Common Sense Media says

Vibrant blogging site gives easy access to adult content.

Learning

Users say

(out of 99 reviews)
age 14+
Review this title!
Kid, 12 years old November 19, 2014
LEARNING

Mixed Emotions

Some people say that it is too inappropriate for kids under 17, but I strongly disagree. There certainly is porn and smut, but you can follow other accounts that don't FUCKING POST THAT SHIT. But there is a lot of cussing. I also think that there are plenty of positive messages. Almost any tumblr user will help you through anything that you are going through...
Teen, 13 years old Written bySmorgborg123 July 21, 2014

Set some rules

I don't post selfies and no one knows my name. Just go through your favorite tags, and reblog stuff, there is no need to talk to people, and you choose who you follow
Teen, 16 years old Written bymollycharlotterose July 19, 2014
LEARNING

Its how you use it.

After all, you choose the blogs you follow. I'd just like to say - tumblr is an amazing place to share experiences of holidays, travel, fashion, beauty, lifestyle and so much more. Tumblr is beautiful. But tumblr is also a place to share violence, sex, drinking, drugs, and smoking. But you don't HAVE to see that.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 15 years old Written byslimjimkim November 25, 2013

Has its ups and downs but your kid will probably amount to something from what they learn on tumblr

Cons: Your kid will probably end up addicted and self diagnosing themselves with one problem or the other, and also know more about sex than you do. Pros: They'll become 200% a better person. I went from being a self centered and self loathing brat to a self loving and charitable and kind person. There's just lots of things the right side of tumblr can teach your kid that they'll never learn in school. They can also learn who they really are and explore different lifestyles (Bohemian, nature, fitness, fashion, photography are just some of the blogs I've had). I'm not even kidding when I say all of this stuff.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byEliza_UK November 17, 2013

13 and up

I think tumblr can be a really great place. It's a really good way to post ideas, art, discover new media, and find people with similar interests. But, it can also be a perfect environment for disaster for kids who don't know boundaries, or how to stay safe on the internet. Know your kid, and if you think they know the ropes for safe communication, I'd recommend it. I would not let a child under the age of 12 join, no matter what. I joined when I was 12 myself (looking back I should’ve waited until a little later, closer to 13.), and have been on there for about three years now. I have met so many great people and joined some fantastic communities through tumblr. However, would give a warning for language, and ability to put a lot of information out there. Though, you have to watch out for the same things on Facebook and Twitter. Remember to trust your child.
What other families should know
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 15 years old Written byMolly Rose October 31, 2013

Amazing.

Tumblr has everything. Literally. But, the website is so amazing, if you know how to use it properly. The content on tumblr varies. Sure, it can be adult, etc, but if you follow the blogs that you want to follow, and 'ignore' the blogs you want to ignore, the content is truly beautiful and unique. And, the people are so nice. You talk to people who have exactly the same interests as you, and its like a home. Tumblr has saved lives, and I'm sure it will continue to do so. My favourite website. Some of the reviews... I can't believe it. Tumblr gives out so many positive messages, you can ignore blogs that are inappropriate and you wont see their posts: but you wont anyway unless you follow them or search their tag. Reviewers here are obviously not experienced tumblr users.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 14 years old Written byMartha-Jane August 18, 2013

Only as inappropriate as every other social networking site, but a lot more intelligant

Sure, you have your fair share of bad language, images of a sexual nature or of a violent theme, but this is easily restricted, and you'll only see it if you choose to 'follow' those you post it. I'm on the site every day, and I hardly ever see anything like that, and anyway it's not like I'm scarred for life. Unlike Facebook, MySpace (who even uses MySpace though?!?) or most other social networking sites Tumblr has a high educational value, and is a great place to post your opinion and find out more about current affairs in a way that is interesting to, and created by, your age group. Tumblr is what you make of it, and no matter what your interests, or 'fandoms', there are bound to be a whole community of people who share your own favorite shows, books, actors and movies, and these communities are on the whole extremely friendly. If I where a parent, I'd much prefer my child to be on Tumblr, and I'd definitely recommend it to anyone 13 or over!
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written byfreckledoll July 9, 2013

Extremely addictive and fun!!!!

I am addicted to this website! It really gives you a chance to express your creativity to its fullest extent and meet others who have the same interests. Everyone on tumblr has a certain "clique" that they fit into that are made by a certain interests. People who are a part of that fan group, or "fandom", are very protective and supportive of each other, much like one giant family. I highly reccomend it for people who want to express and use their creativity in the best way possible.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written byPrincessCharmed797 July 1, 2013

Tumblr

I suffer with social anxiety, along with several other similar problems. School and facebook often do not make me feel good about myself. Tumblr is different. Because using it a lot is not hugely popular, it attracts users who are not the popular kids but the ones who do have problems or are lonely. This can sometimes prove a problem in that there are some very extreame opinions and some people post things about their struggles that some people might find upsetting, pictures of self harm etc, but I've found that it's mostly people hugely supporting each other in these things with humour, art, videos and all sorts, it helps you feel like you are not alone. There are also a lot of quirky facts on there and social justice is a big thing so there are lots of possitive messages about body image, phsycology and so on. It's a site used by teenagers so yes there is swearing, and yes there are some sexual references but not usually worse then what teenagers are exposed to at school. There are pornographic images out there too, but definitely no more than on youtube, its pretty much just if you search for them or chose to follow someone who enjoys them, so if it upsets you you can just unfollow.It enables you to explore whatever you find interesting in life and then discuss it with like-minded people, which just makes it an enormous amount of fun. "Anon hate" is a problem which has made it into the news quite a lot and that can be distressing, but if you feel like it would really upset you you can turn your message box off. It's my favourate place to be on the internet and if they have a bit of common sense I think it's a really nice place for teenagers to hang out online.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 17 years old Written bylinwe June 12, 2013

Tumblr can be wonderful and beautiful, but also disgusting and horrific. Be careful who you follow and what tags you browse.

I'm a 17-year-old girl, personally I love tumblr but I have to agree that it is NOT for little kids. There are many positive messages, beautiful art works, wonderful stories, amazing pictures, inspiring posts, and lots of good humor. However there can also be a lot of pornographic material (I'm talking full on nudity of both women and men), tons of swearing, depression, extremely offensive posts, and as someone else said, general filth. Tumblr can be amazing but also dangerous, so you have to be very careful who you follow, and what tags you browse through. There ARE positive messages, and tumblr does NOT "promote" cutting and eating disorders. Some of the people on the site are jerks, yes, but some are also wonderful caring people who want to help others. If you meet someone from tumblr, (or anywhere on the internet) just make sure its in an area with many people around, like a mall or a restaurant. All I have to say is, it depends. You can find beautiful treasures on Tumblr, which is why I love it, and which is why I don't think you should completely rule it out because of some of the junk that can be found there.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 16 years old Written byastronomic June 9, 2013

oh please.... think for yourselves before judging.

I've been on tumblr for just about 4 years and I have never, ever had anything negative appear on my dashboard. It's literally dependent on which blogs you follow and what sort of things they post. If the blog has some good pictures, but also posts porn, and you don't want that - it's so, so simple. Just unfollow that user. They won't be offended (unless you go out of your way to be rude) and you can find drugs, porn, nudity, and profanity all over the internet if you look. A lot of users are in their older teens or are young adults and college students. Swearing is inevitable. If you're offended by the pictures or text posts, just don't look at them and don't keep poking around someone's blog if you dislike the things they post. It's ridiculously easy to avoid anything negative or inappropriate on tumblr, but people are choosing to be close-minded and will keep insisting that pictures of weed or smoking will come up on your dashboard. If you're so concerned about that, just don't use tumblr; simple as that. If you still want to use the website but are so nitpicky about what you see on the website, download Tumblr Savior, or X Kit, or some other third party application that blacklists and blocks "bad things" or tv/movie/book spoilers from coming up and ruining your day. (As a note, I've tried almost all the popular third party apps and they have never given me a virus. Use the big, high rated, popular ones - people wouldn't be using them if they were giving everyone viruses and bugs.) Please just think for yourselves - it is so easy to avoid the things you want to avoid if you just try.
Teen, 16 years old Written bythe-divergent May 18, 2013

Enjoyable website, but watch out

This is ok for 13 year olds but be careful what your kids see. I'm sure there is porn on there (I don't look at it, so I can't be sure) but most posts are okay. Watch out for swear words. Many "f-bombs" and other swear words. This website has an inappropriate side but some blogs have good messages on them. I'm a big reader so I post about books, and most of the blogs I follow promote reading and talk about how good it is. Privacy is an issue. Many people share their name and age and some even post "selfies" or pictures they take of themselves. You can also message people so beware of that as well.
Teen, 16 years old Written byhappyginger May 10, 2013

Great, Depending on What its Used For

A site that really depends on who you follow. Inappropriate things will show up on your "dashboard" only if you follow inappropriate blogs. Swears are very common, porn may show up while scrolling tags. Still, tumblr is one of my favorite websites with plenty of intelligent users.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 16 years old Written byMollyRose-xo May 4, 2013

Amazing.

This site is amazing. It really takes blogging to the next level. It has absolutely everything on it, which makes it awesome but dangerous for younger children. Despite this, I rate it five stars as it has been my addiction for 3 years, since I was 11. Although there are many sexual, violent and abusive things on tumblr, it is also full of positive messages, and you only see the things you want to, because you only see the things in your feed that blogs you choose to follow post.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 13 years old Written bydiary789 April 28, 2013

Oh, please

If you're looking for privacy issues, look somewhere else. Tumblr does NOT obligate you to give out ANY personal information whatsoever. Your screen name itself is/can be completely anonymous (e.g cookiesareyummyandfluffy). Seriously, the only way you could get personal info on this website is if you choose to reveal it to the public yourself. (which is stupidity, plain & simple) Tumblr is a great place to find people with the same interests as you. The people there are supportive and understanding. Whether you like drawing, Tolkien, or Doctor Who, there's definitely going to be something to suit your interests. There are a lot of great "activism" blogs out there. (like callingoutbigotry or yourfaveisproblematic) It's a great site, with versatile mediums to express yourselves. Obviously there will be the language and the porn. It depends on who you follow really. But there's that on any site. It obviously isn't a site for 12 & under.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Kid, 11 years old April 7, 2013

Tumblr

I like Tumblr. I think it's fine to have one as long as you don't post/repost innapropiate stuff.... I'm a hypcrite.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 16 years old Written byTheBeatlesPkmnFan42 February 18, 2013
LEARNING

Best social networking site out there.

I give it pretty much all of the "What should other families know about this?" due to that every Tumblr user posts their own things, making hard to only rate a few. Tumblr is one of my favorite sites, that I'm actually kind of addicted too (I can spend hours on it). Much better than Facebook or Twitter in my opinion. To register for Tumblr, you need to be over 13, hence my age rating. I have a Tumblr, and I use it daily. I rate this site a 10/10. I use it for hours everyday, and I even have a bunch of side blogs I use to role-play as characters on.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Teen, 14 years old Written byVanillaSalt January 25, 2013

Tumblr!

If your child is not allowed a facebook, then tumblr is out of question. When used correctly it can be a really fun way to kill time as you can read postings, see pictures, music, and just experiences in general from people all around the world. However, Tumblr hosts a fair bit of graphic content as well as the age limit and content posting is pretty much unrestricted (this is the internet we're talking about!) If you're very concerned about stumbling across something you don't want to see, download Tumblr Savior from the google chrome extension store and just type in the tags that you don't want to view. It'll keep it hidden from view (this only works if the images/content in question has been tagged correctly.) So you can still have a SFW experience on Tumblr. Tumblr also gives you free reign to talk to absolute strangers, and there is an anonymous feature that allows people to send and ask questions without their identities being revealed. However, this tool can also be used for cyberbullying (called Anon Hate on Tumblr), so you can do without this by disabling the contact of anonymous users. If you think you can be mature and handle it, then I say full speed ahead! It's a fun and addicting site... you just need to be careful, just like how you would if you joined any other website on the internet.
What other families should know
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Teen, 13 years old Written byThe Euphoric User January 25, 2013
LEARNING

Possibly One of The Best Sites on The Internet

Tumblr contains everything from positive sayings to violent suicidal thoughts, sex is fun to erotic enjoyment is a no-no, explicit language to proper words, posts of famous brands especially Versace and Gucci to posts that show no consumerism at all, and from drinking and partying to... well, the total opposite of it. Safety and privacy depends on the user though. But I find the site very entertaining, just be sure to watch out for anything negative above since I got affected several times.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing
Too much consumerism
Too much drinking/drugs/smoking
Safety and privacy concerns
Teen, 14 years old Written bydoubttruthtobealiar December 30, 2012
LEARNING

Tumblr is excellent if you use it properly

It depends on two things- the child, and who they follow. If the parent monitors who their child follows closely, it should be good for 11-12 and up. Yes, they might come across one or two pictures that aren't completely appropriate, but hopefully, the kid is mature enough to handle that. I follow all different types of blogs, and I have found that the only issues are occasional artistic nudity (I have only come across straight out sexual material once or twice) and images of self harm. The latter, however, only applies if you are following blogs that post about things regarding that. Yes, Tumblr does have a little bit of cursing, but it's not really any worse than any other website. Tumblr teaches creativity and writing skills, along with proper grammar.
What other families should know
Great messages
Too much violence
Too much sex
Too much swearing

Pages