Parent reviews for Roblox

Common Sense says

Game creator nurtures skills, but games can be violent.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 12+
Based on 502 reviews

Kids say

age 10+
Based on 1162 reviews
Adult Written byRedSauce C. September 15, 2017

Common sense: As with any decisions that you need to make regarding you children there needs to be some common sense.

As far as I can see, ROBLOX does not have a recommended age for children and in fact they publicise that it is for kids and teens. Every family is different so you need to consider whether ROBLOX is right for your child. Some of the things to be aware of is that there are 22,000,000 games plus and some of the genre's include Horror, First Person Shooter (FPS) and Fighting. There is a way to restrict the games available by enabling account restrictions as explained in my blog, but at the time of writing there isn't any age rating on the games themselves. One game in particular that could cause some restless nights is Stop it, Slender! 2. Personally, just looking at the trailer scared the bejesus outta me. In saying this you should also evaluate the potential benefits as explained in my blog. I can see potential educational benefits in games such as Work at a Pizza Place, Lumber Tycoon 2 and Design It. I've written up an introduction for parents on my blog if you want further details. http://redsauce.co/blog/index.php/2017/03/11/a-parents-introduction-to-r...
Adult Written byChad P. August 30, 2017

Teach your kids valuable skills!

My son started playing Roblox when he was 10, and I didn't think much of it at first. The game's blocky and basic appearance put me at ease, so I let him do his thing. I figured he would stop playing if he didn't enjoy it, but he didn't stop. Three years later, I saw him playing around with some kind of text editor that appeared next to the game. It turned out he was teaching himself how to program his own games for Roblox in a coding language called Lua. Now, just a year later, he is creating amazingly detailed and well-made games (and profiting from it, too!). It turns out he has also expanded to other programming languages including Java, HTML, CSS, and more. He has learned the value of working hard, being professional, and keeping players happy, and I have Roblox to thank for it.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Parent of an infant, 3, 9, and 15 year old Written byAshley T. August 20, 2017

My kids love it!

My 9 year old daughter loves this game. She plays it on my computer and she tries to teach her 3 year old brother but he doesn't seem to understand how to play quite yet. But anyway, my 9 yr old daughter plays it all the time and she plays with friends. I tell her not to give out personal info and I trust her with that. Love this game and I trust it with my kids to play on it.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written byLori U. August 17, 2017

BULLYING

I see a lot of it on ROBLOX , I decided to watch my kids play and it's out of control not good for kids that is 10 - 13..... I thank it's for kids that is 18-up ....

This title contains:

Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byClaire B July 10, 2017

Needs Parental guidance

I have a 7 year old who has been on and on about this for months. I finally gave in and let him download it, and granted there are alot of games that are good, and he loves playing (Retail Tycoon for example) - HOWEVER some of the games involve alot of Jump scare, and inappropriate for younger than say 10-11yrs old. I let him play, however only when I'm in t he vicinity to keep an eye on what he's actually playing.
Adult Written byMeme A. July 4, 2017

Disgusting game.

Hello people I myself have reviewed Roblox and it's a horrible game I joined a game known by the name of "Adopt and raise a cute kid" and somebody said to me want to have "six" which already shows the chat filter is broken I seen people pretend dating and other players calling each other Mom/Mum and Dad turns out their old slogan used to be Roblox its free but everything costs money and mostly everyone swears. I think it's not for children this is only my opinion.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Adult Written byweeb l. May 9, 2017

!! VERY SEXUAL !!

TOO SEXUAL FOR YOUNGER CHILDREN!! but if your into that stuff there are other games like Minecraft, Terria ect.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byMarlise G April 8, 2017

White Supremacy messaging ; UPDATED 7/2017 Sexual content music

I allowed my children to use this game only if they did not show the chats. Now I have to worry about messages coming through the radio too! On High School Dorm Life, there is a cellphone looking radio that played a message from a white supremacy group. I see that this has been reported since at least March and it has not been addressed. This game is very disappointing. UPDATED I am done with this game. Recently I overheard music playing in the background of my child's game that was sexually explicit. Hard core, intact. He tells me another player in the game had selected the music. Whatever. We are done with Roblox. All versions. If your child is under 16 DO NOT ALLOW HIM/HER to participate in this game. It is not being monitored.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Adult Written byMalik I. February 10, 2017

Roblox = Weak Moderated, Swearing and Sex Bypassing Platform

I've been playing 4 Years on ROBLOX and it's kinda not recommended for kids. Most Games don't bypass hacks or swearing and this is where it starts. There are paid hacks, which hack some servers of the games and they can put penises, rape, etc... . The swearing moderation is the worst. It can bypass kinda, but it still is bypassable, when you censor a letter. There is a paid currency called robux, which with them, you just get greedy and insult other players as "noob". Violence is minimum. **NOT RECOMMEND TO KIDS UNDER 12.**

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Adult Written byTina K. February 6, 2017

ROBLOX is awesome friendly game!

Everyone here is saying is ROBLOX in inappropriate and things like that. The truth is it is rarely bad. The only thing that is bad is that sometimes rarely there is an person on the chat that swears . But mostly it is a game that has a good Community and lots of good people and inspirations creativety. I strongly recommend ROBLOX. ( sorry for my bad inglish I am Russian)

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Sexy stuff
Parent of a 10 year old Written byMom134 June 15, 2016

Thieving company!

My daughter ordered the $49.99 robux package for her birthday. It didn't work so she reordered it only to find out that it was ordered twice. We contacted Xbox who couldn't help and referred us to Roblox who basically threatened to close my child's account. Since they couldn't locate the correct account, and said that their policy says they are not able to refund us, they went ahead and removed all the robux from my sons Roblox account. In other words, they stole the money we paid them since they removed all the robux without issuing a refund to my account! Bottom line is that if they cannot refund me, then they have no legal right to remove what is rightfully ours. This is ridiculous! It looks inexpensive to play because it is free to download but in order to play, you end up having to buy robux to do things in the game. There are advertisements everywhere and like others have mentioned there is a lot of inappropriate activity due to terrible moderation throughout the game. I would like to sue the company for stealing my money.

This title contains:

Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byYourDailyNotifier December 29, 2015

Scammed

Hello! I am a parent of a child who players roblox. My daughter was completely scammed and lied to at the "friendly" community. She is 11. We have purchased her the membership and money add-ons and due to a roblox security fail someone got into her account and deleted everything. We are extremely disappointed as I have spent a lot of money on this game. There is also wayyyy too much violence and innapropriate content on the game. I wouldn't recommend letting your child on this site.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Teen, 17 years old Written byBLUWolfX December 26, 2015

I think ROBLOX was made for 5 year olds

My dad introduced ROBLOX to me when I was 5 years old and I loved it. I think it's a great game for kids 5 and up but there are some violence and some swearing uncensored like ass. But other than that it's good for most kids
Adult Written byvincents November 6, 2015

Good for programming

Well roblox is a mix of mild violence and obbys and tycoons.the reason I say it's good for learning is that because when your making the game, it's not like oh 2 clicks and the games done.You really have use your imagination and stuff to make the game popular.
Adult Written byanne_m1969 August 19, 2015

it's a good game

Listen,I've seen all of the reviews saying that it has to much violence and drugs and sex.What I want to say is,me and my 13 year old son have played it multiple times,and i've never seen sex or drugs,violence?Yes.But shielding your kid from violence is like shielding them from reality.Think about it,with all that's going on in the world,it's better to tell them than have them find out by themselves(at the age of 10+ you should tell them)(also a lot of the games that are the most popular are town and city and roleplaying).Cursing rarely happens,and the fact that they let players make games can compell them to do innapropriate stuff,but this hasn't happened in my 3 years of playing with my son(we started off at 10).Since he likes playing with people a lot,he went for the first game on the most popular list,Call or Robloxia 5,the game was bassically a more kid friendly version of Cold of Duty,World at War.I saw kid friendly becuase it was multiplayer only,so if there is swearing in the game,it's by a player,and if you play on a sepreate account from your child's(one 13+),but you still play in the same servers,you can report that person.Another reason i call it kid friendly,the graphics on ROBLOX closely resemple those of minecraft's,so the fighting looks almost cartoonish.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written byvendettathesixth August 14, 2015

Off Topic talked about you guys

http://www.roblox.com/Forum/ShowPost.aspx?PostID=170973425&PageIndex=5 The mods are very cautious with the sex games, you just got this from a video or something.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written bykirstens1 April 24, 2015

Don't look at all the negative things!

A lot of people think this for ROBLOX: it's a trashy website full of trolls and Online Daters. Here's the truth: it's NOT. Roblox was released in 2006, and it slowly began to become a popular website. I joined in 2011, and I found it a lot of fun, playing obeys and building a hotel for my friends at my place. Then came 2013, that's when it began to start getting spammers and ODers. (There were always ODers, but not as many as today) and I began to slowly watch as it began to fill up with mean and crude players. I do warn you, though, that you should be careful if you are new. People will ALWAYS critizise your avatar (3.0 packages replaced the default ones, and ODers began to use them. Normal players dislike these usually.) also, yes, there's violence, and the moderation system doesn't always work, but ROBLOX is actually really strict about the games allowed. I don't really like playing the murder games, (there's no major violence. The blood is usually REALLY bright red, and is tiny and in little blocks.) but the classic building games instead. the community has gotten pretty bad though, but you can just enter a command (/ignore [playername]) to stop seeing the players chat, and report him/her. If it still bothers you, I suggest leaving the game and trying a different one, something that's not on the front page. I don't play as much as I used too, but I still enjoy the game. Don't Online Date, (if you do, be advised you could be IP banned, (the ban where you can no longer enter the website) and also generate a TON of hate). A lot of games (boys and girls hangout, ROBLOX high school, adopt and raise a cute baby, ect.) are known for online dating, so if you don't want to be caught in a trap, avoid these games. Roblox isn't what most think, but it still can be if not taken care of properly. If you see somebody not following the rules of ROBLOX, Report them immediately, and leave the game (this is just MY opinion.) the currency can also suck you up in a trap. Buying Robux isn't the smartest decision. If you make a game and advertise it (you can use tix for this, I game currency earned by playing daily.), you could earn some Robux. There's also Builders Club, but I wouldn't buy any of them, besides the cheapest one. Have a nice day!

This title contains:

Language
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byChristopher C. August 14, 2018

I love Roblox!

Roblox is the best multi-player game because uhh you can basically make your own games as well! These over concerned parents don't know a thing about the Robloxian Empire, my hometown. Now let's see the "problems" that aren't really there. Violence isn't a problem as I'm pro gun, and you'll learn how to fight for yourself in case of bullying or scamming instead for asking others for help. As they say, if you don't exercise, you'll become weak. You'll learn how to defend yourself for what you want, even if it's a bloody fight, and win. You can also help your friends if they're in tight situations. After all, the IJN is so good because they played war games. Sex isn't really a problem because hey, who really cares if you're a virgin or not? It's actually fun to have safe sex, but if you don't wanna (or if you think you're not ready), then you can just watch porn! Swearing isn't a problem, because it's cool to swear, and if you aren't cool, then everyone will bully you for being a normie, and your friends might harass you with the words "Come on, don't be a sucker!" Consumerism, seriously? I don't think your kids would be interested in ads. Plus, some things that they advertise aren't interesting. However, if your kid is a fan of Roblox, they can buy their shirts and books! Roblox is a country with 22nd century tech. Just look at the catalog and you see laser guns, teleporters and gear cloners, that you'll expect in a sci fi world. For drinking, drugs and smoking, your choice, I don't mind, if your kid hates it then let him hate it, he's probably old enough to make his own decisions. Frankly, it's quite cool to get drunk, as your kid could get the gals. For drugs, why does many people in America smoke weed recreationally? If your kid is taking drugs then lead him to weed, because it really won't kill him and it'll make him look cool. Safety and privacy concerns? Don't go crazy and read your kid's texts, because it'll probably deteriorate the relationship (unless you have their permission, of course). For safety concerns, the violent games will teach them moves to help them defend themselves. Now let's see the lessons learnt below. - Don't listen to the over concerned parents. - Don't believe in the problems, because in some perspectives, they aren't. - The IJN is the 3rd most powerful navy at ww2 because they played war games. - U can help your friends by violence if needed. - Porn is fun to watch (if you're a kid, it's obvious). - Having safe sex is fun (obviously). - U can be cool by swearing. - Ads are a major source of income for Robloxia, to spend on things such as research. - Let your kid make his own choices, especially with drinking, drugs and smoking, because, he can get hot chicks from that! - Your kid can get hot chicks by getting drunk, especially by winning drinking competitions. - Taking drugs and smoking weed (especially with cool sunglasses like SWAG or Thug Life) makes your kid look like a gangster, which can get them hot chicks. - The moves in violent games will help your kid to defend themselves should a violent confrontation occur. - Don't read your kid's texts, as that is a privacy violation (unless you have the permission). So frankly, Roblox will make your kid from a crappy normie to a cool guy. He/she will also learn how to be rebellious (also very cool), and will learn how to enjoy things that are forbidden before, like changing cultures.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written byvixenness August 13, 2018

Community is awful, popular games are decent.

I'll just be frank. Roblox itself? A pretty decently good game. The community and comments on items? Not so much. The community takes the fun out of EVERYTHING. Especially games! Half the community is oders, people who think they're cool, and bully others, trollers, just jerks in general, and the other half is just scammers. Another thing is the rude language and some people blacklisting through the chat filters, which isn't that bad but the rude language could be fixed. The thing is you CAN'T because roblox doesn't even read their reports. I've been a roblox member for just about 10 years, and I am not pleased with how it has turned out. Honestly, the games on roblox aren't that bad unless you look up inappropriate stuff in the games category. I also really like the items in the catalog, ignoring the fact you need robux and bc for EVERYTHING in there besides 99.8% of the so called "noob" stuff. One thing I have a problem is the scammers. They try to steal your account by telling you to go to some website to get free robux. And it's spammed throughout EVERY comment section I see! I wish roblox would start looking through item comment sections and at least try to delete some! And I have seen mods and admins online roblox to at least delete a few scammers down there. Overall, honestly awful and disappointing. The games are good, the mods are terrible, the community is toxic and the items in catalog are good but forcing you into buying robux and BC.

This title contains:

Language
Consumerism
Adult Written byWerblessed1s August 13, 2018

Vile and Dirty

My daughter just happened to leave her Roblox open with the chat in progress. I started reading some and was shocked. A user under the name RobertBeGaming Viper commented that he wanted to "put mah ding dong in ur V" I reported him and would love to know if it's a pedophile or just a teenage boy. Either way he won't be talking to my daughter anymore. Her chat is turned off and I will have access to everything from now on.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Privacy & Safety

Pages