Parent reviews for IMVU

Common Sense says

Sophisticated chat world has sexual content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 16+
Based on 200 reviews

Kids say

age 14+
Based on 297 reviews
Adult Written byDeathFlower February 23, 2020

IMVU is NOT Worth Playing In 2020 Nor Is It For Children

Problems is have with IMVU:

-Shows Favoritism

-Cash Grab

-Toxic Community

- Overly Sexualized Clothes (can't wear a shirt without showing off my breast or wear a skirt that doesn't show off my underwear)

-Outdated Graphics

-Encourages singling people out/cyberbullying

-Can't make a single friend without someone starting drama with you (even saying "hi" or "Hello" will get you targeted for harassment)

-Mods and Room Owners will abuse their power and boot you out the room over something stupid

Parents: THIS GAME IS NOT FOR KIDS. It literally has a whole feature where you can gain access to a shop that you can buy NSFW items.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byJennifer76 December 20, 2019

Not worth it

IMVU bans accounts for no valid reason. They did it to me and I have also read statements from others they have done that to. You will spend time and effort taking their stupid surveys to earn their stupid credits just to find one day that you can't log in because your account has been disabled. They are totally not worth it.
Adult Written byVanessaRose93 December 17, 2019

IT SUCKS

It's not worth playing unless you want your kids bullied or betrayed by people who your friends with or get kicked out of a family for no reason this game breaks hearts bullies people and there is untrustworthy people on here don't trust anyone on here

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written bykarenupsetmother October 24, 2019

A virtual criminal world

A warning. My 14yo signed up with all fake info, keeping it hidden. Entered into adult conversations and relationships.
She has stolen thousands of dollars from credit cards of people to keep fuelling her profile and giveaways and purchases. And had an intense online relationship with an adult male. I wondered why my daughter was so secretive with her phone, and becoming depressed, and becoming withdrawn from everything in her life. A huge amount of supersleuthing to discover her fake life, amongst adults, there are other email accounts and instagram accounts, and a whole world in there. She is failing at school and we have had to remove her access to any technology and seek psychological support for her.
Don't think it cannot happen to you. They just need access to an email

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byo0amorphophallus0o October 23, 2019

IMVU Is A Disgusting Virtual Chat Game

I am truly UN-satisfied with this game. Why? Here's why. If you don't spend money on this back-washed platform or, if you're not apart of some petty users "click" or some other dumb petty reason, you're automatically singled out and booted from rooms. What's the purpose of having a chat game that encourages alienation? The sole purpose of joining a VR Chat game is to "MEET PEOPLE AND CHAT". But, it feels like the exact opposite. What's the purpose of making public rooms just to abuse the system and boot people out of them? I encourage people to NOT sign up for this trashy game. This game is horrendous with a horrendous community.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byDrumRocker25 October 3, 2019

Absolutely Useless

IMVU is an ABSOLUTE WASTE of Time. You pay real cash to get credits and VIP in order to develop items and if it doesn't pass peer review they don't let you edit the product in order to make it something that CAN pass but they will take your credits regardless. It's basically 1000 Credits per $1 spent and in order to get a good Avatar you need at least $20. You pay $10 a month for VIP which nets you 5,000 Credits. The Engine on this game is useless and severely out-dated. Stay away and save your Mentality. Second Life is more money but I would recommend that if your PC and Wallet can handle it.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byCynthia.S1 September 19, 2019

It is what you make it

Yes, it may seem bad for teens It really isn't. It's what you make it. If you want your IMVU experience to sexual, or filled with drugs and cussing, the you make it. Which will then invite others who like it. If you don't want your IMVU experience to be like that then, you don't. You only invite the things you want in your IMVU time. I've been playing since 13 and I've seen IMVU change for the better. Going through ups and downs, they've really tried their best to make IMVU safe and fun for all teens and young adults

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byMummchy August 8, 2019

IMVU Hasn't Changed

So, i went back to playing IMVU after quitting years ago and, nothing has changed. People are still being singled out for having "Guest__" on their usernames. You either have to be a player for years, spend 100,000 credits for a username or, buy VIP which cost over $80.00. IMVU is just another "popularity" game where you have to spend money just to be considered "cool". I tried to go into a chat room and, got booted by the owner for not being VIP (Note: IMVU has a system where you can make VIP only rooms but, it was open to the PUBLIC). I do NOT recommend this game to children NOR teens. Think about your children's mental health. Also, the clothes on IMVU are overly sexualized with un realistic body proportions.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byCherie22 August 3, 2019

Nothing but Thieves

My daughter has been on this IMVU app thing since she was 14 she is now 25 and has her own child now who is 4 know and sometime last week or so ago got a hold of her phone without her knowledge and bought some stuff and now they have frozen her account and will not unfreeze her account until she pays for something that her four-year-old had done most companies are understanding and not just a bunch of thieves and will let it go at least once this is the first time it’s ever happened and they’re nothing but money hungry pieces of Poo I am very disappointed in this company and I will be contacting the Better Business Bureau and a few other people plus I’m putting him on blast on every social media that I have Facebook Snapchat Twitter Instagram anything I can think of .And for the IMVU people who are reading this well you know what you could go due to yourself thank you have a great and blessed day.
Adult Written byFrank21 August 1, 2019

Full of perverts old and dirty

Do not let your child in this site it’s full of liners dirty old perverts as I just found out from my 11 years old granddaughter don’t let your child near

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 15-year-old Written byTruthparent July 31, 2019

Trust

Yes the game needs some work. But IF YOU TRUST YOUR KID. Then it would be fine. Of course there bad things on there. The game was meet to be good, but people are ruining it. So I think 15+ and up should play . Because these kids could change the game. But you have to trust them and they have to work for your trust and show you that they can play that game

This title contains:

Language
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written by423adam July 7, 2019

Awful and luring for kids

The premise of this app is to make a anime and make a life for it-kind of like “The Sims” when I was a teen. Almost immediately, people started messaging my daughter saying all kinds of inappropriate things and telling her how to hide the app from her parents. This app needs an 18 and up warning.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byjodezaca July 2, 2019

Intrusive and Inconvenient

I bought credits meant to be given to someone. I'd have simply gifted it, but IMVU made me use Paymentwall. Paymentwall didn't allow gifting. However, it conveniently asked for a valid ID and a picture of my credit card. I gave it. When I asked IMVU to finally transfer my credits, they only transferred it partially. They then proceeded to give me the vague reason of "for security" to further block my transfers. I listened to their demands. I waited for two weeks and a new month, but still nothing. I asked for the reason but they gave me nothing to work with.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byMargotLawson1977 May 27, 2019

Adults only

hi I’ve been on and off the game for less than a year. I’m actually married my kids doesn’t play the game they don’t like it now I understand why after I fix my avatar which it was really hard to find the appropriate clothes because most of the clothes are extremely revealing .that should of of gave me a red flag ,then I get into the game I’m very choosy which chat line to go on cause I’m married even in the rooms I go in it’s still very inappropriate I got sexual harass then bully because I’m married. In real life people get serious in trouble for sexual harassment and even bullying at jobs people get fired and sued so I don’t understand why imvu allow this type of behavior in a online game they told me it’s for everyone as long as they are 17+but their are actual kids in there that as young as 9yrs old maybe younger imvu don’t take any responsibility for why-the kids are in their game they blame it on the parents. All I’m asking we need to take a stand and do something about this before something bad happens cause imvu isn’t doing anything about it because business is more important to them than the people who are on the game I actually gotten in trouble for reporting and blocking too much. People can randomly do gestures to u even if I mute them and blocked them to your avatar and imvu won’t do anything about it,this game is even bad for adults the game looks a porn hub. I don’t play the game anymore but please we need to do something about this please ty ps u also get in trouble for doing drugs and selling them and I don’t do any of those things
You have to pay $10. A month for another avatar to stop touching your avatar.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byxlime4 May 22, 2019

Not appropriate for children under 16, unless they’re being monitored!

First off, the positives. For children who struggle to interact with others, it’s a great way to make new friends, and even build up skills in 3D modelling, if your child is a creator. If you go into the right chat rooms, there are lots of friendly people. In terms of privacy, IMVU does not force you to reveal any personal information, giving options to “hide” any personal information. I also believe IMVU tries separating children under 17 and adults over 18 with their own individual servers, and you required to submit ID if you try to buy an Access Pass (the pass that allows you to view adult content).

Now, the downsides. It is against the terms of use to lie about your age, but some children (and adults with bad intentions) may do so, anyway. Unfortunately, as the rooms are moderated by players rather than IMVU staff, what your child may see will be hit or miss. If you go to a chatroom with strict rules regarding child safety, your child should be okay, while their activity is closely monitored. If your child ends up seeing sexual activity anyway, it is not very explicit, and no characters are allowed to be nude, hence why I feel the game is far safer for over 16s than below that age group.

Overall, I feel the game is most appropriate for children over 16, but children under 16 and over 13 will be safe as long as their activity is monitored. As always, teach your child about internet safety before they use it.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Adult Written byAlmeida dailene April 23, 2019

Good care

I want to have a baby

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent of a 10-year-old Written byAlyssathompson April 15, 2019

I do not on

I do not on

This title contains:

Consumerism
Adult Written bySimplySunflowers April 6, 2019

Personal Review

So I am currently 22 years old and I have been on IMVU since I was 11 off and on. I have been around for 90% of the time IMVU has existed and the program it's self is not bad. They try to get every penny they can out of you but outside of that, its fine. The only concern is the growing number of people who use it. Which sounds like a good thing but you have to consider what those people are going to use and say. There is a lot of swearing because that's how people talk today, I'm guilty of this as well. As far as safety and privacy concerns, they again come from the people you interact with. There are a lot of scam messages you receive that ask you to click links for different things, ect. So long as your child (or yourself) are not falling for things like that, are not adding people on social media or giving out your personal ID information to people you do not know, you will be okay and have fun. Basically, act with common sense and you'll be fine.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Language
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byCarsonWilliams1 April 4, 2019

Sexual, Violent, Not for young teens.

This app/website is not suitable for 16+. My daughter, Amelia, came crying to me telling me someone on IMVU was trying to kill her. When i looked at her chat history, a man, who had claimed to be 72 was saying that he was going to trace her down and violently slaughter her with various torture weapons. She had also been forced to go to a 'sex room' with this man, where sexual simulations were happening. There were avatars giving blowjobs, anal, and frontal sex. NOT for any teens below 16.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written by•._.BTS._.• March 28, 2019

I wouldn’t let kids play this AT ALL

Okay so I saw my daughter playing this a few days ago but I didn’t see anything bad then, but when I went on her computer today I checked her games and everything just to make sure she wasn’t doing anything she wasn’t supposed to do, and what do I find? Sexual messages from guys and some girls she didn’t even know! If I was you, I would always check what your children are doing because this has to stop! Yes I know this review will be ignored but I advise you to not let your child play this! I can’t stop you from letting them or being careless but still, DONT LET YOUR CHILD PLAY THIS GAME!!!!!!!!!!!!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety

Pages