All member reviews for Poptropica

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Island-hopping adventure is hours of safe fun, but with ads.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 277 reviews)
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written bySnakeRiverMom March 6, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

good for older kids, keep younger ones away!

the islands are too difficult, period. I am an adult and often find myself calming my kids down because they are very upset that they can not move forward in a challenge. Too much "losing" and not enough reward for hours of upset and bad nerves. Only for older kids who are game addicted.
Kid, 11 years old March 18, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Great for kids all ages

This is really good. Poptropica was great for me when I was growing up about at 8 or so... Thats because I never heard of it untill then. Poptropica is very fun and has problem solving in it. There is some violence but its only just when they are problem solving.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Educational value
Great messages
Parent Written byMr Wesley May 11, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Probably best for kids between 8-12.

My kids discovered this site a few months back. I made a quick check to make certain there were obvious spam attacks or inappropriate content, and I found none, so I let them play with the promise that I'd have to come back to dig a little deeper later. Once I started, I found myself sucked into the game for more than a week before I could pry myself away. Poptropica is a platformer/puzzler. The conceit behind the game is that you travel to different islands, each of which feature a different adventure. Themes include everything from history and time travel to world cultures to wacky mad scientists. Genres stretch from mystery to sci-fi and fantasy. This is mainly a single-player game. There are a few mini-games that you can play with other players, but those are easily avoided if you prefer to focus on the larger campaigns. This game is light in tone, but some of the puzzles will be at least a little challenging to adults. And one of the best parts about Poptropica is that it is currently being supported. There's a team constantly developing new islands, and they give previews to new islands through the blog. Compare that to many kid-oriented sites that the creators just seem to abandon and forget to turn out the lights. Now, some drawbacks: Yes there is sometimes advertising in the frame around the game window, and certain islands have corporate sponsorship. But from what I've seen so far, those ads are always in the background and never impact the story. And this is definitely a puzzle game first and an educational tool second. Most worlds are based around some sort of educational goal (history, culture, art), but the factoids kids might learn are incidental to the game play. Since there is absolutely no sound in the game, you do need to be a pretty secure reader in order to understand the rules and goals of each game. Otherwise, younger players will just find themselves clicking about randomly. And it is a bandwidth hog. If you're running an older machine, this game will make it slow to a crawl, which will definitely impact some of the more action-oriented puzzles. Two responses to other reviews I've seen here. I've played through all the worlds available for free at the time, and I saw nothing referring to the Christian creation story. On the other hand, Poptropica rotates in new adventures every few weeks, so that particular island may have been removed. And anyone who thinks they're not allowed to save their game hasn't seen the big blue button in the corner of the game screen that reads "SAVE." Poptropica is just a diversion, really. It's not as involved or violent as World of Warcraft or another MMO, but kids who are too advanced or not advanced enough may become bored quickly. Perhaps the biggest benefit of the game is that you can introduce some deeper discussions about the islands' various themes, to see if your child has developed an interest in them worth furthering.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byJosieGrl April 1, 2011
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Good site

Fun! There are islands for every skill ability. However, some parts of islands are very frustrating even for me! So, basically, it's great! But, just make sure that you don't get overly frustrated!
Kid, 11 years old March 15, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 
Good website I've tried ti a couple of times btu never really liked it. I perfeeer when you can chat without scripts.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old February 10, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
Oh, it is toooooo Scary! I couldn't beat any island all because of big spiders and more scary stuff! :(
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 10 year old Written bycandylove December 23, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
I love it. It is so totally appropriate but, why not let the kids talk I mean let them have one warning and if they do what ever they did at first or something different thing that was bad banned them and make them write an good paper on what they did and what they will or would do if they get back on.Oh, and if they type garbage just banned them. When you guys get their paper discuss what all of you think and vote on it.I am so sorry if I got in the way of what you all are or were already doing but, that was just my opinion.Also my child is an poptropican anyway.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old May 9, 2010
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
I love it! But just 1 problem, I was playing mythology island and when I was helping get the drachma for cleaning the graffiti the computer crashed! so every time i talks to the dude with the bucket it acts like he already gave me the drachma!!! so i cant buy the bag of winds!!! please help!
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Great messages
Adult Written bybasbel October 9, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

COOL

This is so cool
Teen, 15 years old Written byEmmaReads April 26, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Challenging

I used to be a big fan of this site but became too old for it. Poptropica is fun and challenging from beginning to end. It will get your mind working all the way through. Its a great site for all ages (cartoon spiders, etc are involved however).It's a great site, you should try it out!
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byferret lover April 19, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

poptropica is awesome!

Poptropica is a very fun website! and when you go in the chat rooms there are prescript messages for you, thats nice because no one can call you a bad name (etc.) i like lots of of the islands on poptropica, because the islands are not to easy but not to hard. p.s. i cant wait until the new island red dragon comes out! p.p.s. when does red dragon island come out?
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Kid, 9 years old March 11, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

LOVE IT

i have 1 account
What other families should know
Educational value
Parent of a 9 year old Written byjadenmatt February 27, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
we love it
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 9 year old Written bynyla62502 January 28, 2011
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Educational value
Kid, 11 years old January 9, 2011
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Love it!

I love this website! However my 7 year old sister thinks it's too hard so I recomend it for kids 8+. Sometimes it has violence like boss fights and has tons of ads. But the membership isn't so bad, non-members can still go on the same Islands and buy the same stuff at the store. It's also educational and you need to use your brain to solve the islands.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Educational value
Great messages
Parent of a 10 year old Written byjake111 March 7, 2010
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

It gives you kids their own world

It is perfect for kids 8-13.My two kids love it
Parent of a 8 and 13 year old Written bywhatsreal September 11, 2009
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Love this free, online game for a simple good time with some educational benefit

I highly recommend this site! It does have some ads, but they are easily ignored and my 8 year old LOVES this game... she would give it 5 stars :-)
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byClandestine March 15, 2015
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Common Sense and Problem Solving

I've been playing this game since its release in 2007. Several islands are released and each with a great plot and mental challenge. Recently(-ish) most things have become available to members only ... Which really sucks... If your child (or you or whoever) has rage quits or anger issues or a lack of patience they may get easily annoyed when unable to complete a task
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 2, 4, 8, 10, 14, 14, 14, and 17 year old Written byparentof7 March 1, 2015
AGE
2
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

good

my child who just turned 2 loves it
Adult Written byosnapitst February 26, 2015
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Great Game!

Poptropica is a great game for anyone, I have been playing it since age of 9 (when i first discovered it) good even for learning.

Pages