All member reviews for SecretBuilders

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging, great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging, good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging, good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging, okay learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Vast virtual world appeals to wide age range.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 40 reviews)
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old September 13, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

bravo great game

This is great. But sometimes on the game there is alot of sexual talk. This is as far as some people go: Seax party at my place! or there is some swearing but they substitute the words with new ones, for example: seax bioch puck etc. There is also alot of talk about scamming and hacking and scamming and hacking.I have had a dizzy scammed out of me before. I met a girl in urbanopolis she said she just wanted to try my dizzy on and that she will give it back. She begged and begged until I finally said yes. Well you can kinda guess what happened after that. So remember. if you are playing this game. dont let the sexual talk swearing get to you.If someone asks u to go out with them... say no. Dont go to those spin the bottle or "seax partys". Dont do anything that semms suspicias I mean that in scamming or hacking especially scamming.and if someone asks u for your password and say they wont hack...never give it away cause I can garuntee u WILL get hacked. Remember. SB is trying there best to make this a safe environment for everyone so please dont blame this on SB. Anyway on SB I am currently a superbuilder on SB. My screen name is godrocks7... come visit me.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 10 years old October 21, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Ok!

It's an ok game I like the clothing,but the language is a downer. I say don't let your child out of the tree house because there are very bad words. Safe play:stay in the tree house, Write stories,play games, dress up, only! hang with friends you know
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 10 years old December 24, 2011
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Too much sexual activity in inappropiate behavior!

I played this website alot. I am kgirl_builders. I got too old for it so i gave my account to my sister. People use fake cursing words and crazy things. Like "bllch" or "cx" , or drinkz vodka! Yes they say vodka! They hit and slap each other by simply saying slapz and hitz. They can simply say their age. This is horrible behavior for little kids!
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byeicats January 1, 2013
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Childs safety regarding inappropriate acts/ comments questioned!

My daughter loves it, she is 10. I have to monitor her activity on secret builders because of others! Kids are able to get around the safe chat and create codes and tricks to kiss and pretend sexual acts with others. My daughters avatar was approached and asked about sex. I am trying to figure out if I can prevent this somehow so she can safely play. It can be addictive as well!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 9 years old October 9, 2011
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

fun... but some of the chat is inappropriate

I like the site. But even though it is fun, many phrases people use are not appropriate which upsets me a lot for the rest of the site is very enjoyable.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Kid, 12 years old October 7, 2013
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

One of the best games I've seen!

Age range: 5 year olds to 17 year olds. This site is amazing! People don't even realize it's educational when it actually is. The quests are somewhat challenging and range from little kids to old teenagers. For kids: games, stories such as Alice in Wonderland, etc. For teenagers: Stories by Edgar Allen Poe such as The Raven and The Tell Tale Heart, challenging quests, etc. It's also very safe, and if another player is causing problems, you can ignore them.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old July 9, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

I dunno

What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byNerdyChique82 July 29, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

PARENTS BEWARE….

My daughter is 11 years old and became addicted to this site. Then, boys started coming up to her ALL the time asking her sexual questions and being EXTREMELY graphic and inappropriate. It was disgusting. You have the ability to block users, but there are so many gross boys on there that they can just keep making different avatars. I can't even let her use the site anymore. They don't regulate any of this…they say they do, but guess what…IT STILL HAPPENS and MORE OFTEN than other sites. It really was bad…..
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Parent Written byayiticherie January 20, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

DRUG DEALERS ON THIS SITE

I was lulled into thinking that this was a safe place for kids when I saw the Parent magazine endorsement on the bottom of their website. Boy did I have another thing coming. I signed up specifically with commonsense to WARN OTHERS ABOUT THIS WEBSITE. There is one part of the website where they can decorate their own rooms and that seems innocent enough but if you flick on the map button on the top it will take you to several chat room filled with "kids" who are having conversations. As I type this there is someone in the North Pole chat room asking others if they want to buy any "trees" (Marijuana) another offering "ice" (Crystal Meth), someone else saying that they have free girls in their room and they want to party and another saying they want to kill themselves. Appalling. STAY AWAY.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 8 years old August 29, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Who in the world likes this?!

Its so stupid stupid stupid stupid why do peeps lime this!?
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old November 30, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Awful

Well, people curse all the time or make up words that sound like curse words. Very inappropiate.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written by_Kristian_1030 July 9, 2014
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Eh....Probably Not the Best Choice....For Some!

Secretbuilders has some pros and cons. Secretbuilders teaches youth how to manage their money wisely. Yes, I WANT that TV but I also NEED some clothes. Secretbuilders also has some educational games you can play to interact with others at the SB school. Lastly, sitting in front of a computer, you can't actually see the person so there is no judging going on. It teaches your child to only judge someone by their character not what they look like. Okay, now here comes the bad part. When I first joined SB, this boy walked up to me and said, "You free?" He was basically asking me out. People also have spin the bottle parties, meet you match parties and cx "sex" parties. I would not suggest anyone under the age of 14 using SB.
Kid, 12 years old April 10, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Boring Game

I found this game very boring and the layout was very confusing. I didn't really know where to click. :/ My friend, who's the same age as me loves this game. It's not really anything to do with building. I got a warning for saying a word that wasn't even rude. I haven't been on the website since and you can't delete your account once you've made it. :/
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written byWinchestar February 26, 2014
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
LEARNING
Kid, 11 years old January 5, 2014
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Secret Builders is a pause! NOT for kids under 10!

when i first got on secret builders i thought it was a great sight. i have been a builder for 443 days now. i first learned about it at school so i thought it was going to be a kid friendly sight. i like it because it allows you to dress up and designe clothes but as you get pritier, boys start asking you out and want to come to your home to do inapropriate things. the north pole is a populat hangout where most of the ''pause'' comes on. a lot of kids change a letter in a bad word to be allowed to say it to other builders. i have only reported one person for directly calling me a '' b word'' but have never thought about reporting again. if you go on some of the lower populations you have a better chance of having less problems on the site. i still play secret builders but that is only because i know to be nice, speak nice, and act nice to others. for a childs safety i think the parent should make an account just to be able to monotor what is going on
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 12 years old December 29, 2013
AGE
10
QUALITY
 

Didn't like it

I used this site once. Very disappointing. The "Builders" (Avatars) were using like-curse words, so they wouldn't get banned. When you get banned, it is for one day. If you keep getting banned, then two days, and eventually forever. They can just make a new account and do the same. Also, "Spin The Bottle" is a common game, and I wouldn't recommend kids using it.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written byslyfox432 September 24, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Dizzywood is better

It's great for learning. You can hatch your own pet ( some are for Superbuilders which are members ) and raise it. However I believe that Dizzywood ( closed ) was a better site.
Kid, 11 years old July 26, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 

Secret Builders??? What's Happend?!

I've been on Secret Builders since i was like 9 or 10 and also I don't know what's happend because everything was fine until teens and up came on there.It's like there trying to teach kids that the bad stuff is,like,good. I mean there is spin the bottle which there saying "kzzz" for kiss. And sex parties and there saying "sex" for "cx".And there scaming like one time this girl has been begging to have this dress and I've saved up for and promised she give it back well, you can guess what happened.Anyway, it was all good until the teens and olders came on there.It is sooooo NOT good for kids.I don't know what the adults are saying but I know your going to agree that they should start listening to the kids! So, please read this and make the decision. ;) *wink wink*.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written bysecretbuilder_spy May 11, 2013
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

Secret builder spy

I play this game alot and if you would like to know what goses on and what happend i maid a tumblr account so you can check up regulerly or follow to give info on what the kids are doing tumblr - secretbuilder-spy i hope this will help :) ps - it wont let me post a link
Kid, 8 years old February 16, 2013
AGE
8
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

I think its Fair

I think its fair , Alot of things you can do you can sleep (NOT IN THE SAME BED AS ANYBODY) Also if anybody says do you want to have .... You know they will be banned and the word will not be showed :) Awesome quests that teach kids

Pages