written byTheyCallMeColepi October 24, 2010
age 12+
 

Rating Depends on What YOU Chose to Listen To

To be honest the way you rate the website is based on the type of music you listen to with it. There are songs with some language in them, but it's really up to you to add them. I do like this site, though.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byRodeo-Girl October 23, 2010
age 12+
 

Great for 12+ Iffy for 10 and under

Great site, but there are a lot of ads out there, and quite a few users with innapropriate content, but if you don't pay attention to the social features, you are just fine. The music selection is great, with many types of music, you can find just about any song in the world. I really like the site, but some loading problems occured. In my opinion: Violence: No problem Sexy stuff: In a couple of ads Language: A few songs have mild language. Ads: A lot! Drugs: Nope
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byAfricaFreak17 October 23, 2010
age 13+
 

Not letting your kid on Grooveshark?

It is like any other music website. you can listen to music and watch videos. My username is ClarinetteFreak17 if u wanna send me a message about what u think. Or email me at lambasabms6717778@gmail.com for other issues or questions.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old September 29, 2010
age 15+
 

some innappropriate music choices, but ok.

the only problem is that some of the songs have really bad lyrics. its ok for kids as long as they know what they want to listen to. your little ones might get disoriented and stumble across a bad song and hear it. loading time is slow so id rather use youtube to listen to my music. its ok.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 11 year old Written bymmart September 24, 2010
age 11+
 
Really on the fence with this one. We allow our child to use it as long as he is within earshot of an adult. You can find any song here, but that includes songs with explicit lyrics, so parental guidance is a must.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old September 11, 2010
age 10+
 

Great Site For Music.

This site is great for finding new music. it's free and safe. the only thing which might be bad is that you can find song's with swearing. but if you want to avoid that. search for "clean versions"
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 13 years old Written byasam September 6, 2010
age 2+
 

ANYBODY

MUSIC FOR ALL AGES
Teen, 13 years old Written bypyscojoker January 17, 2010
age 11+
 

Nice and modern

awesome website looks modern and slick 5/5
What other families should know
Too much consumerism