All parent member reviews for Starfall.com

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Parents say

(out of 33 reviews)
AGE
3
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Educator and Parent Written byrpaditya May 20, 2011
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

good tool to learn letters and phonics

good for teaching mouse skills and has the right balance of incentives and rewards
What other families should know
Educational value
Parent of a 4, 7, 9, and 11 year old Written byaasaints April 26, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

my son loves it

my son loves it so much
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 3 and 6 year old Written byKZMama February 15, 2011
AGE
3
QUALITY
 
Both my three year old and kindergartner love this website!
Parent of a 6 year old Written byedguerrier May 7, 2009
Parent of a 2, 5, and 5 year old Written bypiatt lake April 6, 2009
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Well Done

Simple to use, effective and fun. My experience is with five year old twins (Boy and Girl). I can't imagine a better 'learn to read' site. Well done.
Parent Written bypeacefulpup July 24, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Teaches Letters & Numbers

LOVE this website. I started using it in my classroom and now I use it at home with my two year old. He loves going through the letters, numbers, sound machines, and games. Purchased the More Starfall subscription to use at home. My son says every day, "Let's do letters and numbers!!" (on starfall)
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Parent of a 3 and 5 year old Written byhpitts May 10, 2010
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Wonderful Phonics & Reading Educational Website!

Website you and your kids will love! I love that Starfall.com is free and easy for small children to navigate. My boys, now almost 4 & 6 have been playing games on this site for several years now. The content reinforces the letter recognition, phonics & reading skills I am trying to teach them. My 3-yr-old is starting to write and recognize short words. Yay Reading!
What other families should know
Great messages
Educator and Parent of a 2, 6, and 8 year old Written byKittycat56 April 5, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Don't bother.

AGGGGGGHH!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent of a 6 year old Written bymadsmooney1214 August 29, 2012
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

starfall

here are numerous ways to encourage children of all ages to become and continue to be readers. Check out Common Sense Media's expert article on How to Get Your Kids Reading.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byMutya April 8, 2012
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

Very Recommended.

It's a supplementary learning, with really entertaining activities that reinforce learning. Your kids chooses what they want, and learns. Although, there are no step by step learning guide like abcmouse, timefor learning, and or readingeggs. But FAR EDUCATIONAL ENTERTAINING than any site. I recommend this as a supplement to other online programs. In case your child gets bored to any other program, use starfall for a while and get back to you original program.
What other families should know
Educational value
Parent of a 10 and 13 year old Written bypoorhaus January 26, 2012
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

5 Stars for Starfall

I encourage my 1st grade students to visit this site in our computer classes. It offers a variety of reading material on different levels from beginning phonics to tongue-twisters, plays, and poetry. The children enjoy clicking on the pictures to watch the characters sing, dance, or do magic tricks. If a child gets stuck on a word, he or she can click on it and a child's voice will pronounce the word while the syllables of the word are highlighted. There are sesonal activities, calendar activities, phonics games, and so much more! It is easy for six-year olds to navigate. You will be very pleased with this site.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Parent of a 4 and 7 year old Written byMaryKay January 26, 2012
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Learning disguised as fun

An excellent, easy to use, and educational website you'll be happy your children visit.
What other families should know
Educational value
Educator Written byTechTeacherElem December 16, 2011
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Resourceful

It is excellent resource for primary students, and for a small fee you have access to extra content as well.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much consumerism
Parent of a 3 and 5 year old Written byamosua April 12, 2011
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
i love it , my five year old boy who hate reading is learning now.
What other families should know
Educational value
Parent of a 2 and 2 year old Written byCP Padre January 12, 2011
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Perfect for beginning readers

Our two year old loves this website. My wife is a teacher and when the weather is bad she can sit with him for hours going through the stories over and over again. The lessons are portrayed in a way that, even at his age, he is able to grasp some of the concepts.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Parent of a 5 and 8 year old Written byckmidwife November 23, 2010
AGE
5
QUALITY
 

A Winner

This is one of our staple websites, a bit repetitive after a while but when cycled every few weeks the kids enjoy the activities.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Parent of a 4 year old Written bybarbee girl August 23, 2010
AGE
4
QUALITY
 
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Educational value
Parent of a 5 and 10 year old Written bySchnauzer July 26, 2010
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

great for the pre-k k crowd

My five year old was introduced to this site at junior kindergarten and loves it so much he chooses it over other higher tech games.
What other families should know
Educational value
Parent of a 4, 6, and 9 year old Written byAniF February 18, 2010
AGE
3
QUALITY
 

100% Wonderful.

Easy to use for pre-schoolers and pre-readers, no advertisements, interesting section on music history. This website has been a favourite in our house for years, and we have recommended it to our preschool too.This website is just about as PERFECT as perfect gets!
What other families should know
Great messages
Parent of a 2 year old Written bymellybean1226@h... December 10, 2009
AGE
3
QUALITY
 
This is a wonderful site that my 16 month old loves. It works very well on my slow laptop that I allow her to pound on. We have mostly used the young user information but she watches and tries to poke the screen to move on to the next section. There is some ASL information in the alphabet section and great little songs.
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages

Pages