Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Find entertainment that fits your kid's interests and your parenting style.

Go to For Your Family

Parent reviews for IMVU

Common Sense says

Sophisticated chat world has sexual content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 16+
Based on 180 reviews

Kids say

age 15+
Based on 270 reviews
Adult Written byrosemistshadow March 29, 2009

What a rubbish opinion

IMVU is a wonderful site, I met loads of friends on it that are now very close to my heart. As for those daft comments about getting AP for raunchy and explicit reasons, that is gumph. I got AP so I could make a public chat room, you can only do this by getting AP or VIP.

If you want to see my lovely and innocent HP on it then I'm called RoseMistShadow. Feel free to look.
Adult Written byCynthia.S1 September 19, 2019

It is what you make it

Yes, it may seem bad for teens It really isn't. It's what you make it. If you want your IMVU experience to sexual, or filled with drugs and cussing, the you make it. Which will then invite others who like it. If you don't want your IMVU experience to be like that then, you don't. You only invite the things you want in your IMVU time. I've been playing since 13 and I've seen IMVU change for the better. Going through ups and downs, they've really tried their best to make IMVU safe and fun for all teens and young adults

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byxPetalsOfFatex August 9, 2019

Just Another Cash Cow Game

Okay. I use to enjoy this game in the past but, now i don't. This game just milks its community. You have to spend money just to share a room and remove "Guest__" off of your name. Which is sort of B.S. Not to mention, people act stuck up and, petty on this game. Imagine making your room open to the public then booting people out of it because, they refuse to spend money for a gold label. It just follows the stereotypical chat game trobe where everyone is selective, alienated and, egotistical. And, the game devs don't care. They too busy milking sad saps wallets. Here's a better alternative: Get off your computer and, talk to people IRL. Its cheap and FREE.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byMummchy August 8, 2019

IMVU Hasn't Changed

So, i went back to playing IMVU after quitting years ago and, nothing has changed. People are still being singled out for having "Guest__" on their usernames. You either have to be a player for years, spend 100,000 credits for a username or, buy VIP which cost over $80.00. IMVU is just another "popularity" game where you have to spend money just to be considered "cool". I tried to go into a chat room and, got booted by the owner for not being VIP (Note: IMVU has a system where you can make VIP only rooms but, it was open to the PUBLIC). I do NOT recommend this game to children NOR teens. Think about your children's mental health. Also, the clothes on IMVU are overly sexualized with un realistic body proportions.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byCherie22 August 3, 2019

Nothing but Thieves

My daughter has been on this IMVU app thing since she was 14 she is now 25 and has her own child now who is 4 know and sometime last week or so ago got a hold of her phone without her knowledge and bought some stuff and now they have frozen her account and will not unfreeze her account until she pays for something that her four-year-old had done most companies are understanding and not just a bunch of thieves and will let it go at least once this is the first time it’s ever happened and they’re nothing but money hungry pieces of Poo I am very disappointed in this company and I will be contacting the Better Business Bureau and a few other people plus I’m putting him on blast on every social media that I have Facebook Snapchat Twitter Instagram anything I can think of .And for the IMVU people who are reading this well you know what you could go due to yourself thank you have a great and blessed day.
Adult Written byFrank21 August 1, 2019

Full of perverts old and dirty

Do not let your child in this site it’s full of liners dirty old perverts as I just found out from my 11 years old granddaughter don’t let your child near

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 15 year old Written byTruthparent July 31, 2019

Trust

Yes the game needs some work. But IF YOU TRUST YOUR KID. Then it would be fine. Of course there bad things on there. The game was meet to be good, but people are ruining it. So I think 15+ and up should play . Because these kids could change the game. But you have to trust them and they have to work for your trust and show you that they can play that game

This title contains:

Language
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written by423adam July 7, 2019

Awful and luring for kids

The premise of this app is to make a anime and make a life for it-kind of like “The Sims” when I was a teen. Almost immediately, people started messaging my daughter saying all kinds of inappropriate things and telling her how to hide the app from her parents. This app needs an 18 and up warning.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byjodezaca July 2, 2019

Intrusive and Inconvenient

I bought credits meant to be given to someone. I'd have simply gifted it, but IMVU made me use Paymentwall. Paymentwall didn't allow gifting. However, it conveniently asked for a valid ID and a picture of my credit card. I gave it. When I asked IMVU to finally transfer my credits, they only transferred it partially. They then proceeded to give me the vague reason of "for security" to further block my transfers. I listened to their demands. I waited for two weeks and a new month, but still nothing. I asked for the reason but they gave me nothing to work with.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byMargotLawson1977 May 27, 2019

Adults only

hi I’ve been on and off the game for less than a year. I’m actually married my kids doesn’t play the game they don’t like it now I understand why after I fix my avatar which it was really hard to find the appropriate clothes because most of the clothes are extremely revealing .that should of of gave me a red flag ,then I get into the game I’m very choosy which chat line to go on cause I’m married even in the rooms I go in it’s still very inappropriate I got sexual harass then bully because I’m married. In real life people get serious in trouble for sexual harassment and even bullying at jobs people get fired and sued so I don’t understand why imvu allow this type of behavior in a online game they told me it’s for everyone as long as they are 17+but their are actual kids in there that as young as 9yrs old maybe younger imvu don’t take any responsibility for why-the kids are in their game they blame it on the parents. All I’m asking we need to take a stand and do something about this before something bad happens cause imvu isn’t doing anything about it because business is more important to them than the people who are on the game I actually gotten in trouble for reporting and blocking too much. People can randomly do gestures to u even if I mute them and blocked them to your avatar and imvu won’t do anything about it,this game is even bad for adults the game looks a porn hub. I don’t play the game anymore but please we need to do something about this please ty ps u also get in trouble for doing drugs and selling them and I don’t do any of those things
You have to pay $10. A month for another avatar to stop touching your avatar.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byxlime4 May 22, 2019

Not appropriate for children under 16, unless they’re being monitored!

First off, the positives. For children who struggle to interact with others, it’s a great way to make new friends, and even build up skills in 3D modelling, if your child is a creator. If you go into the right chat rooms, there are lots of friendly people. In terms of privacy, IMVU does not force you to reveal any personal information, giving options to “hide” any personal information. I also believe IMVU tries separating children under 17 and adults over 18 with their own individual servers, and you required to submit ID if you try to buy an Access Pass (the pass that allows you to view adult content).

Now, the downsides. It is against the terms of use to lie about your age, but some children (and adults with bad intentions) may do so, anyway. Unfortunately, as the rooms are moderated by players rather than IMVU staff, what your child may see will be hit or miss. If you go to a chatroom with strict rules regarding child safety, your child should be okay, while their activity is closely monitored. If your child ends up seeing sexual activity anyway, it is not very explicit, and no characters are allowed to be nude, hence why I feel the game is far safer for over 16s than below that age group.

Overall, I feel the game is most appropriate for children over 16, but children under 16 and over 13 will be safe as long as their activity is monitored. As always, teach your child about internet safety before they use it.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Parent of a 8, 17, 17, 17, and 17 year old Written bygree.emonyn May 8, 2019

r5 ft

frgggggggggggggggggg

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written byAlmeida dailene April 23, 2019

Good care

I want to have a baby

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent of a 10 year old Written byAlyssathompson April 15, 2019

I do not on

I do not on

This title contains:

Consumerism
Adult Written byMeggyEggy April 8, 2019

IMVU AND HOW IT SUCKS & HOW IT ROCKS

IMVU is a kinda crappy but also amazing game, you can meet some pretty dank people. I met alot of pretty wonderful people but also some fucking cunts. I've been playing it probably before I should but its great to meet new people as long as you are not meeting idiots. AP should not be bought til 18 (COUGHCOUGH 14) :x < you can give your kids your card for proof. People can be vERY VERY KINKY AND NAUGHTY but thats fun. They gotta learn sex some how, and its nice to know what kinda kinks are new. It doesn't have violence unless you consider verbal that or booty spanks. There is alot of swearing but fuck its good. You can be v private if wanted and meet some gr8ass people ty & goodnight - THE ANDERSON FAMILY join asido xoxo
Adult Written bySimplySunflowers April 6, 2019

Personal Review

So I am currently 22 years old and I have been on IMVU since I was 11 off and on. I have been around for 90% of the time IMVU has existed and the program it's self is not bad. They try to get every penny they can out of you but outside of that, its fine. The only concern is the growing number of people who use it. Which sounds like a good thing but you have to consider what those people are going to use and say. There is a lot of swearing because that's how people talk today, I'm guilty of this as well. As far as safety and privacy concerns, they again come from the people you interact with. There are a lot of scam messages you receive that ask you to click links for different things, ect. So long as your child (or yourself) are not falling for things like that, are not adding people on social media or giving out your personal ID information to people you do not know, you will be okay and have fun. Basically, act with common sense and you'll be fine.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Language
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byCarsonWilliams1 April 4, 2019

Sexual, Violent, Not for young teens.

This app/website is not suitable for 16+. My daughter, Amelia, came crying to me telling me someone on IMVU was trying to kill her. When i looked at her chat history, a man, who had claimed to be 72 was saying that he was going to trace her down and violently slaughter her with various torture weapons. She had also been forced to go to a 'sex room' with this man, where sexual simulations were happening. There were avatars giving blowjobs, anal, and frontal sex. NOT for any teens below 16.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written by•._.BTS._.• March 28, 2019

I wouldn’t let kids play this AT ALL

Okay so I saw my daughter playing this a few days ago but I didn’t see anything bad then, but when I went on her computer today I checked her games and everything just to make sure she wasn’t doing anything she wasn’t supposed to do, and what do I find? Sexual messages from guys and some girls she didn’t even know! If I was you, I would always check what your children are doing because this has to stop! Yes I know this review will be ignored but I advise you to not let your child play this! I can’t stop you from letting them or being careless but still, DONT LET YOUR CHILD PLAY THIS GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byGinphiore March 19, 2019

Horrible experience.

Imvu has the worst customer support I've ever experienced. I had my account for two years before they put my account on hold ( they didnt allow me to purchase anything with in-game currency ) for at least 5 months before telling me what was going on. Then when i tried to fix my issue (they requested id and credit card) they refused to accept my id and ended up completely disabling my account. I ended up having to use my friend's old account. Imvu completely refused to re-enable my account and to this day it's still disabled. My other friend had a similar experience, he was a creator on their website and was making things for the in-game shop. His account was disabled after he uploaded a product that was apparently copyrighted (he still doesnt know which product.) and he also ended up having to use an alternate account.
Adult Written byKayKayboo February 25, 2019

Not a game to play

This game is not for anybody to play my momma caught me messaging inappropriate messages to a person that i dont know.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety

Pages