All member reviews for Roblox

Common Sense Media says

Game creator nurtures skills, but games can be violent.

Learning

Users say

(out of 604 reviews)
age 11+
Review this title!
Adult Written byparentmoderator November 6, 2010

Waring to parents - abuse not handled well by moderators

Parents be warned - the moderation on this site is less than fair. My son reported an abuse and he was reprimanded as if he were at fault. Then I complained to the only email address I could find for contacting them (I happened to see the abuse) and my kid's account was then banned for 3 days for violating the TOS (although when you read the TOS it does not state this as an offence). So he is victimized both ways, thank you. Great lesson for kids by the people at Roblox. The language used by the gamers is less than desirable and poorly moderated, the focus of the games are generally violent which is inappropriate for the younger crowd. Roblox loads software to your computer which I have found to be invasive and interferes with my loaded programs. Uninstalling is not a clean process either. All in all, try a free account and then spend your money on at home video games for family and friends.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Teen, 16 years old Written bySoulxBow February 18, 2011

Hmm...

I'm 16. I don't know why I play roblox but I guess I wanted to try it out. Off Topic, TONS of innapropriate forums and tons of trolls. Every other word seems to make another user mad. Safety is also a problem. You can even give out where you live in the SAFE chat. To me that's just messed up. I don't think I'm going to stick to roblox.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Educational value
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written byway245 June 14, 2010

For Any Age

I love this website. You can go onto games and fight or play minigames or anything. The violence is not bad, you can use rockets/bombs/paintball guns/bouncey balls/sling shots/and many other things. This is not bloody. Your kids can learn about scripting, which is an essential when it comes to video game designing, and you can build whatever you want. Parents, there is no filter with language, ive ran into some people who have a tongue of a sailor. (means they cuss alot) but they get banned and cant get back on ROBLOX. You can buy things in the catalog (not real money, your character earns something called tix/robux that you use to buy other things.) And there is one more thing, ROBLOX players can put anything on their game. You have something called decals that you can paint on walls or your house or anything. Sometimes there is blood on walls, but thats only at like a zombie game or something. This also requires a download to play the games, which isnt alot of MB. Administrators are always standing by to make sure your child is safe, like if someone posted a decal of freddy krueger and admin would check the picture and deny it to be uploaded on ROBLOX. So you dont need to worry about anything image wise. There is a 1 in a thousand change that you will find a game where someone cusses. There is a report button too, that you can click put in the characters name, and tell them what theyve said or done something wrong. And the word "noob"is common. This is not a bad word. If you did something stupid people would call you a noob. This just mean you are new to the game or acting like you are. You can make many friends, and if you have any questions, go to the forum, and ask it. Users respond almost immediately and will help you with your problems.
What other families should know
Educational value
Parent Written bySharon7515 October 15, 2011

Corrupt Moderation - Lots of Hating

Recently, my 9 year old son was on the internet (of course with me right behind him monitoring him) and he found this on google, while looking up a kids game website. I saw the website, and it looked legitimate and reasonable, so, I let him make a free account. Soon, he became responsible enough to be allowed to go on alone. Eventually, he started calling his friends at school mean names, which got me a call from the counselor. I decided to temporarily change his password to something only I can log into. I then created an account and started to play the game myself. I immediately noticed severe product advertising (Builder's Club) and the incredibly size of the website. I read in the TOS that all content is user created, and I immediately thought this could be abused, and I was right. I decided to go to a place on the front page of the games page, and the name itself was dissapointing. "Boys and Girls Hangout". I decided to view it some more, and in the description, I found that one of the user created rules was "No ODing". I asked my son what that meant, and he said Online Dating! There are kids online dating on a kids website. I found this completely unacceptable, and decided to enter the place myself. From the start, I was given rude and hurtful (To children) comments about what my Lego like character was wearing. Eventually, they left me alone and I started to view the comments made by other players like "say 123 for a hot bf". I reported them to the game moderator and left the game. The next day, I decided to investigate some more, and found out that my account was banned for reporting kids online dating. They said I was "Lying to Moderation, Online Dating (Which I was reporting them for), and Rude and Offensive Behavior). Frustrated, I read the community rules, and it said that you have to be 13 years or older to be a moderator. That means a teenager has access to something being paid for by a credit card! I put it on my son's computers blocked website list. The community is bad. Your best bet is to stay off it, period.
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byculinwino3000 June 17, 2010

Everybody should play it.

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Parent Written byJynuine March 25, 2012

I STRONGLY CAUTION parents against this game!

First of all, They make this game VERY difficult to properly administrate! Roblox is addictive. I have 7 kids 6 of which would play it over anything else offered. It has games that would work for older and younger ages and lets them be creative. But I must STRONGLY caution parents on this. First of all you should know you cannot cancel accounts. If you pay for Builder's Club- you can cancel your PAYED features... but the account is still there to 'go back to'. In their FAQ's they state: "If there is no Builder's Club subscription associated with an account, then there is nothing that you will need to cancel. Users can stop using their free accounts at anytime. The account will simply remain inactive until you're ready to play ROBLOX again." So if your child decides to sneak onto it- all you can do is message support and try to get it closed somehow. I have not yet been successful. You also cannot disconnect emails from the account. Second of all- Parental controls are a joke. You MUST have whatever password they chose when they created the account and connect it to yours (and you do not have to attach an email to play), so you can have an account you cannot administrate very easily. The only thing you can do is see when they logged in the current area (non clickable) they are playing in, see the number of messages in their mailbox and the number of friends etc and set if their chat is safe or full featured. You cant see or read their mails or manage their password, etc. The chat features and/or disconnecting them from your account are the only options you can control. I find this unacceptable for as much as they claim to be a parent administered game that is safe for kids. My 12 yr old daughter started an alias account for herself and I found out she was being inappropriate because she left herself logged in. Im still trying to figure out how to cancel the account, so far I can't.
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byspyro3722 December 3, 2011

roblox is bad go elsewhere

iv`e played roblox for 2 years and its full of account hackers and game hackers and roblox does nothing to stop all the abuse on the site and a better articall needs to be published about its lack of programming and how unsafe the site is.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 17 years old Written byabatonfan June 27, 2012
LEARNING

Four year player. Parents need to be involved with their child.

I have currently played this game for well over four years and have seen the best and worst of the community. In some of the most popular games, online dating, foul language, and exploiting (people finding ways to break ROBLOX's firewalls to do things from simply adding extra bricks to a published place to inserting severe sexual content) are becoming issues that the ROBLOX team fails to resolve. Though, if parents find places appropriate for their children, the game can become a safe environment where children can practice programming, mathematical, and language skills valuable for a career in gaming design. The community ranges from horrid to superb. There are always your trolls (people posting statements intended to upset certain users, such as "so-and-so is an idiot and should be banned) and buffoons, but it is also known that college students use the site to study programming and enjoy giving a helping hand to newer players. Parents should be warned that there is no way to block a user from contacting your child, and that the ROBLOX moderation and support teams have sup-par responses to issues in its community, including a very rude email from one of the ROBLOX support team when I have sent a complaint about them not taking action against a bully I have been facing for well over a year and countless automatic, fill-in-the-blank, emails for other issues. Parents need to be involved with their children in this game. There is an option where parents can link their accounts to their children's and view things such as punishments given to their child, items bought, and friends recently made. Because this site has a very open filter (the game sometimes filters out swear words and offensive stuff, though it is easy to get around this), there is a potential for very young kids to see something offensive if they are not programmed to not view these chat messages.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Parent Written byPXYC June 15, 2012
LEARNING

Inappropriate

One of the jobs you can get is "Rapist". That's not very age-appropriate at all.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Parent of a 9 year old Written byHillbilly Savant February 13, 2011

User created content = lots of pitfalls

User-created content on the web can be wonderful or a vivid window into the worst of our online behavior. Roblox has both. There are many users who have made some interesting - if frequently violent - worlds and games. And there are many other users who work tirelessly to circumvent the content guidelines and present inappropriate materials. The online dating aspect, in particular, raises a huge red flag for me. Just read the kids reviews here on this site and you'll have some insight into how worrisome this site can be for parents of younger children. (Scary locations/events, violence, bad language, inappropriate messaging)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written bywerened4868 January 13, 2014

HOW TO KEEP YOUR CHILD SAFE ON ROBLOX

Hi, I've been with Roblox almost when they started so I have some good first hand experience along with how to keep your child safe on the Roblox TIP 1: Make sure your child is using a 12 and under account. This means when your child enters a server (game) they will only be able to view and send pre-made chat messages. In any Roblox game there should be a blue chat bubble to the left of your screen in which you can click and select a chat message. You can go ahead and check out what those messages are by playing a game using a guest account. (Roblox will prompt you to select a male or female guest avatar before entering unless you are logged in with an account). IF your child uses a thirteen and up account you will be able send and receive custom chat messages made by other players and you. The custom chat is censored to an extent but many people find loop holes to bypass censorship. (Meaning there will be rude language passed around). To make sure your child is on a twelve and under account you can go to the top of your home screen on a personal account and click the account button. There you should find an option to change your date of birth, ALWAYS make sure your child is using the correct date of birth. TIP 2: Moniter your child's private messages. Be aware that private messages are NOT moderated and it is up to your child to be honest and report inappropriate content to moderators (I will touch on reporting abuses later). You can access your child's private messaging by going into their account and clicking the chat bubble on the home screen in the top right. TIP 3: Reporting abuses. If your child sees something that seems inappropriate TELL THEM TO TELL YOU FIRST before any course of action is taken. Often times children will report perfectly safe things and get in trouble for it. Anywhere in Roblox a report abuses button exists. It should be red with an exclamation mark in front or behind it. If you think the content is inappropriate YOU fill out the message moderators will recieve. You can be punished for a false report so beware. TIP 4: If you want to know when your child is online or not make their password something only you know. They COULD possibly set up an alternate account, if you see them playing Roblox after they didn't ask you to log them in means something might be fishy. ALWAYS tell your child to click the log out button, sometimes you don't have to log into roblox if you have been on recently (if you have been offline for around a week you will have to log in again). However by pressing the log out button you can make sure the next time your child decides to play Roblox you will have to enter their username and password. TIP 5: Tell them to NEVER give out personal information. I would recommend having a talk with your child about not giving out personal information before using the internet at all. TIP 6: Tell your child that if they feel mad at someone for whatever reason to just leave the game. Even with me, sometimes if someone is taunting me or being rude I just leave. I do use a thirteen plus account and this shouldn't be a problem if your child is using a twelve and under account. My Roblox username is awesomeroblox500 in case you need to ask me any questions through private messaging. I only accept friend requests from people I have actually met, however simply accepting a random friend request on Roblox shouldn't affect your privacy AT ALL, it's sort of like smiling back at someone when they smile at you. I would recommend checking on what your child is doing on Roblox about every 20 minutes. If you see something inappropriate make SURE to report it and tell your child to leave that game. Happy internet surfing.
What other families should know
Easy to play/use
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Parent Written byAdultUser03 April 24, 2013

WORST GAME FOR KIDS

I highly recommend that parents don't allow this garbage in your house. This game is highly addictive and I don't like the effect that it has on my boys. It is currently banned from my household and I recommend parents do the same with their children. In addition, the YouTube videos are moronic and are filled with swearing. I believe the objective of this game is to produce imbeciles for our society for which there is already an abundance. -Mark Clark YEEAAAHHHH
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 8 year old Written bytgreatblueberry September 26, 2012

User-created Clusterfluff (to put it nicely)

This is from an older sister and a fan of videogames. I've played the game myself, and I understand how the moderation works there. This is a game with poor quality and a poor community. It is a clusterfluff (a whirlwind, and dogpile) of both perfectly fine and downright disgusting content. Most areas in ROBLOX are user-created, meaning that there will always, always be pornographic content, cursing, and violence that the moderators just can't catch as fast as it is put up. Although there are many children online, there are just as many teens and 20-somethings you try to break the rules in order to mess with people and younger or inexperienced players. It's not safe for anyone under 12, and it's not a game that has any positive potential for 12 and up, either. My recommendation: there are plenty of other games that are more appropriate for kids out there. Minecraft (only if you know about computers and can safely teach kids how to AVOID the multiplayer component) is a good replacement. Or any console games that don't allow kids to connect online. Safety first! A good rule of thumb: If they can get on the internet through the game, it is unsafe. Always. Only kids who are taught internet safety, over 13 years of age, and are quite responsible should be messing with others online. It's not a question of how "good" your kid is, the game's issue is really a question of a lack of control of what others will do to your kid.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent of a 11 year old Written byJustForTheKids August 28, 2013

ROBLOX is NOT safe for kids!

ROBLOX is "supposedly" a game where your child can make friends and build for free. But, however most of this is a lie, and here's why. Just about everything on this site costs money, so you can buy "Builder's Club", but however. most people on this game mock you because you don't have it. This site is a bully, hacker, and pervert playground. Every game on here has someone who calls another person a "noob" because they kill them. However, sometimes in roleplay games, "Online Daters" will have s3x other players and make it sound like that they're giving birth. I think this site should be shut down, because most parents wouldn't spend 350 dollars just to show their child pornographic materials. P.S. for all you parents out there, Adults CAN play on this site, so I suggest whenever your child plays, you follow them and keep them from watching something violent, because there are some games out there named "Bloody Mary" where lots of blood is shown.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byMichaelTE December 2, 2011

Parents should monitor their kids, but know that the staff works well to keep the game clean

ROBLOX is a very educational game and inspires kids to learn. Moderators do a good job of monitoring the site and generally keep it safe. Violence is frequently seen in games, considering that this is the type of audience that the game caters to. Privacy is only an issue if kids are not taught to be safe. In many instances, people have complained that their kids are not safe because users try to get personal information from people. Although this does not often happened, and is exaggerated by parents, the fact may be their fault because they are leaving their kids uneducated; this is probably the main reason that privacy is an issue. Another complaint that many parents had was the online dating factor. The site does NOT support online dating, and will take moderation actions on kids that pretend to have "girlfriends" or "boyfriends." Language is not an issue at all. In game chat filters, as well as over the website, there are filters that filter any language besides the minor "hell" that players might try to shout out. Disguising of language to try to bypass filters is looked for by moderators, and is most always found and punished. The final issue is consumerism. This is probably the most major issue on Roblox. There are MANY ads that link to different companies which are place in banners and rectangles all over the site. Parents should know that users can also create their own ads to solicit items that they have created which feature images and captions (which are both moderated). Also, ROBLOX has recently been showing video ads for different companies before users enter a place (these companies are generally ones such as insurance, phone carriers, car companies, and etc. that advertise). Although Roblox does have its flaws, it is mostly a friendly game that encourages children to build and program. Issues are only minor issues that can be found in a game as friendly as Disney's Club Penguin, but are over-exaggerated often. ROBLOX is probably best for kids in their early teens and up.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 14 years old Written byIwaki April 16, 2011

Kids shouldn't be on the Internet. Roblox is an example of why.

I've played Roblox for THREE years now. I can say, it's worse than Sonic Unleashed. First of all, they completely ignore any excessive violence. They ignore all reports on online dating. The filter sucks, and noticeable product placement? DISNEY. Users can add drugs into the game, and kids like my cousin feel insecure playing this.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educational value
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 3, 7, and 11 year old Written byMidnight Star1 March 22, 2011

malware, trojan horses and malicious ulr!

My kids were on there 3/21/11 And were hit with 4 malwares, 4 Trojan horses and many malicious ulr. They have played a lot but was hit fast and hard with this stuff yesterday! My Avast stopped every one of them. Norton didn't stop any of them. I say beware of this site.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written byzc97 March 15, 2010

Good site, just make sure to monitor your kids

What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 10 years old April 4, 2013

Do not go on this site, EVER!

I would not go on this website if I were you, people call each other 'noobs'. People also swear a lot. Plus, people online date even though it is against the website rules. And also, Roblox is EXTREMELY greedy. There's this stuff called 'Robux' that can be used to buy cool stuff, but guess what? You need to use real money to pay for it! And there are LOTS of weapons in this game. There are, bombs, nukes, and even guns.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 10 years old December 28, 2013

worst game ever!

I have played Roblox for almost 2 years.I have seen private parts of the body.my dad has been scammed twice because he was charged twice.I have been banned twice for no reason once for 3 days and today for 1 day.There is poor moderation twice I have reported and Roblox didn't nothing.I have been called very hurtful things.There is one person who has bullied me since I have started he has been putting that I have to be banned from his server...that was the only time I reported and it worked.I would not recommend this game to anyone under 18 years of age.They say it is "child friendly" but it is not. There is a lot of favoritism on Roblox because there is an account called ROBLOX that is friends with the server called Apocalypse Rising and that is ROBLOX's favorite server.My dad thought this game was okay at first after the first month there was stuff on boys and girls hangout like 123 for a hot bf or gf.And they will ban you for no reason after the fifth time they ban you your ip. address and your computer.People will make fun of you if you do not have builders club.People have threatened me like saying they are going to kill me.Once I was on a server I got attacked using very in appropriate description.Then I got a nasty message from somebody saying... roses are red violets are blue I have five fingers the middle one is for you.Then the same person said he was gonna stab me with his knife and he was going to shoot me in the eye with his BB gun then Roblox started attacking my parents that they owed them $1800.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages