Want personalized picks that fit your family?

Find entertainment that fits your kid's interests and your parenting style.

Go to For Your Family

Parent reviews for Roblox

Common Sense says

Game creator can nurture skills, games, chat may be violent.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 11+
Based on 854 reviews

Kids say

age 10+
Based on 1650 reviews
Adult Written byHugh J. March 25, 2017

You are all overreacting about this game.

My son has played this game since 2012, and I've played a lot with him. I do admit I've played some on my own time, as well. Only recently have I started hearing these articles about overreacting parents saying this game is toxic. Now some things I agree on, such as the moderation system not all that great. But ROBLOX is a great online game. It can let children use their imagination to build anything they want, and it offers older users the ability to use their hard work and skills to make some cash. These articles coming out about how the game and it's players are all toxic annoy me very much. I can tell you that out of the time I've spend playing the game with my son, I have RARELY ever seen anyone doing anything inappropriate. Players like what these overreacting parents think make up an extreme minority of the community, and the moderation teams do try their best to take care of them (though I do believe they could do more). Sometimes these aren't even real people, they're BOTS, accounts created to send messages to random people, and they do get taken care of, believe me. My son has even been complaining recently about it, because these overreacting parents are starting to restrict some of the BASIC FUNCTIONS OF THE GAME, such as being allowed to properly have a conversation. Random words are being censored that in no way would harm anybody. Also, it's like these other parents don't realize there are features that lets you disable communications with your child's account COMPLETELY. So, this game is actually very good. There aren't any other ones like it. It's unique and generally has a good community. Toxic players make up a very tiny minority and are dealt with. There is no reason for parents to be overreacting like they are.
Adult Written byparentmoderator November 6, 2010

Waring to parents - abuse not handled well by moderators

Parents be warned - the moderation on this site is less than fair. My son reported an abuse and he was reprimanded as if he were at fault. Then I complained to the only email address I could find for contacting them (I happened to see the abuse) and my kid's account was then banned for 3 days for violating the TOS (although when you read the TOS it does not state this as an offence). So he is victimized both ways, thank you. Great lesson for kids by the people at Roblox. The language used by the gamers is less than desirable and poorly moderated, the focus of the games are generally violent which is inappropriate for the younger crowd. Roblox loads software to your computer which I have found to be invasive and interferes with my loaded programs. Uninstalling is not a clean process either. All in all, try a free account and then spend your money on at home video games for family and friends.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Parent of a 16 year old Written byKim J. January 8, 2018

My Kid no longer believe in Jesus because of this game

Adult Written byPearl M. February 20, 2018

yes

it is good game, it has guns, violence, and disgusting stuff, all kids should play.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byMrSprinkleToes n. January 6, 2018

Not bad

ROBLOX is a very good game, if you know what you're doing. I recommend, if your child is too young to know most right from wrong, then monitor the child's account. If a user's account is detected to be under the age of 13, ROBLOX automatically filters words such as "idiot", "crap", etc. (I think) to make it safer for the younger audience. Also, in the settings, you can change who can message the child, who can chat with the child, etc. If you truly know what you are doing, and you are willing to monitor your child's activities, then ROBLOX is a great game for them to open up their imagination. I suggest, if you want to make sure your child isn't playing games that they shouldn't be, e.g. shooter games, robbery games, etc. then every so often, just for a few minutes, go on their account, and on the home page you can see their "Recently Played" games. To see all recently played games, you can click the button to the right of that title that says "See All". Overall, I believe ROBLOX is a great game for children to play, as long as they are mature enough to know right from wrong. And if they are younger, then I'd say it's still good for them to play too, as long as you are monitoring their activity on it, and you make sure they know not to play games that you wouldn't approve of, and you can in the settings change who they are aloud to interact with. Also, a side note, ROBLOX has a parent page here: https://corp.roblox.com/parents/ I highly recommend reading it, as it tells you lots of important information.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written byRealParent August 12, 2015

You parents don't understand.

You can create your own games in studio, its not like the site owners create millions of games including sex related content. Of course these games are possible to make and pretty easy, if you review the game first to tell if it has any nudity or violence your family is against then boom solved the problem. Also make sure you enable under 13 mode (Even though it blocks swear words anyway), this is a great platform for your children to play, create and put their imagination into perspective.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written bygamerrider July 15, 2016
Adult Written byMrsLouiseTirell August 16, 2015

ROBLOX is a bad influence.

When my 9-year-old son found out about ROBLOX on Google around a year ago he insisted I allow him to play it, so I helped him sign up to create an account and I wasn't rather keen on it when I saw it at first, but I let him play it anyway. After a week or two, he asked me if he could buy 1,000 "robucks" with my debit card as well as '"Builder's Club". I was entirely oblivious to the idea of this but I went along with it anyway. He said that everybody else had tons of money and hats to show off, which made me rather curious as to how he was being treated by other players. I went on my own computer to sign up for the game and once online I visited the games page. I noticed most of the games were family or relationship-oriented, hence the game titles 'ROBLOX High School,' 'Adopt and Raise a Cute Baby,' 'Adopt and Raise a Kid.' Most of the other games just simply had pictures of topless LEGO men, girls and boys together or guns/violence. I warned him to not play games which were violent and he didn't, but three weeks later a strange man came to our house who I didn't know and asked if he could see my son, but I told him to go away. I have kept my child off ROBLOX from then and added it to our blocked website list. I'm appalled that the moderators of the website have done nothing about this, and I would certainly never recommend to any parent to allow their child to play the game.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Parent Written bycarriway August 2, 2012

Unacceptable

Dear parents, There is a game called Roblox that lots of children are playing. It seemed innocent enough at first, but I assure you it is not suitable for Children. They have a lovely page for parents that tells them it is. There doesn't even seem to be an admin or anything in charge and the cyber bulling is out of control there. When trying to even find someone to complain to, I was bombarded with messages like "die soccer mom". if you have a child playing this game I suggest you remove them from it.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Privacy & Safety
Parent Written bymissyg1 February 15, 2018

Porn, bullying, bad language, grooming....Please read this and other recent reviews, this app has changed for the worse...

Heads up, parents! The Roblox app is a very popular one among my daughter's friends, and I mistakenly allowed her to download and play it without first doing some research on my own. If you're not familiar with it, your child can enter different worlds like Meep City, hospitals, pizza parlors, etc. They can change their clothes, furnish their homes, make pizza deliveries...it a great concept and my daughter really enjoyed playing it. Last night, she was playing with a personal friend and my daughter's game name was changed to "Ihate###" (her friend's name). DD was in tears that her friend would think she was bullying her, so I texted the mom and both girls got off it asap. I looked into the app more this morning and see that there are all kinds of inappropriate layers hidden in this game that aren't initially evident to parents. Sexual content, bad language, *a lot* of bullying, behavior that looks like grooming, and hackers even changing parts of a child's world, similar to my daughter's name change. (I read a review where one girl's kitten wallpaper was changed by a hacker to depict sex acts.) And, finally, worlds that are all about killing and violence. While my daughter has no interest in that type of game, it's far too accessible. Lesson learned on my part...no more app downloads based on the assurance from an 8 year that it's safe. (pretty dumb of me) A lot of the content went over DD's head and she simply had no idea what was there. I'm just glad that what happened to my daughter was minor compared to some of the things I read. I use Common Sense Media to check out most movies before we watch them, I didn't realize that it has app reviews, too. In this case, there are reviews for Roblox as far back as 2009...I read many, but paid more attention the those written within the past few years. It's scary what I found. It appears that the Admin monitoring on Roblox is now non-existent.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Parent Written byBLS_dad July 9, 2016

Not safe for children

Allowed daughter to sign up based on Common Sense review that it was safe for kids. If I could do it over, I would never have allowed it. She was subjected to sexual comments and ended up deleting the app herself. Lesson learned.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byJynuine March 25, 2012

I STRONGLY CAUTION parents against this game!

First of all, They make this game VERY difficult to properly administrate! Roblox is addictive. I have 7 kids 6 of which would play it over anything else offered. It has games that would work for older and younger ages and lets them be creative. But I must STRONGLY caution parents on this. First of all you should know you cannot cancel accounts. If you pay for Builder's Club- you can cancel your PAYED features... but the account is still there to 'go back to'. In their FAQ's they state: "If there is no Builder's Club subscription associated with an account, then there is nothing that you will need to cancel. Users can stop using their free accounts at anytime. The account will simply remain inactive until you're ready to play ROBLOX again." So if your child decides to sneak onto it- all you can do is message support and try to get it closed somehow. I have not yet been successful. You also cannot disconnect emails from the account. Second of all- Parental controls are a joke. You MUST have whatever password they chose when they created the account and connect it to yours (and you do not have to attach an email to play), so you can have an account you cannot administrate very easily. The only thing you can do is see when they logged in the current area (non clickable) they are playing in, see the number of messages in their mailbox and the number of friends etc and set if their chat is safe or full featured. You cant see or read their mails or manage their password, etc. The chat features and/or disconnecting them from your account are the only options you can control. I find this unacceptable for as much as they claim to be a parent administered game that is safe for kids. My 12 yr old daughter started an alias account for herself and I found out she was being inappropriate because she left herself logged in. Im still trying to figure out how to cancel the account, so far I can't.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Language
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byecmomma714 January 23, 2018

EXTREMELY addicting, please avoid

This game has resently outlawed in our home. It’s extremely addicting, cause antisocial behavior, affects ability to keep time and I believe was very damaging to our 10 yr old son. His personality changed, he began lying and sneaking time to play. When he wasn’t able to play he’d sneak YouTube and watch others play. He is currently “detoxing” from anything and everything related to it. They absolute worst decision was inviting it into our home and life. 100x worse than Minecraft. This game is also VERY expensive. Upgrades are available for real money but the exchange rate is way off. The chat feature is also concerning. Many people asking for login info and trying to scam others. If you invite Roblox into your home please closely monitor. Our son became a completely different person.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byBeetleFrustration October 16, 2015

It's a learning experience- If your kids can handle it.

There are pros and cons to this site. First of all, if you're thinking since it downloads software it downloads malware, you're wrong. It's a safe download, and if you have any trouble downloading there's plenty of help to be found. As for the benefits of this site, it's a very good learning experience for your children. They learn about business and buying/selling, they learn how to create games with the easy to find and very detailed game creation tutorials and scripting tutorials, putting them on the path to learning programming languages (The one used in this site is called ROBLOX Lua, it's excellent), and they learn about how to keep and stick to a budget. There's the option to upgrade your account to Builder's Club, and there are plenty of features to be used with this. However, the site also has some flaws. It's very easy for younger children to end up on phishing sites from bot-accounts made by the owners of those sites. Before allowing your child to make an account, make sure they are aware of web-safety and how to keep their account from being stolen. If your child is educated on web safety (Which they should be educated on before being allowed to browse the internet), there are no concerns.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Parent of a 8 year old Written byJordan S. May 4, 2017

Terrible safety and support

My son asked me if he would make a ROBLOX account and i gave it a look, Totally a innocent game at first however my son told me he needs 5000 robux and builders club so he can get a ROBLOX hat. After 2 months my son told me to E-Mail ROBLOX because his account was hacked, But that's strange because he had a PIN and Two Auth Verification... i sent ROBLOX Support a e-mail about it. "******, May 4, 09:39 PDT: Hello Jordan, Thank you for contacting Roblox Customer Support. The account "*********" you are asking about does not appear to be compromised and cannot be reset at this time. An email address is currently associated with this account. You will need to reset the account through the password reset feature on the website or contact your email provider for further assistance. We appreciate your understanding in this matter. Sincerely, Arthur Customer Service *******"

This title contains:

Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Parent Written byculinwino3000 June 17, 2010

Everybody should play it.

This title contains:

Educational Value
Positive Messages
Parent Written bytanner a. May 22, 2017

I like the false reviews and slander.

ROBLOX. Has been a child-friendly game since it was released in 2006. People are falsely reviewing the game saying their child was sent pornographic images or some website popped up. Listen, ROBLOX doesn't allow images to be sent through chats and they have a character limit of 150 in messages. A website would only pop up if your child clicked on them through another user sending a bypassed link. And no the sex or swearing or drugs, drinking, etc. has absolutely nothing to do with ROBLOX at all. Some people think they're funny by releasing a game on the site with those kinds of things. ROBLOX is fast to ban and so is the community. If the game's thumbnail is bad it won't be shown. If the title of the game is bad it will be censored into "[Content Deleted]" along with the description. Sometimes that user can have their account terminated or banned. ROBLOX is overall kid-friendly and all of the other reviews slandering ROBLOX are false. Those news websites that post something and don't allow you to comment on them or blogs. They can be determined as false. Don't listen to what people say on here or anywhere else. The game is for 8-year-olds to 16-year-olds. It's not full of pedophiles or anything not suitable for children. This review is legitimate.

This title contains:

Positive Messages
Adult Written byA H April 13, 2017

Shocked at the sex talk

An 11 year old I know was propositioned on here, she said no and her online Roblox character was picked up and thrown into the bed...can I call this online rape? A different day she was in the hotel and some roblox guy appeared in her shower. When I found this out, the account was canceled. When I watched her play, I saw the fun games and cute clothing contests, but because she wanted to play all of the time all of these new layers of the game were revealed. The character who "raped" her character also used other language with her in the chat box that made it seem like he was a lot older than she was. Creepy. Parents be on guard.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 8 year old Written byaviation382 July 18, 2016

Just too much violence and drugs, etc

This site was a great site back when it started from 2007-2009 and some of 2010, but after that, violence, sex, swearing, exploiters, scams, consumerism, drugs, smoking, drugs and many other things appeared on the site and moderators seemed to become a lot more in-active and abusive to the site. If you try to report somebody that did something wrong, they'll ban you instead for false reporting. I was watching my kid play Roblox once and they joined a game called "Boys and Girls Hangout", which was filled with online dating, swearing, bullying, sex, smoking, drugs and consumerism. Also, keep aware that the ads for people that do not have Builders Club, a paid membership that is stupid expensive, will have ads and pop-ups that lead to different sites instead of groups or other games on the site, which groups are even worse due to the fact that other people can join them and then the people that joined the group become even more corrupt and then they start bullying and swearing etc. It just isn't appropriate for people under 16. Porn is also a problem. Just keep your child away from this game, and do not allow them on the site. If you can, add it to your router's blocked website list. Just don't bother for it. Also, this site is a virus, I found ad-ware and many other viruses on my laptop after downloading, and had to run my anti-malware bytes to get rid of it. However, it can be a little educational because ROBLOX Studio can teach your kids to program with Lua, but Lua can create blood and gore, all of the user-generated content is also a problem. There are things called "models" and they can be created within ROBLOX Studio and include sex, alcohol, etc. It can also teach your children to build virtually, but also when I heard from my childs' school counselor that he was constantly harassing his friends, swearing, not paying attention in class, getting worse grades, not cooperating, bullying, etc, I talked to my child about it and he said ROBLOX includes all of these things that might bring good things to life, which in this case didn't, and really just corrupted my child which I do not appreciate. Stay away from this site at all costs.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Privacy & Safety
Adult Written byDannyW100 October 23, 2015
I looked on this site for my son. There was so much sex, swearing, and drugs in this game, it is NOT suitable for children! You cannot do anything without a monthly subscription and the moderation is horrible!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking

Pages