Find the best for your family

See what's streaming, limit strong violence or language, and find picks your kids will love with Common Sense Media Plus.

Join now

Parent reviews for Roblox

Common Sense says

Game creator can nurture skills; games, chat may be violent.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 11+
Based on 964 reviews

Kids say

age 10+
Based on 2110 reviews
Parent Written byWendy W. January 14, 2017

Don't let the cute animation fool you! It's not for young kids!

At first my child began playing what I thought was a cute little game with chubby little characters, no harm. They were in Neverland, right? She soon found herself exploring more games. I pretty much live in my kitchen and thats where our family office is so I was always checking out what she was playing. I didn't much like it that it was multiplayer at first but she's 8 and chatting isnt something she had ever done, she didnt even like to type and sens a text for me if I was busy and would ask her! However, it didnt take long for her to learn on this game! As time went on I began to witness chat screens full of abbreviations like wtf lmao and such....then when my sister was watching her play over her shoulder she saw people offering "sex pics for robucks" So, girls are making in game currency for naked photos!? That day we had a long, serious talk and Roblox was deleted from all our devices and blocked on the computers. She did learn more than I was ready for her to, but I hope we got her out of there in time. So, I would strongly urge parents of younger kids to keep them out of Roblox!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Parent of a 1, 9, and 15 year old Written bysarahbeautyxoxo January 18, 2015

Language, bad moderation, and too violent.

My 15 year old daughter used to play Roblox. I bought her Builders Club, as a surprise birthday gift. She was banned for three days for telling someone to stop using the F word, and I wanted to check ROBLOX out for myself. I created an account and went on a game. I saw people swearing and dating online. The games on there were very violent. My daughter ended up telling me that she canceled her BC and deleted her account because there was too much sex, violence, swearing, and she just couldn't take it. BE CAUTIOUS on this website. If you're under 18, DO NOT PLAY THIS GAME.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 9 year old Written byroaringmini May 17, 2011

Roblox & legos

I know what your thinking... WHY 7!!!!! I tell you why now.. Ok yes.. There is some killing.. And in some games its like blood... But the blood is transparent red sqaures.. And deaths are just your person falling apart... Its like sliding de-attatched legos across a floor... But there is LOTS of game that arent inappropriate... Such as the Hide and seek in a giant house, Obstacle corses, Roleplaying, And building games... See? I think roblox isnt that bad.. Its just like LEGOS!!!

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Parent of a 5 year old Written byRocksAndBlocks May 7, 2010

Great Game for all Ages

I would recomend to kid odler then 8 but my 5 year old stepsister plays it with no consern. Roblox gives a chance for kid to grow and devolpe in a creative envierment; it is a great game for kids to play, explore, learn, and advance in this way I would highly recomend Roblox to anyone.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Parent of a 8 year old Written byJordan S. May 4, 2017

Terrible safety and support

My son asked me if he would make a ROBLOX account and i gave it a look, Totally a innocent game at first however my son told me he needs 5000 robux and builders club so he can get a ROBLOX hat.

After 2 months my son told me to E-Mail ROBLOX because his account was hacked, But that's strange because he had a PIN and Two Auth Verification... i sent ROBLOX Support a e-mail about it.

"******, May 4, 09:39 PDT:
Hello Jordan,

Thank you for contacting Roblox Customer Support.

The account "*********" you are asking about does not appear to be compromised and cannot be reset at this time. An email address is currently associated with this account. You will need to reset the account through the password reset feature on the website or contact your email provider for further assistance. We appreciate your understanding in this matter.

Sincerely,
Arthur
Customer Service
*******"

This title contains:

Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byJohn B. April 29, 2017

Absolutely disgusting game.

This game, is disgusting. I regret letting my son try it. His friend at school was asking him to make an account. He asked me and I said yes. My biggest regret. This game took my son from me, I didn't realize this until his grades dropped through the floor. My straight A son, my pride, my love, had gotten 3 Fs on his report card, and the rest were all Cs and Ds. I couldn't believe it. I confronted him about this and he said "I don't care, I'm gonna play an 'obby' with my friend now. " I took away his laptop and logged onto Roblox, his favourite game was Reason to Die. Already a disgusting name. Chat was filled with misspelled swear words and the game was simply a zombie apocalypse. This is not appropriate. I tried some other games and to my disgust, they were all worse. The central theme of this game is violence. Then I saw people cosplaying boyfriend/girlfriend. They asked for contact information and were FREELY GIVING IT OUT. These poor children are in trouble. That was it. My son is now banned from his laptop, and I will monitor him more carefully. My son has now thrown repeated tantrums and refuses to listen to me. Don't fall into this trap as my eldest son did.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Parent Written byAbeermokbel January 28, 2016

Very addictive

I noticed my son got so addicted to this game! It affected his behavior and focusing abilities during the day! Had to stop him from playing with it and then everything got back to normal
Adult Written bygamemunch June 16, 2016

Sexual predators use this game

Our 12 yo daughter was targeted by a sexual predator through this game. She was sent pornographic photos, videos, chats and was asked to send nude and pornographic photos in return. DO NOT LET YOUR KIDS PLAY THIS GAME!!!!

There are youtube channels of the sexual roleplay that happens in this game. IT IS NOT FOR KIDS.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Parent Written bycayla99 March 3, 2016

good learning site until it becomes dangerous

Roblox has an anti parent attitude. When a potentially dangerous situation occurs, they refuse to share needed information with parents. The site is also hacked quite often. Not a safe site for kids

This title contains:

Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byRGraviet February 27, 2016

Be careful....monitor closely

My child plays this game in a group with friends from school. I watched them play the pizza parlor game and it seemed fun and educational. BUT...when they go explore other games together...WOW! They went to the hospital and I was shocked at the "sick" (excuse the pun) conversations! Players were saying "My #### hurts-they use the asterix sign instead of letters". Other players respond "Come into the bedroom, Ill look at your ###" I also saw "Please fix my ### it hurts". GROSS! Parents-how do we know that these "kids" playing doctor aren't adults? Please, for your kids sake-check it out. I saw players asking "I want a baby" and "I'll make you a baby, come to my house" WHAT??? I haven't even looked at the other games yet. I will be reporting this to the game administrator and to the local authorities as well. I also think there should be some sort of programming where players have to register and checked out to make sure predators aren't on the game. Ridiculous.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byhellaradparenting November 7, 2014

yes

my children love this!!!!!!!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written byMomof4SA January 29, 2014

Adult Content Possible

Two of my young kids were exposed to disgusting adult content while playing Roblox two days ago. Just want parents to know that it does happen. I was told by a customer service rep how to report an incident like this, but after kids have seen it, it's too late. I never imagined having to answer the questions I did. While my kids enjoyed playing, we don't feel that it is worth it to repeat this incident which, in reality, could have been more graphic than it was. Just a 'heads up' to all the parents out there.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byDeana H April 12, 2017

Pornography warning!!!!

My 10 year-old child was exposed to pornography in this game tonight.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 6 and 8 year old Written byMelissa I. February 17, 2017

Not enough of a filter from predators in the chat feature

First off let me say that I love the creativity that this site provides children, which is what first drew my daughter into the game. It is like an extension of Minecraft and the kids really love it. That being said though, the chat feature on the site is NOT SAFE. My daughter was contacted by another person (predator) through the in game chat. This person who was supposed to be a kid, was sending her messages telling her he loves her. Thankfully she brought this to our attention but as I was now looking through the chat another message came through where this person knew how to avoid the sites filters and was telling her she was "sexy". We immediately reported this person and tried to turn off or restrict the chat mode but their was no option and even more deceiving was the safety feature they did have when we selected it and saved the setting, then went back in to check the setting never saved. We contacted the developers about this problem and they refused to address this issue. Clearly, this site's filters and chat monitors are not good enough. Anyone can make an account with out any kind of verification which in and of its self is a problem. There is no precautions taken by Roblox to prevent child predators from creating an account and contacting children. Very disappointing for a potentially great site for young creators. Proceed with caution!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byTheDerp October 23, 2015

Stop Hating it, Be smart on the site

For all the people (or kids), You might run into a ODER (Online Dater), These people are EASY to avoid by just walking away, You don't need to ban your kid from Roblox it might make them sad witch is worse than them getting asked "want to date?" So just let them play.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written byMr.Wantrin June 1, 2014
ROBLOX Is a awesome gaming website for kids 7 and up.
Adult Written byNjrnj G. May 30, 2017

ROBLOX 18+

There too much swearing and bullying, there also have some roblox porn
,war game and adictive game with money and drugs !

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byMiss s. May 14, 2017

is very bad and a demonic game

My son James plays roblox and after I check his account I see hate message of him I see he said he need donate but being bullied by some anime fan user! I usually see s3x stuff in some games they usually call kids noob and say get a life I feel bad for him so for parents out there protect your child from a unbeliever who don't know god we need to stop this demon game and they need to shut down or make even
safer from those teenager or old evil people

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byco p. April 8, 2017

Seriously People...

For all those parents and kids who think Roblox is bad for your child:
Yes, it does have many inappropriate chat messages, *BUT* there is a way to stop that!
1. Go to your settings and turn off chat
That all
Adult Written byno username June 23, 2016

Users can display vulgar signs

My son had played Roblox somewhat and one day he came across a user created billboard depicting a sexually vulgar act between cartoon characters. These worlds can be created by anyone without any monitoring for content. It is frequented by adults. Definitely beware.

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety

Pages