All member reviews for Marapets

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Virtual world low activity; pretty high on safety.

Age

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 39 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byRre232 January 14, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Great Site With Some Ifyy Things

I for one am a great user of the site, but will admit some stuff on it is iffy. The posts people put aren't always.. Perfect. Because many users have decided to self ban, instead of doing it the proper way, they decided to say some "not-so-nice" things on the forums.
Parent Written byElementum August 13, 2013
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Avoid at all costs!

The site is in overall, completely unsafe. It was hacked at least five times in less than a week by a hacker who was never even caught. The Staff in this game informed me that the hacker was only able to infiltrate Marapets' security because their site had NO security at all--according to them, it wasn't even necessary because they have never had an issue with hackers up until now. What kind of logic is that? It's like leaving your doors open and just waiting for the burglars to come charging in before considering those locks. Because of their incompetence, explicit material such as pornography and much more were posted for hours in a CHILDREN'S FORUM. Not only is their practice incompetent, but it's also extraordinarily unethical and I would not advise any parent to allow their children to visit this site--it's just not safe. Their ads are also constantly riddled with malware and my anti-virus has blocked dozens of attempts at a security breach while browsing its pages. Apart from the safety and ethical concerns, this site is also not worth investing in. Updates are typically delayed for months at a time, and this is because this site only has one game coder -- a man named "Ian." This man is not qualified for the job and has permitted countless bugs to exist in the game at the expense of players' good experience. It is no wonder why when I visited this site years ago, there used to be at least 5,000+ active players... but nowadays you'll hardly find it reaches as little as 600. This game is dying, and quickly. Its Staff Team is also extremely rude and will ban you without an explanation... you literally just get a ban notice with no explanation! They've banned me personally five times, and I had to spend hours arguing with them that their reasoning for doing such doesn't stick before they unbanned me. They exonerated me from everything, but after each unbanning, I never got so much as an apology and they ALWAYS acted as if I was to blame. They're evidently too prideful to admit they made a mistake. This game has provided me with what I can bluntly say the WORST consumer experience I have ever experienced and I would not recommend anyone to join this game unless they're a sucker for disappointment and abuse.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written byKittenSanity July 8, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Not bad at all, give it a chance!

I have to respectfully disagree to the bad reviews on this website. Obviously it has a bit of violence, hence the fighting and headless costumes. And sure, the chats are not all that friendly. But I hadn't even noticed that there were chats up until yesterday, and I have been playing for awhile having plenty good of a time without them. As for those of you who say there is too much drinking and drugs due to the trash fairy, there really isn't. Yes, it says that she is addicted to drugs. It also puts a bad face on them by saying that the drugs destroyed her life, so therefore sends kids the message that they shouldn't drink or gamble. While it isn't extremely hands on, the pets are adorable, there are several quests, and many things to keep kids busy. The fights aren't even violent, in fact they are a little disappointing. The only real thing I would say that there is a problem with is the consistent flow of ads on several pages.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Teen, 17 years old Written byanele1223 June 12, 2014
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

OK site but it seems as if it's run by a group of 15 year olds

This site kicked off me and my friends after I told them I was sending my items to a friend. It made no sense and the staff was basically incompetent. Very poor infrastructure, cyberbullying is common in some cases. All around, it's a poorly run wannabe Neopets.
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 10 years old September 1, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Just go to Neopets instead of wasting time on Marapets!

Don't go anywhere on Marapets. I would call it "the poor man's Neopets". Don't go to the forums to due to bullying. The sex and language are an issue as well.Go to Neopets so instead of the so-called, "fairies" harming your pet according to other users reviewing Marapets, but in Neopets, you can go on Faerie quests to raise your pet's stats and bless your pet so it can have enough blessings to have new abilities.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old June 25, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

MaraSUCK!

Marapets is kinda fun but kind of violent. There are fairies on here, but some of them are weird or scary. Like there is a Obese Fairy :/. There is also a fairy named Guillotine that can chop your pet's head off! Plus, there is a Undying fairy that might be creepy looking to young players. She lays on a wheel and you throw a dagger (small sword) at her! There are also disgusting items in the game, like poop. There are also people with quests to get them items, but if you don't give them the items, they say mean things to you. At Vortex Park, there is a disgusting looking fairy called The Trash Fairy, Don't look at her, you will be grossed out! Plus, on Marapets, you have pets to take care of, if you don't take care of them, they die and go to the graveyard and turn into zombies. UGH! You have been warned!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Adult Written bypalmtrees_palmtrees April 5, 2010
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Mara vs. Neo?

I looked at other reviews about marapets before eventually joning.As for forum trolling you'll find idiots that will knock you down because of the things you like or the things you do basically everywhere on internet unless you go to a pet site where trolling is banned like petRPG (RPG IS GREAT!!).I personally stoped going on the neopet forums because I was called a few names and harassed here and there.But are the two realy the same? Well,both have fairys exept not even neo's Darkest Fairy or Jhudora go to the point of drunkeness (trash fairy), promoting obesity (obese fairy), or literally killing your pets (decapitation fairy and light fairy).I agree with the person who said you have to accept dark humor to love the site.Maybe even warpy humor.I have both so I find mara enjoyable except the fact you must keep your pet from "dying".And both neo and mara have annoying (VERY ANNOYING!) ads exept mara's can be more "disturbing".And "gold members" are the only ones who can create the "limited edition" pets I believe,maybe I'm wrong. But that doesen't bother me.Too much.I love both neo and mara but both need to say "Vomvoyage" to thier ads.My conclusion is mara is a great site, but only for some.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old March 21, 2010
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

bad for almost all ages

Bad! It's inappropriate especially the advertisments for other sites they show and gave my cousins computer a virus AND mine! Unless you wanna ruin your computer DON'T go on!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written bytommy18 January 5, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Not good.

The pets are really badly themed and some are killers, vampires and halloween pets. On the forums it is very bad. There is lots of trolling and when you are new you get called names and people talk to you like idiots. Its even bullying/
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written bytamartin1999 January 13, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Look Closer

Looks aren't everything. Wealth isn't everything. This book beautifully portrays that. Just as some of the most unlikely people can become ally's.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 17 years old Written byRamZilla September 24, 2014
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Been playing since '07

This is a GREAT game. I have been playing since '07 and have only seen minor profanity, and content is teen safe. They also apply by COPPA, and if you sign up as a 13 and under user, you have a special safety net. KID SAFE!
Kid, 10 years old August 19, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 

Kate Says

Very well monitored site,zero violence,kind,caring staff 24/7,no in game chats.
Educator Written bycommonsenselady December 28, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

The Scoop

I use this site. I was converted from the almighty Neopets. I disagree with a lot of these posts on how horrid Marapets is. The forums are aimed at an audience of 13 and up, and when kids sign up they are supposed to put their real age (sure that doesn't always work, but that is not Mara's fault). Second, pets do NOT die unless a very expensive item is purchased. They do not die from inactivity or not feeding your pet. The only bad things I have to say about Mara is that there are some not so child friendly 'cute' images. Such as the Trash fairy (portraying drunkenness), Fat and Skinny costumes/Obese fairy (prejudice against certain weights), and some minor cursing and innuendo. Oh, and Marapets forum users in RC and SC are primarily liberal and democrat. There is a discussion forum open for all users 13 and up where people can debate real life issues (homophobia, abortion, and legalizing marijuana among the topics)
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 10 years old July 23, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

THE WORST SITE EVER!

TERRIBLE site! At first you you might think "awwwwwwwwww it luks so kewt" but it is a terrible site!!! Really! The fairies are sooooo lame and they are terrible role models and sometimes cut your pet's head off! Neopets is way better with everything!
Teen, 14 years old Written byboxxy989 July 29, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

not a bad site give it a try

i like marapets because i think it is a good experience for kids that are starting to go on chat sites in my opinion their isan't any trolling and what not so their shouldn't be problems with marapets
Parent of a 14 year old Written bysuffacate May 7, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
Okay, this is 2011. Marapets is a virtual website kinda of like Neopets. You can play games, care for pets, join or make clubs, buy (with real money) Account Upgrades, chat on message boards, restock, trade & auction items, and a lot more things. The only thing you have to watch on there is the message boards, cussing is frequent - I mean frequent. You will see conversations about sex, alcohol, drugs, rape, gays, politics and there is usually a lot of arguments and bashing. Staff and users frequently use cuss words and innuendos. Some words are not permitted, of course, the site is just a little more laid back on rules. A good site, overall.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byMiloub April 24, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

Not the best website for kids..

I honeslty think Marapets is not safe at all. It's boring, and most kids won't enjoy Marapets, let alone the fact is costs money to do some things, and drags people to stay to collect points to buy stuff. Any kid under 13 won't enjoy the game, won't see value, and learn stuff that may not be appropiate..
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 10 years old January 3, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

TRY FANTAGE OR MOSHI MONSTERS! MARAPETS=NO FUN

this website does not rock at all! it's so boring and if you want something fun, try fantage or moshimonsters! ughh i hate this
Kid, 10 years old September 25, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

THIS WEBSITE IS MEAN AND BORING

IT DEPICTED ME AS A HOBO AND IT DID SHOW UNDERWEAR ON ME ITS A RIPOFF OF A BETTER SITE NEOPETS!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 14 years old Written byhawtlizzy15 August 28, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

good for kids11 and up

i like it its fun but there are some swearing issues i contacted the creator about that now you cant say some things people are nice families use it if you are under 18you need parents consent to join clubs and mail people i have fun taking care of my pets people will get banned for innapropriate content over all some issues that will be addressed
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism

Pages