Common Sense Media says

Share, rank, and discuss news -- and adult topics.

Learning

Users say

(out of 8 reviews)
age 13+
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written by41w4y5 February 17, 2013
LEARNING

Reddit

Reddit is exactly what it says it is: The front page of the internet. There aren't very many things you won't find on Reddit if you want to. You can find inappropriate images, violence, and other horrific things. You can also stay away from all of that. You can subscribe to different sub-reddits depending on what your interests are to enhance your experience. If you like technology and science, you can subscribe to those. If you want to know weird facts that people learned that day, you can subscribe to TodayILearned. There are thousands of sub-reddits and there's lots of learning possibility.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 15 years old Written byesoccer7 November 17, 2013

Reddit

So first off I love using reddit. There is something in it for everyone. But it is not for everyone. Its kind of hard to explain, but it is all user submitted content. When you first create an account, you are subscribed to a number of subreddits. Some of these include /r/funny, /r/pics, /r/aww, /r/adviceanimals (memes), /r/wtf, /r/gaming, /r/earthporn (amazing pictures of the earth), and books, television, science, just to name a few. subreddits like wtf have lots of content that is definitely not for younger children. posts that are "not safe for work" have a red nsfw label, and thats it. There is absolutely no censoring.Not only does this site become very addicting.(procrastination), There are some parts of reddit that are extremely disturbing. Not default subreddits, but easy to find. seriously some stuff is, well, i cant even describe it. There are also adult subreddits. All in all, parents, this site really isn't for kids.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byEvilSteak December 2, 2012
LEARNING

Reddit is a website that can be used for anything by anyone

I've been a redditor for 2 years now. It's a fun website - but very diverse. Reddit is a lot of fun. Why did I mark everything? Because reddit has a little of everything. Lots of negative messages. Lots of positive messages. It's a website where you can say whatever you want, post whatever you want: be it pornography, funny pictures, posts for advice, posts discussing religion, anything that's legal. Reddit contains a countless number of "subreddits." These are mini-communities within the parameter that is reddit. The subreddits are really what determines the appropriateness. Like I said, there are subreddits dedicated towards promoting drinking, just as there are subreddits dedicated towards ending drinking. It's hard to write a review for a place where you can do whatever you want. It's not the website that needs to be discussed, it's the potential of evil users that needs to be discussed. And about the learning thing.... it's hard. But I have learned a lot from reddit. From educational subreddits. Not all of them are educational, but some are. Like I said, you can post whatever you want. This means there will be a little of everything. It's confusing. Here's the verdict: if you're worried about it, just make them browse the website where you can see what they're doing. Honestly though, it should be OK.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 17 years old Written bytonyrockyhorror August 4, 2014
LEARNING

Reddit Is Everything You Could Want

Sure reddit.com is not necessarily a site for children, I'll admit that. But my 13 year old brother uses it without detriment, so that's gotta count for something, right? Le jokes aside, reddit has literally anything that you could ever want. From news, to cat pictures, to obscure in-jokes and bizarre meta-humour. Reddit is kind of my life, I get most of my jokes and information from there, and a large percentage of my social interaction as well. You can learn anything on reddit. There's r/mensfashionadvice, and r/philosophy, and weird things like r/explainlikedrcox where users sarcastically emulate John C. McGinley's sardonic MD from Scrubs. Yes, there is a lot of swearing...And sexual humor...And it's super easy to find pornographic material, if one so chooses, but reddit is inherently customizable and democratic, so if you aren't too easily offended you'll be fine. It may be mildly addictive, but that's just because it's so massive. Reddit opens up a world of (technically finite) but certainly lucrative possibilities to the enquiring mind. 10/10 would recommend.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byTGGofficial July 1, 2016
LEARNING

A open discussion and sharing platform.

So to start this let me give you a general idea of how Reddit works/what it is. Reddit is a very open user generated discussion/sharing platform. Its basically a Bulletin Board/Forum on steroids. Every user that sings up has the opportunity to share and discuss ANYTHING that they like on things called "subreddits" these subreddits are basically the sub forums of reddit. They are user generated & moderated so what ever the moderator says goes. The thing is I really mean ANYTHING, that is what makes it difficult to rate for children. There are subreddits like r/AskScience, r/AskHistorian and r/aww witch are perfectly innocent and even highly educational! But then turn the page and you got r/Porn r/NSFW r/ass r/pussy r/Gonewild (to name a few). Turn the page again and you got r/BurningKids and r/SexyAbortions (to name a few). Reddit really is impossible to rate because r/aww is perfectly fine for any age, but then you got r/porn that comes along. Opinions on very adult topics are often shared and swearing is extremely common. You also have subs like r/Drugs witch obviously talks about drugs and taking them. 13 I think is fair. You are not as impressionable and know that not all opinions are right and things said true.
Kid, 12 years old May 16, 2016
LEARNING

Reddit can be amazingly fun - or unforgivably scarring.

As my title says, Reddit can literally be anything. It literally has everything on it. From information and other fun stuff about your kid's favorite video game to PORN. Turn on age-restriction and always supervise your children, unless you're absolutely 100% sure you can trust them. Even then, people like to swear and be inappropriate anyways no matter which community they're on so it's safe to limit this website to teens.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byNa11 February 25, 2016
LEARNING

My review

Reddit is a great website that helps connect all types all people, there is a subreddit for everyone, ranging from peanut butter to anime to science. When you find a subreddit, you will find a second home.Reddit is a peaceful and safe community.I think you should go on it today. However, i took away a star due to not real profiles, instead is has a decent "karma" system.
Kid, 11 years old December 7, 2014
LEARNING

It really depends

Reddit is a really cool news site... with downsides. This site is devoted to giving you the latest news and everything, and different types of news are sorted into sections called "subreddits". Most of these are safe, but they can be questionable. (e.g. r/GirlsGoneBitcoin, r/nsfw)
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns