All member reviews for Newgrounds

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Graphic Flash portal strictly for fans and older teens.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Users say

(out of 82 reviews)
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Parent Written byButtkicker9324 September 19, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

GAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY

ITS HORRIBLE IT MADE ME LOST 2 BILLION F**KING BRAIN CELLS! DONT GO ON IT UNLESS YOU WANT A LEGAL WAY TO COMMIT SUICIDE.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 16 years old Written bySubterranianHom... October 3, 2010
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Amazing website houses good and bad, but the careful, trustworthy kid should be able to handle it.

This site has been cleaned up a lot from way back when, but that doesn't mean it's clean. As far as movies go, the ratings are accurate and the ones rated E are pretty much equivalent to G and mild PG movies- and there is some GREAT stuff on there- wonderful animation most of the time and it is often the breeding ground for many youtube sensations. The same goes for the art section. The music part of Newgrounds is slightly less safe because there's no censored lyrics and no warning of them- but usually there are none, much of the music is great, and all of it is free for download and totally legal.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Educator and Parent Written bybored guy May 22, 2012
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

HORRIBLE!

IT IS NOT APPROPRIATE FOR NINE HUNDRED YEAR OLDS! IF YOU LET YOUR KID ON THIS SITE THAN YOU ARE EVILER THAN THE DEVIL!!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byThe_Brain_That_... October 17, 2009
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
People, instead of looking for the easy way out, DO SOME ACTUAL PARENTING! I know it cuts into your free time, but you still had the kid and it's YOUR responsibility to make sure what they watch is OK, not some "experts". If you would look at the site YOURSELF, instead of reading idiotic reviews by even more idiotic unfit-to-have-kids parents who have onthing better to do than badmouth a site which, unlike many others, actually has RATINGS on its content! Has nobody noticed this!?! Seriously, do some research before you condemn a great site to a lifetime of having ads for a site that talks crap about it! Really though, can you find another free site that has rated content for all ages? I thought not. This is someone who, unlike all of you, has some BRAINS!
What other families should know
Great messages
Adult Written byParentsNeedToKnow November 15, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Pay attention to your child. Does not have a lot of variety.

This website has plenty of games. If your kid is known for tiptoeing around parents or teachers, monitor what they are playing using History or do not let them go on this website. There are Adult Only games and if your child is a young girl who happens to search "My Little Pony" she might stumble upon MLP Porn created by Bronies (Male fans of MLP) and it can be quite disturbing. Mario isn't very safe either, so make sure that at all times they keep "M" or "A" off so kids do not linger into bad content. Monitor what they are playing and your child will be 100% safe. Games on the website although can be fun, many of them are made by fans and your child might not find a lot of variety. If your child gets bored of the website due to this, Armor Games is not always the best solution.
Kid, 11 years old April 21, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

my review

thers adult content games are ok and bad games good for 10+ but. saftey a problem theres a thing like any other website that u may get the popup for a rouge antivirus it will infect your computer and its hard get off but theres now ways get it off
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 7 year old Written byYouLostTheGame September 14, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
Great educational value. The whole site promotes internet safety and wholesome family values, especially in the Boards. Everyone is so nice and helpful to new users, and people rarely get flamed. If they do, one of the nice, respectful Moderators such as EyeLovePoozy is there to set things straight with a positive attitude. I highly recommend this site for children, and parents should certainly allow children of all ages on it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 2 and 7 year old Written byAce-57 September 14, 2009
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Awesome!

Great for kids. My kids beat it all day long.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old May 14, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Newgrounds Review

Website: Newgrounds Site Opening Date: 1995 Newgrounds? A kids site? AHAHAHAHA! That's funny! If you couldn't tell, Newgrounds is not for kids. Some stuff tweens may like, but mostly stuff for teens and adults. On this website, you can view games, animations, art, and music. Sounds cool right? Riiiiight? Well for teens, yes. But for kids, no way Jose! To tell what is kid friendly and what isn't you have to look at the rating. E means that everybody, including kids can watch it. Though some E cartoons may contain mild violence and language. T is for teens (About 13+), it's like E but with more curse words and some blood here and there. M is for people around the age of 16. Mild sexual situations and a lot of blood and gore are commonly found in these. A is for adult. That is all I'm going to say about it. I can't think of anything else to write so heres a whale. ._____________________.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byWyndcaller March 19, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 

Be careful.

There are some wholesome, clean games, music, and videos, but there are plenty of violent, vulgar, and even mature themes in the content. Fortunately, most content will show a rating. E, T, or M. Mature content is blocked unless you are 18 or older, but the sheer amount of pornography, violence, and swearing is fairly intimidating. Use discretion and make sure you only use E-rated games and you should be okay, but be careful of course.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byjaymezjoe July 12, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Teen friendly site inspires creativity!

I believe the Common Sense is a little unfair with Newgrounds. It rates Newgrounds as a site for ages 17+ as "graphic...strictly for fans and older teens." Yet.. isn't YouTube as well? YouTube only has a 13+ rating on common sense and could quite possibly be much worse. Newgrounds provides an age appropriate system: Suitable for all ages, suitable for 13+, suitable for adults, etc. YouTube provides nonesuch. On Newgrounds, you at least have a sense of the appropriateness of the content you are getting into. Yes, there is violence, sex, language, drinking, and smoking. But that is rated into higher aged content, and you will be notified if that is the case. Being a website or course there are privacy issues. However, Newgrounds provides a good message because it inspires people to get out and do something really creative!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 10 years old May 6, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

KIDS! READ THIS IF YOU LIKE NEWGROUNDS!

Before anyone screams at me, I, indeed like Newgrounds. I just don't think It's a kid-friendly website, Don't believe me? If you search " Dora the Explorer" There is a more likely chance there is going to be guns or hentai or whatever.. It can wreck your pc, It can. So, kids my age listen up. Do NOT go on Newgrounds, It is for your own good :) And if you still want to go to it, Make sure a parent is looking over at what you are looking for. And if you do not know, Porn eats your computer.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byLuigi755 February 13, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Hentai, Porn, Swearing, you name it.

Hardcore(and sometimes interactive) hentai and porn, Violent warfare and swear words being tossed all over the place, Newgrounds is definitely for ADULTS ONLY.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old December 28, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Not a big fan...

Heck, I only play Riddle School on Newgrounds if at all. I stay away from the porn and hentai and that crap.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byyobro November 16, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

fine for 13+

good for teens. teens can go on E-M but never A games. i played M games a lot when i was 10 and 11. it is not that bad. age of war and stick war for 7+. violence for M ones are most 8/10 rate with imdb rating. T games are fine for 9+ at worst. A games are 10/10 sex imdb rating. pst a review and ask me in the review of it if you want me to review anything.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byRMN239 September 19, 2012
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

i agree with common sense

f**k it
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byEpicdude932 September 19, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

GET OFF UR BUTTS AND DO SOME PARENTING

not for any1 kids, but its a fun site (but occasionally) only, and dont let kids on because their is bad stuff, and kids should use kongregate is the alternative
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old September 9, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

not that bad

well if ya follow rating rules even little kids can play it. im only 9 and a half and i totally <3 it. + i follow the ratings. of course often my searches have something bad in it. even when i search spongebob i find innapropriate stuff.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bypoiuytrewqz August 23, 2012
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Not for anyone.

This site should be taken off the internet; it's a child trap.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old August 13, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Brawl Taunts! :D

Brawl Taunts FTW!

Pages