Kid reviews for IMVU

Common Sense says

Sophisticated chat world has sexual content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 16+
Based on 169 reviews

Kids say

age 15+
Based on 265 reviews
Teen, 15 years old Written bySunnehSmiles November 29, 2013

No worse than other games you thought were innocent..

I am 15 and just started playing this about a month ago. This site is what your child makes of it. If your child wants to dress their character inappropriately they will. This site is a bit of a money trap, but so are lots of other games your kids have probably played or had interest in. When I was around 10-12 and played club penguin i wasn't playing innocently, most of the kids on there are looking for boyfriends or girlfriends. This is the same for new games like pixie hollow. Honestly you need to know your child. If they have good common sense, then they should be fine to play this game, however I strongly suggest they are at least 15 or a very mature 14 to play this game. This game has strong sexual content, and language. Most of the chatrooms are clubs with sexual dancing and are made up to look much like a strip club.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byAmazingAlliGalx November 29, 2013

I agree... but still....

Guys chill... kids will love the intertnet -.- so shut up! Its not soo safe... but okai for some teens,the mature ones. Its fun but not exatly perfect. Sex languagaue and drinking: theres sex free chatrooms :) and language is rare in some ocasions. Breif acorances of drinking! but theres chairs and dat for a snuggly! it teaches creativity and freedom! its sooo sooo soo fun and there soo generous.. free credits for 30 days loads of sales and free vip days! plus.... when you join u get up to 2000 credits! its creative and fun! stop panicking guys... your hairs falling out :)

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Kid, 11 years old November 27, 2013

boys and sex....

This game is utterly disgusting. They always showcase every girls breasts, and make all girls feel like trashy good for nothing people. Its like the girls are not even human, they are overly produced animals purely for sex. It grosses me out, and I seriously think that this site should be restricted access. Like, big time. I knew nothing about it when I signed up, because the ads lead you to believe its some safe haven where you chat and dress up, etc. Its not. Its about boyfriends, breasts, and drugs, etc. And creepy perverted boys hit on hot girls all the time. Also, I have been bullied and hurt by numerous girls on this site. They are too obsessed with their virtual fantasies. I also dislike how you can have 'seX', like there are poses and you can do that to random people. You can also have your avatar completely naked, with every 'private part' there is, non blurred, right there. I no longer use that sight, and definitely do not recommend it to anyone, ESPECIALLY not kids!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bySilentCrowds November 25, 2013

Depends on Responsibility Levels

I like IMVU, and have been using it since I was about 10. My parent was monitoring me. I still use it today, and I am 17 years old. It's just fun to use when you have nothing else to do. As long as it is used responsibly, there is no harm. If I meet a creepy man or woman, it is too easy to block them. If you child is underage and using it, I would recommend you delete their account. But if they're older then you should let them use it, monitor them if you don't trust them.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 12 years old November 9, 2013

it's fine if you know how to control yourself

I am 11 and I play this game with my friends. it's not a bad game if you know how to control your behavior online. profanity is allowed in chat rooms, so I chat with my friends on private rooms. a lot of the stuff in the catalog isn't appropriate, so be careful what you search for. and I've never, never given anyone my info, not even my real name

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 9 years old November 6, 2013

Meh,it's ok

It's too weird. IMVU was intended for 10+ and it has sexual content.I'm a member.I know,I know.I shouldn't be on these sites,but us children know what internet safety means.And why are people making more social adult games than social kid games these days?!

This title contains:

Language
Kid, 10 years old October 9, 2013

Bad,Just Bad

I used to like imvu but now its terrible you can select your butt size etc. see through clothes and when you have the access pass you can get FULLY naked and some other stuff i don't wanna explain but trust me they can do anything to you like ask you where you live and everything.But age appropiteness is required and most kids are to nieave and fake their age.there is a lot of cursing,sex moves,and even same sex rooms!imvu is a bad place for your child.I don't think its good at all,i mean like you and your playing imvu that's a sin...but most kids know internet saftey,Parents please check your child's computer even yours things in the world ARE NOT SAFE!!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 14 years old Written byHellosunshine_ September 26, 2013

18 & under should not use IMVU

I do not think that IMVU is appropriate for anyone under the age of 18. I was sucked in by an advertisement I had seen on a website, and decided to give the site a try. (This was in late August, so I've only been using IMVU for about a month) I wished that I hadn't because I was fairly innocent and my month spent on there damaged some of that innocence I had. There are many people on there pretending to be a certain age. I think that some of the female and male products are too provacative and are sending children a wrong message. Not everyone is bad, but there are a select majority on the site that are not exactly positive influences. There are too many sexual products, chat rooms, etc. and I don't recommend any parent to allow their child to use it. And if you do catch your kid using it, please block the imvu site itself, uninstall the program, and change the install settings on your computer. I have deleted my account and am uninstalling the program right now, as I don't think that it is appropriate for myself even though I am quite a mature 14 year old. My parents did not know that I have used IMVU, since they do trust me internet-wise, and I expected IMVU to be a more safe environment for early teens, but unfortunately, it isn't.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 9 years old September 25, 2013

It's Fine...

IMVU is okay if you know about internet safety. I've been doing it for months and it didn't load a virus,but it made my computer pretty slow. Sex is a HUGE issue in this game and so is language like the F word,s***,a**,a****le,and b****.You can recognize this is definitely NOT a kid's website.Do not go on this website.Pretty fun though!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 11 years old September 13, 2013

Its ok

Hello.I did play on imvu for a bit with my mates.I will say there is inappropriate things on there.But i would say if you dont trust your child then dont let them play it.I do enjoy going on because i dont do things i know i'm not aloud to do.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 17 years old Written bylilwikked4220 September 8, 2013

3 and up

it is a good way to spend your time when you have nothing else to do.but it you should only allow your kids play if you know what they are cappable of and if they are responsible enough.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byxKatlovex July 27, 2013

IMVU: A review by a 14 year old

I Think IMVU Is quite safe if you dont mix with the wrong people, go to the wrong chatrooms and think who is safe to talk to... Its quite safe and fun tohugh but try to use appropirate lanuage too... Just renmeber About stangers! Rating: Pause on 14 but 11-13 may be safe (? i dont nkow) Sex and Lanuage Isen't Appropirate : it isen't really appropriate but just go in a friendly chatrooms for under 18's, dont go in the adult ones! Try and make firends like yourslef, not a adult, and hang with them, just try stayin safe, and if it dosent work, go off, its a webiste, its not real, dont start freakin! Not many ppl like cyber.... its just wrong! Good: Its really good 5 stars Cons: not the best safety, some sexual talk and language (with stars,! and other block outs!!) Pros: Fun! Quite safe and Some firendly chat rooms (Inludin Swimming pools and theme parks!) Free VIP day u join!! woohoo! I Think its best for 11+ (Still on pause) Just renemeber your boundraies like no sex places, stay out of adults way, etc. And have fun!! Katt xoxox

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Kid, 10 years old July 10, 2013

NO NO NO! DON'T PLAY IT

I played this and about 7 men had cyber sex with me, when i was having dinner. I AM 10 YEARS OLD. I was also hacked and people posted my private pics online and gave links to all my imvu friends. DONT PLAY IT, PLEASE! My parents think its a kids game.. REALLY! DONT PLAY IT

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 14 years old Written byAishlingXxX July 6, 2013

imvu

I know you guys wont believe this but i just got free IMVU credits and it worked! if you one go to imvecreditsgenerator_com

This title contains:

Consumerism
Teen, 14 years old Written byHeyHo1209 June 27, 2013

....

Its a pretty cool site

This title contains:

Language
Teen, 15 years old Written byAleluvsyou June 9, 2013

Bad for kids

Imvu is bad for kids like I herd some bad things but I have never tried it until, last year I like to try websites and review them on here and some guys is just like hey babe and Im like I don't know you and he's like come on let's just do it and I'm said no and hey said that he will find me and do me in real life and i logged off as soon as I herd that

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Teen, 15 years old Written byredx2000 June 8, 2013

its great

well this is cool I just received a free IMVU credits code and it was legit! You can get one too from imvucreditsgenerator☻ com

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Teen, 17 years old Written byTitaniumVixen May 27, 2013

Maturity Required

Clearly everyone is going to have different experiences on IMVU, whether they're good or bad. It all depends on where the user chooses to chat, how they treat others and common sense. Yes, IMVU can be potentially dangerous for children/early teens but it all comes down to how they act on it. If someone is harrassing you or asking for personal information, just hit the block button. You just need to find the right people to chat with on IMVU, and in order to do that you need to have some maturity. You're not going to have good luck ranting 'I NEED A FRIEND, ANY TAKERS???' As avatars will probably just laugh (a lot) at you and call you a noob. So in other words, if you don't feel as if your child will be safe on IMVU, or can become upset easily, give them The Sims instead.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Kid, 10 years old May 13, 2013

I love IMVU

I play IMVU it is good fun. I am dating some-one on IMVU hehe. I let my user be nude what is wrong with being naked these people do not even know you?My user drinks and smokes because I want to drink and smoke when I am older enough so I do it on imvu. I love imvu it is tons of fun go imvu!!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bycclvr4life May 5, 2013

heyy

I know you guys wont believe this but I got a free IMVU credits code and it worked! I got it from imvucreditsgenerator→ com

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking

Pages