All member reviews for Poptropica

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Kids say

(out of 236 reviews)
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 9 years old July 1, 2013
AGE
7
QUALITY
 

Depends on how much of a problem solver they/you are.

This is my fave website but it just depends on how much IQ your kid has.(I let my brother try to play as a 6 year old when he was 5 but I ended up standing there reading what they were saying the whole time)and its been a year and my brother still needs some help but hes going into first grade now,my point is,your kid needs to be able to understand the island
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much consumerism
Kid, 10 years old July 1, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

We have a Winner!

Poptropica, one of the sites I LOVE entirely. 4 and under is a biiit too much fantasy violence, like swords. Just tell your kids the adventure is NOT real, and the people are sometimes not good role models. Very great site, I think I started playing it when i was five. It's THAT good! try it sometime!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Kid, 10 years old June 30, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

my opinion

I love this game. it's a great game to solve especialy for kids of all ages. in my opinion the next island would be a prehistoric time period with dino's every where
Kid, 12 years old May 29, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Good site for a kid to take a break from homework

When I first played it I loved it! My sister and I have been playing on this site since we were both the age of 8. I personally would suggest this to any person between the age of 8 - 14 (though the best age to play would probably be 9 and up depending on maturity). I'd say the only bad thing about this site is that it may be a bit more difficult for younger one's to play, I mean I even get frustrated with this game sometimes. I wouldn't suggest it to anyone over the age of 15 though, since it's more generally geared towards younger children between the ages of 6-15, and older teens may not get much fun out of it. Very many "worlds" to play in, most are easy, some depending on age may require understanding and help from parents. Some scary things may be present depending on which world, such as: giant caterpillar, shark, giant spider, dark room, villains, zombies, pirates, vampires, ghosts, bandits, monsters, and big dogs. All in all a really good site for kids, maybe to take a break from school for a bit (referring to homeschooling).
Kid, 10 years old April 7, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

awesome website!!!!!

Poptropica is a excellent website for kids just to look for fun and adventure!!!!
Kid, 9 years old March 29, 2013
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Best... game... EVER.

This game is the absolute best I've ever played. It's unlike Club Penguin where you have few things to do as a non-member. This game is different. There is a huge variety of things that non-members can do, and membership increases it even more.
What other families should know
Great messages
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old March 26, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Good, but watch out for stuff.

There's not really anything BAD about poptropica, just be sure that the enemies are mischevous more than violent, you can spend credits when you complete an island, (you can get 50 credits for every completed island but I rmember they gave more like 100 credits back then, oh well.) and the positive message is that it gives you a good idea about teamwork and problem solving skills in each island, but it may be upsetting to younger kids when they can't complete an island. To stop this, go to youtube and search for cheats on how to complete the island.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Teen, 13 years old Written byARandomDude February 24, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Poptropica-10/10

Poptropica Is a really Great Game for 8 and up,There is no hacking,cussing,etc. Poptropica is a game for people that like mystery games,The Membership is really great for people when it expires you keep you items. Not Like Club Peguin You cant keep your suff.
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old January 30, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Fun

I think that this game is great for kids 10 and up. If you get stuck on an island, use the cheats shown on youtube. Just because some of the poptropicans on nabooti have bikkinnis on doesn't mean they are in underwear. My favorite gold card in the store in the medusa card. you canmake other players have snakes.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 17 years old Written byadfadfadfaagarea4t5r December 30, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Busty Chicks Galore

It is like a porn game
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old December 28, 2012
AGE
4
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

I LOVE POPTROPICA SO MUCH AND I WILL NEVER QUIT!

I love Poptropica. On the different islands you can learn and do fun stuff, like battle other players in mini games or go on quests.
Kid, 8 years old November 18, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

the best website ever!

this is really cool!you get to make freinds,be totally safe,and have fun!the only problem is that the violent creatures are so annoying!and the membership cost money, so, i'm not so sure my mom would let me become a member.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old November 2, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Very Fun!!

This is an amazing game! You cant use your own words to chat so language is not an issue... there is NO violence in this game! Its just comical mischief.. ITS a GAME. and anyone under the age of 7 probably won't even know how to use a computer... The game is boring if you don't know how to play because all you do is walk around.. But once you get the hang of it its awesome!!
Kid, 9 years old September 28, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

EH

on wimpy boardwalk a teen says when you lose"NO CIGAR FOR YOU"
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byCSM Screen Name... September 21, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Different Islands Can Be Hit and Miss

Overall, this is a great website with a large variety of island quests, positive messages, and serious privacy protections. However, I just want to let you know that the island quests are very different from each other and that a lot of the newer islands involve more mini games than item collection or questing. For example, the "Poptropolis Games" island is little more than a glorified collection of Olympic-themed arcade-style mini games. Similarly, "Reality TV Island" and "Twisted Thicket Island" are collections of reality-TV themed and forest-themed mini games, respectively. With those three islands as glaring exceptions, most of the other islands involve significant amounts of problem solving and some islands have ingeniously difficult puzzles that even teenagers (like myself) would struggle to solve without resorting to a walk-through, which is why I gave this website three stars for learning. One last caveat: the game asks you MANY, MANY times if you want to buy membership to get bonus items/quests or early access, and while you can't purchase membership directly, the game encourages you to email your parents about buying membership, and this gets annoying for both the kid trying to enjoy the game and potentially the harassed parents as well. On this website, privacy is not an issue, because players use randomized names that are assigned to them by the game and all chatting is scripted, so it is literally impossible for players to share any personal information about themselves. Additionally, one of my favorite privacy controls on this website is that only an email address and a password are required to set up an account. You never have to use your real name or any other personal information (besides your email address) to sign up. Finally, I think this game has positive messages in it that are anti-sexist and anti-racist, because characters in the game world are from a variety of different skin colors (unlike a lot of other online games worlds), and even if you sign up a girl when you create your account, there are no clothes you can't wear in the game that boys can wear (except for beards and mustaches, because that would be anatomically impossible), and there are no titles or actions you can't have/do (you even get to be the sheriff on Wild West Island!). I rated this game ON for five and up because privacy, sex, drugs, and violence are not an issue in this game at all, but children younger than school age might find the puzzles in the game too difficult, the maneuvering with the mouse too taxing, or the amount of reading required to be difficult. However, any kid with moderate reading ability and who can tie their shoes will have all the skills and dexterity needed to play in this online world. So overall, I give this game four stars for positive messages, a variety of entertaining and fantastical islands, and excellent learning opportunities, with minus one star for rampant "membership" ads and a few islands that are merely mini game collections.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much consumerism
Teen, 14 years old Written byHanaaS September 7, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Its fun

Its a very complicated game which is very mind bending and fun, at the same time, its extremely safe, since you can only chat with people with given questions, you cannot type to other people.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 12 years old August 18, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

the game

u learn alot in it
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 8 years old August 12, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Awesome

Awesome. The best. Get an account. Now.
Kid, 10 years old August 8, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Super game!

This is one of the best online games of all time. The islands are fun eventhough I have to use websites such as poptropica cheats in order to complete them. The Poptropica Cheats website has exellent walkthroughs so if you get stumped this is a very good site!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written bysummer114536 August 3, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

sucks

this is the worst game ever
What other families should know
Too much violence

Pages