Common Sense Media says

Anonymous chat site created by teen is too risky for kids.

Users say

(out of 202 reviews)
age 15+
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old February 24, 2011
its full of stalkers and creepy weirdos dont go on the webcam page defo (ive not been on it but ive heard horrid things about it)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Great messages
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 15 years old Written bygarnesab March 22, 2011
i like omegle i don't think its for younger kids but deffintly for older did you know that there is an adult omegle...
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written bymoviemadness April 11, 2010

Omegle is ONLY for responsible teens and up

Omegle can be fun -I've had some great conversations that have been truly educational and fun! There are also some issues, horny men and teens abound, trolls are everywhere, and there are lots of users who swear, talk about any subject they want, share links to questionable material, ask for personal information such as e-mail addresses or facebook, or demand chat/webcam sex. For any child, or teens that aren't responsible, omegle.com can be downright dangerous. For responsible ones, it can be fun!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 15 years old Written by_ozymandias_ February 28, 2010

...

I'm 12 and I go on omegle a lot.. Like, I don't give anyone info on me but it's really fun to do when you're bored. I mean, if I had like little kids I wouldn't let them go on, but for people 12 and older it's cool. They don't have to give people their information..it's like, their choice. Soo if you're iffy about it just like look at it yourself and maybe monitor your kid depending on how old they are..But I don't see what all the fuss is about. It's just a website. It's not like some creepy old pedophile is gonna crawl out of your kid's computer and steal them or something. I think y'all are being too uptight.
Parent Written bypandora09 February 17, 2012

Not For Kids!

Hi My 13 year old daughter has recently been going on Omegle,a friend told her it was a fun way to meet new people.. This is a lie,can any of you guess what happened next? My daughter rushes to me absolutely traumatized by what she saw. A grown man was sending her inappropriate pictures and asking for her to do the same! I wanted to investigate myself so I went onto Omegle and as soon as I started a chat I was asked for my 'asl' which I believe stands for age,sex and location. So I say that I am female,13 and then this stranger is asking for my email and is asking me to do inappropriate things. All I can advise is stay away from that site! Omegle is certainly not for children and I don't think adults should be on it either. It is a sick place for grown men looking for a sexual thrill. I would also say to not go on webcam either,because apparently there are men there absolutely naked. From parent to parent please don't let your kids on this site!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 14 years old Written byCentallith May 2, 2011
Teen, 13 years old Written byanissa919 August 4, 2010

discusting

alot of sexual behavior
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old March 21, 2011

NOT FOR KIDS

My friend showed me this website and really there is a LOT of bad things on it and my friend likes to chat me too but we immeditaley disconnect if there is something bad like they say they r naughty or want to go on webcam. My friend had went on webcam one time and some guy was on there who showed his genitals. I really wouldn't recommend for me. Wait until you are 13 or older or until you are mature. It's very disappointing how some things are in this world. Never go on webca, you are just being stupid if you do. I haven't and don't want to.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byLorry123 March 31, 2010

porn galore

terrible, very rude males showing their private parts.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byjjj1922 July 10, 2013

PARENTS AND TEENS BEWARE!!!!

I stay at home and watch our children like a hawk (helicopter, over-protective parent here) and Our very own quiet and shy 13yr old was told about the site by a friend and tried it out.....we ended up contacting our local authorities due to an 18yr old in a different state asking her to go to Mexico with him!!!! That was within a few minutes of conversation. This site is horrific! The authorities knew about it and they don't recommend the site for ANYONE! It is too dangerous whether you are 13 OR 18! If you are an adult on the site, please be aware that you are at risk for having a discussion that could possibly be misconstrued by a minor, or their parents/guardians. Is it worth your life, your freedom, your child's life to "chat with a stranger"???? Get real. Grow up. This site (and the creator) is lucky there isn't a class action lawsuit to be shut down, regardless of the "terms" and "disclaimers"....much of which a teenager could not possibly understand anyway. Hopefully there will be an investigation as I am taking our situation and complaint as far as I can (congress, local representative, etc.) I have contacted the media about this as well. Parents: Get the word out! Save a life! Do not allow your children on the site, block it, and tell other parents!!!!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written byiluvjbsomuch April 21, 2011

Fun, addictive but has a lot of iffy stuff

Site is fun and addictive. But there are all people of all ages on the site. Some are nice people who r just looking for a good chat. Oters personal information. And some are pervert who demand cyber sex or sex chats. The site can be fun if u talk to the right people and it can be safe if u are careful about the people u talk to and what info u give out. Bottom line, how safe the site is is up to the user. But the inapropreat content is somewht up to the user but every user does eventually run into a pervert or creeper.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 16 years old Written byluke3854 May 3, 2010

HORRIBLE SITE NEVER GO TO IT EVER !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I hate this site not for kids and not suggested for adults people say VERY bad things useing colorful words , even if u do use it and are older still go to another site
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 15 years old Written byAnne Joliette May 24, 2012

From a person who's used enough of Omegle to know its basics.

One thing I have to say: Do NOT go on Omegle if you are easily insulted. It is not for the faint-hearted as well. Almost all of the Omegle community is in love with Hitler. I have seen too many Holocaust and 9/11 jokes. One thing I see too much as well is "Are you horny?" or "ASL?". The "N" word is one of the most commonly used word, as well as other derogatory terms for homosexuals, Jews, Muslims and others. About 1 out of 2 people is a pervert, and many, many questions on Spy Mode are disgustingly inappropriate. That said, you can find a few people worth chatting with, and I have to say, it was truly worth the struggle of skipping those dumb questions. A tip I have: Put interests in the Interest box before chatting, so that you can talk to people who like the same things as you do. With this, I found absolutely no undesirable person for a long time! So, as a 15-year-old who knows what she's talking about, take my word for it. Maybe people of that age might have a hard time with Omegle, so just wait until you feel comfortable with these things.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 10 year old Written byshugarbaer13 August 27, 2010

okay for 18+ bad, not exceptable for 18and down!

I think that it is a okay website for people 18 and older to get on and chat but they also have the option to go on live chat where people show inappropriate behaviors and not appropriate body parts and actions that are not suitable for children under 18 years of age!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byjames.wolf75 January 25, 2011
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byheehaw December 8, 2009

Hilarious, as long as you were raised right.

as long as you aren't foolish and give out personal information, it's hilarious. if your parents gave you the ability to discern between someone it's okay to tell about yourself and someone you absolutely shouldn't, it's fine. in all honesty, picking up a phone and calling a random number is far more dangerous, and hey, haven't we all done that?
Parent Written bySmith Miller February 18, 2014

Omegle

Omegle is totally boss and has tons of funny jokes.. However, please not children may be exposed to violence, racism, sexism, sex, porn, ect. the list goes on. =))) Dont forget drugs too
What other families should know
Too much sex
Adult Written bykgcobb December 2, 2009

No No No - not for teens especially teen girls!

Hate it. Not for middle school or younger teens - especially girls! Dangerous and unnecessary access to cruising pedophiles or just curious, inappropriate men.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 15 years old Written byHeboEstel January 5, 2013

Text Chat is okay, but the video chat is NOT for kids.

Omegle? Well, It's definitely not for anyone under 13. Many people say that it's for adults only, but I think that's going a little too far. I myself have had very awesome conversations on omegle, and even though I've had my fair share of encounters with people that want cybersex, it isn't that bad. Especially now that omegle has given us the option to find people by interests. We can add in a few things that we like, and find someone that will talk about that instead of sex. However, I don't recommend the video omegle for anyone under 16 or 17. There are some things that can't be unseen, and you'll see a lot of those things on the video chat for omegle. Kids shouldn't be forced to see the disgusting things people have seen, and even though video chats offer an even more interesting way to communicate, it's not worth it.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byLaneyWhite December 5, 2012

Parents beware - Omegle might just as well be called "Peodophiles R us"

I found out by chance that my (just) 14 year daugher has been using this site. Now banned. Her conversations (referred to in subsequent emails) involve guys asking her for sex and asking to meet her in hotels for sex. I am appalled by the absolute faceless nature of this site, just a "hi" from a stranger. I pretended to be a 14 year old girl and after a quick introduction - John, a college student from South Africa (yeah right) was asking me if I was horny. This site is just a breeding ground for men pretending to be boys preying on young girls. Parents, do not let your children use this site. I am a huge fan of the internet but this is a very disturbing side of it.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns

Pages