Parent reviews for Roblox

Common Sense says

Game creator nurtures skills, but games can be violent.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 12+
Based on 614 reviews

Kids say

age 10+
Based on 1255 reviews
Parent of a 12 year old Written byMomRDH January 25, 2015

Find something else

My son approached me several months ago about Roblox after hearing about it from friends at school. I read the site's review of the game and decided to let him play--based on the references to building things/worlds. The truth of the matter is that it is too enticing to join other worlds already created by users-----that's where the trouble comes. You have NO control over the type of games/worlds others create. We don't allow our son to play games with graphic violence such as Callnof Duty, although his friends are playing them. I discovered him in a world, playing a game similar to Call of Duty, while on Roblox. It all looks innocent enough on the front, but beware of what lurks behind the facade of a "building game" description. We are done with Roblox.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byPIGLET52 September 26, 2014

Great But...

I love this game but since the update when I try to play a game it loads and then it never opens a window to play
Adult Written byMpawl38 June 25, 2014

Game

This is a good game.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Parent of a 2, 8, and 11 year old Written byDa Nerd May 22, 2010

IFFY FOR 11+

There is almost no filter. People can say [email protected] and get threw with it and they can say s--- and get threw. They can say almost any thing. then about 4 hours later there banned for 1 day.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Educational Value
Adult Written bythe2018boy November 17, 2018

how i feel about roblox

i think roblox is a fun game and is good for kid over the of 10 and up

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written byHallowRace October 25, 2018

My God Be Real Here Overprotective Parents, YOU TOO LIBERALS!

Are you guys being serious or are you being paid to make these reviews? I don't see why people are giving Roblox so much heat. Sure, you can ruin your child's experience on Roblox by disabling their chat and only letting them play Roblox approved games. But come on, let's be real. This is only meant for children who are 6-8. Let's stop acting like playing some games with a little bit of violence and seeing some 9 year old rampid cursing on the internet is going to affect your child. Children grow up a lot faster these days. What I learned was the children that tried to act cool and start cursing like crazy are the children with overprotective parents. Instead of talking to them about it, overprotective parents try to keep it away from their mind as much as possible. So they end up finding out about all these words behind your back and start using them frequently because you, the parent, decided that you would try to hide it from them instead of teaching them right from wrong. And predators? Oh no, where do I start. No one is interested in going after your child on Roblox. My son has been playing Roblox since he was 9. Not once has he ran into any predators and he's been playing it for 5 years. He's ran into scammers trying to take his account though. One scammer was successful in taking his account in a smart scam that involved making you think you had to login with your credentials in game telling you that it was because of some maintenance. Could you just explain to them how to avoid scams instead of keeping them away from this stuff altogether because you can't hide it from them. They find out about it and that's why you see first graders yelling out school buses calling people bitches and motherfuckers. I've heard first graders yell out school buses calling random parents niggers and crackers. I know the feeling. You want to control your child because you feel insecure. But, think about your child's sake. You're just doing more harm than good. And I find that people say it's none of my business are just offended that what I am saying is true and they don't want to face the reality. But hey, maybe it isn't any of my business. That's fine if you want to stay in a close minded position where you're always right and you always know what's best for your child. This kind of mentality is what causes these children to act like this behind your backs. And it's not something rare either. I see it all the time. Edit: Oh, and I find people complaining about their children asking for in game purchases such as robux and builders club. My child asked this from me too. It's a marketing strategy used by every free game. You're not paying for the game, remember that. All free games need a way to thrive or else they aren't staying up. Is it deceptive? I do believe so. Should the prices be reduced? Yes, they should. I still paid for some robux and some builders club for my child anyway. I'm not paying for 1000 robux for my child and I made that clear to him. He still plays Roblox on occasion because this was a while ago when he wanted in game items. Remember, there's no big fuss over in game purchases. Don't be stupid and hook your credit card up for your child to purchase anything on click. That would be your fault, not Roblox's fault. No one is forcing you to pay for these items and just because your child asks for the Roblox in game currency, robux or the Roblox subscription membership, builders club doesn't mean you have to ban them from playing the game. However, I do agree that the prices for their in game items are stupidly high. Roblox is corporate and they are indeed greedy. But this should not be a reason for you to stop your child from playing Roblox. Don't enable a one click credit card purchase for everything, it's just common sense when you have a child and is your fault if this happens, not Roblox's. I stated this two times but I feel like some parent is going to ignore it anyway.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Consumerism
Adult Written byYeetus da fetus September 13, 2018

the most realistic crime simulator of our age.

this game is my heart and soul. i would sell my children to the devil just to play 15 more minutes of roblox. This is a great use of the money i should be saving for rent, which i make streaming minecraft +irl

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byHARry PLAYZZ August 21, 2018

ROBLOX ISA GREAT GAME

HI MY NAME IS DYLAN AND ROBLOX IS MY FAVOET GAME IT IS REELLY FUN AND I LIKE ALL OFTHE PEPLE ON IT. IT SI A GRATE GAME TO PLAY WIT OTHER PEEPLE

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byFelix Felini August 21, 2018

Its good

Its a good game mostly kid-friendly and yea.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written bybloodsuckinguni... July 31, 2018

jjhh

uyiu

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 11 year old Written byPartimereRBLX July 28, 2018

Ripoff and terrible

First of all, I have to say it is fun and great. But after that, there are problems. First, robux is cheap, but here is the problem. My cousin said that ROBLOX ripped his family off by making I’m pay more for robux then the usual. I don’t remember the amount of robux he got but he had to pay 100 usd for a little amount of robux. Also, back in 2016 ROBLOX removed tix and tix was the only way to get free robux. And since they have removed tix, there have been numerous games that have a gravestone of tix in it because roblox had removed tix and I believe this is so that people can’t get anymore free robux and are greedy in money for people buy robux, and I am not buying any robux. Moving on into roblox studio, and its configuring page. I believe roblox studio has improved from my last review on Roblox. But I have one problem. I want to keep my interface the same as always but it will always come back. If Roblox can improve this, then I will make another review on RBLX Studio being improved. Now for the configuring page, I have just one problem... WHY DO YOU FILTER MY TEXT. THERE IS NO CURSING IN THE TEXT, NO PERSONAL INFORMATION AND NOTHING INAPPROPRIATE. So in conclusion, Roblox can be fun in all BUT IT HAS PROBLEMS. By the way, I am not an adult and it says so for some reason.

This title contains:

Consumerism
Adult Written byYhi July 19, 2018

OMG SOO GOOODD HAVE TO PLAY

This game is sooooo good you fellow adult should play this. 100000000000000000000000000000000/10, IGN apporved. Go play or die

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written bymudkipyoutube July 12, 2018

its safe for all

let your kid stay up 24/7 all night playing

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written byBloK July 10, 2018

Reasonable Review

Roblox is meant for all ages, but 10 to 18 is what I would say is the best. (besides counting those famous Roblox developers, those are ages 18 to 26.) Roblox alone is a really good game, which others can express their minds on creating and building, with unlimited imagination. Roblox has no swear words, but sadly, some other players think otherwise to that. Other adult reviews are making reviews about other players being older and try to get past the filter system saying profanity, or even hacking the chat system. This has NOTHING to do with Roblox, but I would say ROBLOX needs to actually be more strict with them instead of not reading report reviews most of the time.If a parent is reading this, PLEASE tell you child the following: 1. do NOT give any private information, including the least concern, which is age. 2. do NOT fall for the "free robux" scams, as this will take any robux on your account, or even take your account itself. (if this happens, contact Roblox immediately. even put a parent's email after or before you get scammed, just for proof that it is your parent contacting Roblox if happens in the future.) 3. leave games quickly if something looks odd in the game such as deleted parts, different images, etc. this means the game got hacked by a hacker, or maybe the hacker is still even in the game. 4. make good decisions, do not play role playing games with strangers. those strangers may be hackers or may be above 18 years of age. play with only their good, loyal friends. 5. strangers online come together to make friends with others. they can play games with them, or become friends with them, but just know if they seem fishy, avoid them. ROBLOX does ban players that don't follow the terms of services, so don't worry about that. If one sees another doing something inappropriate or whatnot, you can even report them, but this is optional. As always, STAY SAFE! -2012 Roblox Player, EpicThunder231.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byprofmomof3 July 2, 2018

Lack of security in communication, Pornography, AWFUL customer support

We allowed our daughter (age 10) access to Roblox because the website claimed that communication could be limited to only people whose profiles were accepted as friends for kids under 13. THIS IS NOT TRUE AND IS VERY DECEPTIVE. Only private messaging is limited--communication with ANYONE playing the game is available at all times, just not private, leading to a much greater privacy risk than we had anticipated. While she enjoys the game, she has also experienced (to our dismay) her first online bullying due to this inability to control who interacts with her. (You can report people, but not unless you do it immediately when the event occurs and know their username, which is not always on display) . Also, many of the games within Roblox are more violent than we had expected from a platform that markets itself for children. Some users are even attaching "particles" that blast audio bits or visual images that are sometimes pornographic. This is not allowed but it can happen before the game shuts it down. Which brings me to my last issue: Our experience with Roblox customer service has been truly one of the worst I have ever seen. You cannot call to speak with someone directly; you have to call and leave a message for a callback, so I tried the email function. I exchanged multiple messages and each time got a reply from a different person, and even after six or seven replies from different people, there was no interest in helping with a relatively simple question--how to reset a lost password. They would not allow her to do this through the password reset button because we did not have a credit card on file, even when I offered to add one through customer service and to verify her account ownership by answering any questions they wanted to ask (list of friends, device IP, recent logins, etc). Now my daughter cannot ever log out of the game or she loses everything she has created in the game. I cannot believe that she is the only young child who has forgotten a password and does not have an open credit card attached to her account. When I pointed out that the question had not been answered even though I had politely asked each of the 6 or 7 people for help, I got the reply that "we cannot help you with this issue." Very disappointing. We feel a little scammed between the lack of actual security provided to the children's communication and the inability to provide a simple service like a password reset without a previously associated credit card. Several of my mom friends and I agree that letting our kids have it is one of our biggest regrets in terms of parenting decisions. There are much better, equally fun games out there without the safety risks.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written bySkinnyLegend June 30, 2018

A Person that play roblox

Honestly as a person who actively plays Roblox I personally believe that if your child is under the age of 13 parents shouldn't allow their kids to play. It has people who act very idiotic and say inappropriate things or commit inappropriate actions. The Roblox censor system is very bad so alot of kids can replace or add letters to be able to say the word. For example, the word fuck, they could say "fvck" . Also, don't waste your money on the games currency also known as "Robux"; it's a waste and the currency gets spent fast. So alot of money can get spent.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Adult Written bymaxresdefault June 27, 2018

great game

its very fun
Adult Written bykulunatic June 24, 2018

we i play and fun :D

robux take pls i obc and robux

This title contains:

Consumerism
Parent Written byRebecca P. June 12, 2018

Filled with explicit material and chat....none of which is moderated

We (my young son and I) started playing Roblox over a year ago, and at first, it was fun, and we even bought the Robux, and Builder's Club. But then we started to notice how the chat feature, and images in games started to turn vulgar and explicit. Even though Roblox supposedly hired more moderators, things are still vastly making it through. Reporting does not work, in essence, because they are apparently inundated with reports. And though some parent groups have volunteered to help in moderating for on-the-spot bans, they have been refused. The problem is persistent, and is not being resolved. This is, in my opinion, not a good game for any age, but definitely not for young kids. I would skip it.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byMatteo B. June 10, 2018

About ROBLOX

Hey, i'm Matteo and I play roblox as a twelve year old. Sorry it says i'm and adult, I honestly don't know how to change it. Don't think that i'm saying Roblox is good because I play, only because this is simply my opinion. So in ROBLOX you get to do many things- play games made by others users (Don't worry, ROBLOX shuts down any inappropriate games and bans or warns the user that made the game), buy Limited/Limited U items and trade, make games, and make friends. Now, of course all parents worry about that "Make friends" part. In my opinion, as long as your child knows not to give out any private info, it's fine to make friends. Like right now I currently have 11 friends, and 7 are in real life and 4 online. I do warn parents and families that the community isn't the best. It is full of online daters. But here is some simple advice. Stay away from roleplaying games like "Boy And Girls Dance Club" or "Robloxian High School. If you stay away from those games, you'll have a fun time. Currency- The virtual currency in ROBLOX is what us Robloxians call Robux. The smallest package is 0.99 USD for 80 robux, biggest being 200 USD for 22,250 robux. There is also "Builders Club" which is 6.99. If you get robux, I recommend buying Builders CLub first if it's in your budget, as 22,250 robux goes up to 35,000 robux at the same price of 200 USD, and the other robux packages go up aswell. And for parents overreacting calling us "toxic players" we are far from that. I hope you guys found this helpful. Sincerely, Matteo (A.K.A D_dge)

This title contains:

Positive Messages

Pages