All member reviews for Roblox

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Game creator nurtures skills, but games can be violent.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 531 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Adult Written byparentmoderator November 6, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Waring to parents - abuse not handled well by moderators

Parents be warned - the moderation on this site is less than fair. My son reported an abuse and he was reprimanded as if he were at fault. Then I complained to the only email address I could find for contacting them (I happened to see the abuse) and my kid's account was then banned for 3 days for violating the TOS (although when you read the TOS it does not state this as an offence). So he is victimized both ways, thank you. Great lesson for kids by the people at Roblox. The language used by the gamers is less than desirable and poorly moderated, the focus of the games are generally violent which is inappropriate for the younger crowd. Roblox loads software to your computer which I have found to be invasive and interferes with my loaded programs. Uninstalling is not a clean process either. All in all, try a free account and then spend your money on at home video games for family and friends.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written bySoulxBow February 18, 2011
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Hmm...

I'm 16. I don't know why I play roblox but I guess I wanted to try it out. Off Topic, TONS of innapropriate forums and tons of trolls. Every other word seems to make another user mad. Safety is also a problem. You can even give out where you live in the SAFE chat. To me that's just messed up. I don't think I'm going to stick to roblox.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Educational value
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written byway245 June 14, 2010
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

For Any Age

I love this website. You can go onto games and fight or play minigames or anything. The violence is not bad, you can use rockets/bombs/paintball guns/bouncey balls/sling shots/and many other things. This is not bloody. Your kids can learn about scripting, which is an essential when it comes to video game designing, and you can build whatever you want. Parents, there is no filter with language, ive ran into some people who have a tongue of a sailor. (means they cuss alot) but they get banned and cant get back on ROBLOX. You can buy things in the catalog (not real money, your character earns something called tix/robux that you use to buy other things.) And there is one more thing, ROBLOX players can put anything on their game. You have something called decals that you can paint on walls or your house or anything. Sometimes there is blood on walls, but thats only at like a zombie game or something. This also requires a download to play the games, which isnt alot of MB. Administrators are always standing by to make sure your child is safe, like if someone posted a decal of freddy krueger and admin would check the picture and deny it to be uploaded on ROBLOX. So you dont need to worry about anything image wise. There is a 1 in a thousand change that you will find a game where someone cusses. There is a report button too, that you can click put in the characters name, and tell them what theyve said or done something wrong. And the word "noob"is common. This is not a bad word. If you did something stupid people would call you a noob. This just mean you are new to the game or acting like you are. You can make many friends, and if you have any questions, go to the forum, and ask it. Users respond almost immediately and will help you with your problems.
What other families should know
Educational value
Parent Written bySharon7515 October 15, 2011
AGE
17
QUALITY
 

Corrupt Moderation - Lots of Hating

Recently, my 9 year old son was on the internet (of course with me right behind him monitoring him) and he found this on google, while looking up a kids game website. I saw the website, and it looked legitimate and reasonable, so, I let him make a free account. Soon, he became responsible enough to be allowed to go on alone. Eventually, he started calling his friends at school mean names, which got me a call from the counselor. I decided to temporarily change his password to something only I can log into. I then created an account and started to play the game myself. I immediately noticed severe product advertising (Builder's Club) and the incredibly size of the website. I read in the TOS that all content is user created, and I immediately thought this could be abused, and I was right. I decided to go to a place on the front page of the games page, and the name itself was dissapointing. "Boys and Girls Hangout". I decided to view it some more, and in the description, I found that one of the user created rules was "No ODing". I asked my son what that meant, and he said Online Dating! There are kids online dating on a kids website. I found this completely unacceptable, and decided to enter the place myself. From the start, I was given rude and hurtful (To children) comments about what my Lego like character was wearing. Eventually, they left me alone and I started to view the comments made by other players like "say 123 for a hot bf". I reported them to the game moderator and left the game. The next day, I decided to investigate some more, and found out that my account was banned for reporting kids online dating. They said I was "Lying to Moderation, Online Dating (Which I was reporting them for), and Rude and Offensive Behavior). Frustrated, I read the community rules, and it said that you have to be 13 years or older to be a moderator. That means a teenager has access to something being paid for by a credit card! I put it on my son's computers blocked website list. The community is bad. Your best bet is to stay off it, period.
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written byChris160393 September 1, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Roboblox will poison your child's mind

My 10 year old brother has been playing Roboblox for a few months now and I have noticed his behaviour has become progressively worse. From what I have seen of it, all it consists of is the use of guns to violently murder other players. As a result of the violent nature of this game I have seen him mimic the use of guns and other weaponry to bully other children at his school. I have also noticed that in many cases logos of various companies have been used without permission therefore being a copyright infringement. I propose these violations be dealt with or the site closed down for participating in illegal activity. To any other parents who's children may begin to take part in this scandal, block it for the well being and social health of your child.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent Written byJynuine March 25, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

I STRONGLY CAUTION parents against this game!

First of all, They make this game VERY difficult to properly administrate! Roblox is addictive. I have 7 kids 6 of which would play it over anything else offered. It has games that would work for older and younger ages and lets them be creative. But I must STRONGLY caution parents on this. First of all you should know you cannot cancel accounts. If you pay for Builder's Club- you can cancel your PAYED features... but the account is still there to 'go back to'. In their FAQ's they state: "If there is no Builder's Club subscription associated with an account, then there is nothing that you will need to cancel. Users can stop using their free accounts at anytime. The account will simply remain inactive until you're ready to play ROBLOX again." So if your child decides to sneak onto it- all you can do is message support and try to get it closed somehow. I have not yet been successful. You also cannot disconnect emails from the account. Second of all- Parental controls are a joke. You MUST have whatever password they chose when they created the account and connect it to yours (and you do not have to attach an email to play), so you can have an account you cannot administrate very easily. The only thing you can do is see when they logged in the current area (non clickable) they are playing in, see the number of messages in their mailbox and the number of friends etc and set if their chat is safe or full featured. You cant see or read their mails or manage their password, etc. The chat features and/or disconnecting them from your account are the only options you can control. I find this unacceptable for as much as they claim to be a parent administered game that is safe for kids. My 12 yr old daughter started an alias account for herself and I found out she was being inappropriate because she left herself logged in. Im still trying to figure out how to cancel the account, so far I can't.
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byculinwino3000 June 17, 2010
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Everybody should play it.

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Parent Written byspyro3722 December 3, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

roblox is bad go elsewhere

iv`e played roblox for 2 years and its full of account hackers and game hackers and roblox does nothing to stop all the abuse on the site and a better articall needs to be published about its lack of programming and how unsafe the site is.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 11 and 11 year old Written byResponibleParentOf2 July 12, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Weapon use; GRAPHIC torture references!

I used to let my 10-year-old view this website while he was heavily supervised; NOT anymore! How can NetNanny allow this site? There are TORTURE CHAMBERS and FIGHTING GAMES WITH VERY IMITABLE BEHAVIOR! Disturbing, and not for children! Only for mindless adults!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent of a 9 year old Written byHillbilly Savant February 13, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

User created content = lots of pitfalls

User-created content on the web can be wonderful or a vivid window into the worst of our online behavior. Roblox has both. There are many users who have made some interesting - if frequently violent - worlds and games. And there are many other users who work tirelessly to circumvent the content guidelines and present inappropriate materials. The online dating aspect, in particular, raises a huge red flag for me. Just read the kids reviews here on this site and you'll have some insight into how worrisome this site can be for parents of younger children. (Scary locations/events, violence, bad language, inappropriate messaging)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byteamjireh November 27, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

BEWARE!

My child played Roblox a couple of times after her friend set up an account. As we were checking it out, someone on there said something crude to her. Then we got a notice from our antivirus notifying us that we were in jeopardy of a trojan virus. Parents beware! I shut my child's account down and will not be allowing my child on there ever again!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 5 and 8 year old Written bySadrichards March 25, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

X-rated material found. DO NOT download!!

I thought this was an age appropriate game. My daughter said she played this in the school computer lab. So I thought this would be OK if the school approved it. NOPE! This morning my son got onto Roblox via iPad and right there on the games screen was an x-rated game. There were beds and the figures having sex and giving each other oral sex. I'm NOT joking you!! I was livid!! I deleted it and my kids WILL NOT EVER play this game again!! How am I suppose to explain this to my children?!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent Written byAdultUser03 April 24, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

WORST GAME FOR KIDS

I highly recommend that parents don't allow this garbage in your house. This game is highly addictive and I don't like the effect that it has on my boys. It is currently banned from my household and I recommend parents do the same with their children. In addition, the YouTube videos are moronic and are filled with swearing. I believe the objective of this game is to produce imbeciles for our society for which there is already an abundance. -Mark Clark YEEAAAHHHH
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 7 and 11 year old Written byMaghda April 12, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Roblox is trying to brainwash your kids... beware.

My 10 year old daughter was begging me to let her make an account on ROBLOX for 2 months before I finally looked at it and said "Yes". Then she told me about a game on the front page with 18+ content. She saw 2 nude figures having oral sex, and she saw lots of cuss words flash on her screen. When I tell her it is time to go to bed, she does not, and ROBLOX has a TERRIBLE moderation system. They don't listen to you at all, and they make your eyeballs have to see annoying ads. Sometimes they even make ads for porn sites that are not appropriate for children. I told her to stop playing immediately.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byzc97 March 15, 2010
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Good site, just make sure to monitor your kids

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 17 years old Written byabatonfan June 27, 2012
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Four year player. Parents need to be involved with their child.

I have currently played this game for well over four years and have seen the best and worst of the community. In some of the most popular games, online dating, foul language, and exploiting (people finding ways to break ROBLOX's firewalls to do things from simply adding extra bricks to a published place to inserting severe sexual content) are becoming issues that the ROBLOX team fails to resolve. Though, if parents find places appropriate for their children, the game can become a safe environment where children can practice programming, mathematical, and language skills valuable for a career in gaming design. The community ranges from horrid to superb. There are always your trolls (people posting statements intended to upset certain users, such as "so-and-so is an idiot and should be banned) and buffoons, but it is also known that college students use the site to study programming and enjoy giving a helping hand to newer players. Parents should be warned that there is no way to block a user from contacting your child, and that the ROBLOX moderation and support teams have sup-par responses to issues in its community, including a very rude email from one of the ROBLOX support team when I have sent a complaint about them not taking action against a bully I have been facing for well over a year and countless automatic, fill-in-the-blank, emails for other issues. Parents need to be involved with their children in this game. There is an option where parents can link their accounts to their children's and view things such as punishments given to their child, items bought, and friends recently made. Because this site has a very open filter (the game sometimes filters out swear words and offensive stuff, though it is easy to get around this), there is a potential for very young kids to see something offensive if they are not programmed to not view these chat messages.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byPXYC June 15, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Inappropriate

One of the jobs you can get is "Rapist". That's not very age-appropriate at all.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent of a 3, 7, and 11 year old Written byMidnight Star1 March 22, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

malware, trojan horses and malicious ulr!

My kids were on there 3/21/11 And were hit with 4 malwares, 4 Trojan horses and many malicious ulr. They have played a lot but was hit fast and hard with this stuff yesterday! My Avast stopped every one of them. Norton didn't stop any of them. I say beware of this site.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written byRiversOfNo.5 March 19, 2012
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Lost my faith in humanity

I started this game to spend a bit more time with my sister, and my cousin (who lives too far away to visit very often). I recently stopped within about 5 months of joining, because it had begun to appall me how people were acting on there. Many parents who allow their children to join a virtual site like Roblox are completely blind to the effects it will have on their child. Most children, no matter how mature you think they are, will online date, even pretend to make out and have s** with random strangers online! The moderators can only control so much, too many people are doing these things for them to control it. Girls get into fights with one another, call each other names (I'm not going to go into detail) and constantly bring each other down, when in real life they'd probably get along great and have more respect for each other. Not to mention girls dress their avatar in revealing clothing, such as bikinis or things that resemble bikinis, often just to appeal to boys on the site. That was all focused on girls, now lets move on to boys. They lose a lot of their empathy on virtual worlds involving any kind of weapons, and don't learn to have respect for others. Many young boys "troll", which although they may find fun in, is really bad for your child mentally. Kids start to lose touch with reality, and people still try to say that virtual worlds are "educational" and "improve social skills". Your kids aren't going to admit to doing these things any time soon, but parents should know that these things are happening, and kids are doing these things. Please, just encourage them to do something in real life. And yes, I'm only 13, but I'm sick of seeing kids as young as 9 do these things to each other, and it just makes me sad that kids my age and under are being ruined by a seemingly innocent virtual world! There are good things about Roblox, but in my opinion the cons outnumber the pros.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 14 years old Written byIwaki April 16, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Kids shouldn't be on the Internet. Roblox is an example of why.

I've played Roblox for THREE years now. I can say, it's worse than Sonic Unleashed. First of all, they completely ignore any excessive violence. They ignore all reports on online dating. The filter sucks, and noticeable product placement? DISNEY. Users can add drugs into the game, and kids like my cousin feel insecure playing this.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Safety and privacy concerns

Pages