Parent reviews for Roblox

Common Sense says

Game creator nurtures skills, but games can be violent.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 12+
Based on 548 reviews

Kids say

age 10+
Based on 1216 reviews
Aunt Written bysarahalysia July 9, 2018

Plagued by rampant corruption, consumerism, profanity, sexting, and hate speech.

I will begin by fairly acknowledging the positive aspects of Roblox. It is a diverse and enjoyable application offering users an opportunity to create their own games and clothing, and to explore the creations of other players. This is part of what makes it fun and unique, but also what makes it dangerous for children and teens. It is a fact widely acknowledged by long-time players that, over the years, Roblox has slowly evolved from an outlet for creativity into an exploitative, poorly-moderated, cash-grabbing heap of rubbish. Although accounts and (most) games are “free,” gameplay is made considerably easier through the purchase of robux, the in-game currency that costs real money. Unfortunately, players who do not purchase robux are frequently harassed by other players and denounced as “noobs.” In many cases, the games themselves are spammed with shop links and game passes which encourage the player to spend robux for useless upgrades. Most clothing on the app is also paid, sometimes listed for thousands of robux. My greatest concern, however, is with the poorly-moderated and negligent administration. On Roblox, users can purchase Nazi uniforms, or similarly inappropriate user-generated attire, with no consequence. The profanity filter is commonly and easily bypassed by users, so your child may witness excessive profanity, sexting, and similar vulgarities both in-game and in private chat. My niece and nephew, for instance, have each been solicited by random perverts on roleplaying games. From my experience, Roblox’s profanity filter mirrors the current state of the app itself; it is unnecessarily strict for many harmless words, while ignoring the real problems. There is a moderation system in place, but it is poorly managed, to say the least. Many reports go unnoticed, so many offences go unpunished. I have reported bullying, profanity, sexual “online dating,” and hate speech on numerous occasions — most were ignored. I have reported hate groups affiliated with Nazism and white supremacy — all were ignored. I have reported users with inappropriate profiles (including, in one instance, Nazi propaganda and a “Heil Hitler”) — and all were ignored. I have reported well-known sexually-based games and popular hangouts which allow uncensored music — and all were ignored. If you want my honest opinion: yes, Roblox CAN be fun and positive, but it is ruined by rampant corruption, consumerism, inadequate moderation, and horribly inappropriate content. I have deleted my account, and I strongly advise you to do the same.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byGeYBOI69 July 4, 2018

PLAY THIS GAME IF NOT A G4Y N00B #FortniteIsCool #swag #COOLGUY #DontTellMum

This site was a great site back when it started from 2007-2009 and some of 2010, but after that, violence, sex, swearing, exploiters, scams, consumerism, drugs, smoking, drugs and many other things appeared on the site and moderators seemed to become a lot more in-active and abusive to the site. If you try to report somebody that did something wrong, they'll ban you instead for false reporting. I was watching my kid play Roblox once and they joined a game called "Boys and Girls Hangout", which was filled with online dating, swearing, bullying, sex, smoking, drugs and consumerism. Also, keep aware that the ads for people that do not have Builders Club, a paid membership that is stupid expensive, will have ads and pop-ups that lead to different sites instead of groups or other games on the site, which groups are even worse due to the fact that other people can join them and then the people that joined the group become even more corrupt and then they start bullying and swearing etc. It just isn't appropriate for people under 16. Porn is also a problem. Just keep your child away from this game, and do not allow them on the site. If you can, add it to your router's blocked website list. Just don't bother for it. Also, this site is a virus, I found ad-ware and many other viruses on my laptop after downloading, and had to run my anti-malware bytes to get rid of it. However, it can be a little educational because ROBLOX Studio can teach your kids to program with Lua, but Lua can create blood and gore, all of the user-generated content is also a problem. There are things called "models" and they can be created within ROBLOX Studio and include sex, alcohol, etc. It can also teach your children to build virtually, but also when I heard from my childs' school counselor that he was constantly harassing his friends, swearing, not paying attention in class, getting worse grades, not cooperating, bullying, etc, I talked to my child about it and he said ROBLOX includes all of these things that might bring good things to life, which in this case didn't, and really just corrupted my child which I do not appreciate. Stay away from this site at all costs.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byprofmomof3 July 2, 2018

Lack of security in communication, Pornography, AWFUL customer support

We allowed our daughter (age 10) access to Roblox because the website claimed that communication could be limited to only people whose profiles were accepted as friends for kids under 13. THIS IS NOT TRUE AND IS VERY DECEPTIVE. Only private messaging is limited--communication with ANYONE playing the game is available at all times, just not private, leading to a much greater privacy risk than we had anticipated. While she enjoys the game, she has also experienced (to our dismay) her first online bullying due to this inability to control who interacts with her. (You can report people, but not unless you do it immediately when the event occurs and know their username, which is not always on display) . Also, many of the games within Roblox are more violent than we had expected from a platform that markets itself for children. Some users are even attaching "particles" that blast audio bits or visual images that are sometimes pornographic. This is not allowed but it can happen before the game shuts it down. Which brings me to my last issue: Our experience with Roblox customer service has been truly one of the worst I have ever seen. You cannot call to speak with someone directly; you have to call and leave a message for a callback, so I tried the email function. I exchanged multiple messages and each time got a reply from a different person, and even after six or seven replies from different people, there was no interest in helping with a relatively simple question--how to reset a lost password. They would not allow her to do this through the password reset button because we did not have a credit card on file, even when I offered to add one through customer service and to verify her account ownership by answering any questions they wanted to ask (list of friends, device IP, recent logins, etc). Now my daughter cannot ever log out of the game or she loses everything she has created in the game. I cannot believe that she is the only young child who has forgotten a password and does not have an open credit card attached to her account. When I pointed out that the question had not been answered even though I had politely asked each of the 6 or 7 people for help, I got the reply that "we cannot help you with this issue." Very disappointing. We feel a little scammed between the lack of actual security provided to the children's communication and the inability to provide a simple service like a password reset without a previously associated credit card. Several of my mom friends and I agree that letting our kids have it is one of our biggest regrets in terms of parenting decisions. There are much better, equally fun games out there without the safety risks.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byowlmom111 July 1, 2018

DO NOT I REPEAT DO NOT LET YOUR CHILD PLAY

My son told me he found this game called roblox on the computer and asked if he could download it. This was a huge mistake. The game looked friendly and I have heard the title before because my friends kids play this game. He signed up and a month later asked to purchase these things called "robucks." I purchased 1000 robucks and he wanted to show me how he spent it. He was in a very violent game and used the money to buy knives to murder people in a game called Murder Mystery. I am fine with games like this but he is way to young (6 and a half to be exact) to play these games. I told him to not play games that depict murder. A month later I catch him in a porno game where he is talking to other users about choking on sperm. His online avatar had a large penis in their mouth. I will never let my child back on roblox.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written bySkinnyLegend June 30, 2018

A Person that play roblox

Honestly as a person who actively plays Roblox I personally believe that if your child is under the age of 13 parents shouldn't allow their kids to play. It has people who act very idiotic and say inappropriate things or commit inappropriate actions. The Roblox censor system is very bad so alot of kids can replace or add letters to be able to say the word. For example, the word fuck, they could say "fvck" . Also, don't waste your money on the games currency also known as "Robux"; it's a waste and the currency gets spent fast. So alot of money can get spent.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Adult Written bymaxresdefault June 27, 2018

great game

its very fun
Adult Written bykulunatic June 24, 2018

we i play and fun :D

robux take pls i obc and robux

This title contains:

Consumerism
Parent Written byRebecca P. June 12, 2018

Filled with explicit material and chat....none of which is moderated

We (my young son and I) started playing Roblox over a year ago, and at first, it was fun, and we even bought the Robux, and Builder's Club. But then we started to notice how the chat feature, and images in games started to turn vulgar and explicit. Even though Roblox supposedly hired more moderators, things are still vastly making it through. Reporting does not work, in essence, because they are apparently inundated with reports. And though some parent groups have volunteered to help in moderating for on-the-spot bans, they have been refused. The problem is persistent, and is not being resolved. This is, in my opinion, not a good game for any age, but definitely not for young kids. I would skip it.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byMatteo B. June 10, 2018

About ROBLOX

Hey, i'm Matteo and I play roblox as a twelve year old. Sorry it says i'm and adult, I honestly don't know how to change it. Don't think that i'm saying Roblox is good because I play, only because this is simply my opinion. So in ROBLOX you get to do many things- play games made by others users (Don't worry, ROBLOX shuts down any inappropriate games and bans or warns the user that made the game), buy Limited/Limited U items and trade, make games, and make friends. Now, of course all parents worry about that "Make friends" part. In my opinion, as long as your child knows not to give out any private info, it's fine to make friends. Like right now I currently have 11 friends, and 7 are in real life and 4 online. I do warn parents and families that the community isn't the best. It is full of online daters. But here is some simple advice. Stay away from roleplaying games like "Boy And Girls Dance Club" or "Robloxian High School. If you stay away from those games, you'll have a fun time. Currency- The virtual currency in ROBLOX is what us Robloxians call Robux. The smallest package is 0.99 USD for 80 robux, biggest being 200 USD for 22,250 robux. There is also "Builders Club" which is 6.99. If you get robux, I recommend buying Builders CLub first if it's in your budget, as 22,250 robux goes up to 35,000 robux at the same price of 200 USD, and the other robux packages go up aswell. And for parents overreacting calling us "toxic players" we are far from that. I hope you guys found this helpful. Sincerely, Matteo (A.K.A D_dge)

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Parent Written bypiggykids June 6, 2018

Watch out!

I know a lady whose daughter was invited into a room and the characters were doing all kinds of sexual acts. Do not let your kids play this game.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Adult Written byComical T. May 29, 2018

The downfall of a great site.

Though, i've personally moved on from ROBLOX, I gave my account to a little brother of mine. Now, usually, ROBLOX would be top-notch when it comes to moderation, though can sometimes be a little strict. Other than that, they were reliable back in 2013. Since a game called 'Meepcity' was released, my brother was playing it constantly. I never actually paid attention to it, since you know, ROBLOX was pretty reliable when it comes to moderation. Now, yesterday, I caught him inside a home, apparently getting a 'Lapdance'. I confronted him about the dangers of what he called 'ODing', and I took back the account by force, and told him to never play the game again. My little brother is 12, and it's kinda shocking on how much information ROBLOX can feed my little brother. This convinced me to temporarily go into my older alternative account from 2011 to see what is actually up with ROBLOX, today, by going into one of the games called "The Streets". So far, i've been constantly harassed, and even been 'cursed out', sometimes even called 'Bad'. Not to mention that the game is filled to the brim with exploiters. It is not a joke, ROBLOX actually changed, from a redesign to even the community becoming a toxic wasteland. ROBLOX's moderation team will barely do jack-shoot about Online Dating, or even put out punishments for these so-called rules that they want you to follow. I understand that moderation is hard, but come on! It shouldn't be THAT hard to monitor a simple chat, than ban them. ROBLOX's moderation isn't the worst thing ever. The worst thing, besides the community and the moderation is the consumerism. Oh my god. ROBLOX back in the day used to give others without a membership a chance to profit. From making shirts, t-shirts, to even making games, and coding games, so that you can learn to become a successful game developer. Which is always useful, and helpful towards the younger audience, but now you basically have to PAY to actually make money. If you're planning on making money without paying actual money, I suggest giving up, cause there is practically NO WAY to make money, without being forced to go into your wallet, especially when Tix got removed. Overall, this site has went downhill, and turned into a completely, toxic community that is not safe for your children. I would usually say 'Do whatever your heart desires', but this is an order: STAY AWAY FROM THAT SITE.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Adult Written byFilip B. May 19, 2018

Message to parents

If you are worried about toxicity in the chat I advise you to turn off the chat in settings. Also you should always monitor what child play on Roblox because there are users who deliberately try to break rules. Beware of scam messages that say something like "You were chosen to recieve free robux, just go on (link of scam website)." They are designed to steal passwords from users. Also if you spend money on Roblox to buy virtual currency called Robux or any kind of Roblox membership if you want to refund those bear in mind that account will be banned forever.
Adult Written byMario L. May 1, 2018

This title contains:

Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent of a 10 year old Written byGinger R. April 28, 2018

THIS APP IS HORRIBLE MY CHILD GOT BULLIED USERS ASK TO HAVE SEX CUSS AND SOME USERS ALSO PRETEND TO DRINK OR SMOKE

THIS GAME IS HORRIBLE!!! my child got bullied and the people on roblox FIND WAY TO CUSS! THEE ALSO MAKE SEXUAL REMARKS AND ASK FOR AGES REAL NAMES BIRTHDAYS AND LOCATIONS DO NOT LET YOUR CHILD GET THis!! ALSO SOME USER PRETEND TO DRINK ALCOHOL AND SMOKE

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byAnna B. April 25, 2018

Terrible!

There is bullies everywhere, and every server there is bullies! My daughter was playing roblox and someone hacked a game, and put a picture in the sky of a scary girl! Also, there is a lot of sex, violence, drugs, and dating in the game. And, I think ROBLOX should be shut down NOW!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byAmare W. April 17, 2018

Everyone should play!

It is very educational and fun, plus you can get cool stuff, but ask for your parents for BC (BC,TBC,OBC) and Robux. It is also free!

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 8, 14, and 16 year old Written byDenise W April 14, 2018

Portal to bad stuff

This game is a portal to really bad stuff. My 16 year old warned me to really watch my 8 year old on it . . . I didn't and there was hard core porn, violence, links to spending money and I have really tight parental controls on our internet. This site does not do a good job flagging parents if the child has gone off the reservation, so to speak. Don't use or use within eye sight of you always.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Privacy & Safety
Parent Written byAmanda G. April 4, 2018

Its not for children at times

Some games are perfectly fine like Work at a Pizza Place others are hinting on online dating and the people can be harsh and you will not believe how many child predators on on there.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Privacy & Safety
Parent Written byFelicia M. April 1, 2018

Unless you have Robux.... Don't bother.

If you can't afford to spend real money prepared to be called a 'noob' and be constantly made fun of by so-called pros (who usually buy and dress in the most expensive and 'cool' clothing) and at times you even get singled out just because of your appearance. It's messed up and I feel like the game developers are money-hungry, why else would the only accessible way to get Robux is to spend your hard-earned money in order to customise your character, buy fun stuff and unlock cool features in this game. They don't even offer daily logins to get them, or watch videos or do surveys to get them. But the worst part of all is the bullies - many 7-12 year olds are exposed to the negativity and I think the company should really do something to minimise the bullying. I think the whole 'pro and noob' thing wouldn't have existed if the game actually had a way to get robux for free by doing offers, etc.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Consumerism
Parent of a 17 year old Written byRoderick H. January 6, 2018

SUPERB customer service (for PARENTS)

REALLY OUTSTANDING direct, swift, simple response to my quiery regarding billing - terminating an automatic payment and getting a FULL REFUND very, very promptly, without questions (ALMOST IMMEDIATELY). Truly superb service. Highly recommended company/product/support.

Pages