Parents say

(out of 181 reviews)
age 12+
Review this title!
Adult Written byparentmoderator November 6, 2010

Waring to parents - abuse not handled well by moderators

Parents be warned - the moderation on this site is less than fair. My son reported an abuse and he was reprimanded as if he were at fault. Then I complained to the only email address I could find for contacting them (I happened to see the abuse) and my kid's account was then banned for 3 days for violating the TOS (although when you read the TOS it does not state this as an offence). So he is victimized both ways, thank you. Great lesson for kids by the people at Roblox. The language used by the gamers is less than desirable and poorly moderated, the focus of the games are generally violent which is inappropriate for the younger crowd. Roblox loads software to your computer which I have found to be invasive and interferes with my loaded programs. Uninstalling is not a clean process either. All in all, try a free account and then spend your money on at home video games for family and friends.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent Written byAllSeason October 29, 2013

Lots of sexuality

This is a game not recommended for younger children, and should be with someone older. I was watching my son play this game a few times, and there seem's to be lots of hacks going on where a nude image of a female appeared. Also my son's character was followed by a female with no clothes like she was trying to have sex, and there seems to be sexual activity on this site. Roblox doesn't seem to be aware of it or not making an effort to fix these problems as I emailed them. It is a problem has anyone recorded any videos of inappropriate things on the game?
Parent of a 8 year old Written bytgreatblueberry September 26, 2012

User-created Clusterfluff (to put it nicely)

This is from an older sister and a fan of videogames. I've played the game myself, and I understand how the moderation works there. This is a game with poor quality and a poor community. It is a clusterfluff (a whirlwind, and dogpile) of both perfectly fine and downright disgusting content. Most areas in ROBLOX are user-created, meaning that there will always, always be pornographic content, cursing, and violence that the moderators just can't catch as fast as it is put up. Although there are many children online, there are just as many teens and 20-somethings you try to break the rules in order to mess with people and younger or inexperienced players. It's not safe for anyone under 12, and it's not a game that has any positive potential for 12 and up, either. My recommendation: there are plenty of other games that are more appropriate for kids out there. Minecraft (only if you know about computers and can safely teach kids how to AVOID the multiplayer component) is a good replacement. Or any console games that don't allow kids to connect online. Safety first! A good rule of thumb: If they can get on the internet through the game, it is unsafe. Always. Only kids who are taught internet safety, over 13 years of age, and are quite responsible should be messing with others online. It's not a question of how "good" your kid is, the game's issue is really a question of a lack of control of what others will do to your kid.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byculinwino3000 June 17, 2010

Everybody should play it.

What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Parent Written byJynuine March 25, 2012

I STRONGLY CAUTION parents against this game!

First of all, They make this game VERY difficult to properly administrate! Roblox is addictive. I have 7 kids 6 of which would play it over anything else offered. It has games that would work for older and younger ages and lets them be creative. But I must STRONGLY caution parents on this. First of all you should know you cannot cancel accounts. If you pay for Builder's Club- you can cancel your PAYED features... but the account is still there to 'go back to'. In their FAQ's they state: "If there is no Builder's Club subscription associated with an account, then there is nothing that you will need to cancel. Users can stop using their free accounts at anytime. The account will simply remain inactive until you're ready to play ROBLOX again." So if your child decides to sneak onto it- all you can do is message support and try to get it closed somehow. I have not yet been successful. You also cannot disconnect emails from the account. Second of all- Parental controls are a joke. You MUST have whatever password they chose when they created the account and connect it to yours (and you do not have to attach an email to play), so you can have an account you cannot administrate very easily. The only thing you can do is see when they logged in the current area (non clickable) they are playing in, see the number of messages in their mailbox and the number of friends etc and set if their chat is safe or full featured. You cant see or read their mails or manage their password, etc. The chat features and/or disconnecting them from your account are the only options you can control. I find this unacceptable for as much as they claim to be a parent administered game that is safe for kids. My 12 yr old daughter started an alias account for herself and I found out she was being inappropriate because she left herself logged in. Im still trying to figure out how to cancel the account, so far I can't.
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 11 year old Written byJustForTheKids August 28, 2013

ROBLOX is NOT safe for kids!

ROBLOX is "supposedly" a game where your child can make friends and build for free. But, however most of this is a lie, and here's why. Just about everything on this site costs money, so you can buy "Builder's Club", but however. most people on this game mock you because you don't have it. This site is a bully, hacker, and pervert playground. Every game on here has someone who calls another person a "noob" because they kill them. However, sometimes in roleplay games, "Online Daters" will have s3x other players and make it sound like that they're giving birth. I think this site should be shut down, because most parents wouldn't spend 350 dollars just to show their child pornographic materials. P.S. for all you parents out there, Adults CAN play on this site, so I suggest whenever your child plays, you follow them and keep them from watching something violent, because there are some games out there named "Bloody Mary" where lots of blood is shown.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byTalvorn V March 7, 2015

@All Complaining Parents

I'm a ROBLOX player, so I'll try and make this with as little bias as I possibly can. You people complain that the safety of the game is at a low. Really, I think it all comes down to the PARENT monitoring. The ROBLOX moderators can't monitor every game, as there are thousands. You also say that there are "trolls" and people who "insult you." This place is known as the forums. First off, I'd like to welcome you to the internet. People like that are EVERYWHERE. There's no getting around them. Secondly, I'd like to add that the forums are the only place on this game that isn't kid-friendly. People 12+ are really the only ages that should be allowed on the forums. Once again, up to the PARENTS to keep them off of there. (although i do believe only accounts with a 13+ age can post on them.) Thanks, ROBLOX User BIoodiedAmsel
What other families should know
Great messages
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 2, 8, 8, and 10 year old Written byestarski January 20, 2014

Beware the pedophiles!

Unfortunately, the site has horrible moderation. My 8 year old daughter was playing just as our boys do. She brought it to my attention that (what appears to be a hack) there were pornographic images floating around the game world. Like seriously, hardcore explicitly sexual images! I'm not sure if these were caused by other kids trying to cause trouble; or, in my fear, perverted adults who are easily able to join the kids in the game.
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byspyro3722 December 3, 2011

roblox is bad go elsewhere

iv`e played roblox for 2 years and its full of account hackers and game hackers and roblox does nothing to stop all the abuse on the site and a better articall needs to be published about its lack of programming and how unsafe the site is.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byAdultUser03 April 24, 2013

WORST GAME FOR KIDS

I highly recommend that parents don't allow this garbage in your house. This game is highly addictive and I don't like the effect that it has on my boys. It is currently banned from my household and I recommend parents do the same with their children. In addition, the YouTube videos are moronic and are filled with swearing. I believe the objective of this game is to produce imbeciles for our society for which there is already an abundance. -Mark Clark YEEAAAHHHH
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 9 year old Written byHillbilly Savant February 13, 2011

User created content = lots of pitfalls

User-created content on the web can be wonderful or a vivid window into the worst of our online behavior. Roblox has both. There are many users who have made some interesting - if frequently violent - worlds and games. And there are many other users who work tirelessly to circumvent the content guidelines and present inappropriate materials. The online dating aspect, in particular, raises a huge red flag for me. Just read the kids reviews here on this site and you'll have some insight into how worrisome this site can be for parents of younger children. (Scary locations/events, violence, bad language, inappropriate messaging)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written byParentsNeedToKnow November 15, 2013

Worst game you could possibly let your kids play.

ROBLOX is full of catfish and other people who will ALWAYS do whatever means possible to harm your child. I am a former ROBLOX player, and the ROBLOX administrators don't give a hoot whether or not you find a problem with a game called "S.E.X For 18+!" which is a game on a kids website teaching them about the wonderful world of that and even being able to simulate it for themselves. It was very graphic, and some of the games in ROBLOX can contain seriously bloody content. There were games called "Call of Robloxia" which is actually just Call of Duty in ROBLOX, just as bloody and everything! If you choose to have a free account on ROBLOX, if your child makes a single spelling error or any odd sentence (For example: I want to suck my thumb!) the admins will directly BAN you. They claim it's "inappropriate" but it's quickly revealed to be a load of crap because the admins will increase your ban if you say "I don't see what's wrong with this." If you have a paid account, you can violate any rule and you will not have action taken against you for possibly a month. This is no coincidence. I have tested my theory on my Outrageous Builders Club account ($20 a month) and my free alternate. On my free alternate on an unpopulated game, I said "i like boobs" and was quickly disconnected and banned. My Outrageous Builders Club said the same thing, and no administration was ever taken on said account. An admin known as "Telamon (John Shedletsky)" will ban players for no reason, do whatever he wants for the reason of "it's his game so he can do whatever he wants haha". He will strip your kids of their $20 a month benefits by banning their accounts for absolute crap. Avoid this game at all costs. Kids are exposed to drugs and many other illegal things (a game called Club Christy had marijuana in it) and is not suitable for anyone at all. ROBLOX will do their best to make your child miserable over not having Builders Club and even advertise porn sites. Do not let your kids play this. You have been warned.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byNJKirkie July 29, 2012

Don't let your kids get hooked, stay away!

My 6yr old son has become obsessed with this game recently. But since playing it he has gotten very naughty and confrontational, in fact all 3 of my children have, they fall out over who has played on it the longest etc. They also refuse to come off when time is up to go out or to bed! I think it has no regards for copyrights as uses lots of characters from tv which seems to make the addiction to play stronger! We are now banning this in our house, I'm sure there a more intelligent games, with better graphics, out there for children to play.
Parent Written byMichaelTE December 2, 2011

Parents should monitor their kids, but know that the staff works well to keep the game clean

ROBLOX is a very educational game and inspires kids to learn. Moderators do a good job of monitoring the site and generally keep it safe. Violence is frequently seen in games, considering that this is the type of audience that the game caters to. Privacy is only an issue if kids are not taught to be safe. In many instances, people have complained that their kids are not safe because users try to get personal information from people. Although this does not often happened, and is exaggerated by parents, the fact may be their fault because they are leaving their kids uneducated; this is probably the main reason that privacy is an issue. Another complaint that many parents had was the online dating factor. The site does NOT support online dating, and will take moderation actions on kids that pretend to have "girlfriends" or "boyfriends." Language is not an issue at all. In game chat filters, as well as over the website, there are filters that filter any language besides the minor "hell" that players might try to shout out. Disguising of language to try to bypass filters is looked for by moderators, and is most always found and punished. The final issue is consumerism. This is probably the most major issue on Roblox. There are MANY ads that link to different companies which are place in banners and rectangles all over the site. Parents should know that users can also create their own ads to solicit items that they have created which feature images and captions (which are both moderated). Also, ROBLOX has recently been showing video ads for different companies before users enter a place (these companies are generally ones such as insurance, phone carriers, car companies, and etc. that advertise). Although Roblox does have its flaws, it is mostly a friendly game that encourages children to build and program. Issues are only minor issues that can be found in a game as friendly as Disney's Club Penguin, but are over-exaggerated often. ROBLOX is probably best for kids in their early teens and up.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byMerlinJnr November 11, 2013

Use site with extreme caution - in fact, stay well clear

Though i applaud the environment for enhancing creativity and design, i say, stick with mine craft and other better moderated sites. my issues here are: 1. A child with an email address can create an account WITHOUT the knowledge of a parent 2. The child can then set whatever privacy level they want 3. The language in game is often not good 4. The site is a hive of game/account exploitation. Hacking 'is the buzz word' amongst my sons friends. 5. There are sites that offer 'cheat engines' that you're kids WILL find online. They will be told by other users they are safe. But they are not. I am in the process of restoring my sons laptop to factory setting to ensure his laptop is clean following theft of his account (happened 3 times). Anti virus found a Trojan that was freely exploiting his laptop. 4. Though you may try you're best to monitor your child's activity, it only takes one bad click on a link for the damage to be done. (this brings me to spam: the site has much advertising not aimed at kids. It is easy to click on links whist a game loads). Roblox is now banned in my house. The choice is yours of course, but until a more professional company buy roblox and bring it up to the secure standards of say Disney's club penguin', i would recommend staying well clear. sorry for the rant, but if no one shares their negative experiences, no one will be the wiser and the company wont take steps to improve.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written bycarriway August 2, 2012

Unacceptable

Dear parents, There is a game called Roblox that lots of children are playing. It seemed innocent enough at first, but I assure you it is not suitable for Children. They have a lovely page for parents that tells them it is. There doesn't even seem to be an admin or anything in charge and the cyber bulling is out of control there. When trying to even find someone to complain to, I was bombarded with messages like "die soccer mom". if you have a child playing this game I suggest you remove them from it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 8 year old Written byProfMama May 25, 2013

Roblox

It's great! I love it even though I'm just 8, but my mom doesn't like it.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Parent Written byhelper + April 7, 2012

love it

i love roblox i have obc and it is fine and good to play
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Parent of a 12 year old Written byKnwoitall February 13, 2011

Users playing this game cause trouble

Users inside the game bring in profanity and plenty of rude behavior. Best to have safe chat. Services are iffy, and moderation many times fails.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Parent of an infant year old Written byBogdansEyebrows August 31, 2015
This game, this MONSTROSITY, is ugly. Ugly in the sense that I went to a place called Frappe cafe (on my child account) and I was banned for asking for a simple, classic, black coffee. The users called me a "troll" and told me to get out, then had me "banned from the server". I don't know what this means, but the community is toxic and evil and ugly and cruel and my child will NOT have to be oppressed by people who want him removed because he simply wanted to talk to them. The moderationers are terrible and my child, because of this game, wants to murder people and broke 3 computers.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages