Common Sense Media says

Semi-social site helps users collect images for inspiration.

Users say

(out of 27 reviews)
age 12+
Review this title!
Parent of a 10 and 12 year old Written bymmpj August 10, 2012

Mixed Bag

My daughter wanted to join. (ToS say 13, though they didn't ask for a birthday). I created my own account to check it out, and did so with an email address (the review says only Twitter/Facebook; that no longer applies). Then the site asked me to go through and select 5 pictures that interested me. There were lots of pics that would be fine for kids, but also references to gay porn and sex, lots of cursing, references to alcohol being a savior of sorts/being drunk, scantily clad women/men, and negative messages. I have no problem with adults seeing this stuff, but it made me think that my daughter shouldn't have access. She wants it for crafts and fashion, and I could just select the beginning interests for her when she registers, but if the stuff she's shown when she opens the site is inappropriate (as I saw when I opened the home page, and I chose nature pics and science content), I worry about her seeing it. My original concern was the social aspect, but I think the site has too much adult-oriented material for most young adolescents. I'm going to play with the site more, but so far I'm not ready to give it a green light.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byspenguin November 10, 2012

Amazing Website

Pinterest is my favorite website and i go on everyday! The website is good for kids if they do not follow pinners who say bad words. I have been a member for about a year and I think it is very safe.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Kid, 9 years old August 24, 2012

not for 9&under

i recently joined and i love it.so far ive only seen one use of the ''f'' word.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old July 9, 2013

Addicted?!?!?

I am 11 and I love this. I think most of the pins are fine for kids but there are a little language which you should be wary of. It is an amazing website that let's you pin like a design or a craft and I have a board specially made for pics of Taylor Swift! :P Sorry but the point is that Pinterest is pretty safe and is really fun.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byMojoJojo2004 December 1, 2014

Great Place To introduce social medias to young ones 8+

i think pinterest is a geat app and website. But at the begining when i had to choose some genres so my home page was more personalized, there was some things I WOULD NOT CLICK ON! If you as a parent went on though you WOULD see what they clicked on based on the home page. It is not the website's fault if your kid clicks on it not knowing what it is, so give a warning before letting your kid sign up. But if you want to be extra careful, make it for them, let them choose the username and password then give out the options for the genres without the bad things.
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent Written byBarbLents November 12, 2014

Not for kids

No filters at all. Unfortunately, they must not monitor their site well. I would suggest you create your own account (only an email needed), and then once you're on the site, type something in the search box. You will be shocked. Drinking games, sexual pictures, very suggestive pictures, swearing, ...
Parent Written byKristaWells June 17, 2014

Be careful of pinterest

I enjoy Pinterest sometimes to get ideas for birthday parties or decorating. I sat down at the computer with one of my kids and typed in "his and hers kids bathrooms" and a ton of photos of a woman murdered on the bathroom floor popped up, very disappointing.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old July 27, 2013

Be careful!

Pinterest is an amazing site. The idea is wonderful. Collect ideas and make boards about them. There are a bunch of innapropriate things so I would monitor what you let your kids see and who they follow.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old January 22, 2016

Love It

I love this website. I can give you great ideas and inspiration for all sorts of things. It is very easy to use, meaning everything is easy to access. I get so many great ideas from pinterest. But be careful, it can be VERY addictive and later you realize that you must get off the computer. :)
Teen, 14 years old Written byChevronGirl22 August 25, 2015

Love it so much, crafty, addicting

I made a Pinterest account a year ago. I love it so much. There are so many amazing pins. DIY pins like things you can make. Life hacks. If you love to cook there are lots of recipes. You can personalize your account. It's like a photo book of your life. If someone is bullying you can block them so they cannot see your pins or contact you.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written byTorixx1 August 10, 2015

Pinterest

I'm going to be honest. I love Pinterest and have been using it for almost 3 years. They aren't great about deleting photos that are not appropriate. There are many fake users with some creepy boards out there. Basically If your child is mature enough to see things that may be somewhat suggestive that its not that big of a deal but like all media apps and websites. You can never be to careful.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byamandafran February 10, 2015

Know your child

I use pinterest a lot and i have never seen anything bad or inappropriate. You just have to know your child, they can only see trouble if they are looking for trouble. I don't have Facebook, twitter or any other type of social networking so I think this is a nice alternative for teens who can't get things like facebook
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old November 20, 2014

Great for kids 8+

If you don't mind cursing and a little alcohol, it is fine. If you need help with any mental/health problems, pinterest is the place to go. There are plenty of positive messages. On pinterest, you can also find some more controversial topics. But anyway, go ahead, 8 year olds, as long as your parents are okay with you reading about alcohol a little. (also there is some gay smut if you search hard enough, but not if you dont look for it...)
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old December 8, 2013

I dont care! I

I love pintrest! I use it all the time! Its the perfect place t find stuff for school projects!
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 17 years old Written byKatilinForSafety November 8, 2013

Can I Pin this?

I personally love Pinterest! I also feel its a little bit more safe than Twitter and Facebook. Now you don't have to register using Facebook. People normally just follow your kids to repin their ideas and that is normally it. There is not too much communication. However, every once in awhile I do come across a semi nude picture, cuss words, etc. But the benefits to the social network is more than its down falls. This helps teens come up with more creative ideas and can be educational depending on how they use the site. (p.s. this is a great site you and your kids can be on together)
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written bypat6494 February 9, 2013

Pinterest is a malware infection site

I got the worst virus/malware on their site looking at home decor. I did not click on anything except someone's site. I immediately shut down the computer when the screen didn't show what was supposed to be there. When I turned the computer back on I had the FBI virus and lost the use of the computer for 2 days to have the computer people take the virus off. I contacted Pinterest and told them to check my usage history and they would know where the infection came from. They didn't even bother to respond other than an auto mailer. Beware of this site. One click and you will be paying money to get your computer back!
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old July 24, 2016

Fun, interesting posts, exploding with creativity.

I set up an account a few months ago to explore ideas of decor for my redone room. I was soon hooked. I have never came across anything innopropriate, but if you searched explicit things, I'm sure some would come up. What I am saying is, if you stick to the right stuff, you will never come across innopropriate pictures...but there still is a little risk. If you trust your child, and keep track what they are searching, this site is fine. I found so many good ideas and cute pics while I was on this site. I definetely reccomend it!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written byCaroline.Pevenzie May 29, 2014

Pinterest

Pinterest is great but have your limits. If you are a parent, you should tell your child no searching and get them great people to follow so they can pin that. But I love it.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byfangirl913 November 16, 2013

Really good, positive site :)

Pinterest is a great site. Although it can get quite addicting, the makers of Pinterest have positive messages if you search for things like "thigh gap", "bulimia", or "cutting". They promote helplines for people who are struggling with life and things like that.
What other families should know
Great messages
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byRicky_B February 27, 2013

Not for youngsters. Bad help facilities.

Be careful. The site is an open forum for anyone to post pretty much anything. They say that nudity and language content etc is not permitted but clearly, bad language, language not suitable for children, sex references and nudity etc are easily found. The help desk and functions are appallingly!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing

Pages