All member reviews for Kongregate

Common Sense Media says

Some games have mature content; iffy forums.

Users say

(out of 23 reviews)
age 12+
Review this title!
Parent Written byParent52 February 28, 2012

Kongregate not safe for any kids and why

Many of the other reviews comment correctly and accurately on a variety of Kongegrate features. The details of the inappropriate content within the chat rooms and forums, however, are not complete enough. It is not merely "salty" language, but an extremely high amount of sexual vulgarity and verbal pornography. These conversations are dominated by young males and include casual treatment of violent sexual behavior with rampant sexual propositioning and mistreatment of women. The reporting features do not work or are completely ignored and the "moderators" are frequently active participants in the behavior or turn a blind eye to it, even when asked to do something about it. I am a parent and I played the site for over a year before I finally got fed up with these occurrences and the complete lack of concern that Kongregate has regarding these problems.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byFactCheckingCJ July 26, 2012

Save yourself the frustration over the mentality of people, and move on.

I started using this as a child many years back, and back then I probably would have given it a 5/5 due to it being small enough to manage, friendly players and friendly staff, as it grew, and as the generation of web users shifted, so shifted the website into an extremely hostile place to some people, there are still many good and friendly players, but rarely, you will ever see them talk in public, because they know, if they say even one thing which is opinionated, they will be flamed, and trolled to no end, and even have their profiles harassed in some cases, this was no problem many years back, but now, every single report is ignored, unless you take action and go to the bosses, and they of course act the best they can. generally, the moderators are up to no good, a lot of times I've seen them not moderate the room appointed to them at all, or even condones extremist behavior, the best thing to do is, send their user name to the boss, yet again, or you will never be taken seriously, though this is not true for all moderators, some do their job as they are supposed to. -be sure to save all history of your chats of both the harasser and the moderator neglecting his duties, if you do ever get stuck in this situation. The Kreds system is a big issue, as there is an option to get free Kreds, by watching ads, or signing up for surveys, the children who knows no better, will often end up with an email account so full of spam they can hardly open their inbox anymore, or receive emails due to their email count having hit the limit. These surveys are also not moderated as they are from 3rd party websites which have no ties to Kongregate at all, besides being connected to the portal of which the kids can be redirected to the websites, not everyone thinks of making a "false" email just for the purpose of getting free things. also, these websites are often not safe at all if you do not have the proper security. - Another issue with this money based system, is the game developers it is attracting, years back, a micro transaction based game was a rare sight, most developers only wanted to make a piece of art, and often had the optional little tip jar, linked to their Paypal or the like, just in case a person liked their work so much that they deserved a little something for their efforts. This is no longer the case, After a few months, Kongregate had to add an entire section just for the money sucking MMO games, which make sure to make themselves as addictive as possible, which often require a steady income of money for the people to be able to play the actual game, where not paying only leads you to heavy restrictions, as if it was a demo, and as soon as you stop paying, you get these restrictions back instantly. I do not care where your money goes, but more often than not, it's the parents who suffer in the long run, a little money here and there isn't bad at all, if it means countless hours of fun, but several hundreds of dollars every year to pay for an addiction more than having fun, isn't worth it, and that is, what happens when the fun has long run out, and all that remains is the need to play, and stay in touch with the friends the player made. -There are also some organizations which post some extremist games, hiding the fact that it is intended to be a campaign ad, this is not so common yet, but it has made me very cautious about what I play, I would not want my child to be spoon fed with political nonsense, lies and opinions, over cold, hard, facts. -The web users are also being lured into paying for premium accounts for the website itself, as attractive as this may seem for the very active and social user, it is not worth any money, and often seems as if it is yet another attempt of stretching their income as far as they possibly can. Ever since they became a part of GameStop, the overall quality seems to have dropped even further, and continues to drop, I am extremely disappointed in this website, and I always make sure to tab away from the chat, otherwise I am just disgusted at how far the quality of their chat-rooms have fallen. In comparison, the formerly hated Newgrounds, is a safe haven for minors, which is also not good for the weak of heart, but at least they're well managed, and do not have changing ethics and moral standards where it seems profitable, that's the difference. I am very sorry for my poor English skills
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 17 years old Written byExlibrisTraveller July 30, 2009

Good, but not great.

This site is good, for older kids. The profile slant can be definitely addicting, as certain achievements garner "badges". The all consuming hunt for badges is what drives most of the gamers on the site. Also, the chat feature can reveal some good or reasonable character, but it also can lead to kids jauntily sidestepping the profanity filter with the use of periods, spaces, misspellings and dashes. A few games on the site are actually educational, like Globetrotter XL, a geography game that is actually fun, and Notecatcher, which teaches classical music with beats. But some games are violent, featuring zombie shooting, and some use of magic in the role-playing games. However, political games that jab at politicians, and sexually oriented games are never uploaded. The gamers on the site are encouraged to review games, and the uploader/developer will get points for how his game does, which prevents games that are not from being uploaded. Overall? Just be careful about when they get on unless they are at least fourteen. This is the YouTube of flash games, and like YouTube, it can get iffy at times or places. Watch the forums, as well.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old September 7, 2014

Kongregate

Kongregate is the best website for flash games, and you will find a beautiful variety of quality save games, some even that are also full multiplayer games on certain websites. If you want to play a variety and possibly support smaller devs, here's your chance. Don't go to the forums, they're infested with adults.
Teen, 16 years old Written bymisskawaii February 7, 2013
LEARNING

Guest Feature.

I'm a kongregate member myself. The chatrooms are normally quite adult themed. Racism and Language are normally R-rated, but censored and the mods are very good. The games are good, and you can read reviews before you play if you are safety concious. I think for younger children, who want to play one of Kongregate's many games, they should use the 'Guest' Feature, which allows them to play all games, just not have a chat account, or earn badges.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 16 years old Written bySpartan-B312 October 30, 2011

Not a Gaming site.

To me, I think Kongregate is an okay site. It has over 49,000 free games to choose from and a good start if you want to be a developer. However it feels more of a social site then a gaming site. Most of the users go on just to chat and most chatrooms have a lot of users that are mean, offensive or just use profanity. The moderates in this site also need to do their job better. Most just take the opportunity to gain more friends and not do the job at all. Some ignore the chat, go away for over hours and just ignore it and not help the users out. Since I tend to be a gamer it's not a site for me. I rather stick to playing games on console.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written byVackerer February 5, 2011
There are so much positive and negative contents on Kongregate, the way you should use the contents is to dodge the Negative things, simple, and the users below 13 years old should be watched by their parents and it's should be okay if they're behave properly on messages, game comments, reviews and forums.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Educational value
Kid, 0 years old February 5, 2011

perfect for everyone over the age of 13

Best vidya gaman website ever. 5/5
What other families should know
Great messages
Written byAnonymous November 23, 2010

Great Website!!!!

Some games are good, some games are bad. Some people on the fourms make me mad!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Great messages
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 14 years old Written byHokage4354 October 2, 2009
The features and variety on the site as far as games, community, and options is amazing. Plenty of resources, user-to-user communication, and well-intended games. I suppose some of the games (Appx. 20%) are inappropriate for anybody under the age of 13 (the site requires you to be 13 anyway), as well as the Serious Discussion forums (Which is intended for people mature enough to discuss drugs, religion, ect.), and some messages other users might send you (problems in all social sites). Overall, the site is wonderful, and doesn't expose anything an average 13 year old isn't already exposed to. I mean- if you learn about drugs and sex-ed in grammar school (Around ages 11 and 12), then you should be well aware of it by the age of 13 (middle school.)
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written bybenandlucy August 26, 2011

Its ok

I 've been going on kongregate ever since i could remember. Yah there is some bad games up there, but thats pretty rare. Most are just fun ol flash games that are very amusing.
Parent of a 12 year old Written byeelee April 9, 2011

OK for 9+

I think it's pretty fun on Kongregate. Most users are nice and will be curteous, but some like to be mean and say curse words and that kind of stuff. But that's mostly just in chat or forum. Though there are some bad games on there, Kongregate's mostly clean. I'd say...anybody under 11 can play most games on Kongregate. Anyone 9 or under will need supervision to avoid exposure to bad stuff on there. The user content is great, too, but mainly the bad stuff on Kong is the mean/heavily cussing users. Most people on Kong are very clean and may only curse occasionally. Some people, however, tend to curse and talk stuff unsuitable for most people under 13-14.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Educational value
Great messages
Parent Written byEthanhead258 September 7, 2015

Kongregate Review

Kongregate isn't really that bad. It has pros and cons. Kongregate Pros: Online, not always bad, doesn't contain viruses Kongregate Cons: Some people aren't nice, Some people swear
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byWyndcaller March 19, 2014

The cleanest game site I know!

Obviously, with every game site, there are T and even a few worse-rated games, but most games I have seen on this site are E, and E10 at most. I have found some really fun and clean games here, but with every website, use your discretion. Most of the time if a game has something bad in it, it will be fairly obvious due to the titles of the games.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of a 3, 8, 10, 11, 13, and 16 year old Written byEliza Keaton August 15, 2013

Involves Supervision

I like the fact that you can play games on this site of such variety, but I do not appreciate that some games can be quite inappropriate for the children. I mean, I have two teenage children who enjoy this site, but they always tell me that this site only suits teenagers, no-one younger. I respect that you must be 13+ to sign up. That's great, but I would like this site to just chill on the inappropriate side for a bit. I mean, yes it's suited for teenagers but it will teach them to do repulsive behaviour and violence. It's not really what I had in mind when I first saw this site. Everything else is superb. However, I'm just worried my younger children will overplay, and view all the violence and chaos in some of those games. Which is why I watch them with careful supervision and it's pretty tiring to be honest. I wouldn't recommend a higher mark than 3/5. Decent site, but not for younger than 13.
Parent Written byEpicdude932 September 19, 2012
LEARNING

GOOD WEBSITE

its a kids website with no bad games (plus some learning) but block the forums first it can be bad and its really fun but privacy needed so iffy for 11+
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 16 years old Written byChuggaaconroy January 25, 2012

Not a gaming site.

This gaming site is too disappointing in fact I don't even believe I can call it a gaming site more like a social site. Pros -Free games -Your own profile -Tons of games -Games come along with badges for users to get -Perfect place for game developers to start Cons - No rewards for users who have level up (Almost seems like leveling-up is pointless) - Not user friendly - So much profanity (Post up links to music video that contain sexual content or offensive profanity) - Forums are horrible (As well users post offensive profanity as well as a few moderates that I know) - Chat rooms are dead (By dead I mean silent or not too many active users - Some chat rooms need Moderates - Moderates need to do a better job (Some approve inappropriate links that are posted on user's shouts) - Security is an issue (Especially when it comes to kreds that you pay with credit card) -Not a gaming site at all (Most users log in just to chat and not to play games so hardcore gamers will not like this site) - Content and games are created by users (May contain inappropriate things, stolen games from other websites, and just plain horrible) 2/5 stars for this site. I believe that there are many other great free gaming sites on the internet. Most of the games here are bad due to lack controls, story, not enough verity or no game at all. (Perfect example Just Chatting/Trolling has 4 stars and no game at all as well as "Burn The Rope" took me only 30 seconds to play the game). The users are rude and it is not user friendly at all consider I've seen users post inappropriate link or picture and the moderates/admins don't do anything about and just let it slide.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 10 years old November 23, 2010

Why kongregate sucks!

violent things = laser guns,burning people corse language = some stuff messages = some stuff Saftey = BANNING DOESN`T WORK! User = A little of violent things on profiles My opinon is it sucks cause my username and me were made fun of.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 12 years old March 11, 2010
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written byTortellini December 18, 2009

great for teenagers but probably not much younger.

The games on this site seem fine for teenagers. The site says it's for 13+ and you have to be 13 to sign up but I started using it when I was 12. The only problem I see is the chat rooms which can be a serious concern. I would suggest either using a mostly safe chat room with lots of moderators (such as mostly harmless) or justnot letting your kids use the chat.
What other families should know
Too much swearing

Pages