All member reviews for Tumblr

Kids say

(out of 73 reviews)
age 13+
 
Review this title!
Teen, 16 years old Written byjerseyystrongg November 25, 2011
age 13+
 

Parents Need To Stop Blaming the Internet for their Problems

Yes, you have to use caution on these websites. There could be predators anywhere. But there is no where that it is required for personal information. I don't have a scrap of information that reveals anything about me. The most people can gather is that I love poetry, art, and travel. Instead of criticizing the website, maybe take a little time to actually teach your kids to be smart on the internet. Parents, stop blaming the internet for all of your problems. Take some time and be a parent instead of following what parenting websites say to do.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 17 years old Written bythinbones April 16, 2011
age 15+
 

It's what you make of it.

I found the general review to be very misleading for parents. I absolutely love tumblr myself, and I'm not saying it's a bad site, but it's definitely a site that can be customized to be incredibly inappropriate. Users can follow blogs entirely dedicated to porn, drugs, and gory imagery if they want to. As much as I whole-heartedly support the site as a whole, things that some parents would coonsider shocking are extremely easy to find for users. On another note, users are extremely interactive with one another and consider tumblr as a sort of secret society where outsiders are not welcome. I would not recommend the site for younger children, mostly because if other users find out that they are young, they will become incredibly malicious and will attack the young user through the sites "ask box" feature. Many a young teen and preteen has been mercilessly slaughtered by the unaccepting tumblr community.
Teen, 16 years old Written bySydneySays July 3, 2011
age 12+
 

Please keep your children off Tumblr.

As much as I love Tumblr, it is absolutely NOT for anyone under the age of 15. It's not the images on tumblr that I'm worried about (the images that appear on a dashboard depend on who you're child is following), it's the people. I won't lie, I'm guilty of being a jerk to someone on tumblr just because they were 12, because if you're 12, you don't belong on tumblr. When I was 12, I had neopets, that's where your 12 year old's should be. For your child's sanity, and you're own, don't let them make a Tumblr, people ARE jerks and will use any excuse to act out on the internet.
Teen, 13 years old Written bypartysmores September 17, 2011
age 12+
 

LOL this review.

THIS REVIEW. Okay, you can run into porn. But you can say the same for Facebook. There's also some swearing and they make fun of this site (but who doesn't?). Nothing 12 & up haven't seen, though. It's an awesome place to meet friends, including bronies, otakus, yaoi fangirls, weeaboos, Hetalia fangirls, etc. You can find 'em all here! No viruses, anyone can join (though 12 and up is best)! Enjoy the world of Tumblr!
Teen, 17 years old Written bypumpkinwitch October 20, 2012
age 13+
 
LEARNING

It really helps me

I suffer with social anxiety, along with several other similar problems. School and facebook often do not make me feel good about myself. Tumblr is different. Because using it a lot is not hugely popular, it attracts users who are not the popular kids but the ones who do have problems or are lonely. This can sometimes prove a problem in that there are some very extreame opinions and some people post things about their struggles that some people might find upsetting, pictures of self harm etc, but I've found that it's mostly people hugely supporting each other in these things with humour, art, videos and all sorts, it helps you feel like you are not alone. There are also a lot of quirky facts on there and social justice is a big thing so there are lots of possitive messages about body image, phsycology and so on. It's a site used by teenagers so yes there is swearing, and yes there are some sexual references but not usually worse then what teenagers are exposed to at school. There are pornographic images out there too, but definitely no more than on youtube, its pretty much just if you search for them or chose to follow someone who enjoys them, so if it upsets you you can just unfollow.It enables you to explore whatever you find interesting in life and then discuss it with like-minded people, which just makes it an enormous amount of fun. "Anon hate" is a problem which has made it into the news quite a lot and that can be distressing, but if you feel like it would really upset you you can turn your message box off. It's my favourate place to be on the internet and if they have a bit of common sense I think it's a really nice place for teenagers to hang out online.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 17 years old Written byMMeeggaann July 31, 2012
age 13+
 
LEARNING

Honest Review from a frequent user.

I am a really active tumblr user, so I have some good knowledge about this. As far a positive messages go, its really fifty fifty. I am forever seeing things on my dashboard that say "everyone is beautiful," "you can talk to me about any problem at any time," "I promise the best is yet to come," etc... The problem though is the messaging feature. Now, mainly only really popular blogs get anonymous hate messages, but some small ones do too. This can be easily stopped though by turning the anonymous option off, because its very rare to recieve hate mail directly from another blog. Violence? I don't think there is really any violence. Sex. Here is the thing about Tumblr, you choose what you see. If you like country music, you can click to see everything related to country music. That is one way that you can control what you see, by only searching things that don't contain sex, you likely won't see sexual things. Now, the other way you control what you see is by the blogs you follow. You see what other blogs you follow post, however, you will quickly know if someone posts sexual things and be able to unfollow them and in fact many blogs provide warnings that they post sexual content. The same thing goes for language. You can usually avoid seeing lanugage if you choose not to follow people who curse frequently. Now, you will see some language no matter what, but you can limit it by making wise decisions. Consumerism is all over the place, but so what. If you like Toms shoes, your gonna post a picture of Toms shoes. A lot of it is posting/reblogging pictures of things you like and a lot of that will be consumer products. Drinking and drugs are under the same catagory as sex and language, if you wanna see it, you will, if you don't wanna see it, you probably won't.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byDeadSchoolScreaming August 8, 2011
age 13+
 

Fantastic website.

While Tumblr is seen by many people as being full of the dreaded pr0nz, language, and drugs, I rarely come across that stuff. I mostly follow blogs that have interest in anime and Japanese Rock, so I guess that it depends blog to blog. I go on Tumblr every day and absolutely love it. All of the people that I have met from Tumblr are fantastic and very kind to me despite my age. But the fandom community that I'm in is generally like this. I suppose it depends child to child, so you should watch what blogs your kids are following and such.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 13 years old Written byRainbowPanda294 April 25, 2012
age 18+
 

Tumblr is not for children and teens at all

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old August 10, 2014
age 14+
 
LEARNING

Where to begin..

First off, it's awesome. Cats, fandoms, gifs, shippers, they have it. Spectral language, gore, preddie bears, prawns, they have it. It's pretty much like any other social networking site for kids 13 and older. Get over it. If they are too naive or horrible in self-censorship, don't let them get an account. Below the limit? Don't get them an account, simple as that. Now please think like a normal person before dumping buckets of feels on us, okay? Look, the hipster side is laughing at you. (Also, viruses? Get a life.)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 17 years old Written byAvonleaAnne May 13, 2014
age 17+
 
LEARNING

Seems good at first but misleading

I was a member of this site for roughly 3 years, since I was 14 and recently deleted my account. People are often worried about the hipster aspect of tumblr (the selfies, etc that teens post) and I'm sure that's a concern, I just never frequented that part. I was in the fandom/nerdy area which is very dominate. At first tumblr seems great. Lots of other people that love books, tv (mostly tv) as well as lots of social activist. But tumblr loves to 'ship' people (pairing two characters(and sometimes actors) together romantically) which is fine, in theory. But tumblr will ship ANYONE. There is a perverted community on there. Example; there is a anime, Fullmetal Alchemist that I would recommend and it's age appropriate, but the community...about half of them 'ship' Roy, a 30 something year old and Ed, a fifteen year old. This is not uncommon. Eventually, this will mess with your head. Every time I see two people interacting on screen, or in a book, I will think 'maybe I ship them...' even though I don't. And it's weird to know that somewhere, someplace, someone is shipping them, and there is at least one fanfiction written for every combination of two people. It's not a healthy place, even if you try to avoid the weirdness-- towards the end of my time there I was mostly following Doctor Who blogs that reblogged pretty graphics and edits yet I still encountered stuff that was inappropriate. Also, people tend to get very attached on there to online friends and rely on them more than people in real life. This can be damaging if they already have a strained relationship with family, friends or just don't want to bother their family if their parents are busy, already under stress, etc. Especially if they have a mental illness. People post often about wanting to commit suicide and though people then message them saying no, don't do that, you're awesome, etc, I still think it's a damaging environment because they are saying thos online, not to someone in person. Also, there are self-harm blogs, and I'm guessing there are ones with photos, etc. Not to mention that browsing the tags is dangerous. Even with safe mode on numerous inappropriate images come up. Another example of this community is the fact that when Yahoo bought it they said they were going to make it more family friendly. Tumblr went into a uproar. All in all? Stay off tumblr. It's intriguing and initially seems great. But it'll mess up your mind, especially if you have a mental illness, from depression to OCD.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written bylizzythefabulous May 11, 2013
age 13+
 

Quit looking at the bad side of Tumblr! (Sorry, this will be pretty long!)

Let me just start off with I. LOVE. TUMBLR. I believe it is a great blogging tool for teens who are apt with technology (if you know a bit of HTML code, it can be a life saver when editing your theme), and are the creative type. But honestly, please keep kids who are under 13 off of Tumblr, unless you've discussed this with your child and know they can handle it! I'm not one of those users who hates the 12 year olds because they're 12, but because some things can get well... raunchy. There's a lot of sexual references, porn gifs, drugs, alcohol, self-hate (though this has slowly got a lot better), and of course, bad language. BUT, there is also a lot of positive messages, warm and fuzzy things, cute animals, funny posts, informative posts (I have learned so much from this website, whoever says you can't learn anything from Tumblr is wrong.) cool art, and so many more good things. You can't always look at the bad side of Tumblr, there is a good side! And for the most part, you only see the bad side of Tumblr if you follow blogs that reblog and post those kinds of things. Honestly, kids will run into the same stuff on Facebook and other Social Networking sites by accident. You cannot shelter your kids forever, you need to talk to them about these things, it won't want to make them do those things, it will prevent them from doing it! As for online predators, there probably are a few on Tumblr, but none that i've seen. Again, TALK TO YOUR KIDS/TEENS. And please realize that not everyone that your child doesn't know is a 50 year old pedophile who's out to get them. So, Tumblr would be best for kids who know what they're getting into here. Be sure you talk to your kids and know what their maturity level is! Now about the ask and anonymous/anon features; YOU. CAN. TURN. THEM. OFF. And Tumblr WARNS you that you can get anon hate! They tell you what you're getting into and it's your responsibility to use it wisely! Tumblr is great because it has many media forms (text, chat, audio, video, link, photo, and quote), and is very customizable! They really just give you the URL and the blank page and you can go crazy, with a little internet search you can have a cool theme, background, music player, cursor, and all these other little things on your blog than can really make it stand out, and lets people express their creativity. And it's great for meeting other teens who love the same things your teen! The reason why I use tumblr, is because not many people in my area really like the same things I like (unfortunately), and so I meet new friends online! It can really prove that an internet friendship can be just as real as a face to face friendship! And i'm into Korean Pop (no, not PSY. There are more artists than PSY.), so I don't really come across the drugs, porn, and self hate at all... it depends on the blogs you follow, if you're still skeptical, take a peak at your kids dashboard, or what blogs their following. And not to worry, since this is a blogging site, people tend to be more truthful because it's for personal use! There are probably people who lie about themselves, but that doesn't really happen as much on Tumblr as it does Facebook. And there are no viruses either, that was just a rumor to keep outsiders out. tl;dr? Tumblr is not as bad as many people make it seem, it's actually a great website that people can get hooked on, but be sure you know how mature your child is first before letting them get an account. Predators aren't really a big problem here, but be sure to educate your kid or teen about online predators, but don't scare them into believing everyone online IS one.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 0 years old February 28, 2013
age 13+
 

Tumblr is fun, but only for mature kids

Tumblr is probably the best thing that ever happened to me. I met people like me, made friends, and learned more about stuff I like. I have a extremely enjoyable tumblr experience. But tumblr is NOT FOR EVERYONE. I think I would die if I got someone else on Tumblr. It is a place I enjoy, but only for the extreme fangirl. You will feel all the feels, and lose it every time something of mild importance happens with your fandom. (If you don't know what I just said, then RUN. Trust me, you do not want to start this. It will ruin your life in the best ways possible. There are a lot of violent and inappropriate jokes on here. There is porn. Violence. Drinking. Cussing. Drugs. Sex. All the worst possible things in the world are about to be jammed into your head. And no matter who you follow, there is no escaping. And no turning back. On the bright side, it is a safe website. So, to recap, tumblr is a thing that I love. You may like it a lot to. But the thing is, you probably will be scarred for life if you are under 13. Parents, use caution on this; and teens, be careful. But have fun!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bymy-pilot February 25, 2013
age 13+
 
LEARNING

What Tumblr Really Is About

Tumblr isn't a set thing. It's a blog site. Meaning, it can be anything you want it to be. Yes, there is inappropriate content, but it's not like people are forcing you to see that stuff. I've learned a lot about politics, life in other countries, and other things in history. Some times, things have been better explained to me on Tumblr than my own teachers did. Tumblr is also a great community. Tumblr as a whole has managed to do some big things. Lots of people sign petitions or get involved with things they feel passionate about. There's also a fun side of Tumblr, where you can talk about shows, movies, or musical artists you enjoy with other people from all over the place. Fans on Tumblr get REALLY excited about TV shows. On Tumblr, you can have a photography blog, nature blog, music blog, fandom blog, political blog, or just a blog about anything you right well enjoy. It's for you and you only. And of course it isn't for kids! In the policy of the website, you have to be 13 years to create an account. (Not that many people follow that rule!) If you don’t want to see inappropriate things, don’t follow those blogs! It’s a simple as that. So, I do think Tumblr is a good thing, and you CAN communicate. I’ve made many friends on Tumblr that I’ll be keeping for a long while. And you don’t really need a privacy setting. A blog is made to share, not keep secret. If you don’t want people to know your information, don’t put it up! So, in all, it is good for learning! I’ve grown more creative and more a member of society because of it. I’ve taken an interest into politics and I’m beginning to go into photography and writing. I’ve gotten lots of positive comments on things I’ve written and people are encouraging me to write more, which really helps on my procrastination problems. Join! Make it what you want it to be, you're interests make your blog. (Note: Really, I should have checked everything off in what families should know, but if you're making it for younger people, it's really easy to ignore the inappropriate side of Tumblr. It's not like a blog telling you about since is going to be blogging inappropriate things, but language may or may not be a problem. If you want to avoid that, just blacklist swears.)
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byMacsummer2012 July 30, 2012
age 13+
 
LEARNING

Tumblr ups and downs

Tumblr may not be the most encouraging site on the web but I would rate it a 4 out of 5 because of a couple things! Firstly, it helps people express themselves and their opinions and secondly, it shows people your interests. I have a tumblr and my mother makes me show her my posts and blogs and what not every week. She has actually began to understand the way I feel and things I take interest in and she doesn't always encourage what I reblog but she understands how I feel about certain things in life! I admit tumblr has it's inappropriate parts but it helps people express their feelings! The downs to tumblr would be it isnt very educational unless your child looks into an educational part of tumblr but they would need to be willing to do that AND some of your childs followers may encourage bad things so just keep an eye on your childs blog if your feeling a little strict about those kinds of things. I reccomend to keep an eye on their blog, dashboard, and their followers and who they're following..just to be sure :) If they are messaging someone on tumblr you may also want to look at that in the envelope icon at the top right of the screen. I hope my review helped a little bit and changed your perspective of tumblr just a little! Thanks :)
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written byLuxeyGirl May 19, 2010
age 16+
 

Modern technology at it's simplest & most stimulating!

I absolutely love tumblr! In short, it's primarily used as a photo blog encouraging self-expression among it's community of dedicated users. I haven't seen it commonly used for any other purpose. I have a great experience using this website! It's easily one of my favorites! The interface is absolutely lovely, the concept is simple, & the experience is really dependant on only an individuals personal prefrences for quite a few reasons. First of all, the blog feeds displayed are choosen & based on ones interests, such as TV shoes, favorite foods, celebrities, ect. This is enabled because feeds are displayed only of users and tags one personally chooses to "follow". This standard feature is similar to that of the popular website, Twitter - which plays host to a completely different concept. The user community generally doesn't encourage sharing personal information. I've found that only a small amount of users choose to do so, from whom I usually see are those above 18. Most users remain anonymous. There is the option to allow other users to ask questions to answer publically within ones feed, however this feature is completely optional and the questions in which users choose to answer is ultimately their choice. Personally, I've never felt any amount or inkling of pressure to reveal any personal information aside from my interests. How much or how little one engages in the website and it's community is completely dependant on prefrence from person to person. So, one user might choose to post a ton of photos they like, while another might not post as much but privately look at many. Just like any other website, it has some possible causes of concern. The option to share personal information is open & unresritcted, so it's entirely up to an individual. Most images are circulated through the community (one person posts, a variety of users reblog the picture, which may lead to a variety of other users reblogging, ect), so personal pictures can be spread around in an instant if posted. Before parents allow or encourage their teens to use this website, I would advise they make this very clear. There is a great variety between the types of photos that are posted, including those of an adult or more mature nature. None of the photos I've seen on there were any worse than what I see on TV everyday, but they are defintely there. However, exposure can be limited based on ones personal choosing, i.e. if you decide to follow a user feed or tag of a broader or more adult nature - you'll probably be exposed to updates of a broader or more adult nature; if you choose to follow a feed or tag that's all about cupcakes - you'll probably be exposed to updates all about cupcakes. Users and photographs within this website often use or contain foul language. This website isn't for all teens. I would reccomend it for teens who are: mature, artistic, creative, visually stimulated, deep thinkers, ect. Common Sense Media is right on the money when they call Tumblr "refreshing". I've personally gotten a lot of enjoyment as an active user, & Tumblr has often been a source of inspiration in my life. Photo-blogging is a new form a self-expression, but it's my personal experience that getting into it has been a healthy way of experimenting and exploring and finding something to relate to on the internet and within myself. I think a lot of teenagers could get something good through being a user on Tumblr! I encourage interested parents seeking a similar experience for their teens to consider introducing it. I encourage curious parents of current users to allow continued use and encouragement within their comfort level. Lastly, I defintely encourage teens to try it if it appeals to their interests.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byMartydaStoner April 3, 2015
age 13+
 
LEARNING

Not for Everyone, Perfect and Life-Comsuming for Many (including me)

It's very hard to cover all of tumblr in one review, because there are almost endless niches and corners depending on what kind of blogger one wants to be. Hipster blogs, fandom blogs, humor blogs, porn blogs, art blogs, et cetera... all provide very different types of content. Look in the wrong places, you'll find slews of naked women and racist/sexist slurs posted by 8 year old trolls. However, I strongly disagree with commonsensemedia's rating of 0/5 for positive messages. The corner of tumblr that I've found refuge in is full of wonderfully educational themes, informative and well-worded social justice rants, and some of the friendliest people around. I've learned more about various cultures, sexualities, and gender identities from tumblr than I ever have from school. It can be stupid and pointless, sure, but over time it has turned me into a more worldly person with a thorough knowledge of many global social issues, such as homophobia, racism, sexism, transphobia, and general ignorance toward people who don't conform as a girl or a boy. Whatever kind of person you are, you'll find a community of people on tumblr who share your views and support you. Are you an asexual who's frustrated because your family says aces don't exist? Tumblr will validated your identity! Are you a preteen girl with a rabid obsession with Benedict Cumberbatch? Thousands of other preteen girls on tumblr are there to discuss with you why his cheekbones are so perfect and complain with you about Sherlock not coming back for another 49 years. Overall, I LOVE tumblr 1000 times more than any other social media site. Just watch out for the anonymous trolls....
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 12 years old May 19, 2012
age 12+
 
LEARNING

You just have to be consient enough of what are you doing

There's swearing all time, and, depending of who you follow, maybe you can find some suggestive stuff. But, if you are mature enough, you'll unfollow them, like I do. For me, Tumblr is just a place where I can be a huge fan of all the things I like. Tumblr is as "dangerous" for kids as Facebook or YouTube. It all depends of what they're looking for. It also has memorably and positive quotes, from fictional characters AND real people. Please, stop saying it's all bad, because it's not. (But under 11s should really not even know that this website exist. They should go to Neopets or Club Penguin. I'm saying this because I've me 9 years old kids who are obssesed with Tumblr, and they stop their childhood (not in a very strong way, but they stop playing outside or with their toys, understand?). And it DOES have some swearing, anyway. It fulled of 15-23 people, so you can't control it. Anyway, depends of the kid, if they're prepared or not to face it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byParamoreFan09 February 16, 2012
age 15+
 

Can be really great, use at your OWN risk though.

This website can be really fun when used correctly, but it's sort of hard to avoid sex photos and gifs. When you follow someone, you have no clue what they will start posting in the future. I get a lot of lesbian nude/sex shots in my dashboard, which gets pretty irritating because that isn't the kind of thing I want popping up when I'm scrolling through with friends or family. You can't pick or choose what you see, because it's mostly reblogs. Language is also unavoidable, you will see it on there eventually. There isn't any censoring on here. I'm okay with seeing this stuff, because I'm fifteen and I'm used to it, and I don't reblog that kind of thing, but it's probably inappropriate for someone maybe 12 or even 13 to see. Just a tip, if people you follow have been known to post iffy things in the past, check your dashboard alone. Don't do it in front of family or friends, they might get the wrong idea. Luckily, I haven't run into much violence on tumblr yet (which is good because that is my main issue). You will most likely see smoking photos on here as well. There are a lot of great blogs out there, but it's best to avoid it if you're under 15. Also pay attention to the fact that while there are positive things, there are negative things too, like dark photos featuring suicide or drugs or loneliness, etc, the kind of thing young kids might not understand and might find scary. Use at your own risk. Tumblr, like a big part of the internet, is uncensored. And remember, unless you set it otherwise, your blog is public, so never ever post your school, or your last name, or your age. PS, no adverts. :)
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 15 years old Written byM-Shadows September 17, 2011
age 13+
 

That's social networking for you...

"Too much drugs, smoking, violence, swearing, etc." of course, there are pictures and people are huge opinionated jerks, and there's porn EVERYWHERE. But doesn't Facebook have a lot of these things too? Give it up, it's the Internet people, if you're an over-protective parent of a child 12 or under, GET THEM OFF THE COMPUTER, or at least get them a noepets account or Freddie Fish or something.
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bybalimango August 7, 2011
age 15+
 

Fun site, uncensored content

While you can be careful and follow only people with clean, appropriate blogs, at some point your kid will see, since there are no sensors or rules on what people can blog, nudity, porn, all kinds of drugs, alcohol, and lots and lots of language. However, it is a good way for them to express themselves. You can be creative and post the things you like. You post your own ideas to people who will actually listen. If you can come to terms with the fact that your kids will be exposed to the bad stuff, then and only then, allow it. Don't try to have rules about it or sensor them, that will just cause frustration and rebellion. Allow it or don't. Beware though, tumblr meetups (groups of people who have a tumblr and live in a certain area get together to meet each other in person) are common. You never really know who your kids could be meeting at these, so don't let them go. As long as you trust your child to be smart about what they post, and aren't concerned with censoring what your child is exposed to, then it's a fun site.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages