Parent reviews for Roblox

Common Sense says

Game creator nurtures skills, but games can be violent.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 11+
Based on 699 reviews

Kids say

age 10+
Based on 1346 reviews
Adult Written byparentmoderator November 6, 2010

Waring to parents - abuse not handled well by moderators

Parents be warned - the moderation on this site is less than fair. My son reported an abuse and he was reprimanded as if he were at fault. Then I complained to the only email address I could find for contacting them (I happened to see the abuse) and my kid's account was then banned for 3 days for violating the TOS (although when you read the TOS it does not state this as an offence). So he is victimized both ways, thank you. Great lesson for kids by the people at Roblox. The language used by the gamers is less than desirable and poorly moderated, the focus of the games are generally violent which is inappropriate for the younger crowd. Roblox loads software to your computer which I have found to be invasive and interferes with my loaded programs. Uninstalling is not a clean process either. All in all, try a free account and then spend your money on at home video games for family and friends.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Parent Written byculinwino3000 June 17, 2010

Everybody should play it.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Adult Written byHugh J. March 25, 2017

You are all overreacting about this game.

My son has played this game since 2012, and I've played a lot with him. I do admit I've played some on my own time, as well. Only recently have I started hearing these articles about overreacting parents saying this game is toxic. Now some things I agree on, such as the moderation system not all that great. But ROBLOX is a great online game. It can let children use their imagination to build anything they want, and it offers older users the ability to use their hard work and skills to make some cash. These articles coming out about how the game and it's players are all toxic annoy me very much. I can tell you that out of the time I've spend playing the game with my son, I have RARELY ever seen anyone doing anything inappropriate. Players like what these overreacting parents think make up an extreme minority of the community, and the moderation teams do try their best to take care of them (though I do believe they could do more). Sometimes these aren't even real people, they're BOTS, accounts created to send messages to random people, and they do get taken care of, believe me. My son has even been complaining recently about it, because these overreacting parents are starting to restrict some of the BASIC FUNCTIONS OF THE GAME, such as being allowed to properly have a conversation. Random words are being censored that in no way would harm anybody. Also, it's like these other parents don't realize there are features that lets you disable communications with your child's account COMPLETELY. So, this game is actually very good. There aren't any other ones like it. It's unique and generally has a good community. Toxic players make up a very tiny minority and are dealt with. There is no reason for parents to be overreacting like they are.
Adult Written byMichaelTE December 2, 2011

Parents should monitor their kids, but know that the staff works well to keep the game clean

ROBLOX is a very educational game and inspires kids to learn. Moderators do a good job of monitoring the site and generally keep it safe. Violence is frequently seen in games, considering that this is the type of audience that the game caters to. Privacy is only an issue if kids are not taught to be safe. In many instances, people have complained that their kids are not safe because users try to get personal information from people. Although this does not often happened, and is exaggerated by parents, the fact may be their fault because they are leaving their kids uneducated; this is probably the main reason that privacy is an issue. Another complaint that many parents had was the online dating factor. The site does NOT support online dating, and will take moderation actions on kids that pretend to have "girlfriends" or "boyfriends." Language is not an issue at all. In game chat filters, as well as over the website, there are filters that filter any language besides the minor "hell" that players might try to shout out. Disguising of language to try to bypass filters is looked for by moderators, and is most always found and punished. The final issue is consumerism. This is probably the most major issue on Roblox. There are MANY ads that link to different companies which are place in banners and rectangles all over the site. Parents should know that users can also create their own ads to solicit items that they have created which feature images and captions (which are both moderated). Also, ROBLOX has recently been showing video ads for different companies before users enter a place (these companies are generally ones such as insurance, phone carriers, car companies, and etc. that advertise). Although Roblox does have its flaws, it is mostly a friendly game that encourages children to build and program. Issues are only minor issues that can be found in a game as friendly as Disney's Club Penguin, but are over-exaggerated often. ROBLOX is probably best for kids in their early teens and up.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written bymitsukozen June 6, 2016

Inappropriate Content

I have been on the fence about this website until today. Today, I blocked the website from my son's computer and uninstalled it from his iPad. A hacker replaced kitten wall paper in a game with anime porn. Because of this I would say it is not safe for children.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Parent Written bycarriway August 2, 2012

Unacceptable

Dear parents, There is a game called Roblox that lots of children are playing. It seemed innocent enough at first, but I assure you it is not suitable for Children. They have a lovely page for parents that tells them it is. There doesn't even seem to be an admin or anything in charge and the cyber bulling is out of control there. When trying to even find someone to complain to, I was bombarded with messages like "die soccer mom". if you have a child playing this game I suggest you remove them from it.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written bygamerrider July 15, 2016
Adult Written byspyro3722 December 3, 2011

roblox is bad go elsewhere

iv`e played roblox for 2 years and its full of account hackers and game hackers and roblox does nothing to stop all the abuse on the site and a better articall needs to be published about its lack of programming and how unsafe the site is.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 9 year old Written byHillbilly Savant February 13, 2011

User created content = lots of pitfalls

User-created content on the web can be wonderful or a vivid window into the worst of our online behavior. Roblox has both. There are many users who have made some interesting - if frequently violent - worlds and games. And there are many other users who work tirelessly to circumvent the content guidelines and present inappropriate materials. The online dating aspect, in particular, raises a huge red flag for me. Just read the kids reviews here on this site and you'll have some insight into how worrisome this site can be for parents of younger children. (Scary locations/events, violence, bad language, inappropriate messaging)

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byRealParent August 12, 2015

You parents don't understand.

You can create your own games in studio, its not like the site owners create millions of games including sex related content. Of course these games are possible to make and pretty easy, if you review the game first to tell if it has any nudity or violence your family is against then boom solved the problem. Also make sure you enable under 13 mode (Even though it blocks swear words anyway), this is a great platform for your children to play, create and put their imagination into perspective.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Parent of a 12 year old Written byKnwoitall February 13, 2011

Users playing this game cause trouble

Users inside the game bring in profanity and plenty of rude behavior. Best to have safe chat. Services are iffy, and moderation many times fails.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Parent Written byBLS_dad July 9, 2016

Not safe for children

Allowed daughter to sign up based on Common Sense review that it was safe for kids. If I could do it over, I would never have allowed it. She was subjected to sexual comments and ended up deleting the app herself. Lesson learned.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byBeetleFrustration October 16, 2015

It's a learning experience- If your kids can handle it.

There are pros and cons to this site. First of all, if you're thinking since it downloads software it downloads malware, you're wrong. It's a safe download, and if you have any trouble downloading there's plenty of help to be found. As for the benefits of this site, it's a very good learning experience for your children. They learn about business and buying/selling, they learn how to create games with the easy to find and very detailed game creation tutorials and scripting tutorials, putting them on the path to learning programming languages (The one used in this site is called ROBLOX Lua, it's excellent), and they learn about how to keep and stick to a budget. There's the option to upgrade your account to Builder's Club, and there are plenty of features to be used with this. However, the site also has some flaws. It's very easy for younger children to end up on phishing sites from bot-accounts made by the owners of those sites. Before allowing your child to make an account, make sure they are aware of web-safety and how to keep their account from being stolen. If your child is educated on web safety (Which they should be educated on before being allowed to browse the internet), there are no concerns.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Parent of a 5 year old Written byRocksAndBlocks May 7, 2010

Great Game for all Ages

I would recomend to kid odler then 8 but my 5 year old stepsister plays it with no consern. Roblox gives a chance for kid to grow and devolpe in a creative envierment; it is a great game for kids to play, explore, learn, and advance in this way I would highly recomend Roblox to anyone.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Parent of a 9 year old Written byNina Traviesa June 19, 2016

ROBLOX

My daughter plays ROBLOX all the time. I decided, as her parent to look into it. I found that it is free unless you want a membership. If your child is interested in programming, then you have hit the jackpot. IN this game, you can create games for others to play and play games others created. I highly recommend you have your child play ROBLOX

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Parent Written bytanner a. May 22, 2017

I like the false reviews and slander.

ROBLOX. Has been a child-friendly game since it was released in 2006. People are falsely reviewing the game saying their child was sent pornographic images or some website popped up. Listen, ROBLOX doesn't allow images to be sent through chats and they have a character limit of 150 in messages. A website would only pop up if your child clicked on them through another user sending a bypassed link. And no the sex or swearing or drugs, drinking, etc. has absolutely nothing to do with ROBLOX at all. Some people think they're funny by releasing a game on the site with those kinds of things. ROBLOX is fast to ban and so is the community. If the game's thumbnail is bad it won't be shown. If the title of the game is bad it will be censored into "[Content Deleted]" along with the description. Sometimes that user can have their account terminated or banned. ROBLOX is overall kid-friendly and all of the other reviews slandering ROBLOX are false. Those news websites that post something and don't allow you to comment on them or blogs. They can be determined as false. Don't listen to what people say on here or anywhere else. The game is for 8-year-olds to 16-year-olds. It's not full of pedophiles or anything not suitable for children. This review is legitimate.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written byA H April 13, 2017

Shocked at the sex talk

An 11 year old I know was propositioned on here, she said no and her online Roblox character was picked up and thrown into the bed...can I call this online rape? A different day she was in the hotel and some roblox guy appeared in her shower. When I found this out, the account was canceled. When I watched her play, I saw the fun games and cute clothing contests, but because she wanted to play all of the time all of these new layers of the game were revealed. The character who "raped" her character also used other language with her in the chat box that made it seem like he was a lot older than she was. Creepy. Parents be on guard.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 9 year old Written byroaringmini May 17, 2011

Roblox & legos

I know what your thinking... WHY 7!!!!! I tell you why now.. Ok yes.. There is some killing.. And in some games its like blood... But the blood is transparent red sqaures.. And deaths are just your person falling apart... Its like sliding de-attatched legos across a floor... But there is LOTS of game that arent inappropriate... Such as the Hide and seek in a giant house, Obstacle corses, Roleplaying, And building games... See? I think roblox isnt that bad.. Its just like LEGOS!!!

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Adult Written byTheDerp October 23, 2015

Stop Hating it, Be smart on the site

For all the people (or kids), You might run into a ODER (Online Dater), These people are EASY to avoid by just walking away, You don't need to ban your kid from Roblox it might make them sad witch is worse than them getting asked "want to date?" So just let them play.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written byhellaradparenting November 7, 2014

yes

my children love this!!!!!!!

This title contains:

Positive Messages

Pages