Kid reviews for Roblox

Common Sense says

Game creator nurtures skills, but games can be violent.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 12+
Based on 346 reviews

Kids say

age 10+
Based on 986 reviews
Teen, 16 years old Written bySoulxBow February 18, 2011

Hmm...

I'm 16. I don't know why I play roblox but I guess I wanted to try it out. Off Topic, TONS of innapropriate forums and tons of trolls. Every other word seems to make another user mad. Safety is also a problem. You can even give out where you live in the SAFE chat. To me that's just messed up. I don't think I'm going to stick to roblox.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Educational value
Privacy & safety
Teen, 13 years old Written byway245 June 14, 2010

For Any Age

I love this website. You can go onto games and fight or play minigames or anything. The violence is not bad, you can use rockets/bombs/paintball guns/bouncey balls/sling shots/and many other things. This is not bloody. Your kids can learn about scripting, which is an essential when it comes to video game designing, and you can build whatever you want. Parents, there is no filter with language, ive ran into some people who have a tongue of a sailor. (means they cuss alot) but they get banned and cant get back on ROBLOX. You can buy things in the catalog (not real money, your character earns something called tix/robux that you use to buy other things.) And there is one more thing, ROBLOX players can put anything on their game. You have something called decals that you can paint on walls or your house or anything. Sometimes there is blood on walls, but thats only at like a zombie game or something. This also requires a download to play the games, which isnt alot of MB. Administrators are always standing by to make sure your child is safe, like if someone posted a decal of freddy krueger and admin would check the picture and deny it to be uploaded on ROBLOX. So you dont need to worry about anything image wise. There is a 1 in a thousand change that you will find a game where someone cusses. There is a report button too, that you can click put in the characters name, and tell them what theyve said or done something wrong. And the word "noob"is common. This is not a bad word. If you did something stupid people would call you a noob. This just mean you are new to the game or acting like you are. You can make many friends, and if you have any questions, go to the forum, and ask it. Users respond almost immediately and will help you with your problems.

This title contains:

Educational value
Teen, 17 years old Written byabatonfan June 27, 2012

Four year player. Parents need to be involved with their child.

I have currently played this game for well over four years and have seen the best and worst of the community. In some of the most popular games, online dating, foul language, and exploiting (people finding ways to break ROBLOX's firewalls to do things from simply adding extra bricks to a published place to inserting severe sexual content) are becoming issues that the ROBLOX team fails to resolve. Though, if parents find places appropriate for their children, the game can become a safe environment where children can practice programming, mathematical, and language skills valuable for a career in gaming design. The community ranges from horrid to superb. There are always your trolls (people posting statements intended to upset certain users, such as "so-and-so is an idiot and should be banned) and buffoons, but it is also known that college students use the site to study programming and enjoy giving a helping hand to newer players. Parents should be warned that there is no way to block a user from contacting your child, and that the ROBLOX moderation and support teams have sup-par responses to issues in its community, including a very rude email from one of the ROBLOX support team when I have sent a complaint about them not taking action against a bully I have been facing for well over a year and countless automatic, fill-in-the-blank, emails for other issues. Parents need to be involved with their children in this game. There is an option where parents can link their accounts to their children's and view things such as punishments given to their child, items bought, and friends recently made. Because this site has a very open filter (the game sometimes filters out swear words and offensive stuff, though it is easy to get around this), there is a potential for very young kids to see something offensive if they are not programmed to not view these chat messages.

This title contains:

Positive messages
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 17 years old Written byZhaydog February 21, 2014

Don't even try it.

Trust me on this. I've been a veteran of ROBLOX for six years now. Back in 2008, the community was fair-off. Minor insulting, Minor issues on sexual content, and minor issues on privacy. In 2009, ROBLOX added consumerism to it's silver platter. It added 3 "memberships" (And now if you don't have those memberships you'll be fiercely threatened with being maimed.) The first membership was the one I got for 1 month to try it out, called "Builder's Club." It cost 5 dollars per month and for lifetime, cost $99. allowed you to get 15 Robux per day. We will talk about currency later. It was horrible. The next one- Turbo Builders Club. It allowed you to get a orange hard hat, and get 35 Robux per day, all for $10 a month. What a ripoff. But that is nothing compared to the last one. The Outrageous Builder's Club allowed you to get 60 Robux a day, have a black hardhat, and have access to OBCTV, to let you know first what was in the next update. The primary person has no membership, and is treated as a lower-class individual from the people with memberships. There is, on some servers, people who are even racist against these people-Quote from OBC Member thepicduck124 to non-premium member dahlea83- U litl ni**er gt of mah gm b*tch ur d*ck is smll Incase you couldn't understand that, then it went You little Ni**er, get off my game b*tch, your d*ck is small. See, people don't even spell right. Next, let's talk about violence. There are games that are like "survive Freddy Krueger, and Kill the president" I went on to a seemingly happy game called Have a house and live there" and when my character joined, then the "Exorcist" face showed up on my screen. Next, sexual content. People make games where you can hit buttons, and girl pops up, and you know what happens next. Next- Currency The nonmembers get 10 ROtix a day, and back in the developement days, 10 ROtix was equal to 1 RObux. Well, after the ratio change, then 30 ROtix was equal to 1 RObux. Good luck buying that "Sparkle time fedora" that will make you famous, because it costs 10000 RObux.Next up- Moderation. First, there is a 1 in 253 chance that if your child "reports" something that the mods will read it. The CEO, Shedletsky, is the LEAST active person on ROBLOX. Next, privacy In 2008, then there was no asking for personal info. Now- Quote-Dude i can give you free 1,000,000 RObux if you say your [social security number]. Guess what. Someone actually did it. And on swearing- People find loopholes like @ss and 8itch, and fVck. It sucks if your'e playing a game and the chat is flooded with profanity. Parents, for your child's sake, don't let them play this game. ~Zhay

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, drugs & smoking
Privacy & safety
Kid, 10 years old December 28, 2013

worst game ever!

I have played Roblox for almost 2 years.I have seen private parts of the body.my dad has been scammed twice because he was charged twice.I have been banned twice for no reason once for 3 days and today for 1 day.There is poor moderation twice I have reported and Roblox didn't nothing.I have been called very hurtful things.There is one person who has bullied me since I have started he has been putting that I have to be banned from his server...that was the only time I reported and it worked.I would not recommend this game to anyone under 18 years of age.They say it is "child friendly" but it is not. There is a lot of favoritism on Roblox because there is an account called ROBLOX that is friends with the server called Apocalypse Rising and that is ROBLOX's favorite server.My dad thought this game was okay at first after the first month there was stuff on boys and girls hangout like 123 for a hot bf or gf.And they will ban you for no reason after the fifth time they ban you your ip. address and your computer.People will make fun of you if you do not have builders club.People have threatened me like saying they are going to kill me.Once I was on a server I got attacked using very in appropriate description.Then I got a nasty message from somebody saying... roses are red violets are blue I have five fingers the middle one is for you.Then the same person said he was gonna stab me with his knife and he was going to shoot me in the eye with his BB gun then Roblox started attacking my parents that they owed them $1800.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, drugs & smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byZacmac1997 May 26, 2009

An excellent game

I am Zacmac1997, who won WPBC. Roblox is well thought of, and is mostly aged for 10 year olds.One problem is language because in almost every game,( though with report button), People Cuss. But, you can report them. Another problem is diffuculty. The building aspect can be extremely hard. But, if you find out how to play, this game can become addicting!
Teen, 15 years old Written byDiscovery71 September 30, 2011

Roblox was ONCE a Great Game, But has recently fallen apart

Take it from me, a Roblox veteran (4 years on the game), this was once a great game environment for children. You could meet your friends, and socialize, make new friends, and create places for others to marvel at. Notice the key word 'was'. Since 2010, the virtual world of Roblox has become infested with kids who swear every time they fall over. There are now only 3 types of games: pointless, easy obstacle courses, Violent shooters that get worse every day, and places to hang around at where the only 3 phrases you are GUARENTEED to hear are "say 123 for bf/gf", "shut up/ I hate you/go away loser (commonly spell looser)", and/or some sort of Role playing (people create families which also tie into BF's and GF"s). I believe that this is a safety issue which has not been dealt with. Violence i now common on Roblox. When I first joined, shooting games were rare. Games that had weapons were usually designed for older kids. Now that people can create advertisements for their games, many kids (around 4-6) are playing remakes of 'Call of Duty' where the objective to to shoot the other player until his limbs are battered to a pulp. Finally, maney ppz talc liek they doent noe how to spel. If you did not understand that, it said many people talk like they don't know how to spell. It has become rare to find a single word that has been spelt right, creating a concern for later child development. There are SOME "stress on the some" pros to Roblox however. The game itself is very physics bases, with all properties of real life included. Other than that, I do not recommend Roblox for your child.

This title contains:

Educational value
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Teen, 14 years old Written byIwaki April 16, 2011

Kids shouldn't be on the Internet. Roblox is an example of why.

I've played Roblox for THREE years now. I can say, it's worse than Sonic Unleashed. First of all, they completely ignore any excessive violence. They ignore all reports on online dating. The filter sucks, and noticeable product placement? DISNEY. Users can add drugs into the game, and kids like my cousin feel insecure playing this.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, drugs & smoking
Educational value
Privacy & safety
Kid, 10 years old April 4, 2013

Do not go on this site, EVER!

I would not go on this website if I were you, people call each other 'noobs'. People also swear a lot. Plus, people online date even though it is against the website rules. And also, Roblox is EXTREMELY greedy. There's this stuff called 'Robux' that can be used to buy cool stuff, but guess what? You need to use real money to pay for it! And there are LOTS of weapons in this game. There are, bombs, nukes, and even guns.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Teen, 13 years old Written byzc97 March 15, 2010

Good site, just make sure to monitor your kids

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Privacy & safety
Kid, 8 years old August 7, 2014

So bad.

I used to play Roblox for almost a year with my friends and at first I thought it was great, but when I realized that people dated, said bad words, put REALLY gross stuff in the internet, and put bad gear, it had to go.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Drinking, drugs & smoking
Privacy & safety
Teen, 14 years old Written byepiccandy90 August 5, 2015

its perfect

i looked through all the reviews AND HAD TO WRITE THIS roblox moderators are perfect and online daters and people who swear and who post porn get banned for life all you have to do is REPORT THEM roblox helps you learn design script and how fast you type and computer science yes i agree the community are jackasses but alot of them arent ok and plus YOU ARE BEING TO STRICT the games are player made if they were really bad they would be reported o wait but non of THEM And TO BE im sick of hearing this game roblox cost to much well no it dosent its free builders club is for money because they need money to keep the site up thats why SOME stuff cost money it could be a whole lot worst im sick of parents being way to strict this is like the only website they can game build and learn this is truly the best site for kids 8-18 it took some time but roblox actually helped my kid learn not to swear and it is not cool and made him more social and more FUN i swear if i see my kid met a few admins in game and may i say they are fun and fun to be around and they are responsible and may i say again FUN and help your kid if you don't have roblox GET IT no more negative reviews till you see what roblox ACTUALLY IS thank you

This title contains:

Positive messages
Privacy & safety
Kid, 11 years old August 6, 2012

If I could I would give this site 0 stars

Hello.I am writing this review to inform you about roblox. Well, first of all, the community is terriable, infested with trolls who will destroy everything you worked for! Also, about 99% of the time very horriable words pass thouugh the moderators such as f*** and s***. Also, often, while play ing scripting games, some one almost always script so that they be sexual with some one else. Not to mention the consumersium! there is ads for everything even for gambling sites, and without builders' club you cannot remove them! Last, there are many people who will hack on to your account and get you banned! So, if I were you, I would block this site! Not recommended.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Privacy & safety
Teen, 14 years old Written bySalsander December 29, 2012

Horrendous Community Makes Roblox Hard To Recommend

I used to play Roblox a lot when I was younger. The original intent of the game was great, to be a kid friendly game that shows the endless possibilities in building structures while having a fun time with friends. Unfortunately, this game turned out poorly due to its community. Because game worlds are community generated and have little restrictions other than the imagination, almost any world can be created. Although this aspect of the game can the spark the imagination of some, it unfortunately opens doors to offensive content. The games generally created by Roblox users weren't too violent due to its blocky nature, but most games seem to revolve around violence. Sexuality is a bit of a concern though. There are "dating" places were you can role play as a male or female person dating one another, which seems inappropriate for the intended age group and quiet frankly ridiculous. Players can also type inappropriate messages into the chat system without reprimand. Also the community is terrible to each other, new people in particular. Read suchanoddity's review to get a whiff of what I mean. Members spend so much time trying to degrade others. Reporting also is unbalanced and broken. Members can easily get away with swearing. In fact, Roblox doesn't censor key words, so I could easily use the f bomb in the chat system. Some members report others just for their own amusement, and as a result, falsely accused members can be banned. The forums spew hate and pure asininity. The ROBLOX Global page is full of racist remarks, the Forum Games are full of threads called "Rate me" which are there purely to downgrade others, etc. Just look on the website to understand what I mean.The last (but not only) concern I want to address is the consumerism. You can buy a membership called "Builder's Club" which gives you privileges such as more places to create and currency to buy new accessories for your character. There are many divisions you can buy, like "Outrageous Builder's Club (OBC)" all costing a steep amount of money. I usually don't mind memberships because the site must have some form of revenue to survive, but a lifetime membership for OBC costs $350! With that kind of money you could buy an Xbox 360 or iPad mini! Kids will be encouraged to buy a membership because paying members will use their membership as a bragging right. I generally never give the "not for kids" rating (this is my first and only off rating), but to be perfectly candid, Roblox is not worth anyone's time or money. Buy your child Minecraft if he or she is looking for a good block building game.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Privacy & safety
Teen, 16 years old Written byGingerOne January 27, 2017

Boo, soccer moms and underparenters. Boo.

To everyone who hates ROBLOX because of those innapropriate things, I have a few answers. One: If you see any inappropriate games on the site, there is a report button near the play button. Same with inappropriate usernames. If someone is being mean and hurting your precious fee-fees, there's a report button on the in-game pause menu. Two: To those complaining about people doing stupid, vulgar, and inappropriate stuff: Welcome to the internet! People do things like that. ROBLOX is all about self expression, so it is inevitable that some wierdo will do something stupid. If you don't like it, then how about you consider closing the laptop. Just because the moderators have lives and only check the report logs maybe twice a day doesn't mean that the game solely revolves around sex and smoking weed and swearing people out. ONCE AGAIN, this is the INTERNET. When it all comes down to it, if you're mad that your six year old was called a knob in an online game, and it's not just ROBLOX where this happens, I can assure you that, how about you actually sit down and parent your six year old instead of expecting a game to do it for you. End rant.

This title contains:

Positive messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byXTheUnknown November 1, 2014

Before you take too many bad reviews into consideration, read this.

ROBLOX was designed to be a fun site where you can build your own place and make new friends. It definitely lives up to it's standards. There are thousands of users logging on every day. However, you should know that the game page is sometimes loaded with games that have negative concepts. "The Mad Murderer" is an example of these. There are also war groups, and... many games where people die, in general. BUT THAT DOES NOT MEAN ALL GAMES ARE BAD. There are fun, safe games to play as well on ROBLOX, and if you are cautious, you can avoid bad games altogether. "Work at a Pizza Place" is a good example. ROBLOX can suggest games for you to play based on what you've already played. If you like a game, give it a thumbs up. If you don't, give it a thumbs down. Nowadays, when you sign up for ROBLOX, based on your gender you are automatically given a terrible looking lego-like figure. Please remove this immediately. Most users discriminate against it and it is only ever used ironically. There are a few other free things you can get from the catalog that will make you fit in better. Sometimes, users will swear on ROBLOX. They only do this because of the poor hashtag sensor system. If we all report the swearing people, we can prevent swearing altogether. Besides, they're all probably spoiled 6-year-olds who play Call of Duty, anyways. Be warned that admin reports are poor. If you report a user, you better have a good, well-thought out reason that anybody can understand, or you yourself will be misunderstood, and banned for a couple of weeks. IF YOU ARE SENSITIVE, I suggest you stay away from battle games like "Sword Fight on the Heights" if you aren't experienced with using a sword on ROBLOX. PLEASE BE AWARE, ABOUT BATTLE GAMES, I think they're only accepted because all players re-appear at a checkpoint if they die. There is NO blood in battle games; the only thing that happens is the player's arms and head fall off and the body disappears, similar to in the LEGO video games. The Forums are a pretty good way to socialize in the ROBLOX community. I recommend staying away from "Off Topic" and "All Things ROBLOX". Off Topic is full of "Trolls", and All Things ROBLOX is almost never on topic. Be warned that the site's premium membership, "Builder's Club", is overly advertised. There are many features that require Builder's Club, such as having more than one ROBLOX place of your own open at a time, creating custom clothes, etc. Builder's Club isn't cheap, either. Before you discriminate against this, how much money do YOU think it cost to run a website with THOUSANDS of users who log in every day? The amount of resources on ROBLOX is so many that they need paying members. If you are under 13, you can't talk unless a parent sets it so you can. They removed the safe-chat feature, so now users who sign up under 13 can't say anything unless a parent sets it so they can, which is hard to figure out how to do. If you have a child playing ROBLOX, or are a child playing ROBLOX, I think ROBLOX is a good site. It requires you to download it's software, which is completely safe. If you're worried about your kid doing bad things or playing bad games or wondering if they're getting their feelings hurt, or whatever you're wondering, just make your own account and follow them around secretly. In closing, if you make a free account, choose your friends wisely, play games with caution, and report the bad stuff with good reasoning, I believe anyone can have a safe, fun experience on ROBLOX.

This title contains:

Positive messages
Language
Consumerism
Kid, 12 years old May 29, 2012

VERY DANGEROUS!

I've been playing Roblox for close to a year now and you wouldn't believe how bad the Roblox community is. One problem about it is too much online dating, cussing, and many other offenses the Roblox community has. Just recently, I had gotten threatening text messages from a person who I had reported for cussing and online dating. When I received the text messages, the player I banned actually tracked my IP address and found out where Iived and threatened to come and get me at my house if I didn't stop playing Roblox. Even though I handled the problem myself, I wouldn't recommend your children to go play Roblox at all!!!! Another problem is the offensive word "noob" a.k.a "n00b" is not differentiated with the word "newb" which a non offensive word for new person. Also, when the players start "roleplaying" they bring up bad topics such as online Pornography, alcohol, and violence. There is a big safety problem in Roblox such as other players always asking your age or the place you live. As always the moderation in Roblox always fails, such as once I reported a girl player cussing it also got me banned even though I didn't do any type of Roblox offense. Even if you report someone, sometimes if they get banned it will just say their account is banned when they log on, but when it says account disabled they can just press accept at the bottom of the screen to reactivate their account. However whenever a player gets banned for something they didn't do they cannot reactivate their directly that day. Like I said the moderation fails, in another way because hackers get away with hacking certain game servers, also there's too much trolls on the website. Even though spamming is an offense, people get away with posting fake in game money scams without being moderated. Another bad thing about Roblox is when you start playing too much you get addicted and aggressive, because when I started playing Roblox too much I started getting addicted and aggressive. The violence in this game is unbelievable, because in certain games you have and sometimes unlock weapons to kill other players on opposing teams or just kill anyone in sight. Also, there is too much horror games which can disturb kids under 12 or can affect anybody depending on how scary the game is. After I left Roblox since yesterday (5/28/12) I wouldn't recommend your kids to play Roblox at all, even if they play as a guest because there is a lot of hatred for playing as a guest! One last thing about Roblox is everywhere you go you'll see adds saying "Buy Builder's Club today!" and don't even bother to by BC because even for classic BC it's expensive, TBC is more expensive, and OBC is 20$ a month and life time for OBC is as expensive as buying a new Xbox 360 or Playstation 3, and the costumer service is horrible and the people running it are very rude!

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, drugs & smoking
Privacy & safety
Teen, 17 years old Written bypokemonxyex November 1, 2015

the game

Its not good on some games so be sure its ok to play

This title contains:

Positive messages
Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Language
Consumerism
Drinking, drugs & smoking
Kid, 12 years old January 3, 2013

It depends

I personally think this game has poor staff that don't really monitor the games and other players. i have found some people who do curse and they don't get banned even if you report them. It may seem kid friendly but you need to be responsible about the games/people, if you do let your kid join it is a good idea to monitor them. If someone is cursing just leave the game ( cause its a 1 in 100 chance they will get banned). Let them have an hour a day, i would think that because it is really addicting if you play too much. All i am saying is that if you think your kid is mature enough to handle it then it is ok.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Kid, 12 years old January 10, 2011

ROBLOX IS SCARY

It is good... but the games are scary. Theres a game called "The Cursed House" and when you go into this one part of the hallway a zombie face pops up on your screen and makes a disturbing noise. now the weird part was that you couldnt get past it, and right after it popped up it would kick you out of the game. Ive also seen an ad with the exorcist lady on it. it covered the whole thing. and the haunted houses are freaky. I was exploring a haunted house and there was a window that lead into the bedroom and it showed a robloxian with a decal of the exorcist face on its head staring at you. And Koomikes F.E.A.R.s gave me nightmares. theres also a game created by WillieTehWierdo200 called ghost hunters. it is freaky cause if ur in the bathroom and you stare at the mirror a zombie face comes up and makes a noise that gives me the chillies at night. and the front bell rings and a ghost walks by and scares alot of users. theres also the theater screen, (makes a cough noise and a zombie comes up and its frightening) and in the attic thers a room with a chair, and a picture of mona lisa. if u sit in the chair and stare at it lightning flashes and mona lisas face is a scary alien thing. Now, if you can avoid these games, you will like roblox ;D

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Language
Educational value

Pages