Parents say

(out of 44 reviews)
age 16+
Review this title!
Adult Written by321486 June 24, 2009

Not appropriate for much younger that 16 years old

I am so unhappy about this website. I just found my 13 year old girl had a profile. The messages between her and boys were full of profanity and suggestive. There were several pictures that I deem inappropriate. i.e the boys without shirts. I don't feel like this site is appropriate for minors. I deactivated my child's account!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Adult Written bytaylor09 May 19, 2009

good for kids

this is a good website because i have one and there is no bad content.
Parent of a 4 year old Written bychrissy12184 November 12, 2008

its a fun site

i just want to say this website is a good website they came a long way. Just like anyother chating web site please watch your kids carefully cause you never know if there is a stalker out there and noone wants there kid raped or killed i sure know i wouldnt but any way the site has lots of fun things to do and its a good place to meet new people and chat with old ones
Parent Written byanon507 March 31, 2016

WARNING

Do Not allow your daughter's on this site. There are men on this site who are involved in prostitution.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written byclarence August 6, 2015
Adult Written byDoxus March 12, 2015
While MeetMe states that you have to be 13+ to sign up, I definitely wouldn't let your offspring sign up for MeetMe until he or she is at least 18. Word of caution: MeetMe is very… sexually aggressive towards the fairer sex.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byLipservice November 18, 2014

Sex dating site masquerading as a social networking site

Do not under any circumstances allow your children to use this site. It contains adverts for sex and dating sites. Members can send photos through private messaging and the majority of it is unsolicited porn. Abuse, harrassment and bullying is rife and there are NO checks on a members background. Although they have the facility to report inappropriate comments and photos, absolutely NOTHING is done about it. This site is under investigation in the State of California after complaints of child abuse were filed. Despite this, MeetMe STILL offers membership to children as young as 13.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written bybeccaann May 29, 2013

LAME!! & not for the teens!

This site took a serious nose dive since it changed to meetme, Harassment is the norm there, and blocking does not help, while it will prevent someone from looking directly at your profile, but the blocked will see pics, statuses and comments you post on the site, so therefore they can still interact with you, I have been clearly harassed by people on this site, and then in turn have been warned for defending my self or simply telling them to stop! Guy had words I will not post here, he called me everything but a white woman, but my comment he need to take a long walk off a short pier, was deleted by staff, and I was warned, but all his comments of name calling to me and saying he wanted to give me a golden shower and slap the hell out of me while doing it, stayed!!! UNREAL! I often get hit on by men twice my age, even after I block them, they can still say rude things while I am trying to be friendly or funny with friends..... Also they will warn you saying you broke their rules, their rules are not clear, because I can post a pic or comment and be warned, when the same pic, and a like comment is 10 other places but stays, staff does not moderate this site! They depend on other members to click they are offended by stuff, meaning room for harassment, if someone does not like you they can tell people to report ALL your things, so the blocking not really blocking others, they can not see your profile, but they can still see ALL you do in the live feed, so they can harass you when you say innocent things, if they click they are offended, then you get warned, when in reality you done nothing wrong.... Then are the ads, there are half naked people in ads on the site, which is ok because they are getting paid for the ad.... but pics taken at the zoo a friend posted, WITH HER KIDS got removed, because her shirt had spaghetti straps, unreal! BUT men can post pics of themselves in their boxers... MAKES NO SENSE!!! Then are the robots as they are referred to on the site, that solicit men and women to pay for strictly adult sites!!! there are more people soliciting there then real members! you will see the profile with an age of 43 something with the pic of a girl that is barely 18!!! Everyone I know has complained on all of these issues MANY times with NO response or change, but giving back the little block so others can see who is online was not only given back, but there was a huge letter from the owners on how they are listening!!! This site is GARBAGE!!!! and honestly, my teen is disgusted on what he saw when he signed up!! He says it is a borderline pornographic site, and shut down his page... I am grateful he has taste!! adults getting together with humor or what ever is fun and ok, but adding teens to the mix is just flat out crazy!!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written bystormy M November 1, 2012

Parents beware.

Definitely not for children, i would not let any children under 18 on this site, the spotlight bar has nude men on it consistently, and males on the site will ask for nude photos at all times without caring about how old a person is. The site will also delete your page randomly if it thinks you're out of line even in the slightest way. If you show your stomach and are a female for example, they will delete your photos while leaving full nude shots of men up.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written byjosephfromtha864 October 12, 2012

MeetMe, & Bring Your Common Sense.

This website is fine for kids over 15. If you've raised your kid right, this website will in no way effect their ability to think rationally. Let's get to the basics. If you're over 18, you can't contact someone under 17 unless you know their email. So, there's no worries about pedophiles. Also, most girls and boys have common sense these days. Don't give your number to a stranger, don't tell them where you live. I think it's a good site. Maybe some kid is on the verge of suicide, and they come on meetme and finds someone that could save them. Not everyone has the ability to make friends at school. What you parents don't know, is ultimately your down fall. Your kid is gonna drink, have sex, etc. Regardless of some website, that all falls back you. Not some website created for fun. Blame yourself, for your trashy daughters. I'd say, lack of attention maybe, lack of being their life.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written bymbrusl August 23, 2012

Is MeetMe Social site what its cracked up about?

Just another social site that gets your personal information. How I found out about this site, was an email that was sent to me about having a message and asking stupid questions. I clicked on the link in the email to see what was going on, and that when I was automatically logged into their site from Facebook. I had not signed up for this site at any time in the past and I think it was unethical that a site would automatically create an account for anyone without their consent. Then to find that they had information on you that was only available in Facebook, was alarming to learn. In conclusion, be careful of what you put online as it is not safe from any prying eyes. My suggestion, delete your account by using the account link in the email you get. Trying to get to it from within their website in next to impossible.
Adult Written byThecybercop July 29, 2012

Weak reveiw of a very dangerous site!

This is one of the major sources of problems for ICAC Police around the nation.....online sexual solicitation and crrepy people abound......your review should have been much stronger!!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byLadyV153 April 1, 2012

Word to the Parents....WAKE UP

Should you really blame the website for the things that your children are doing. This was originally for classmates to reunite and reminisce about old times. Whether they are still in high school or in college or onto their careers. Of course these young teens are doing things they are not supposed to do. And if anything, the only difference between this generation and other previous generations is that this one is more out there. no one hides anything anymore. the media can only be blamed for so much. but parents if you take the time to learn your children and find out what they are doing then this would not be a shock to you. even if you teach them right, kids/teens are going to do what they want to do when ADULTS are not around. Other than the pictures of girls in underwear and foul mouths...there is some good to this website. People meet and get married apparently. People find old long lost friends Some may find relatives People donate fake money, which is transferred into real money for real causes There are games you can personalize your profile and tell your story You used to be able to give advice and voice your opinion And for me: I used it to tell my story, give advice about teen pregnancies and getting married young, and reported any perverts attacking young aged children. This website may not be appropriate for 1under 17, but do not take it away from older people. Some know how to act. Another thing. why don't parents push for age verification, like submitting a state ID number or something. (not SSN or anything that serious) this would stop fake ages and fake IDs
Adult Written byopinionatedandloud March 30, 2012

Myyearbook - Maturity Level Malfunction

I am a 17 year old female. I have used Myyearbook and I have strong feelings about it. I feel the maturity level is very low and ill-set for people. People lie, and are rude. It's not the matter of changing the website, but changing the kids that use it. I go on for casual conversations and to be entertained. I find using language as a means to interact is a great way to meet people, but when you physically meet a person from Myyearbook, it's very highly an issue that most kids are there to get a date, or have sex. This is not a site that needs to be promoted for educational purposes, because there is none. It's a complex site that can and will get certain kids into trouble, that allows them to have a different mindset when entering the myyearbook site. It's hard to think about once you have reached a certain age that things are inappropriate. I constantly notice people being rude, and discusting to people, since the site encourages interation with people they don't know, why does it have to be negitive almost 75 percent of the time?
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written bylover100 February 7, 2012

lover100

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written bycarol1961 January 22, 2012

MYB deletes and blocks account holders rather than investigate predators!

When reporting a predator, MYB deletes and blocks the IP of the person who filed the report. This has happened to numerous people without notification.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent of a 13 year old Written byadvoKate January 4, 2012

stay away!

violent language and suggestions like wanting to urinate on a girl or inpregnate her; disgusting suggestions of reactions to a girls photo; way out of control.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byjgkm6 August 27, 2011

Site is not safe for teens!!

My 15 yr old signed up for this and was contacted my a guy with a false profile. He stated he was 16 and engaged her in chats, phone calls in order to set up a meeting. Thankfully I checked & stopped it all and deleted her account. She will never go on this site again & I am informing her friends parents about it too. The site is not protected as facebook is and should be taken down. Not safe at all!!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byPaganHeart August 26, 2011

NOT A Good Site For Anyone

Parents, do not let your kids on this site. I was a user until just this morning. I had nothing but bullies. I have seen people degrade gays, degrade me for my sexuality and religion, when indeed I was bothering no one. Once you set your privacy settings that does not help. Some people on here are totally untraceable, because they use fake profiles. There is a lot of foul language, sexually explicit photos; I have seen people pose half naked. Kids under the age of 21 talk about being drunk or high. There is even a mood update for "Drunk" and "High" This site is a bad influence on children, and bad for well anyone, because what people say on this site is utterly hurtful. PARENTS! I would say block this site from your kids. If your kids want a social network, FaceBook or Myspace (both have GREAT security and privacy standards). There you can keep an eye on them, and they can be social with friends, and family, AND you can keep a better eye on them.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byRowan_R June 6, 2011

NOT A GOOD SITE!

I am a recently got on this site. And it amazes me the bullying that goes on. I was teased because of my sexuality, the way I dress, and my name. My real name a few people make fun of me for that. Of course I reported these people. I reported BOTH of them 6 times. In a months period. Yet nothing was done. The cyber bullying continued. It amazes me that this site says they are a safe place to make friends, I joined for a social experience, yet all I got was bullies. I never got this on Myspace, FaceBook or any other social network. My advice to parents KEEP YOUR CHILDREN AWAY FROM THIS SITE! I would recommend checking their computers history as well. Because some of the things said on that site, hurt. I dont want anyones child to try anything drastic due to cyber bullying. This site was only given 1 star, because I could not post without giving at least 1.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing

Pages