All member reviews for Poptropica

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Island-hopping adventure is hours of safe fun, but with ads.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 277 reviews)
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 11 years old January 30, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Fun

I think that this game is great for kids 10 and up. If you get stuck on an island, use the cheats shown on youtube. Just because some of the poptropicans on nabooti have bikkinnis on doesn't mean they are in underwear. My favorite gold card in the store in the medusa card. you canmake other players have snakes.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 17 years old Written byadfadfadfaagarea4t5r December 30, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Busty Chicks Galore

It is like a porn game
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old December 28, 2012
AGE
4
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

I LOVE POPTROPICA SO MUCH AND I WILL NEVER QUIT!

I love Poptropica. On the different islands you can learn and do fun stuff, like battle other players in mini games or go on quests.
Parent of an infant, 2, 3, 5, 6, and 11 year old Written byResponsibleParentOf9 December 5, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

BAD BAD BAD

Entertaining and not educational! Get this off the internet NOW! >:(
Kid, 8 years old November 18, 2012
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

the best website ever!

this is really cool!you get to make freinds,be totally safe,and have fun!the only problem is that the violent creatures are so annoying!and the membership cost money, so, i'm not so sure my mom would let me become a member.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old November 2, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Very Fun!!

This is an amazing game! You cant use your own words to chat so language is not an issue... there is NO violence in this game! Its just comical mischief.. ITS a GAME. and anyone under the age of 7 probably won't even know how to use a computer... The game is boring if you don't know how to play because all you do is walk around.. But once you get the hang of it its awesome!!
Kid, 9 years old September 28, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

EH

on wimpy boardwalk a teen says when you lose"NO CIGAR FOR YOU"
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byCSM Screen Name... September 21, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Different Islands Can Be Hit and Miss

Overall, this is a great website with a large variety of island quests, positive messages, and serious privacy protections. However, I just want to let you know that the island quests are very different from each other and that a lot of the newer islands involve more mini games than item collection or questing. For example, the "Poptropolis Games" island is little more than a glorified collection of Olympic-themed arcade-style mini games. Similarly, "Reality TV Island" and "Twisted Thicket Island" are collections of reality-TV themed and forest-themed mini games, respectively. With those three islands as glaring exceptions, most of the other islands involve significant amounts of problem solving and some islands have ingeniously difficult puzzles that even teenagers (like myself) would struggle to solve without resorting to a walk-through, which is why I gave this website three stars for learning. One last caveat: the game asks you MANY, MANY times if you want to buy membership to get bonus items/quests or early access, and while you can't purchase membership directly, the game encourages you to email your parents about buying membership, and this gets annoying for both the kid trying to enjoy the game and potentially the harassed parents as well. On this website, privacy is not an issue, because players use randomized names that are assigned to them by the game and all chatting is scripted, so it is literally impossible for players to share any personal information about themselves. Additionally, one of my favorite privacy controls on this website is that only an email address and a password are required to set up an account. You never have to use your real name or any other personal information (besides your email address) to sign up. Finally, I think this game has positive messages in it that are anti-sexist and anti-racist, because characters in the game world are from a variety of different skin colors (unlike a lot of other online games worlds), and even if you sign up a girl when you create your account, there are no clothes you can't wear in the game that boys can wear (except for beards and mustaches, because that would be anatomically impossible), and there are no titles or actions you can't have/do (you even get to be the sheriff on Wild West Island!). I rated this game ON for five and up because privacy, sex, drugs, and violence are not an issue in this game at all, but children younger than school age might find the puzzles in the game too difficult, the maneuvering with the mouse too taxing, or the amount of reading required to be difficult. However, any kid with moderate reading ability and who can tie their shoes will have all the skills and dexterity needed to play in this online world. So overall, I give this game four stars for positive messages, a variety of entertaining and fantastical islands, and excellent learning opportunities, with minus one star for rampant "membership" ads and a few islands that are merely mini game collections.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much consumerism
Parent Written byGrilledCheese September 16, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

AMAZING!

Don't listen to ResponsibleParentof2! It's not evil! ''Time-Tangled Island" teaches kids about famous people of history and explains that,sometimes,time traveling can be both good and bad!
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byHanaaS September 7, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Its fun

Its a very complicated game which is very mind bending and fun, at the same time, its extremely safe, since you can only chat with people with given questions, you cannot type to other people.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 12 and 12 year old Written byResponibleParentOf2 August 30, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

NO NO NO NO

I had a long talk with the middle school teacher after I learned kids were allowed to play on THIS filth! To think, it's actually entertaining! I said I would report her to the New York Times if she didn't listen to me and she did it :) POPTROPICA IS STILL EVIL.
Kid, 12 years old August 18, 2012
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

the game

u learn alot in it
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 8 years old August 12, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Awesome

Awesome. The best. Get an account. Now.
Kid, 10 years old August 8, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Super game!

This is one of the best online games of all time. The islands are fun eventhough I have to use websites such as poptropica cheats in order to complete them. The Poptropica Cheats website has exellent walkthroughs so if you get stumped this is a very good site!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Teen, 15 years old Written bysummer114536 August 3, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

sucks

this is the worst game ever
What other families should know
Too much violence
Kid, 12 years old July 29, 2012
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Fun harmless problem solving game

Really great game. You can learn a lot on Poptropica. There is some mild violence like, fighting, burglaries, ghosts, things shocking you, and fake weapons (that are more for show). It's a great problem solving game and could increase problem solving skills. Safety is not an issue. They don't use real names and you can't type in questions or answers. They do have personal questions to show off about yourself you don't have to answer them. Example, what color eyes do you have, have you been on a rollercoaster with a loopdy-loop harmless. Except it's very easy to get mad when you can't get something on the game.
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Kid, 8 years old July 15, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

:)

I love poptropica!
Teen, 15 years old Written byinfjsinger July 11, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

I <3 Poptropica!

I really enjoy Poptropica. I loved how you can replay quests add friends and more! There are ads, if ads make your kid want something you should try a Club Penguin Private Server instead. It's a really great game and I always recommend Poptropica to my friends.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Kid, 11 years old June 29, 2012
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

very awesome kid friendly game!

this game is a good game! i played this game for like 6 or 5 years now... and im a member got like 26 medal and i love! im 11 and i still play and it kinda helps you learn, there is alot of violence so i would say its a good game! and there is no swearing because of no chat no bad language no nothing! its perfect! poptropica should be named the best kid-friendly game EVER!
Kid, 9 years old June 29, 2012
AGE
6
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Awesome!

This is a great website for kids but there's some violence in every island. Also in Wimpy Wonderland there's a usage of runt. But I recommend this website for 6 year olds
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing

Pages