Parent reviews for TeenVogue

Common Sense says

Fashion-forward posts, ads, and some controversial content.
Based on our expert review

Parents say

age 17+
Based on 39 reviews

Kids say

age 16+
Based on 4 reviews
Parent Written byJanie D. August 14, 2017

Adult content

The sexual content in this magazine is not age appropriate. They know that they have readers as young as 11 and 12 years old. Why are they instructing them to add sex toys and condoms to their back to school list and giving instructions on how to engage in anal sex? Why can't we just let children be children. That particular article should be considered adult content and illegal to distribute to minors under 17. They accuse the parents who complain of being homophobic. This is not about homosexuality. It's about the fact that it is wrong to instruct children on how to do something that is clearly not age appropriate. They also forgot to include all the possible health problems that this particular activity can result in. The site rated them high for being educational. Yet they don't fully educate. If you are going to educate on how to do something, educate about the risks as well!

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byPatricia A. July 29, 2017

Need to change priority in your magazine teen vogue!

Im writing about the sexual section in teen vogue magazine! It is absolutly horrible that the magazine promote anal sex for any ages but specialy teen vogue! They are too young to know these things and instead you guys should teach teens how it is important to save sex for MARRIAGE! Their value are not based on sexualty and not even based on fashion ! Please consider all those reviews against these kinds of article!
Parent Written bySam P. July 25, 2017

This has changed since my days!

The common sense media rating is way off the mark to not include several ticks by the sexual content column. The recent anal sex article is ridiculous, not because of "homophobic backlash" but because this is a magazine with preteen readers - I am as excited about that content here as I would be in a Nancy Drew book. This article follows on the heels of post-abortion gift giving, and regularly sexually charged articles and content - while pretending to empower teen girls. Couple that with the unrealistic images and it is about on par with porn in terms of valuing young girls. Nothing says empowerment louder than teaching our girls they are merely play toys valued for their sexual nature and appearance from a young age. This is a dangerous message masquerading as "acceptance."

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Parent of a 8, 13, and 15 year old Written byReagan L. July 23, 2017

Are you serious?!

I just joined Common Sense Media. And this rating on Teen Vogue is the first one I saw. I will be unsubscribing now. If the good people at Common Sense Media think it's okay for 13 year olds to read about what heating pad you should use after an abortion and how to safely get fucked in the ass, then why in the hell would I bother with any of the rest of their ratings?

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byWriterMomof3 July 22, 2017

Keep this away from your children!!!!!

Teen Vogue is absolute garbage--filled with information no young minds should be exposed to, such as how to have anal sex, how to masturbate, how to help when your friend has an abortion. It's magazines like this that are poisoning the minds of our youth.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Parent Written byMary N. July 21, 2017

Not appropriate for teens

Parents may want to avoid this magazine because of its sexual content that seems more geared toward adults than teens. I know I don't want my 14 yr old reading step-by-step guides to anal sex, masturbation and sex toys. It's supposed to be a fashion magazine but a lot of changes have been made to the magazine recently and Teen Vogue is now sexually explicit. Just wanted to warn parents that some of the articles are inappropriate and should not be in a teen magazine.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Parent of a 6 and 9 year old Written byMimitexas July 21, 2017

Things have changed a bit!

Teen Vogue has now decided it is appropriate to instruct 11-17 year olds in the area of anal sex. Steer clear!
Parent Written byJoleen B. July 21, 2017

You should change your recommendation

After the most recent issue of "Teen" Vogue, it would seem like a very good idea for you to change the age recommendation of this magazine. Children do not need to be instructed in anal sex from an unqualified editor at a so-called fashion magazine.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byTeresa P. July 20, 2017

Porn

It contributes to sexualize girls and pressures them by normalizing unnatural sex acts such as oral and anal sex.

This title contains:

Violence & scariness
Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Parent Written byLynette-and-Oblio July 19, 2017

Teen Vogue has jumped the shark, publishes 'Guide to Anal Sex'

By all accounts Teen Vogue used to be a decent magazine for teen girls, but they've now gone off the deep end, having recently published the article “Anal Sex: What You Need to Know" under the rubric of 'sex education', however not bothering to note the distress suffered by girls/women who are coerced into it, the risk of STDs or anal prolapse, or even correct female anatomy in their 'infographic'. To make matters worse, the magazine's Digital Editorial Director has completely dismissed* the understandable backlash from parents who consider publishing such articles a huge violation of their trust. One short scroll-through their facebook page** makes it apparent that Teen Vogue is now officially grooming young girls into hypersexuality, catering to male porn-users, and hyper-consumerism. I wholeheartedly support comprehensive Sex-Ed for teens (in an appropriate environment) and I don't advocate book-burning, but cancelling your subscription & otherwise boycotting the mag (and their sponsors) is probably a good move if you care about the sexual health & welfare of your daughters. More from the National Center on Sexual Exploitation (NCOSE) here: http://endsexualexploitation.org/articles/teen-vogue-pushing-anal-sex-yo... * See Digital Editorial Director Phillip Picardi's response to the backlash against indoctrinating our daughters here: https://www.queerty.com/gay-teen-vogue-editor-unleashes-incredible-tweet... **Teen Vogue FB-page: https://www.facebook.com/teenvogue/

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Privacy & Safety
Parent of a 10 and 11 year old Written byBradlee R. July 19, 2017

Anal Sex Guide

Parents should know that Teen Vogue recently published a Guide to Anal Sex.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written bygardenmom1776 July 15, 2017

Gives teens sex tips for "questionable" practices.

Read this article and decide if Teen Vogue is appropriate for MINORS. http://www.teenvogue.com/story/anal-sex-what-you-need-to-know

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byJoan B. July 15, 2017

Too much too early

Teen Vogue is aimed at adolescent girls according to the magazine. I think this age is way too young to be reading how to have anal sex. Do we really need our girls to grow up this fast.?

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byKaren W. July 13, 2017

Just Another Garbage Rag

Teen Vogue Staff, Ya know ~ In our world as it is today - everything seems to be a free-for-all. No standards are held, at least so few that it's hard to even identify them. So many think that everything should be allowed - because of what 'WE' want, 'WE' like, 'WE' think. And that is a complete misnomer on all levels. Having high standards and keeping them, even in the face of an ego-centric society, is something incumbent on us as human beings who have become advanced enough to know the difference between right and wrong, cause and effect, even simple ideas in which the formula is merely 1+1=2. If we have no interest in this as a mode of operation, society is doomed. Currently, and really, for many years now, we seek out satisfaction for ourselves as the only goal. Even to the point of developing artificial intelligence to help us do things, solve our problems, run things, and now sex robots. Does anyone think this is really going to help an already troubled and failed society? We are getting further down the road which is a dark path filled with visible and invisible pitfalls, thorns and knives of all kinds - that indiscriminately pierce and slice us, creating even more problems, even mental problems - as our streets fill with homeless, a population filled with many unable to cope in this world. Is this what we want? Is this what our goals are? No one would answer "Yes", and yet, the complicity runs deep and wide. Teen Vogue is front and center with the perpetration of this too. Your intended age group being 13+ means you have a huge responsibility - to your young readers, parents, and the future generations who will be affected by your choices today. Your topics for inclusion should obviously have a more than one approval. But since you have chosen to have an article which details instructions for Anal Sex, etc, it appears you do not have a good system in place which would axe such crap that should be relegated to Playboy, Hustler, and other more adult fare - NOT a magazine with your target age group. Somebody there probably thinks that it was a good idea because 'well, it will help teens who are starting to have sex, to know the better and easier ways, show them how super hip and with it we are, and that there is nothing ever to be ashamed of". "Did I sell it to you everyone?" ... as you lap it up. Who's running the show over there? Little imbeciles straight out of college who think everything is good for everybody, without consideration for the repercussions? Is there no mature, proper management in charge? Someone needs to wake the hell up and do some research on developing minds. This is exactly how you will lose this rag ... through your own idiocy and complete disregard for the future. Absolute garbage. Thankfully ~ people have a LOT of choices these days and can just cancel subscriptions, cancel cable, cancel everything and anything that is unacceptable. Since the bottom line is the only thing that matters, the public can reply in kind - and withdraw from being subjected to your form of agenda. Get a Clue, K. Walters

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Consumerism
Drinking, Drugs & Smoking
Parent Written byAmanda R. July 12, 2017

Fashion: yes. Sex advice (anal! Vibrators!): no

Very fun fashion... stuff my daughter wont see often in our rural town. I was not expecting anal sex advice for my young teen, however. This mag will wait until she is 17 or older. I dont think she needs to be exposed to this just, yet. Lets pace ourselves. Disappointed.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written byTim J. July 11, 2017

Article on Anal sex

Anal sex is not in any way a healthy activity, and I object strongly that ANY magazine should be promoting it to children. You are doing a HUGE disservice to the youth of this nation. Shame On You!! I am also a prostate cancer survivor. I simply cannot imagine the amount of damage that can be caused when teens try to learn this activity. It is not worth the risk. Pleas revise your standards, and return to healthful and HELPFUL articles.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent Written byCandaloo G. July 11, 2017

Teen Vogue promoting illegal sexual activities by minors

Teen Vogue has crossed the line with many articles (including recently one on what to give your friend as a gift that just had an abortion). They are targeting our vulnerable children and trying to "normalize" controversial and often illegal activities. Their latest article on how to have anal sex didn't even include a sentence about using protection to protect against STD's until it was EDITED by the author. Teen Vogue needs to re-name their magazine OR STOP printing inappropriate material for 13 year old girls to read.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Parent Written byAL R July 9, 2017

Sexually explicit articles

The most recent online version provides children with a sexually explicit guide. Parents should know that this time of material is in what is marketed as a fashion magazine for teens. Also, the material encourages teens to explore dangerous sexual behaviors without providing the facts that such behaviors can cause serious health issues. Parents and kids should know that the magazine include this type of material.

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Adult Written bycandace S. January 30, 2018

Disgusting

Teaching teens about anal sex, it’s just an abomination. But it goes along with the ultimate agenda so hey whatever anything goes today. Just turn your blind eye. I’m not even a parent if I was look out Teen Vogue

This title contains:

Sexy stuff
Consumerism

Pages