Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Set preferences to see our top age-appropriate picks for your kids.

Go to For Your Family

Parent reviews for IMVU

Common Sense says

Sophisticated chat world has sexual content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 16+
Based on 179 reviews

Kids say

age 15+
Based on 268 reviews
Adult Written byOniCarnage February 20, 2012

Terms of Service for IMVU, the actual site, not opinionated

go to IMVU Inc itself... let THEIR guidelines show you the truth.
Don't come spouting out saying that something isn't meant for something else but you never looked at the ToS of the initial topic talked about. In a show of fairness, learn to keep your children under some control or whatever you need to do with them cause your blaming the site and making it less fun for fellow adults like myself. I have been on IMVU since i was 16 and no one ever thought of me being childish or not belonging to the site's requirements.

If you are an ACTUAL IMVU user like myself, im OniCarnage and we can talk point of views there, not showing a bias base from the outside... and btw if IMVU is soo bad, whats going to happen to sites like SecondLife? then following that the internet itself as a whole?

I would link the site's ToS here but i won't allow me to so just google "terms of service imvu" it should be the 2nd or third site to come up

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Consumerism
Adult Written byrff3312 December 17, 2011

dfgfdf

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byEvadog1 December 2, 2011

Disturbing, potentially unsafe for anyone...

I am a 26-year-old in the education field who enjoys virtual worlds. I downloaded this one for a test drive. In one of the main meeting spots, players were enacting a graphic rape scene. There also seems to be a lot of talk about sexual activities with minors. I immediately uninstalled this program and would not recommend it for anyone.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byalina3344 November 25, 2011

too sexule

i think imvu is fun but not for kids 20 and under. u should be at least 21 to play because 20 is still alittle too young to play. thiers men with guns girls naked kids will what to have sex too. there is also cursing. pepole will be saying ill f u up b. so plz dont let your kid find out about imvu.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byTitusaki October 22, 2011

Alittle Bit More About IMVU

Some Developers on IMVU try to make Sexual Products and try to pass those products through Peer Review. Peer Review is done by IMVU users not people who work for IMVU (I dont think) so many users will pass products that shouldnt be passed in Peer Review. So Nude Avatars, Private Parts uncovered, and Sex Poses are able to get through to the shop because it has before. Also there are many people I have seen who put up nude pictures of their avatars. I have been trying to get IMVU to put a report button on every picture in peoples galleries to be able to report the nude pictures so that IMVU can see proof for themselves and hopefully Discontinue the users account. But even if a persons account has been discontinued, it is very easy to make a new IMVU account. Then I have seen many peoples IMVU accounts getting hacked by hackers, but mine hasnt yet. Either people give out their passwords or the hackers get in through some other way, Im not sure. Also I have seen that alot of people like to cyber on IMVU, by looking at peoples statuses on the Pulse. But I know to stay away from people like that, I go on IMVU to chat with friends, get free credits to design my many characters that I have, and RP (Roleplay), I also love decorating my rooms and makeing chatrooms. Also IMVU is a virus free program but I read somewhere that doing IMVU offers to get credits may give your computer a virus. So it would be best to not do IMVU offers. To get free credits on IMVU, I play with my pet, Use myyearbook exchange, and Peer Review. Also it may be possible for cyber bullying since IMVU is mainly a chat site, so be sure that your child or whoever uses IMVU can deal with other people if the people want to bully. I know how to deal with people like that, I just report that person, then block that person and its all good. :). For example: if I were to be bullied or whatever in MY OWN chatroom then I would boot that person and block them from the room. If a person wants to bully me in 'my room' (different from my chatroom) Then I'll leave the chat and open up 'my room' again and that person is gone. If a person tries to bully me in another users chatroom. Then Ill just go to a different chatroom. But there are people out there, that may not know how to do these things if they are to be bullied by others. There are the people who take the bullying, and cry about it and those types of people SHOULD NOT join chat sites etc..People who are not AP are able to buy nude avatars in the shop..etc..if they are able to find it and are able to put up nude pictures that the GA (General Audience) is able to see. As I think about it more..I think that maybe AP on IMVU may draw in people in who want to cyber online. IMVU should get rid of AP because it is showing itself as almost like a porn site because IMVU through AP allows people to buy sexual things. But in my opinion, I think that IMVU is WAY better than Second Life dealing with sexual things. Also I would like to add, if a person gets addicted to IMVU, it is THEIR OWN fault, not IMVU's. I would also say that I agree with what Kirakira97 and Slumber said below my post. IMVU has good parts to it as well as bad parts, you just need to know how to deal with the bad parts and see the good in it. I also agree with Concernedperson below, it is funny how more children comment on this site about IMVU and I agree that PARENTS should get their kids off the internet and out doing something better. Violence on IMVU is really not a big deal. It actually makes IMVU fun to be able to fight in a RP etc.. If a person's avatar kicks or slaps another avatar through emotes, its not like your able to feel the hit in real life. There is also violence in MANY movies and other video games today, so Violence shouldn't be too much of a problem on IMVU. About education on IMVU, there isnt really much people can learn except by developing, but then again, people may get educated through conversations they have on IMVU.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byIMVU CLIENT October 17, 2011

IMVU IS OK TO TRY BUT

I am a resident there. Read my full review! Not a place for kids! mostly. It is a very addicting fun online social network. Not a game. Really cool mostly, rated R-restricted sexy site. Graphics and sound are pretty dang good! Easier to drive then other animated social platforms. Cost: Better then second life’s price. Buy your imvu credits from registered resellers NOT imvu! Expect to pay the same thing that you would playing any game. - As is service _ No refunds. _ Lack of good customer support. _ No age ID required. _ Kids lie about their age to get adult passes. Which may be why you are seeing reviews complaining about adult material._ Because there is money there. Accounts get hacked but they are working on that. Never give your password out even to staff. Developing there can be fun but it is also a real pain n the ares. IMVU does not allow a devs to re-sell what they have made on site. Do try it but be careful… Buying credits.
Registered imvu credit reseller: (Credit card required for registration.)

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Language
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byyellowrose44 September 28, 2011

IMVU listed as ADULT site/game

quite frankly I am discussted with imvu when i signd on it was listed as an adult site, we pay membership fees for the adult content. and now imvu decides to got into a hyper sensor mode take away our adult rights we pay for on here. and those that have issues with content on here then what the .... you doing in an adult game?

This title contains:

Consumerism
Adult Written byFlexy July 30, 2011

Not for kids !

I have been on IMVU for a couple of years now and have been a developer for about 4 years. I would not recomend to allow children below the age of 16 to join imvu and it would be even better not to let them join till the age of 18.

I have seen quite a few things in all those years that just arent right. Most grownups do not keep children in mind and blur out everything they would say in a adult enviroment no matter if there are children inside the chat rooms.
Seen people ask others to go to private chat to you know what.. without asking for their age first... needless to say that sometimes they are asking this to children of a young age.

There is also a so called black market most people are unaware of, specially if they only just joined imvu. This black market is pretty much all graphical sex items that can not be found in the catalog.. the seller will just unhide the items for a short moment to send it to who ever wants to buy it. Its not as huge anymore as before the pr system, but its still there.. and some items i have come across over the years are rated as general audience and can be used by the children that are on imvu aswell.

The pr system is very much flawed aswell. A lot of people who do product reviews dont really look at the products that need to be rated and are only thinking about the rewards that they get by voting. Because of that quite a lot of items end up in the catalog with a GA (general audience) instead of a AP (acces pass) rating. PR shouldnt be in the hands of costomers but should be done by imvu themselfs because the way it is now, to many products get trough with the wrong rating and are sometimes in the catalog for months before being disabled or given the right rating. Not all developers are careful when submitting products or care enough to make sure the items are rated properly and products shouldnt be allowed to enter the catalog before they have been checked by imvu themselfs.

O, something just popped up in my mind from a few years ago... i had a public room that was doing really well and tried to keep it as clean as possible (wich was quite hard). At one point a guy was in the room talking to a 13 year od girl, wanting to date her and what not.. He did not ask for her age, but after a while she told her age herself, and the guy was 24 but he did not stop. I jumped in telling how wrong it was and what he was thinking etc... he replied that age was just a number. I said a few more things, cant quite remember because it was a while ago.. anyway, i booted him from the room after reporting him to imvu .. about a week later i got a message and a warning from imvu that they looked into my complaint / report and that i was the one who commited a offence ? ... This should give you a idea about how well imvu keeps a eye on the children that are on their chat program. They gave me a warning for the way i talked to that guy instead of warning / banning or reporting him for approaching that girl the way he did and openly admitting he didnt care about her age.

I could write quite a lot more, but this should give a idea about some of the things that are going on at imvu and with all the other stories around from people, its needless to say its not suitable for kids to be on imvu.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byDarkness0369 July 30, 2011

In IMVU's defense.

It all Depends why you are on the site. Yes there is a lot of perverts, but that is ANY chat site.

I have seen a lot of 15 and 16 year olds that make Pro Developer there. So for graphics and learning to make 3D products it's great. Those kids that put in the effort and make Pro it pretty much pays for itself at that point.

I do think parental supervision is a must on this and ANY community site.

IMVU has a LOT of issues to resolve in the respect to child safety.

1. There are ways kids can see adults avatars naked and vice versa without faking age. Some Developers with No morals are making naked skins and trigger male and female sexual items that kids can see. Seems to Me that IMVU is more concerned policing the adult side from things like this than the kids side.

2. There needs to be a lot more Attention paid to kids lying about their age on the site.

Bottom line parents need to do their part if you have No clue what internet surveillance you can purchase to help protect your children you need to learn. I know what is happening on My 6 pc's in Texas Right now and I am in Maryland.

I will say this in IMVU's defense...It is easier to address an issue with them than facebook. I had a kid in facebook threaten to hack Me not that he had a chance in Hades but doesn't mean he should get off with out punishment. There is NO option to tell facebook what happened. I had screen shots of his threats and all facebook allows is you to to block them. At least in IMVU you can report a chat while it is happening. You can right click the offending avatar select safety then report chat. So if they are a pervert, asking personal information ect they will lose their account.

So before condemning this site learn about it first.
Personally it could be closed tomorrow I wouldn't care. I am over it. Any 3d Site can be just as bad even worse.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Adult Written byJustCallMeJan July 24, 2011

From my personal experience on IMVU

I'm a grown woman who has an account on IMVU. It's sad to say but it's an addiction for me. Yes, I paid the money for the adult access, yes I pay for accessories, etc. Yes, I've done some of the unmentional things on the site. It's not for anyone who doesn't realize it's not just a game, it's a fantasy world and played with people who lie about their ages, their sex, their marital status, even cheat on their spouses. Even for Adults like myself it's not a great site to be on. Imagine what a child can be open to. Anyone can get sucked in and if not careful get themselves into a lot of trouble or cause trouble for another person. People are at risk of falling for this crap. Don't let yourself or your child fall victim to it.

I'm still on the site btw, but turning things around and trying to make a difference. There are some good people on the site as well.
But over all I wouldn't recommend it.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byKellehkins July 20, 2011

IMVU is Amazing in NUMEROUS ways, it's not just a chat program.

It's awesome in so numerous ways. (1) For people who are immobile, you can experience dancing, and have a nice figure and go shopping for more clothes, (2) you gain real friendships on the client and even families (3) great if you are an adult and you could have cuddles and love when maybe you don't in your real life (4) gives you an outlet for your creative abiliites, great tutorials; knowing gimp and other programs such as photoshop and other graphics programs, can land you a killer job, and (5)u can even earn credits, which you could turn in for cash ~ i know famous devs on there that actually have used their talent to make a living to go to college and vacations, it's an awesome outlet. (6) IMVU DOES require email verification, and is is very hard to get ap if you R not old enuff. I applaud the program, and love it very much, and (7) my daughter and i have so much fun, it is incredible.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Consumerism
Adult Written byImvuDev26F June 29, 2011

IMVU SECRETLY SUPPORTS THE BLACK MARKET

IMVU clears a path for Black Market sellers to sell their products to people of all ages. To purchase a Black Market item, customers have the option to pay directly with their credit card or sometimes even paypal, or imvu credits. Most customers use imvu credits because there are many legal and illegal credit resellers that sell them for less then 50% off of what imvu sells them at on their website. BUT the majority of users don't know where to find reseller sources, espeacially since the majority of imvu members are always new, leave, and get replaced with more new users. IMVU does not collect their profits directly from each sale of the products we buy from their catalog. They make profits when customers purchase credits, buy vip, bundles from the bundle volt, etc. Their key is to make their society spend as much credits as they can, so that they will run out faster and buy more credits. This applies to both customers and developers.

Why do i say they secretly support the black market? Yes, it's just a theory, but you can check it out yourself. IMVU refuses to do the necessary actions to stop the millions of black market items being accepted into their catalog. IMVU gives the responsibility of what passes and what fails to it's entire customer community. These customers are regular people: they are not professionals, and most of them only do it fast without looking just so they can get paid their 5 credits a review, or raise their tier points if they are a developer. Not to mention the "robots" that flood this "peer review", and mis-rate the majority of the items. And let me not forget to mention the many customers that create alternative accounts to do this peer review and WANT illegal items to pass into the catalog.

IMVU refuses to hire an eligible staff to take charge of every product submission, BUT they have hired an illegitimate staff team we call as the secret police, to hunt down people who use, buy, and sell black market items. These secret staff members are basically spy-whores. They go around harassing everybody to have cyber sex with them, wither they are under age people or not, in order to try to get them to reveal their illegal black market items or show that they know other people who use them and or sell them. These people will also try to buy a black market item for you as a free gift, just so they can set you up later. These spy-whore illegitimate staff members are payed by imvu, either in credits and or in real life money.

Why does imvu hire Spy-Whore Staff Members and not a team of staff members to take actual charge oh what enters the catalog? Because then they would loose their biggest source of income from their website. Black market items are 100 times more expensive then any public product in the imvu catalog. While a legal imvu male genitalia is prices at anywhere from 400credits to 2000credits (usually under 1000 credits), a black market male genitalia is priced at anywhere from 5000 credits to 100 000 credits. And it doesn't stop there. The majority of the black market clientele feel so dehumanized without their "closer to real life" products, that when imvu confiscates them, these customers go out and purchase the black market products over and over and over again. So imvu makes a fortune in the process.

IMVU could easily split the website, and do what Second Life did. Make an entirely different chat site for teenagers, and another one for adults, and make it harder for underage users to gain access into the adult site. BUT they refuse this concept. They know that they will make more money off of children "borrowing" their parents wallets to buy these over priced items, and repurchasing them 50 times. And yes, anyone can see the black market items because they are not rated as adults only to preserve their protection. So when someone buys a black market item, they have the ability to enter a room full of general audience members under the age of 14, and wave their new toy in their faces and sexually harass them. Yes we can report them, but that's after the fact they've done it. IMVU does no action to prevent this issue because it is more profitable for them to sacrifice the children then it is to protect them.

We, the outrages regular customers of imvu are forbidden to mention any of this publicly in imvu. If we even mention the word black market or court cases or unionizing, our messages are removed from the forums and groups, and our accounts become in jeopardy of being deleted. IMVU is based is America USA, but they strip us of our right of freedom of speech.

I should also add that imvu will never change until they are forced to. They have the poorest customer service off the face of the earth. For example: If a hacker has stolen you account, drained it of all your credits and deleted your inventory, and you file a help ticket and imvu manages to return it to you. Imvu gives it back to you the way the hacker left it. BUT if the same case happen in Second Life, they restore your account to the way it was before the hacker violated it. IMVU posted to it's consumers publicly that they will never want to adopt this because they are afraid that they will be abused.....they rather it's customers to restart from scratch, of which many do, or they leave. IMVU does not care about it's consumers. They're golden rule is "if you don't like it, then leave." But they don't realize that it's harder to leave a place you have put so much money into already. There are very few long term members in imvu. IMVU looses more and more members everytime they make a decision that benefits them and not the consumer. Infact they could conduct their business tactics a lil more user friendly, but they don't want to because they gain more profits by screwing over their clients. Ex: their new rule as of May 1, 2011. If developers want to join imvu to develop they must purchase their name at full price, and not with a vip package, yet they don't state that rule anywhere on the page where you purchase your VIP membership. They post it in the forums, where there is no link to even see anything in the forums. If you want to find the forum, you have to type a word you already know that has been discussed in the forums, type that into the search, (not the catalog search), and then it will bring you to a page that is mixed up with links to other products, group topics, .. and when you see FORUM topic of something random, you click that to get into that forum, then click ontop to go to the forum index, and only then can you see everything.. which is a complete mess by the way. And i didn't figure this out until after 2 years of being there. There is just no way new members can know about the information in the forums when they sign up on day 1 without an experienced member helping them.

IMVU doesn't care if it's members leave because they have invested in poor business strategies that keep a high number of new members signing up, but they do nothing to make them want to stay, so the majority of them leave anyway. IMVU has found a way to make people leaving an advantage to them. If people find this place is bad, and leave, then there will be no people to warn the new comers of what this place is really about, what not to buy, where not to go. Imvu and their suck-ups say that it's our own faults for singing their agreement contract when we joined, but there are so many grey areas in that contract that people mess up by accident too easily and frequently. and oh.. when you do break the rules, imvu and their customer service never explains to you what you've done. They just suspend you account for a few weeks, and send you a short email stating simply that you have broken the rules, and post a link to their entire Terms Of Service, without pointing out of highlighting what rule you broke. Of course you're dumbfounded, so you send in a help ticket, which takes them more then a week to reply to. and when you find out that it was them who made the mistake, they never compensate you for your losses, and the damage of getting your account wrongfully suspended for a month when your a developer is greatly high. I get so sick of loosing money because of their repetitive mistakes, and i only stay in imvu because i hope that if i and other people keep trying, then we can get unionized and be protected from them robbing us blind. There are lots of fraudulent mishaps imvu and their staff members perform, but not one customer thinks it's worth going to court over because it's just an issue of 20$.. or 50$, or 100$ that imvu has stolen. and when you compare that 100$ with hiring a lawyer, setting a court date, missing a day of work, and so forth.. individual people just leave it be, and we are incredibly stupid for this, and imvu knows this for a fact, and takes advantage of it everyday.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Adult Written byColoradoMom12 June 14, 2011

IMVU

PARENTS: IMVU can be a fun site, if:
1) Your child is smart when it comes to safety.
2) Your child is mature.
3) You set up the account together and you monitor.
4) You arrange the parental locks.
5) You have a good operating system on your computer.
If one or more of these things do not apply to you, do not get an IMVU for your child. If all of these things apply to you, hooray! If your child is just begging for an IMVU, get them a Sims game. It's very, very safe if you don't connect to the server, and very similar, as it offers 3D graphics, and you can dress up the avatar and control it. Also, a lot of the reviews on here of from children who actually should not have ever had an IMVU, as the MINIMUM AGE is 13. Most of the reviews I have seen have been from 11 or 12 year-olds who would've had to lie about their age....

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bynotchyisky June 11, 2011

smh dont blame the kid ur the adult

iight i was doin some reading and some u have a point but on the otha hand imvu can b a good thing i kno yall thinking this guy out his mind well hear me out it do have everything u talk bout but aslo in order to get "fully naked" you have to be ap which is 18 and over but aslo the membership some of yalll speak is not a must you dont have to have i mean come on people lets all be grown it just pixie but i mean hey im 22 some of us is stronger then others but imvu can be good for making friends learning about other people life styles even desgin so before up and scream ur head make sure you kno everything about a site but i agree imvu really isnt safe for a kid
Adult Written byBougiePGlory June 10, 2011

IMVU SHOULD BE 18 AND OVER! DONT BE FOOL BY KID FRIENDLY LOOK!

I am an active member of the IMVU community. Whether you like or hate the website is based on personal experience. I have gain many friendships on the website... but I am an adult.
1. IMVU allows profane language, things such as smoking, shooting each other, violence, etc.
2. Even the GA poses, I wouldnt want my 13-15 y/o child in a kissing pose with another child on the internet.
3. Kids have access to way too much adult content and the potential to run into many other people who LIE about their ages.
4. The rooms are NOT MODERATED by any staff. Instead they are moderated by a group of your own peers that you dictate to watch your public rooms.
5. IMVU has no control over who you child meets and how they meet them. Even ADULTS are being scammed on this website, so imagine impressionable children.
IMVU is to wits end trying to defend that this is a kid friendly game when it is NOT... There is violence, drugs, nudity, and sexual content just laced throughout the site. It may LOOK kid friendly with the big headed avatars but lets be serious, you cannot mix adult content with a teenage environment and have good results. IMVU needs to make this site strictly 18 or over. Altho I think a mature child of 16 could probably handle it, they are minors and IMVU has no way of protecting minors from adults or adults from the minors in either case. People are lying about their age, saying they are older or younger. You have to have money to even pay for things like VIP and more credits to enjoy the game... so all it takes if you giving your child the credit card info so they can purchase credits for a seemingly harmless online game and they take the info and purchase AP.. and BOOM... instant access to an adult world.... PARENTS THINK TWICE BEFORE LETTING YOUR UNDERAGE CHILDREN ON THIS SITE! REVIEW THE SITE YOURSELF AND MONITOR THEIR ACTIVITIES ON THIS SITE!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written bybianca7788 May 16, 2011

Horrible!

Horrible! My daughters friend showed her this website and she came home telling me lets just say not good things about it! Innapropriate and unsafe!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 17 year old Written byNoUseforThugs April 27, 2011

Are virtual thugs and gangsters acceptable?

If you want to see the examples of how the media glorifies poor role models and the effects on todays youth, look no further than IMVU, shocking amount of gang/rapper/thug influence and attitudes among users. Really sad when you consider the users can portray any virtual image imaginable,

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byBabyCarley February 26, 2011

IMVU is AWESOME!!!! :) :)

i LOVE imvu! My little sister is 10 and she plays it all the time! i go on imvu with my friends! Clothing is not provocative at all i dress like that in real life. Go ahead and call me a slutburger if you want. see if i give a sh*t.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Parent of a 13 year old Written by38708224093 February 10, 2011

This Is Okay!

i Love It Because,,,As Long As Your Child. (In My Opinion) Is 13 And Up And Is Very Mature And Knows Whats Right And Whats Wrong. Should Be Able To Go Onto This Site Or Sites Related To IMVU!

This title contains:

Educational Value
Parent of a 17 year old Written byguvard peace February 8, 2011

behave guys!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

i love it so much !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Educational Value
Privacy & Safety

Pages