All member reviews for Tumblr

About our rating system

  • ON: Content is age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • PAUSE: Know your child; some content may not be right for some kids.
  • OFF: Not age-appropriate for kids this age.
  • NOT FOR KIDS: Not appropriate for kids of any age.

Find out more

Quality

Our star rating assesses the media's overall quality.

Find out more

Learning ratings

  • Best: Really engaging; great learning approach.
  • Very Good: Engaging; good learning approach.
  • Good: Pretty engaging; good learning approach.
  • Fair: Somewhat engaging; OK learning approach.
  • Not for Learning: Not recommended for learning.
  • Not for Kids: Not age-appropriate for kids; not recommended for learning.

Find out more

Common Sense Media says

Vibrant blogging site gives easy access to adult content.

Age(i)

2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17

Quality(i)

 

Learning(i)

Users say

(out of 92 reviews)
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byRainbowPanda294 April 25, 2012
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Tumblr is not for children and teens at all

What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Educator and Parent Written byMom19852 August 25, 2014
AGE
16
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

easy access to worrisome topics

Easy access to naked women. Anorexic girls who do not look healthy in their underwear. Beautiful photography. Sex violence language and drugs.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Kid, 11 years old August 10, 2014
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Where to begin..

First off, it's awesome. Cats, fandoms, gifs, shippers, they have it. Spectral language, gore, preddie bears, prawns, they have it. It's pretty much like any other social networking site for kids 13 and older. Get over it. If they are too naive or horrible in self-censorship, don't let them get an account. Below the limit? Don't get them an account, simple as that. Now please think like a normal person before dumping buckets of feels on us, okay? Look, the hipster side is laughing at you. (Also, viruses? Get a life.)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 17 years old Written byAvonleaAnne May 13, 2014
AGE
17
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Seems good at first but misleading

I was a member of this site for roughly 3 years, since I was 14 and recently deleted my account. People are often worried about the hipster aspect of tumblr (the selfies, etc that teens post) and I'm sure that's a concern, I just never frequented that part. I was in the fandom/nerdy area which is very dominate. At first tumblr seems great. Lots of other people that love books, tv (mostly tv) as well as lots of social activist. But tumblr loves to 'ship' people (pairing two characters(and sometimes actors) together romantically) which is fine, in theory. But tumblr will ship ANYONE. There is a perverted community on there. Example; there is a anime, Fullmetal Alchemist that I would recommend and it's age appropriate, but the community...about half of them 'ship' Roy, a 30 something year old and Ed, a fifteen year old. This is not uncommon. Eventually, this will mess with your head. Every time I see two people interacting on screen, or in a book, I will think 'maybe I ship them...' even though I don't. And it's weird to know that somewhere, someplace, someone is shipping them, and there is at least one fanfiction written for every combination of two people. It's not a healthy place, even if you try to avoid the weirdness-- towards the end of my time there I was mostly following Doctor Who blogs that reblogged pretty graphics and edits yet I still encountered stuff that was inappropriate. Also, people tend to get very attached on there to online friends and rely on them more than people in real life. This can be damaging if they already have a strained relationship with family, friends or just don't want to bother their family if their parents are busy, already under stress, etc. Especially if they have a mental illness. People post often about wanting to commit suicide and though people then message them saying no, don't do that, you're awesome, etc, I still think it's a damaging environment because they are saying thos online, not to someone in person. Also, there are self-harm blogs, and I'm guessing there are ones with photos, etc. Not to mention that browsing the tags is dangerous. Even with safe mode on numerous inappropriate images come up. Another example of this community is the fact that when Yahoo bought it they said they were going to make it more family friendly. Tumblr went into a uproar. All in all? Stay off tumblr. It's intriguing and initially seems great. But it'll mess up your mind, especially if you have a mental illness, from depression to OCD.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written bylizzythefabulous May 11, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Quit looking at the bad side of Tumblr! (Sorry, this will be pretty long!)

Let me just start off with I. LOVE. TUMBLR. I believe it is a great blogging tool for teens who are apt with technology (if you know a bit of HTML code, it can be a life saver when editing your theme), and are the creative type. But honestly, please keep kids who are under 13 off of Tumblr, unless you've discussed this with your child and know they can handle it! I'm not one of those users who hates the 12 year olds because they're 12, but because some things can get well... raunchy. There's a lot of sexual references, porn gifs, drugs, alcohol, self-hate (though this has slowly got a lot better), and of course, bad language. BUT, there is also a lot of positive messages, warm and fuzzy things, cute animals, funny posts, informative posts (I have learned so much from this website, whoever says you can't learn anything from Tumblr is wrong.) cool art, and so many more good things. You can't always look at the bad side of Tumblr, there is a good side! And for the most part, you only see the bad side of Tumblr if you follow blogs that reblog and post those kinds of things. Honestly, kids will run into the same stuff on Facebook and other Social Networking sites by accident. You cannot shelter your kids forever, you need to talk to them about these things, it won't want to make them do those things, it will prevent them from doing it! As for online predators, there probably are a few on Tumblr, but none that i've seen. Again, TALK TO YOUR KIDS/TEENS. And please realize that not everyone that your child doesn't know is a 50 year old pedophile who's out to get them. So, Tumblr would be best for kids who know what they're getting into here. Be sure you talk to your kids and know what their maturity level is! Now about the ask and anonymous/anon features; YOU. CAN. TURN. THEM. OFF. And Tumblr WARNS you that you can get anon hate! They tell you what you're getting into and it's your responsibility to use it wisely! Tumblr is great because it has many media forms (text, chat, audio, video, link, photo, and quote), and is very customizable! They really just give you the URL and the blank page and you can go crazy, with a little internet search you can have a cool theme, background, music player, cursor, and all these other little things on your blog than can really make it stand out, and lets people express their creativity. And it's great for meeting other teens who love the same things your teen! The reason why I use tumblr, is because not many people in my area really like the same things I like (unfortunately), and so I meet new friends online! It can really prove that an internet friendship can be just as real as a face to face friendship! And i'm into Korean Pop (no, not PSY. There are more artists than PSY.), so I don't really come across the drugs, porn, and self hate at all... it depends on the blogs you follow, if you're still skeptical, take a peak at your kids dashboard, or what blogs their following. And not to worry, since this is a blogging site, people tend to be more truthful because it's for personal use! There are probably people who lie about themselves, but that doesn't really happen as much on Tumblr as it does Facebook. And there are no viruses either, that was just a rumor to keep outsiders out. tl;dr? Tumblr is not as bad as many people make it seem, it's actually a great website that people can get hooked on, but be sure you know how mature your child is first before letting them get an account. Predators aren't really a big problem here, but be sure to educate your kid or teen about online predators, but don't scare them into believing everyone online IS one.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 0 years old February 28, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

Tumblr is fun, but only for mature kids

Tumblr is probably the best thing that ever happened to me. I met people like me, made friends, and learned more about stuff I like. I have a extremely enjoyable tumblr experience. But tumblr is NOT FOR EVERYONE. I think I would die if I got someone else on Tumblr. It is a place I enjoy, but only for the extreme fangirl. You will feel all the feels, and lose it every time something of mild importance happens with your fandom. (If you don't know what I just said, then RUN. Trust me, you do not want to start this. It will ruin your life in the best ways possible. There are a lot of violent and inappropriate jokes on here. There is porn. Violence. Drinking. Cussing. Drugs. Sex. All the worst possible things in the world are about to be jammed into your head. And no matter who you follow, there is no escaping. And no turning back. On the bright side, it is a safe website. So, to recap, tumblr is a thing that I love. You may like it a lot to. But the thing is, you probably will be scarred for life if you are under 13. Parents, use caution on this; and teens, be careful. But have fun!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bymy-pilot February 25, 2013
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

What Tumblr Really Is About

Tumblr isn't a set thing. It's a blog site. Meaning, it can be anything you want it to be. Yes, there is inappropriate content, but it's not like people are forcing you to see that stuff. I've learned a lot about politics, life in other countries, and other things in history. Some times, things have been better explained to me on Tumblr than my own teachers did. Tumblr is also a great community. Tumblr as a whole has managed to do some big things. Lots of people sign petitions or get involved with things they feel passionate about. There's also a fun side of Tumblr, where you can talk about shows, movies, or musical artists you enjoy with other people from all over the place. Fans on Tumblr get REALLY excited about TV shows. On Tumblr, you can have a photography blog, nature blog, music blog, fandom blog, political blog, or just a blog about anything you right well enjoy. It's for you and you only. And of course it isn't for kids! In the policy of the website, you have to be 13 years to create an account. (Not that many people follow that rule!) If you don’t want to see inappropriate things, don’t follow those blogs! It’s a simple as that. So, I do think Tumblr is a good thing, and you CAN communicate. I’ve made many friends on Tumblr that I’ll be keeping for a long while. And you don’t really need a privacy setting. A blog is made to share, not keep secret. If you don’t want people to know your information, don’t put it up! So, in all, it is good for learning! I’ve grown more creative and more a member of society because of it. I’ve taken an interest into politics and I’m beginning to go into photography and writing. I’ve gotten lots of positive comments on things I’ve written and people are encouraging me to write more, which really helps on my procrastination problems. Join! Make it what you want it to be, you're interests make your blog. (Note: Really, I should have checked everything off in what families should know, but if you're making it for younger people, it's really easy to ignore the inappropriate side of Tumblr. It's not like a blog telling you about since is going to be blogging inappropriate things, but language may or may not be a problem. If you want to avoid that, just blacklist swears.)
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byMacsummer2012 July 30, 2012
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Tumblr ups and downs

Tumblr may not be the most encouraging site on the web but I would rate it a 4 out of 5 because of a couple things! Firstly, it helps people express themselves and their opinions and secondly, it shows people your interests. I have a tumblr and my mother makes me show her my posts and blogs and what not every week. She has actually began to understand the way I feel and things I take interest in and she doesn't always encourage what I reblog but she understands how I feel about certain things in life! I admit tumblr has it's inappropriate parts but it helps people express their feelings! The downs to tumblr would be it isnt very educational unless your child looks into an educational part of tumblr but they would need to be willing to do that AND some of your childs followers may encourage bad things so just keep an eye on your childs blog if your feeling a little strict about those kinds of things. I reccomend to keep an eye on their blog, dashboard, and their followers and who they're following..just to be sure :) If they are messaging someone on tumblr you may also want to look at that in the envelope icon at the top right of the screen. I hope my review helped a little bit and changed your perspective of tumblr just a little! Thanks :)
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 16 years old Written byLuxeyGirl May 19, 2010
AGE
16
QUALITY
 

Modern technology at it's simplest & most stimulating!

I absolutely love tumblr! In short, it's primarily used as a photo blog encouraging self-expression among it's community of dedicated users. I haven't seen it commonly used for any other purpose. I have a great experience using this website! It's easily one of my favorites! The interface is absolutely lovely, the concept is simple, & the experience is really dependant on only an individuals personal prefrences for quite a few reasons. First of all, the blog feeds displayed are choosen & based on ones interests, such as TV shoes, favorite foods, celebrities, ect. This is enabled because feeds are displayed only of users and tags one personally chooses to "follow". This standard feature is similar to that of the popular website, Twitter - which plays host to a completely different concept. The user community generally doesn't encourage sharing personal information. I've found that only a small amount of users choose to do so, from whom I usually see are those above 18. Most users remain anonymous. There is the option to allow other users to ask questions to answer publically within ones feed, however this feature is completely optional and the questions in which users choose to answer is ultimately their choice. Personally, I've never felt any amount or inkling of pressure to reveal any personal information aside from my interests. How much or how little one engages in the website and it's community is completely dependant on prefrence from person to person. So, one user might choose to post a ton of photos they like, while another might not post as much but privately look at many. Just like any other website, it has some possible causes of concern. The option to share personal information is open & unresritcted, so it's entirely up to an individual. Most images are circulated through the community (one person posts, a variety of users reblog the picture, which may lead to a variety of other users reblogging, ect), so personal pictures can be spread around in an instant if posted. Before parents allow or encourage their teens to use this website, I would advise they make this very clear. There is a great variety between the types of photos that are posted, including those of an adult or more mature nature. None of the photos I've seen on there were any worse than what I see on TV everyday, but they are defintely there. However, exposure can be limited based on ones personal choosing, i.e. if you decide to follow a user feed or tag of a broader or more adult nature - you'll probably be exposed to updates of a broader or more adult nature; if you choose to follow a feed or tag that's all about cupcakes - you'll probably be exposed to updates all about cupcakes. Users and photographs within this website often use or contain foul language. This website isn't for all teens. I would reccomend it for teens who are: mature, artistic, creative, visually stimulated, deep thinkers, ect. Common Sense Media is right on the money when they call Tumblr "refreshing". I've personally gotten a lot of enjoyment as an active user, & Tumblr has often been a source of inspiration in my life. Photo-blogging is a new form a self-expression, but it's my personal experience that getting into it has been a healthy way of experimenting and exploring and finding something to relate to on the internet and within myself. I think a lot of teenagers could get something good through being a user on Tumblr! I encourage interested parents seeking a similar experience for their teens to consider introducing it. I encourage curious parents of current users to allow continued use and encouragement within their comfort level. Lastly, I defintely encourage teens to try it if it appeals to their interests.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byMartydaStoner April 3, 2015
AGE
13
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Not for Everyone, Perfect and Life-Comsuming for Many (including me)

It's very hard to cover all of tumblr in one review, because there are almost endless niches and corners depending on what kind of blogger one wants to be. Hipster blogs, fandom blogs, humor blogs, porn blogs, art blogs, et cetera... all provide very different types of content. Look in the wrong places, you'll find slews of naked women and racist/sexist slurs posted by 8 year old trolls. However, I strongly disagree with commonsensemedia's rating of 0/5 for positive messages. The corner of tumblr that I've found refuge in is full of wonderfully educational themes, informative and well-worded social justice rants, and some of the friendliest people around. I've learned more about various cultures, sexualities, and gender identities from tumblr than I ever have from school. It can be stupid and pointless, sure, but over time it has turned me into a more worldly person with a thorough knowledge of many global social issues, such as homophobia, racism, sexism, transphobia, and general ignorance toward people who don't conform as a girl or a boy. Whatever kind of person you are, you'll find a community of people on tumblr who share your views and support you. Are you an asexual who's frustrated because your family says aces don't exist? Tumblr will validated your identity! Are you a preteen girl with a rabid obsession with Benedict Cumberbatch? Thousands of other preteen girls on tumblr are there to discuss with you why his cheekbones are so perfect and complain with you about Sherlock not coming back for another 49 years. Overall, I LOVE tumblr 1000 times more than any other social media site. Just watch out for the anonymous trolls....
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written byChristineE 1 October 1, 2014
AGE
2
QUALITY
 

Toxic Environment

This website almost ruined my life. It changed me as a person, made me depressed. I wouldn't bother with it at all.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Kid, 12 years old May 19, 2012
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

You just have to be consient enough of what are you doing

There's swearing all time, and, depending of who you follow, maybe you can find some suggestive stuff. But, if you are mature enough, you'll unfollow them, like I do. For me, Tumblr is just a place where I can be a huge fan of all the things I like. Tumblr is as "dangerous" for kids as Facebook or YouTube. It all depends of what they're looking for. It also has memorably and positive quotes, from fictional characters AND real people. Please, stop saying it's all bad, because it's not. (But under 11s should really not even know that this website exist. They should go to Neopets or Club Penguin. I'm saying this because I've me 9 years old kids who are obssesed with Tumblr, and they stop their childhood (not in a very strong way, but they stop playing outside or with their toys, understand?). And it DOES have some swearing, anyway. It fulled of 15-23 people, so you can't control it. Anyway, depends of the kid, if they're prepared or not to face it.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Teen, 15 years old Written byParamoreFan09 February 16, 2012
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Can be really great, use at your OWN risk though.

This website can be really fun when used correctly, but it's sort of hard to avoid sex photos and gifs. When you follow someone, you have no clue what they will start posting in the future. I get a lot of lesbian nude/sex shots in my dashboard, which gets pretty irritating because that isn't the kind of thing I want popping up when I'm scrolling through with friends or family. You can't pick or choose what you see, because it's mostly reblogs. Language is also unavoidable, you will see it on there eventually. There isn't any censoring on here. I'm okay with seeing this stuff, because I'm fifteen and I'm used to it, and I don't reblog that kind of thing, but it's probably inappropriate for someone maybe 12 or even 13 to see. Just a tip, if people you follow have been known to post iffy things in the past, check your dashboard alone. Don't do it in front of family or friends, they might get the wrong idea. Luckily, I haven't run into much violence on tumblr yet (which is good because that is my main issue). You will most likely see smoking photos on here as well. There are a lot of great blogs out there, but it's best to avoid it if you're under 15. Also pay attention to the fact that while there are positive things, there are negative things too, like dark photos featuring suicide or drugs or loneliness, etc, the kind of thing young kids might not understand and might find scary. Use at your own risk. Tumblr, like a big part of the internet, is uncensored. And remember, unless you set it otherwise, your blog is public, so never ever post your school, or your last name, or your age. PS, no adverts. :)
What other families should know
Educational value
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 15 years old Written byM-Shadows September 17, 2011
AGE
13
QUALITY
 

That's social networking for you...

"Too much drugs, smoking, violence, swearing, etc." of course, there are pictures and people are huge opinionated jerks, and there's porn EVERYWHERE. But doesn't Facebook have a lot of these things too? Give it up, it's the Internet people, if you're an over-protective parent of a child 12 or under, GET THEM OFF THE COMPUTER, or at least get them a noepets account or Freddie Fish or something.
What other families should know
Educational value
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bybalimango August 7, 2011
AGE
15
QUALITY
 

Fun site, uncensored content

While you can be careful and follow only people with clean, appropriate blogs, at some point your kid will see, since there are no sensors or rules on what people can blog, nudity, porn, all kinds of drugs, alcohol, and lots and lots of language. However, it is a good way for them to express themselves. You can be creative and post the things you like. You post your own ideas to people who will actually listen. If you can come to terms with the fact that your kids will be exposed to the bad stuff, then and only then, allow it. Don't try to have rules about it or sensor them, that will just cause frustration and rebellion. Allow it or don't. Beware though, tumblr meetups (groups of people who have a tumblr and live in a certain area get together to meet each other in person) are common. You never really know who your kids could be meeting at these, so don't let them go. As long as you trust your child to be smart about what they post, and aren't concerned with censoring what your child is exposed to, then it's a fun site.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written bywizkid705 May 31, 2011
AGE
12
QUALITY
 

TUMBLR IS HILARIOUS

You can basically make what you want of tumblr. There is definitely a lot of inappropriate stuff out there but if you stay away from that it can be a semi-clean environment. Tumblr is great at having everything first. I am part of the Glee community on tumblr and they totally use language & make sexual innuendos but in the most hilarious way. They are also accepting of everyone. That's what I love about tumblr, it feels like everyone supports each other, and you can just completely be yourself. Also, GIFs. nuff said.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byfullofgracee January 15, 2011
AGE
11
QUALITY
 

great for the creative soul ages 11+

kids can follow celebs or friends whos blogs they like, and its a great creative storage center
Teen, 13 years old Written byNyoteiNeko April 22, 2014
AGE
12
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Everything.

Honestly Tumblr is a very fluctuating place. If you follow this blog you may just normal stuff, this one you get scientific news, this one over here is pure violence, blah, blah. Many people get different results by who they follow. While it doesn't have much help for new users, the staff are very helpful (and VERY quirky). The blog customization also could help with a bit of programming, unless you're a copy and paste kind of person. People on Tumblr are like social rights activist, it's not always filled with with porn which actually only makes up about 2% of Tumblr. Most of it are just gifs, superwholock, pictures, ect. Although 2% for some people is too much, but then there is always filtering. I would say get Tumblr when you are mentally ready. Not when you hit 13.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Parent Written byteesa76 November 5, 2013
AGE
18
QUALITY
 

Not for kids

My kid wanted ideas on creative ways to do bedrooms ... probably worst possible place to review creativity ... it was playboy/playgirl/hustler on steroids. I don't know who these kids (some look 12) parents are.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written byjojogirl641 January 30, 2013
AGE
14
QUALITY
 
LEARNING

Don't search the tags and you'll be fine!

Tumblr is great and really fun! But you have to be careful. No violence??! You can accidentally come across incredibly violent and disturbing images. There are special blogs devoted to gore. People find and post leaked crime scene photos. I was once searching "war" to try and find anti war slogans or pictures and i came across some really, really awful pictures. Not to long ago I had just watched "Bowling For Columbine" and was trying to find a quote from it by searching "columbine" and someone had posted actual leaked crime scene photos. I also have to note that a large percentage of users use tumblr as a venting which means you will probably run into lot's of self hate and self mutilation scar pictures. There are a lot of suicide and depression posts too. The sexual content takes up like 60% of Tumblr. Almost everyone I know who has a tumblr has come across it one way or another. It isn't just nudity either... But it can be avoided. If you don't search the tags and only follow family friendly blogs I don't see any issues. Just make sure you're mature enough to handle coming across some inappropriate stuff.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages