All member reviews for Storybird

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Create beautiful books to share online and in print.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 9 reviews)
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 16 years old Written byrebma97 September 21, 2013
AGE
6
QUALITY
 

Nice Creative Outlet

I haven't explored this website much, but it seems very nice. All of the stories I've seen so far are clean, and the pictures are beautiful. A lot of the stories have some sort of meaning, so that's a positive message. Overall this site seems fine for kids.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old September 21, 2013
AGE
4
QUALITY
 

Best website ever!

This is my absolute favorite website. The environment is great, everyone is so nice, and you can really let your creativity flow. So so so great!
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 12 years old April 23, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

hi

it will help us learn
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written byIsaac T November 10, 2014
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

A site I've treasured for two years.

Perfect for all ages! Every single story is moderated for ultimate appropriateness.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 10 years old August 23, 2014
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

A bit limited for class-users and minors.

I, myself, found myself signing up so I could upload art, write poems, chapter books and picture books. Unfortunately, that is not what I got. As much as I love this website, it seems that it is very limited for users connected to their class at school. Only people from your class can comment and critique your stories, and it seems that we can not write poems or chapter books unless the teacher applies those things to our accounts. I attempted to create an artist's account so I could publish my art only to find out that you must be eighteen or older, and a professional, to publish art. Although lots of the stories are perfectly appropriate, my class mates have decided that it is funny to write stories about, and I quote, 'Fairies showing off their sexy bodies'. And let us not forget the incident of 'The girl that loved Joe.' Still, we mustn't blame the website for my class's sick humor. All in all, a good website for budding authors, but could use a bit of moderation as to what is posted in the class circles. I would also like to see a Artbird, in which you can create your own art and have it critiqued by professional artists.
What other families should know
Great messages
Kid, 11 years old August 12, 2014
AGE
11
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

the best day ever

i think this book is very fun i mean u can't resist it can you?
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written bycher1234556 July 5, 2014
AGE
9
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Storybird is the BEST for anyone who likes to write and read!

It's perfect if you have a preschooler kid (check this book out to get what I mean: https://storybird.com/books/exploring-the-1-2-3s-with-tom-and-friends/), if you want your kid to start reading or writing if you're a teen/tween aspring writer, an adult who's looking for a volunteer job and loves to read (become a storyspotter/moderator), an adult who likes to write, or even a professional author (like Kay Cassidy: https://storybird.com/chapters/elle-mcgraw-teen-millionaire/1/). Artist? Get an artist account and see thousands of users use and love your artwork in their stories. Teacher? Sign up an entire class with your teacher account, give them assignments and encourage them to write! Storybird has a safe environment and a very friendly, cooperative community with people of every age. All comments and stories are moderated, as well as usernames. There's something for everyone. :)
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much consumerism
Kid, 9 years old May 13, 2014
AGE
5
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Best website ever!

I've had an account for at least 10 months now, and I love this website! The stories are amazing, and any age can have an account. Amazing website.
Kid, 7 years old February 11, 2014
AGE
7
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Just starting

We've just started here, but it seems really good.