Common Sense Media says

Vibrant blogging site gives easy access to adult content.

Learning

Users say

(out of 99 reviews)
age 14+
Review this title!
Teen, 13 years old Written byNyoteiNeko April 22, 2014
LEARNING

Everything.

Honestly Tumblr is a very fluctuating place. If you follow this blog you may just normal stuff, this one you get scientific news, this one over here is pure violence, blah, blah. Many people get different results by who they follow. While it doesn't have much help for new users, the staff are very helpful (and VERY quirky). The blog customization also could help with a bit of programming, unless you're a copy and paste kind of person. People on Tumblr are like social rights activist, it's not always filled with with porn which actually only makes up about 2% of Tumblr. Most of it are just gifs, superwholock, pictures, ect. Although 2% for some people is too much, but then there is always filtering. I would say get Tumblr when you are mentally ready. Not when you hit 13.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written byjojogirl641 January 30, 2013
LEARNING

Don't search the tags and you'll be fine!

Tumblr is great and really fun! But you have to be careful. No violence??! You can accidentally come across incredibly violent and disturbing images. There are special blogs devoted to gore. People find and post leaked crime scene photos. I was once searching "war" to try and find anti war slogans or pictures and i came across some really, really awful pictures. Not to long ago I had just watched "Bowling For Columbine" and was trying to find a quote from it by searching "columbine" and someone had posted actual leaked crime scene photos. I also have to note that a large percentage of users use tumblr as a venting which means you will probably run into lot's of self hate and self mutilation scar pictures. There are a lot of suicide and depression posts too. The sexual content takes up like 60% of Tumblr. Almost everyone I know who has a tumblr has come across it one way or another. It isn't just nudity either... But it can be avoided. If you don't search the tags and only follow family friendly blogs I don't see any issues. Just make sure you're mature enough to handle coming across some inappropriate stuff.
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 13 years old Written byhugopaws January 2, 2013
LEARNING

Know Your Child

What people need to know about tumblr is that if your child is under 12, you might be want to put NSFW off. This means Not Safe For Work, which means pictures of nudity and sex, which most kids should not see. If you know your child will not look for these images, and pass them by when they accidently come up when they do, then you're find. One other thing to think about, you might want to know that your child will not curse because tumblr is a website that can be used freely with any language. But tumblr is a lot of fun for blogging and following things that you like. Tumblr is also a way for people to share inspiring and important stories. I would say that you need to know your child before hand.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Written byAnonymous November 22, 2012

Lots of Sex and Female Nudity. Not for kids.

A Lot of Sex and Female Nudity and lots of inappropriate Stuff on Tumblr. I looked at this too.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written bymintshadow2 November 6, 2012
LEARNING

Tumblr is amazing if you follow a few base rules.

Some people are talking about how it was bad for their younger kids; it says specifically in the Terms and Agreement and when you sign up that it is for 13+ only! I agree with this rule, but the main thing is that if you don't like something, you don't have to follow it. You choose what shows up on your dashboard (main page). Also, you can turn off your askbox if you like, so people can't send rude messages. If you do have an askbox, you can turn off anonymous posting so you KNOW who posted it. And if anon posting is turned on, you can still block the people who write rude messages. Therefore, bingo. Tumblr has things in place to guarantee the safety of your children/their users. Tumblr IS a bit of an exclusive group, I will grant you that. They laugh at MySpace and Facebook users. But that's because much of Tumblr is dedicated to "shipping," (which is when two people from a TV show/video game/book/movie etc. should be/are in a relation>ship<. Fangirls and boys are predominant, so be prepared to see a lot of people going crazy over their favorite celebs). As long as you understand the lingo they use, it's pretty easy to get involved and loved. One of the reasons I would recommend Tumblr...it saved my life. Tumbrians can be insanely friendly, and with supportive messages over the course of a few months they reminded me that I am a good person, and deserve to be loved. They stopped my self-harming tendencies, and they're the reason I'm here today. If you get in with the right crowd of people, you will always be accepted and loved. It's the few users that continue to be rude and abrasive that turn parents off of the site. Basically: Be thirteen or older; that's a rule of the site anyway. Try to understand how they talk/what they do. Be prepared for fangirls/boys. While some may be mean and rude, other people will be loving and accept you into their hearts (despite the fact that they might live several continents away.)
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written byIronicMelody February 12, 2012

tumblr is for adults and older teens not children

to me tumblr is a site for older teens and up to express what they like,tumblr does not get kid's into stuff like sex,drugs,violence.it's a blog people.parents, if you don't want your child on this site just use parental controls.
Kid, 11 years old January 3, 2012

About Tumblr.

Tumblr does not give any viruses, Maybe there is a weird file on your computers. I only visit tumblr for appropriate gifs. I am not on it. But only let your children go on it for appropriate stuff. The viruses are just theories. Look at the site first and think about it. Educational - like a diary for instance. 12 and up is suggestional, since 12 is the start of your teen years.
What other families should know
Educational value
Teen, 13 years old Written byThe K-Pop Fairy. October 14, 2010

A great way for some that's mature to express themselves.

This website is amazing. You can literly do anything on this site. You express yourself, by posting pictures, videos, music, or text. It's the easiest way to share things with your friends. You also don't have to upload content, You can just search it and reblog. Plus, there's so many fun memes to laugh at. It has a few cuss words and innapropriate pictures, but honestly, it will only harm imature people that tend to "Fail" at the internets. Haha. It's a great way to express yourself. I love it. <3
Teen, 15 years old Written byAChoosyTeenager July 11, 2016
LEARNING

Stay away from the site

That site is so horrible i joined at age 14 and it was heck on it i was depressed every night and cyberbullies on it no one liked me at all Don't let children on here only 18+
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Adult Written byMg92672 June 30, 2016
LEARNING

If you are into Porn

Unfortunately. , Tumblr has changed the overall concept of social media, many bloggers were tired of other sights, and needed to rid themselves of all gossipy whining garb, There for awhile Tumblr was respected and enjoyed. About a year ago , especially last 6 mos it's turned into a seedy porn circus with creepy spammers trolling your blogs, after 10:00pm beware because that's when all HDR blogs come out, fill up timelines! Hugh private body parts take over. Once they follow you, good luck trying to block or rid of these creepers, they just send u spam to all your Followers, I am NOT joking, There is No way to reach Tumblr about this, I do not care what they say there is no way to reach them you're on your own with this bug. Fed up Not for Kiddos
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 15 years old Written byTheTruthInTheCliche June 21, 2016
LEARNING
I feel as if the general review is very misleading. If you put in some tag such as porn it will say something such as "sorry none of that here" unless you turn off safe search also unless your searching something like porn, drugs, etc your not gonna get stuff like that in your dash. And yeah there's swearing a lot of it but if you think your kid never had swore to their friends. Your lying to yourself. Also to touch on the mental disorder part (anorexia, suicide, and self harm) if they search it up you have bigger problems to worry about.
Adult Written bypunkmonk13 June 10, 2016
LEARNING

Grooms young children for god knows what

This site is where anything goes: people trade pics from fuffy furies to fetishes that would blow your mind. I still can't get the image of callina69 out of my mind. God only knows how she remined there on that site. My 13 year daughter was shocked, maybe dazed, I didn't know what she was talking about and dismissed it. She sat there looking at it and said is that all I'm worth. Then alarm bells when off. Later I cried trying to think what on earth am I going to say to her, that boys arent like that. She saw GIFs of a women so violated she was vomiting while being brutally penetrated down the throat. Yeah filthy hairy hipsters might have a giggle!!! Thanks tumblr It's a hip site for pervs and freaks, your are grooming them young! Its a dumping ground for filth. Calina69 will never leave my daughter's head and as a father I'll never forgive myself for being so neglectful. Tumblrs response was it is my choice to google what i want? The violation an mistreatment of women on Tumblr is a disgrace. What is Tumblrs responsibility
What other families should know
Too much sex
Teen, 17 years old Written byanao1 January 14, 2016
LEARNING

15+

Kids who reviewed this website as a 13+ is not okay. I have a Tumblr (i'm 16 years old) and there's 12+ re-blogging drugs, sex, luxury stuff, and even posting they lost their virginity weeks ago. This is not okay. Please protect your children. Theres also a safety "search" option. :) But tumblr also has good advice blogs. They post awareness posts and stuff like that its not bad at all.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written bykohnnieandphan October 18, 2015
LEARNING

Just be careful

I am currently 16 and I have had a tumblr since age 14. I would say that tumblr can actually be a very good and informative website if you follow the right blogs and your kids are aware of what to do if something unwanted makes its way onto their dash. There are many people on tumblr who run blogs dedicated on informing youth on current social issues and even following facts for things like politics to help us teens become prepared for our adult lives. I know that many parents are concerned about their children talking to online predators or giving away personal information but that is something that can be worked out between you guys (maybe you can check their blog every once in a while to make sure nothing is going on that you find in appropriate). Some people on tumblr do tend to talk about drugs and sexual activities but there is a setting in which you can turn off adult oriented content which does hide 99% of these things. Overall, I would say that once your child is mature enough to sit down and talk about the rules and restrictions on their tumblr blog then they are ready to have one.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Adult Written byclarence August 6, 2015
LEARNING
Teen, 14 years old Written byShawnsuks June 22, 2015
LEARNING

Great website

I first joined Tumblr at 12, against the rules of the website because I wanted to see what all the fuss was about. There isn't much help for new users, but once you figure it out its a breeze. Yes, there is easy access to inappropriate content, but only if you go out of your way to find it. What you see is based on who you follow. You could have a dashboard completely filled with porn and drugs, or you could have a dashboard filled with kids nicely talking about their day and cat photos. It's your choice who you choose to follow. I learned how to do html, learned about acceptance for those of different experiences, and made great friends. You could learn about fixing a car, healthy eating, anything from fellow users. Teens will use obscenities, but that's avoidable. You can find some messed up stuff on any website, and Tumblr is no exception. Just don't blow it off because of a very fixable problem.
What other families should know
Great messages
Teen, 14 years old Written byCallie00 April 19, 2015
LEARNING

One of the Most Popular and Best Websites on the Internet

Tumblr is overall a cool and awesome site where you could follow little blogs on things you're interested in, i.e. photography, art, fashion, humor. BUT there is plenty of totally inappropriate things on this site. Tons of strong language, violence, and sexual content. I would NOT recommend it for kids under 13. I don't blame parents for being wary of the content on here, but really your kids can only come across iffy stuff based on the blogs they follow. If they're viewing inappropriate content, that's their intention. Got it? So I advise only mature teens should make an account on here. That being said, I LOVE Tumblr. No, I don't view sexual content and violence and all that crap. And no I don't expose any personal information. Anybody who comes across my blog will only find out about my pen name, age (not my b-day), and my hobbies/interests. That's it. Tumblr is a great site to meet new people with the same hobbies and interests as you and a cure for boredom. :)
What other families should know
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 14 years old Written bymywatercoolerromance February 22, 2015
LEARNING
I think Tumblr is a pretty great website. It makes it easy to find things of interest for all different types of people. Yes, there is sex, drugs, and violence, but you have to specifically follow blogs posting these things, meaning that the topics are VERY easy to avoid. Also, Tumblr is a very accepting community for minority groups, and seems to (while overenthusiastic at the best of times) be the most reasonable media site I've seen. Tumblr is great for learning about the problems in society, but if you don't want the rants against heteronormativity and the patriarchy, you can customize your blog to be literally anything you want.
Kid, 11 years old February 21, 2015
LEARNING

One of the reasons why I hate going out

If you don't follow any dirty blogs, it's okay. Tumblr is more like a Fandom World to me. Perfect for fangirls (and boys) and a great place for gifs and pretty photos for your laptop wallpaper. Drugs? Come on! I NEVER saw any drug-related posts before on my dashboard.
What other families should know
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 15 years old Written byhaylam December 7, 2014
LEARNING
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking

Pages