All member reviews for Innerstar University

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Buy American Girl, play in safe, positive virtual world.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 36 reviews)
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 9 years old October 18, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
ilove every thing there
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 9 years old July 22, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Vey good website

I love this website for my kids! I am a parent of three year old boy, six year old boy and a nine year old girl. My girl LOVES Innerstar University. She told me she heard about it at school and how the kids at school like it. She didn't have a doll so she could not put in a doll code or star code. She tried the free preview. She said it was boring and unless you have a doll you cannot get all the unlock all the stuff. So I decided to carry her to the toy store to check out the doll. I mean, how much can it be? That thing was 100 bucks!!! I told her sorry I didn't have the money and if she wanted it she would have to save her own money to buy it.She got a book with innerstar university and they gave her a star code for 18 days preview. Well, she told me she loved it and she kept entering the code over and over again! I finally gave up and bought her the doll. Now she goes on it everyday!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old November 25, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

unfair

I had bought a american doll BEFORE Innerstar University. My doll did not come with a code. Now I have to buy another exspensive doll to play! >:(
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Teen, 14 years old Written byAgzrock March 14, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

I spend more time waiting for it to load rather than playing

I am a teenage american girl collector. When I received a My American GIrl for my birthday, I was so excited to enroll with inner star U! I can normally only spend five minutes on the thing because of all the loading!!! You walk like ten feet to a mirror and what do you know, about two minutes of loading! I did the whole club penguin thing when I was younger and millions of kids played on that but loading was NOT an issue!
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old October 9, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Not good enough for the price

I've been on this website. I didn't buy a doll- I just played the games for free. Compared to some other games I've played like this, it wasn't that great. First of all, to get an account you have to pay about $100.00(for the doll) , which I think is a rip-off for the quality of the site. Innerstar university is small, half the size of club penguin basiclly. You can play games, but it's a little hard to get out of the games. It's nice, but I think I would get easily bored on it. If it was a small price for a membership (and the doll was a seperate thing) maybe, $4.00 a moth I might join.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old December 5, 2010
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Perfect for Tweens, Reasonably Price!

Here's my hint to parents: If you don't have a doll you can get a free preview, but that only includes about 2 out of the seemingly endless games and places. DON'T show your child the website unless they have a My American Girl Doll. They'll want to see everything and unless you want to buy a $95 doll... Here's some food for thought: The whole reason AG created this site is to sell more dolls. If you think that your child will enjoy the website (and I think they will!) AND they'll play with the doll offline as well then this is a great buy. But, if the website is the only thing that they want, then they probably don't want the doll, they just want the website. Consider this when purchasing. Lastly, are you worried it's too much money? Well if they're gonna use the doll and the website, here's my advice. Let's say you want a typical virtual world for your child for 2 years. Most websites are about $6 a month. 6 times 24 (months per 2 years) is $144. That's more than an AG doll (95) and with an AG doll they get "membership" forever. In conclusion, if your child will use it offline and online, then it's one of the best buys you'll ever make.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written byxheartbeat July 14, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Meh...

I bought my first American Girl doll when I was 13, a little late yes, but I loved it for a while. There's nothing really special about these dolls to spend nearly $100 for... Anyway, I kinda hated that how the website was created AFTER I got my doll but it doesn't seem that exciting to me from the outside looking in. To me, I say it's not worth it.
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much consumerism
Kid, 10 years old July 18, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

thank

wow
What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 11 years old January 22, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Okay.

The website is fun, but don't bother going on it if you want too spend $100 on a doll.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 9 years old October 15, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

It's alright, but not by much

I tried playing it full, because I bought a doll. It was alright, but not by far. It got frozen easily, and I ended up expecting to get frozen every time. Once you have played all the games, and have some of the items, you probably would get easily bored. They let you chose your personality, and get to customize you girl, which is pretty nice. I still try to play on it sometimes. From the looks of it if you might have played on it a lot, you might have got bored already. I like the books they make, doll is excellent quality, but the website doesn't seem to fit.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old June 5, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

nathan

good
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 8 year old Written byhannah78 March 24, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

eight is good

i love it
What other families should know
Too much sex
Educational value
Parent of a 8 year old Written bynicky mendel October 20, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
I love innerstarU.com! It's so much fun when the doll you created smiling back at you. I am so glad that they ade this just for us.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written bybabyfellingcat24 December 27, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old March 12, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Good for 6 and over

OKay I have tried the "guest" play and it was really boring, no offense but it was. I mean seriouly, $100 dollars just to get on the website??? What happens if you get banned, or if you hate it? 100 wasted, unless you like to collect them.
What other families should know
Educational value
Parent Written byAlly Bendari August 5, 2011
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

educational

i love it so far
What other families should know
Educational value
Parent of a 9 year old Written byReviewer564 December 30, 2010
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Its a great website
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byinsparationsetter September 25, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

WHY

Heres my story . i have an american girl doll before the upgade and it costs $95. then when the upgrade came , i was super mad because i will have to get another doll . So for everyone try getting the cheaper dolls to play with .
Kid, 10 years old December 2, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Its okay if you buy a doll for lots of dollars......

I joined yesterday, but as I haven't bought a doll ( and never will ), I have to stay guest. Not the best game I can think of. But very good graphics though.
Kid, 11 years old October 7, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

wow

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages

Pages