All member reviews for Monster High

Common Sense Media says

Product site connected to dolls is more cute than creepy.

Users say

(out of 33 reviews)
age 8+
Review this title!
Kid, 9 years old August 2, 2011

Bad for kids

Many kisses and gross out things. Also the teens use words like stupid lame-o dumb and idiot. Also some musters are scary.
Parent of a 10 and 12 year old Written byVery cautious mother April 3, 2013

Watch what you really want to teach your young girls!

These are girls that are dressed inappropriately and they don't really teach good standards for tween girls, which is what they are targeted to. They wear clothes that wouldn't even be allowed in most high schools, and certainly not what a girl of 7-12 (target audience) should be wearing. Also, their "positive messages" are definitely not very overpowering, in fact, they are almost subtle. Teaching kids that you have to buy peer's acceptance is not a good thing, for one example.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 9 years old April 5, 2011

Perfect for all ages!

gREAT WEBSITE! I think that it could be better though. But there is no problom with this website. i think its great for little kids. my sis loves it! and so do i!
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 3 year old Written byJessica1100100110 April 2, 2013

Poor Excuse

The drive behind Monster High is truly consumerism. These dolls are MAYBE a best role model for 12 year olds. At that age they are turning into young women and should then maybe be thinking about makeup (why else would one wear make-up other than to cover acne and dark circles?). The skirts are too short for any age! The cartoons plots and moral aren't reason enough to expose a strong girl to this. Avoid this money maker.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much consumerism
Parent Written byfem January 7, 2012

WORNING

This toy is a must have, however if you dont plan on going out every other week to get a new one because its legs keep breaking off dont even bother!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 8 and 10 year old Written bysoledadjabarb2 April 16, 2013

Monster Monster High

I have a son and daughter. My daughter Sestiva, 10, loves Monster High. The room she shares with her little brother is filled with Monster High everything!! Not only do the dolls appeal to her but she loves the site!! Cannot get any better as she says!!
Parent of an infant and 6 year old Written bykatrinajohnson June 11, 2014
Over-all HORRIBLE message to your children
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 16 years old Written byAustinandally12 July 6, 2012
LEARNING

I love it

This is great for kids to learn to be yourself. Be unique. Be a monster!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old July 21, 2011

This is the best

Okay,so I am a big fan of Monster High okay? So it is great for ages 5 and up just in case younger kids get scared but it shouldnt be scary at all I love it!!! Everything is positive
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written bymaria1236 September 6, 2011

my little sis's love it :)

this website is pretty good, and so is the show. my little sister who are 8 & 9 love the show, it really dosent have anything bad in it. its a kid show, little girls will love it, especially girls who love creppy things. to me it has a few good messages like when a girl listened to her friend to not believe everything people say and do. i just wish the show would be longer episodes
Kid, 11 years old October 25, 2014

I wouldnt let my 5 year old sister watch the web series! Dx

My 5 year old sister was watching lalaloopsy and she came across monster high videos on youtube! I think she picked up Cleo as a role model and was sent home from school many times because she was trying to "act" like cleo does (Cleo is like the main antagonist of the series) :( I have no problem if your children watch it for fun, but if they start taking negative points from the show, (like for example, sudden intrest in boys/boyfriends or 'popularity' or maybe even teen magazines) then you might want to keep your daughter away from monster high.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much consumerism
Kid, 12 years old June 7, 2013

The best dolls from Mattel.

Monster high is the new barbie!! When I went to big w 2 years ago my daughter spotted these dolls as there is a girl named 'Frankie Stein' because she is so cute! I watched 'ghouls rule ' with my daughter and we loved it! We have seen the webisodes as they are interesting, funny and teaching kids to stop hate, care for the environment and to be kind to one another!! I love the dolls because they are cute!!!! 100 out of 100!!!!!
Kid, 12 years old July 21, 2015
Monster high is awesome!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Parent Written bysky2a1 November 14, 2013

Monster high is 6+

I see on doll packs.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 9 years old August 15, 2013

i don't like it much but my little sister does please read ^-^

hello i think it is not good first reason: well don't buy the monster high dolls they fall apart easy and the dog might chew it second reason : on the show they wear outfits that are not appropriate witch are not for kids seriously why would a FIVE YEAR OLD wear a outfit like that if you want a website that is appropriate and fun for all kids and age try animal jam animal jam is fun and educational so your child can learn about animals and have fun at the same time thanks for reading
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byGabiey July 19, 2012

great message

This site promotes the monster high line of dolls, books and accessories, but it also promotes accepting others for who they are and also accepting yourself and not letting others judge you because your different. I love this line of dolls and books because the message that they send is one that says that you should accept your self and not try to be the person everyone wants you to be. like i say "don't be afraid to be who everyone else is afraid to be," These monsters while striving to fit in, become role models for me because they not only send the message they also use that, they accept who they are, the message is Be yourself, Be unique, Be a Monster,"
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old January 14, 2012

IM THE BIGGEST MH GEEK EVA

I personally am the BIGGEST MONSTER HIGH GEEK IN FOREVER!!!!!!!!!!!!! I LUV IT AND RECCOMEND IT TO YOUNG KIDS!!!! I HAVE 6 OR 7 DOLLS!!!!!!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byscoopdoggbeblazin3 July 2, 2015

Chill

Just your average under age child monster porno. The tentacles are gross.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 9 years old March 10, 2015

Cool it, Mattel!!!

Never buy your kids these dolls! They are inappropriate and SOOOO ugly! Their faces are green, and they hardly wear clothes! Would you like your little girl to play with that kind of doll? AS FOR YOU, Mattel, snatch every one of these hideous things off the shelves and replace it with a Barbie doll! And when I say not for kids, I really mean not for anybody.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Kid, 9 years old April 18, 2014

Love it!!!!!!!!!!!!

I have 3 Monster High dolls.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns

Pages