All member reviews for Stardoll

Common Sense Media says

Dress-up doll fun with safe features for younger users.
 

Users say

(out of 133 reviews)
age 11+
 
Review this title!
Teen, 14 years old Written bymaariya01 December 30, 2012
 

what makes children spend so much money on stardoll

i think that stardoll is ok. the only thing is that there is way too much advertising. they encourage non members to waste a lot of money too buy supertstar.some points of how they make make people waste money on the game:1) there is something called stardollars on stardoll which are gold coins. everyone seems to really want them because you can only get stardollars if you are a superstar and you can buy some really good clothes.2) when your superstar it costs £2.50 for 2 weeks superstar £5.oo for 4 weeks and £10 pounds for a month. you dont really get that much stardollars with them so when the children finish there stardollars they instantly want even more and because they parents probably dont want them spending to much on a game some children tend to steal their parents phones or credit cards in order to be superstar. 3) there is also royalty on stardoll which is £25 for a whole year when you become superstar there are some things in the shop where you have to be royalty to buy some certain things. 4) when you first register to stardoll on the second day you get 20 stardollars the gold coins and 500 starcoins they are purple and not very much people find them useful, stardoll give yoy the 20 stardollars to give yoyu a tastre of how it feels to get stardollars, so because the children can not get stardollars whislt they are non sueperstar then they tend to really want to be superstar for the stardollars.when you become non superstar after being supertsar you instantly have no stardollars because you probably spent them when you were superstar so it makes the children want to be superstar again for the stardollars and then get in to the habit of spending money on the game that they cant stop and it wastes a lot of money
What other families should know
Too much consumerism
Kid, 11 years old December 4, 2012
 
LEARNING

Not a bad website!

I love stardoll, I have been on it since around 2010, and I think that it is a great website! I love it because, there is so much choice of how you would like to style your "Medoll". If you would like to see what my star doll suite looks like (It`s a pretty good example of a nice suite!) My stardoll username is rrmakana. I would say that it is pretty safe, and not very many stalkers or creepy people. But they are some, but Stardoll staff does a pretty good job of maintaining bad users. There are also some "inappropriate" users who try hard to look "sexy" but you can usually tell if they are bad by there username. There used to be a girl (She is deleted now) named something like "SuperSmxy", and she was very inappropriate. There is also some swearing, and some users get around the no swearing rules by saying the words like "$h!t", so watch out for that. Also, they try and get you to buy membership which cots money, and also to buy the in game currency. Once you have had the paid membership (Called a superstar) for a whole year, you become stardoll royalty. (Im stardoll royalty!) There is also competitions like covergirl, and party planner, and usually only stardoll royalty wins those titles, and once a year they have Miss Stardoll World. I think that this is a good website, to let users try to "achieve their dream" of becoming covergirl or whatever. I love this website!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 10 years old November 7, 2012
 

Just Okay....

When I found this website online, I really was excited to find this, especially since Girl Sense, one of my favorties, closed down. Now, not saying this is a totally bad website. If you avoid the right things, it's very fun. The only thing that disappoints me is that this webstie advertises tattoos on the dolls. This is the only thing that really suprised me. My family and I are against things like drugs, so that disappoined me, but if you aviod that, the rest is fine. Overall, is game is just okay.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 13 years old Written bygirlygirl4812 October 9, 2012
 
LEARNING

It's not as bad as former members might have you think

Stardoll has changed alot in the 3 years I've been a member. It is very fun and could be considered educational, as you have to be careful with spending Stardollars and Starcoins because you have a limit on how many you can earn per day/month. There are some issues with things like language, but administrators encourage you to report bad language, bullying, or asking for personal info.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Teen, 15 years old Written byyugiohbakura August 26, 2012
 

Not what I paid for...

I've been using Stardoll for about 3 years now and I have to say that overall I'm disappointed. I spent over $50 to become a royalty (having membership for over a year), and it wasn't worth it. All I got was access to a club. Stardoll is glitchy and really annoying at times, they update frequently, but never resolve older issues. Sometimes you have to click save 15+ times just to get your doll to save properly. Another issue is other members. I wouldn't recommend this game for anyone under 12. Younger members are often tricked into revealing or changing their passwords to get membership. I don't blame them, Stardoll is so cheap non paying members barely get anything making the game almost pointless. Younger members are also vulnerable to sexual content. Some clubs have links to sites such as chat rooms, and inappropriate stories. I wouldn't let younger kids play without a grown up around or using KidSafe (which some younger kids fail to tell their parents about -_-). P.S. My older review was under the username "gaaralover".
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old August 14, 2012
 
LEARNING

stardoll

It's a great game. No download and there is no pressure to becoming a Superstar. Becoming a superstar is great and there are different methods other than using credit card. In stardoll you are given a doll, a suite and a welcoming gift of a huge increase, 1000 starcoins. 1000 starcoins is alot. 300 sc is alot! There are cool games for young children and it's open to boys also. The dolls are not skimpy, they were a lilac bandeau and underwear. They show no boobs and its fairly flat chest. the bad thing are that their is a "bad stardoll" it's kept silent and you never see them. You can design hair, clothes, interior, and jewelry. Earning the Superstar currency Stardollars, is easy and you get them every 5 days when connected to Facebook. It's an awesome game. You get an album, suite, blog, presentation etc! there's kidsafe mode. this game is awesome and suitable for girls and boys of all ages!!
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old August 9, 2012
 

STARDOLL REVIEW

it is really good and i'm 11 years old all my friends go on it and it is verry safe the one thing that does concern me is that lots of people hack your acount which if u are a superstar on the site could be very bad ooverall it's great add me on stardoll i'm bluecrystalsky3
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 11 years old August 7, 2012
 
LEARNING

Awesome

I play it and you have a person buy clothes and you can dress famous people, design stuff and i think its fine for my age
Teen, 14 years old Written byelectric ella July 24, 2012
 
LEARNING

Iffy messages, but good entertainment value

This site is...not really the best for learning. It is more of a social networking site. I have an account for it, but I feel that restrictions on a free account are getting more and more. A free account will include some money, but on the site it won't get very far. Stardoll encourages going online every day to win awards and making friends with people you don't know is practically encouraged! There are rewards for having a high amount of friends and, if the right restrictions aren't enabled, friend requests are sent to you all the time from people all around the world! Although the site has careful restrictions, a lot of things go unnoticed. A lot of the clothes that can be bought virtually are pretty skimpy (more like "What are they NOT wearing") and a lot of girls promote their relationships online. A lot of it is blocked out though, and it is a really good creative site. There are rewards for online competitions, to have the best scenery (a picture you can create), album (you can save dress ups and decorate a book that other users can see) or blog, which users can post anything in. The latter can be iffy sometimes, so it's best to watch out what can be viewed. Overall, the site is quite good for the creative side, but there are things to watch. It is not particularly educational, promotes shopping and popularity, but also good behaviour and having a positive attitude. It is quite a good site for enjoying yourself as safely as it is possible, online.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much consumerism
Teen, 16 years old Written byThatFunBabysitter July 20, 2012
 

Extremely fun, but be careful..

I use to be addicted to this game. The problem is.. It all seems very very innocent on the outside, but there are inappropriate (sexual!) clubs on this website. This site introduced me to many things I wish I hadn't known at that age. Also, peer pressure is BIG on this site. Some of the clothing you can buy for your doll is very revealing as well.. I suggest monitoring your child on this site- and you'll be fine. Keep them away from the sexual clubs & prevent them from sharing personal information (other members may ask! Do not share!)
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byhailey berryuip July 16, 2012
 

Sex Talk

I think stardoll has to much of SEX talk
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 10 years old June 25, 2012
 
LEARNING

Awesome!!!

Its great! Kids learn how to spend their money fairly and not to much. You can buy pretty much any piece of outfit and make up/ jewelry. Only reason why 9 and up is because younger kids will not understand how it works. If the kids get bored on it there are games like Math Challenge and Best photo! Which are a lot of fun! Your kids can design outfits, jewelry, hair, and suite furniture! But my favorite thing to do is go to stores and buy every piece of clothing that looks great on my character.But the parties are only for 13 and older for 2 reasons, 1: Has no cuss rule which if you break will be banned, but people can make code like "despo" instead of "desperation". 2: Some boys will go topless and girls can wear bikinis and not appropriate outfits. But the website you CAN be a Superstar or Diamond Star which is paid membership. You get more stardollars and starcoins. And you get to sell the things you create in the design and sell at the starbazzar. You will see that on other peoples Superstar suites. And at the Starplaza you will see Starbazzar beside it. And there is dress up which is in the fun & games. You dress up any celebrity on the list. They have somthing called Covergirl. Not the make up brand. Stardoll Covergirl was around before Covergirl Make-up. The front page is the cover like on a book. The first covergirl is the National one. The best ratings in one day on their suite in the country. The Covergirl is the best who got the best ratings in the world in one day! I think I have told you everything I know about Stardoll! Add JapanDawn as a friend!
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 14 year old Written byRainbowsnWindows June 14, 2012
 

Eh

You can post messages on games, And i believe you can post on others profiles aswell. It's a fun site and it has entertaining games. Encourages kids to be themselves and be creative
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 12 years old May 16, 2012
 

Stardoll

I played on stardoll it was okay at first but now its just kinda dumb. You have to buy an upgrade with real money, you can accept friend requests from people you don't know, the clothing is showy, you can buy fake cigarettes and have your doll "smoke" them, and your doll is voted 1-5 stars and you are just voted on your suite and looks.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Kid, 12 years old May 6, 2012
 

Is Stardoll for those who loves fashion or it's a motivation to earn them money???

I am member on Stardoll two years now and I recommend to other to sign up.I also verify that Stardoll is the most safe game on the internet.With the kidsafe button nobody can connect with you if you aren't friends from the email.But also there are hackers and cheats and also some girls and boys say that they are together even they don't know each other.Girls when see a cool guy in parties flirt and the guy answers orleaves.(Girls act like they see a famous person)Also rarely some dolls when meet each other in suite chat can put off their clothes(sex).Another negative is that many users name their dolls with bad words.Also when you write over 6 numbers in a row stardoll hide them because it may is a password.But when you first sign up you will be soon addicted.I have counted how much money I spend till I become royality and you can spend mach without understanding it.Simple memberships aren't easily noticed and althought Stardoll is for these who love fashion it's difficult to create your designs and buy them because you must pay with stardollars which you can buy.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 9 years old April 26, 2012
 

Stardoll........... BE CAREFUL!!!!!!

Ok, so me being 10 and all that, you'd think I'd be all 'OMG Stardoll is amaze!' But I never have been like that. I have a Stardoll account, so do all of my friends. So good things first. When you first make an account, you get 1000 starcoins, which any girl would LOVE, and a pretty cool 'suite' (2 rooms, you have to pay to get more.) It's enough to get enough clothes to get you started, at least. There is a huge variety of shops to choose from, most actually exist in the non virtual world. You can go pretty detailed in the 'Create a doll' section, which you do at the very start, when you first create an account. There are games to play on, you can dress up your doll, etc....etc......Anyway, now for the bad things. Everybody is at peer pressure to be CoverGirl, like a prom queen in High School, and everybody you have never met in your life are always posting on your Guest Book, which is like a comments section. One of the big problems are the parties, which members host( you have to pay to be a member.) These are usually really, really in appropriate for younger members. I am a witness, once because I went to a party, and there was a girl and a boy flirting, the boy actually PROPOSED to the girl, the girl said yes and then said she was gonna go and get dressed for a night of 'shmex' and came back in her bra and panties! That's another thing. Skimpy outfits, like when people drag their skirts up to their boobs, and say their dresses! You can also swear, even though the Stardoll staff forbid it, and there have been several cheats in the past and they don't even bother to fix it. In some ways the swearing ban is really annoying, for example: Inposted on someone's guestbook " Love ur dresse( the dressE bit was an accident)! XXXX, and it didn't allow me to post the message because the s and the e from the dresse, and an x from the kisses, and they thought I was trying to spell sex! People also say " Partyyyy tiiiimmmmeeee biiiiiittttttccccchhhhhhheeeeeesssssss!" and they stretch out the swear word. As well as that, there can be some drug references, and the word despos doesn't seen to be banned either, and I have seen that in almost every party I've been to. But, if you tell your kid to be careful, as I have been, then she/he will probably be ok. Thanks for reading!
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 9 years old April 24, 2012
 

Review

the rating of dating and sex is VERY poor as lots of members DATE on stardoll and younger members learn about it from them. It can also be a annoying site since of the loading and the safety lock that comes on when you change your password.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byFirstTry April 16, 2012
 

Stardoll

It's a good site.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Kid, 11 years old April 3, 2012
 

:) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :) :)

Hey!! i think stardoll is ON. its amazing, and my mom approves 100%. I paid to become a member, and it was TOTALLY worth it. There is a little bit of boyfriend girlfriend stuff, but other wise its fine. The pic of stardoll up there looks grusom and horrid. But really, stardoll isnt bad at all. there are ALWAYS gonna be people being mean, dont take it out on this 1site.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 12 years old February 14, 2012
 

werid

oh my gosh dont play this it sucks
What other families should know
Too much sex

Pages